Image of Ugur Hotel

Ugur Hotel

41 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

3 out of 5 from 46 reviews
2 stars

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    8

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Philly Briscoe
Basic hotel but very clean
10 years 4 months ago
This hotel was very basic but also very very clean. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful, nothing was two much trouble.

We can't wait to go back this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Bianca & Emma
12 years 1 month ago
The staff were very friendly & very welcoming. The rooms were clean & linen changed twice during the week.Good location for nightlife. Basically we got what we paid for & very please all in all. We are going back next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gold star

Recommended
Katie Cottell
12 years 2 months ago
Me and my friend were expecting the worst after reading the reviews on this hotel, however as soon as we arrived we were greeted by 3 friendly and helpful Turkish men who took our bags to our room for us. We then decided to go to the bar and the barman who was also very friendly had a bbq made especially for us (mixed grill with salad and bread) which was lovely. The breakfast could have been better it was typical Turkish breakfast fresh bread with jam/honey (delicious), tomatoes, cucumber, cheese. The coffee was brill.
The location was very good only a few minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and bars and about 10 minutes to the beach.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and couldnt do more for us.
No entertainment just a mixture of Turkish and English music at the bar.
I would go back to the Ugur for what you pay it is more than adequate. I think there are alot of people who moan about this accommodation, think they are perhaps very fussy and snobby.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Georgina
12 years 2 months ago
warning!

just come home from gumbet in the ugur hotel and i can only warn you of the dangers taking a holiday in this resort. just me and a friend stayed at the resort and really was the hotel from hell. from the start of the holiday to the end of the holiday was a terrifying ordeal for us two girls. staff never left us alone the turkish staff that lived in the resort. on returning from a night out in gumbet staff would knock on our door being unforeseen talking foul, trying to touch us and drag us out of the room to go to there room. on one occasion we went to make a phone call to our families where we were followed up the road in a car by a member of staff from the ugur hotel so we rushed back to inform the manager (2nd in charge) of the hotel who did go and have a word with the individual involved, but the next night he him self tried it with both of us outside our hotel room. saying quiet,quiet kiss kiss. it is a very scary place for girls going on there own so can only warn of those trying to book for this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gold trail

Phil & Joy
12 years 2 months ago
Having visited the UGUR hotel for 2 weeks at the end of July 2008, I can not understand some of the adverse comments to be found on Holiday-Truth. Yes the rooms are basic but I did not pay for 5 star and I have been in worse. The room was for sleeping in and therefore the size was adequate. My only complaint was the bed linen did not get changed on a regular basis, especially in the heat, it soon had a dirty feel to it. The hotel and grounds were cleaned every day as was the pool.

The complaints about breakfast are unfounded. This hotel is in Turkey and served Turkish breakfast. Would you expect a Skegness hotel to serve anything but an English breakfast. As mentioned elsewhere you can get an English breakfast at some of the bars, in fact there is one called Sandy's only a couple of hundred yards away, although I never tried it out. Other food is served in the Ugur and the freshly cooked chips were probably the best in Gumbet.

The hotel is in a great position, being just over the hill to eliminate the sounds of the bustling nightlife, but only 5 minutes walk away from it.
Staff change is a regular occurence in resorts, therefore my comments are only relative to my stay, but I found them all very helpful, friendly, polite and attentive. There was an English waitress Vanessa, who was extemely pleasant; Muatapha the evening barman also spoke excellent English, being married to an English lady, Jill, who works in the Queens Tourist Office, and he was also a very friendly guy. Ali the manager did like a drink, but I never found him anything but friendly, as he always responded well to a smile and greeting, although his English is very limited. They all made us feel very welcome and at home.

The entertainment was not so good being a mixture of Enlish and Turkish CDs selected by the barman. The likening of the Ugur to Fawlty Towers is valid because this hotel was run on a skin of the teeth basis,not always "Just In Time", which added to it's quaintness and attractiveness.
We would visit the Ugur again, but not in July/August, as on 2 days the teperature reached 48c 118f and the coolest day was 36c 97f.

Thank you to Ali and all the staff for a lovely holiday.

Joy And Phil
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
GORDON
13 years 2 months ago
I have been going to Turkey last 10 yrs but I have never seen hotel & staff & management as disgusting as Ugur Hotel in Gumbet.

