Image of Dost Hotel

Dost Hotel

23 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
One of the best features of the Dost Hotel is its large swimming pool to the rear of the property with ample room to sunbathe and relax, plenty of pool furniture and serviced by a pool bar. The hotel restaurant serves snacks throughout the day.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brian
Small personal hotel
9 years 6 months ago
Stayed at the Dost Hotel end of May 2011, great welcome on arrival. Rooms were very basic but clean. Towels changed every day, bedding changed every other day. Turkish breakfast is very basic but Yacup the chef will cook you anything you want at a very reasonable price (including bacon & eggs) in fact he will cook you what you want when you want, even at 1.am in the morning.

Very small personal hotel, became friends with all the staff and other holiday makers, Adnam the owner wants to take everyone on at Pool and table tennis!

Had a room at the back with a balcony over looking the fairly sized pool. Great around and in the pool during the day, a walk to town was only 5 minutes and the beach 10 minutes. Spent most nights at the pool side bar with all the staff and other residents.

Looking forward to going back September 2012 with a group of 5.

Recommend for couples, not a lot to do for children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brown
10 years 3 months ago
our stay at the dost hotel was certainly not a very pleasant one. We knew it was a basic hotel but were not prepared for just how basic. The light fitting on the ceiling above our bed was hanging off, the shower was hanging off the wall, the basin in the bathroom wasn't cleaned all the week we were there. The lock on our door looked as though it had been forced open at some point and as we had a front facing room it was very noisy with traffic all night. We complained about this to the rep but nothing was done about it.The bed sheets were changed every 2 days these were thread bare and we only got 2 bath towels every 2 days. We were charged £35 for air conditioning. The staff were friendly enough and the food was ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Julie & Shelby
11 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from Dost hotel, we had 2 weeks there, we went out alot due to having my 12 yr old daughter with me and there being no other children there to play otherwise we would have spent alot more time at the Dost and enjoying the company of the lovely staff. The rooms are basic but cover all you need...
the food was well presented and tasted lovely, the location is close to every thing and if in doubt there is always a taxi available across the road or door to door.
The staff are totally wonderfull, could not fault them, they work all hours but still manage to be gracious and smile, and make you feel like nothing is to much trouble, Adam the manager is totally lovely and will play pool for a melon ;) he interacts with the guests as much as poss. All in all there is nothing i can fault with the people and hotel which is cleaned constantly.
Me and my daughter are going back to Turkey next yr for a month and will definatly consider this hotel again !!!
Thank you to you all ....Julie & Shelby xxx
julie_20882@hotmail.com
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays 4u

Recommended
Heather
11 years 4 months ago
one of the worst hotels i have stayed in the dost although it was very clean the breakfast was poor a boiled egg and some bread. the pool area was good the staff friendly one was too friendly.knocking on my door at night asking me if wanted a massage, i was there 2 weeks no entertainment on
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: on the beach

Diane,Jack,Chris
12 years 2 months ago
Stayed at the Dost Hotel in August 08. First time to Gumbet but not to Turkey.
The hotel is basic but is very clean, rooms are cleaned every day except Tuesday when this is the cleaning lady's day off.
On arrival we were greeted by Deniz,Edjon and Adam (the manager) with a warm welcome it felt we had known them a long time.
Staff are excellent nothing is to much trouble, they work really hard.
Hotel food is excellent which included breakfast, snacks and main menue evening meal.
Entertainment is a turkish night but the guy's Deniz Jimmy and Edjon (the chef) kept every one laughing with there games and turkish dancing through out our two week stay. Because the Hotel is small just 23 rooms you soon get to know everyone there which is really nice. Location is about 10 mins from the Beach and 5mins to the main street with all the entertainment

yes we would visit the Hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Recommended
Willie Amca
12 years 4 months ago
The Dost Hotel was a basic but very clean and tidy hotel. The staff were all first class and could remember all the names of the people in the hotel. The rooms are very basic with a bed, wardrobe, chair and a bedside table. No telephone or T.V.in the rooms.
They were cleaned daily if you got out of bed, Sheets and towel change every 2 or 3 days, I felt the linen and towles need to be renewed as there was no life left in them, But they were clean.
The food at the hotel was great, from breakfast through to the evening meals, and all the daytime snacks, they also have the odd special food night like a fish night and the usual Turkish night, the layout and food was perfect, and the belly dancer and games afterwords was great fun.
The pool is about the best I have seen, very large and spotlessly clean. My Problem, I found the room I had faced the main road about 6 meters away and was far too noisy all day and night for me, and for this reason only, I would not stay at this hotel again, But I told them about the problem, and I will visit them in September when I return to a apart already booked in Bodrum. I have traveled to Bodrum / Gumbet twice a year for the last 18 years and feel this to be a fair report on a nice basic little hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday 4 U

Recommended
14 years 3 months ago
Hotel food was perfect Ali the chefs is one of the best chefs in Gumbet he used to be chef in the Seprina hotel also in gumbet.

The rooms and the hotel were cleaned daily except a Tuesday when cleaner lady had a day off that woman worked ever so hard and she would bring us in buns and peaches she is a very nice lady.

Hotel is on the main street on the way down to bar street about a 10 min walk, now the hotel staff they were just fantastic not many would put up with the antics of or 9yr old son but these guys were brilliant with him thanks lads once again.

Ali manager and Adam put on some good entertainment with Turkish nights and a Turkish folk night was very good also, this was my 3rd time at the dost and I made a promise I would be back next year and to be honest if I had a few pounds I would go back tomorrow I would like to thank these guys once again for a fab time Ali, Adam, Memet, Eddy,(Friday), Shateet, Ali (cook), Mateet (night porter) and cleaner lady xoxo to ya all at the dost .....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Wendy Lapham
15 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from staying at the Dost hotel. It is not one of the most palatial hotels I have stayed in but is very clean and extremely friendly.

It is a family run hotel and the staff really go out of their way to look after you and make sure your holiday is fun. the breakfast is traditional, eggs, bread, salads etc but you can order different food there and the chef is excellent.

It is situated about 5 minutes walk from all of the nightlife and restaraunts, and about 10 minutes walk from the beach.as the hotel is small, ( about 25 rooms) we had the pool to ourselves most of the time and it was nice to chill out and not have to fight for the sunbeds.

A big thankyou to the staff,- Ali, Adam, M ehmet, Dennis and Jenko for a fab holiday.

We would definately go back to that hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Recommended
Lucy
15 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from our stay at Dost Hotel.

Although the hotel is very small (only 24 rooms) our room was spacious enough to accomodate myself and my partner. Our room was extremely clean.

The hotel food was great, and the staff couldnt do enough for you. On wednesday night there was a turkish theme, with a belly dancer and plenty of fun party games.

Only five minutes walk away from the town centre, but far enough away get to sleep at night with no loud music playing.

We would definitely return next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: vision holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.