Image of Sami Beach Hotel

Sami Beach Hotel

28 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Ayaz Cad No 10, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Set in an excellent central position, on the sandy beach of Gumbet Bay, this hotel sits in colourful gardens, just a short walk from plenty of shops, restaurants and bars.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs C Ford
Do not stay at this hotel, worst ever
10 years 2 months ago
Arrived Sami beach 4.30 in the morning on 7th September 2010 for 10 nights.

On arrival we were taken across road up a set of steps to a room, checked the bed out to make sure it was clean, got into bed as I just needed some sleep. Got up next morning and had a good look around the room, I was not impressed. The room looked like it was for someone on a self catering board, there were no towels, only a small foot towel for when you got out the shower.

The breakfast was OK, the evening meal was disgusting, boiled rice every night with chicken bits and chicken wings with no taste, managed to make a meal out of salad and had some cakes which were the puddings best thing of all.

I didn't get much sleep so stayed out late and catched up on the beach in between being asked every 2 minutes if we wanted drinks, ice creams, fruit, perfumes and this was just the staff.

The entertainment was paid for by people staying in the hotel as when they finished doing the act they came round collecting money in hats.

Gumbet is a lovely place but my experience in this hotel as put me off going again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed at the EKEN RESORT HOTEL in Gumbet for 14 nights, The hotel is on the beach in Gumbet making it a great location, Rooms have a TV, Fridge, Phone, Safty box, 1 double and 1 single bed and a very small balcony. Rooms are cleaned daily, sheets and towels changed every 2/3 days, but daily if required.
There are lots of staff, the ones I meet were very friendly and always had time for you.
There was very little entertainment, Just a belly dancer and snake show once a week, but nobody found this to be a problem.
The food at the hotel was always fresh and well cooked, you had a chicken dish ever lunch and dinner time and also a fish and another meat dish to choose from, with lots of veg and salads.
I came home on Saturday 13th June and booked the same holiday on Monday 15th June for 3rd October.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: youtravel

Recommended
Paul And Sue
13 years 3 months ago
this hotel is not the ritz by any means. it is a basic clean and tidy hotel the location is its main attraction it is in a perfect place,you go out the back and your on the beach go out the front and your on the main stretch of bars and cafes.we didnt eat in the hotel as there are so many others to choose from that looked nicer and probably were.all the staff were great always up for a laugh.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hayes

Recommended
James Woods
14 years ago
The room was clean and comfortable which is great when all your doing is sleeping and showering in it.

I can see why people moan but considering it's cheap and only a 2 star I thought it was fantastic and after reading other peoples reviews we were expecting the worst.

The pool was quiet at all times which is great as we are not kiddie people.

we were bed and breakfast but dont eat first thing so just had coffee and tea.

The hotel staff cant do enough for you and are so friendly especially sexy Pepsi (bar man) there.

Entertainment is fine with things such as Turkish nights belly dancers and karaoke. But there are so many things to do in the evening that there is something for everyone in this resort.

We would definitely stay here again but would only go bed and breakfast as its so cheap to eat out here
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
Arrived at hotel at 1.30 in morning checked in and led to room across road, down street and up several flights of stairs!! Booked a sea or pool view this room was like a cupboard with no balcony but the worst was yet to come!! Back down to reception to complain and told there was no other room available, we had booked this three months in advance!! Had no option but to return to room having gone for a drink and something to eat, it was now 4 in the morning!! Pulled back sheets to get in to bed and noticed small black marks on bed, pulled back sheet covering mattress to find the bed covered in BED BUGS!!! Couldn't get out quick enough, back to reception where after much arguing was given another room not much bigger, again no pool or sea view and a balcony that if you sat on it your knees touched the wall!

Went for breakfast,cold and disgusting and watched as the staff took uneaten food from used plates and put it back out for people to eat eg bread, salad, cheese!!

Evening meal was salad and cold food eg stews,chicken wings, chips again disgusting!!

Hotel is right on the beach and that is the only good point about it.

Our room was never properly cleaned, food in the fridge left by the previous guests we put outside the door for maid to remove, it was still there a week later when we left!!