We arrived very early morning last week and during the check in they take passports saying we can have them back later. As we went our room there was a guy cleaning room, so we had to wait outside till it's finished which is ok by me. But finally when we went in our room it's smaller than my bathroom at home. Ok for the price we paid we weren't expecting much but we didn't expect paints on the walls coming, socket is hanging, bed is making all sort noise and not comfortable at all! Next day we ask 2 change room politely but owner called Ali gone mental as he hasn't got any other room and shouting, swearing with very limited English. I could not believe this was happening to us on our first day on holiday!

Only good thing on breakfast was bread. After that we never had meal there. Every single day we went to pool
there was that feeling they were watching you and talking bout you but you could tell it wasn't nice things...
Second day we were having a drink with a family we met at the hotel. We bought first drinks and they did second round. But realised was different price 4 same round!!!We went to bar and complained but barman denied and started argument at that point a customer from Glasgow came and said he saw him putting some money in his pocket while he was putting some in the till he's got more aggressive and he tried to punch that guy. After 3 days we ask 4 our passports cos speaking rep was useless and we wanted to go another hotel which we got deal but Hotel owner and all staff were shouting and swearing they wouldn't give our passports back. We went to shop a bit further and rang police 5 minutes later they came and they got our passports within seconds. We moved Ambrosia hotel in Bitez and rest of week we had brilliant holiday...

Do you think I will go back to that hotel???
That will not stop me going to Turkey thats 4 sure...

Just extra comments; if you suffering back ache or walking difficulties Ugur Hotel is not 4 u as so many steps to go in and out.

If you accidentally booked this hotel make sure you check your shower so it doesn't fall on your head!

Do not leave any valuable stuff in your room cos I know a couple lost a few hundred
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: GOLDTRAIL

Leanne
13 years 11 months ago
Like many others I was a bit apprehensive about this hotel as I was travelling with a friend and my 9 year old daughter.

However, on arrival the staff were pleasant and the room, although basic, had everything you needed. Pillows were like rocks but that was honestly the only thing I can complain about.

Also, do as the signs ask and do not take food into the room or fizzy drinks, ants swarm around anything dropped on the floor as they do in every other country!

Would go again, don't be put off by bad reports about this place, it's like any other place, be polite and generally people will be polite back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JustGo

Recommended
Sian
14 years ago
I booked this holiday as part of a late deal so did not have much choice regarding hotels.
After booking I read the reviews which have been entered regarding this hotel and was mortified!
I worried about this all the way to Turkey as this would be my only holiday this year.

We arrived at 5pm and were met by very friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a balcony as I am aware not every room does, the room was very clean and tidy and we were given clean towels everyday, which is a first!
Staff were very helpful and the bar staff were always pleased to see you and show you a few card tricks!
I have read previously that someone said they saw a rat and the bar staff said it was a cat, well we met the 'rat' on our first night and i looks just like a 3 three month old kitten to me!!!

I would definatley recommend this hotel for the location and do not let any of the bad reviews put you off.
I also recommend you visit the Angel Beach Restuarant and Bar as the staff there made out holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Denise & Ruth
14 years ago
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel it was nice, friendly staff although they did forget to clean our rooms but soon sorted it once notified.

This place is suitable for couples, families and friends holiday as it for a good price. I have stayed in other places in Gumbet before and your only paying extra for space in your apartment as they are all basically the same.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Tony & Debby
14 years ago
My girlfriend and I have travelled Asia backpacking and have experienced many different scales of accommodation, and this was our first visit to Turkey.

My initial feeling about going to the Ugur hotel after reading reviews was a little apprehensive. But by this time I had already booked the holiday and considered it too late to try a last minute change. Our only thoughts at this point were that it could not be any worse than a flea bitten economy class guest house in Bangkok which I can thankfully tell you was very remote from this scenario.

Upon arrival I was greeted early hours by Ahmet who is a fairly old gentleman and extremely helpful who insisted on carrying our entire luggage to the room which was quite heavy. Having then seen our room I was surprised at how clean it was. The rooms are basic, but everything you need was there - bathroom, toilet, shower, beds and somewhere to hang your clothes...what more do you want!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.