Never saw pool cleaned once and all round pool area smelt of cat wee with the numerous tom cats roaming round the hotel grounds.

Wouldn't recommend this to anyone!! BEWARE OF THE BED BUGS!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ON THE BEACH

14 years 4 months ago
I had seen the bad reviews about this hotels rooms, on booking in, I asked the boy on the desk for a nice quiet room if possible, He handed me the key for 337 and added I can change it if I want.

The room was big with a double bed 2 wardrobes a dresser and phone, a bathroom with a bath and shower.

Everything was nice and clean and this was one of the older rooms that had not been upgraded.
,
The balcony was on top of the resturant overlooking the sea,about the size of a football pitch (shared with 2 other rooms) if not for the big trees it would have been a first class view.

Rooms were made up and cleand daily (if your up)towels and sheets changed twice a week.

Beakfast was the best I've seen in Turkey (in 17 years twice a year) you had the normal continental stuff, but also boiled eggs or scrammbled with as much tea & coffee as you can drink from 8 to 10 am.

I did not use the resturant, but did hear it was very good.
Entertainment in the beach bar at night was ok for a laugh and kept the kids happy.

The hotel location is first class, on the beach and the bar street.

I did see some of the rooms being done up with new windows and getting painted, so maybe the do look at the review posted.

The thing is, don't go on holiday and worry about the rooms or the germans & Dutch next door, we all work hard to save for it, so go and enjoy it.

If you have a problem, sort it out in a calm manner, it realy works wonders.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended
Tony Sullivan
14 years 4 months ago
I booked this hotel before reading the reviews on this site and to be honest was a bit nervous and expecting the worst. However I must say that I was totally surprised.

This was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. The room was cleaned every day any rubbish lying around was quickly removed by the staff.

The breakfast was excellent for what it was, the usual continental style, those expecting English fried breakfasts will be disappointed. I only ate once in the restaurant and that was excellent. I ate at a different restaurant almost everyday as there were so many around.

The hotel location couldn't have been any better, right on the beach just right on the main restaurant road and about 100 metres from Bar Street.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have read that the male staff are a little too friendly with the female guests, but lets be honest single blokes are like that everywhere, even me once upon a time.

I have not given any marks for entertainment as I did not see any, although there was entertainment every night ranging from Bingo to Belly dancers and snake charmers.

Would I visit again? Well I arrived back home last weekend and have already booked up to go back in October.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstart

Recommended
Mike & Lisa
15 years 1 month ago
Hi me and my partner had been put in this hotel because of an over booking with our original choice. We found the hotel to be dark and dingy and in need of a face lift.

Our room was like a dungeon there was no balcony just two small windows there was a big boiler room next door which kept us awake all night. There was no phone in the room in case of an emergecy.

Staff not very friendly and it was very expensive to other hotels.

Do not stay in the apartments across the road as they were uninhabitable! The only good thing as that it's on the beach which only earns its 3 star
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gold -trail

Lyn
15 years 1 month ago
For location you simply can't beat this hotel. At the back of the hotel you are in the centre of Gumbet and at the front you walk out on the beach.What more do you want ?

It is one of the more established hotels in Gumbet so can look a bit dated but the rooms are are of a very high standard with carpet and good quality furnishings.A fridge and satelite TV are standard.

We has a side pool view with balcony.It would appear new patio doors had recently been fitted which did an exellent job of keeping any noise out.

Can't wait to go back next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self

Recommended
Nicola
15 years 2 months ago
This hotel was very basic but clean.

The hotel is situated on the beach front in the middle we probabley had the best room in the house looking out onto the beach.The staff are nice.

The hotel entertainment was great and the food was nice from the bar. Even though we were bed and breakfast out of the two weeks we went down once and I must admit it was horrible but if you buy the food from the bar it was lovley.

There are alot of cats in turkey but disagree with the pool smelling of cat wee. The pool was ok not the best but even had a lifeguard.

We had a tiny problem with the aircon only a few rooms had a bottle on the balcony for the aircon if you didnt have a bottle on the balcony but had aircon god you were lucky. If you let the bottle fill up it would start leaking into your room I found this out the first night due to it leaked all over my suitcase and clothes the lot was soaking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtaril

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.