Image of Baba Hotel

Baba Hotel

12 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
3 stars

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dianne Coleman
12 years 1 month ago
Just back from Hotel Baba two days ago.Stayed for a week from the 10 Aug 2008 to the 17h aug 2008
Left Glasgow Airport around 8:30 due to a delay of the the Stairs stuck to the aircraft door.
Arrived at around 2:00am Turkish Time then got a coach and a mini-bus to the Hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel we found it to be in a very good area, and the reception was very spacious and clean.
Reception staff not as helpful, We found that the man at reception didnt take into mind that we were Scottish and he was talking in a very fast Turkish/English tone, Couldnt understand a word he said, A very helpful member of staff took our cases to our room ((Just down stairs from the pool)) we found the air conditioning first class and not a bad price, the room cleanliness was amazing and the balcony faced another hotel and a good view of the beach !
Breakfast is served at 8:30am till 9:30am breakfast wasnt bad but always the same thing. the resteraunt faced the beach and that was one of the best things about our stay, pool was very vast and sunbeds were all over the place so no-one didnt have one.
The pool was very clean and the pool manager checked the pools numerous amounts of times which made us feel very safe. The pool was 6ft at one end and about 3ft at the other end there was also a kids pool about 2ft deep. Snack bar very friendly and always up for a laugh no matter how tired they are. the Karaoke bar staff also very friendly and didnt bother us one bit. Upon leaving we rented the room out untill 8:00pm for only
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rachel & Scott
12 years 2 months ago
The Baba is in the best spot, right on the beach and in the centre of Gumbet. It is cleaned everyday and the pool area and reception are very clean and tidy too. The rooms are abit dated and the balconys not big enough to sit out on but we new this before we went so it didnt bother us, but if you like spending time on your balcony on holiday this isnt the hotel for you. The location really couldnt be any better, one side was on the beach and there were lots of bars and restaurants on the front, the other side of the hotel was right into the centre of Gumbet with lots of bars, restaurants, shops. We only stayed a week which wasnt long enough to see everything and there were too many bars and restaurants we couldnt go to, we want to book again for next year but for 2weeks! I cant really score the hotels entertainment as the only entertainment they did was a pool party every thursday but we were going home eraly hours friday morning so couldnt go. All in all we cant fault our holiday and we absolutely loved it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Onur Flight & Alpha Rooms

Recommended
Rachel & Scott
12 years 2 months ago
The Baba is in the best spot, right on the beach and in the centre of Gumbet.

It is cleaned everyday and the pool area and reception are very clean and tidy too. The rooms are abit dated and the balconys not big enough to sit out on but we new this before we went so it didnt bother us, but if you like spending time on your balcony on holiday this isnt the hotel for you.

The location really couldnt be any better, one side was on the beach and there were lots of bars and restaurants on the front, the other side of the hotel was right into the centre of Gumbet with lots of bars, restaurants, shops.

We only stayed a week which wasnt long enough to see everything and there were too many bars and restaurants we couldnt go to, we want to book again for next year but for 2weeks!

I cant really score the hotels entertainment as the only entertainment they did was a pool party every thursday but we were going home early hours friday morning so couldnt go. The breakfast wasnt very good, we tried it the first day and avoided it the rest of the week.

All in all we cant fault our holiday and we absolutely loved it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Onur Flight & Alpha Rooms

Recommended
Ronnie
12 years 2 months ago
hotel baba is in prime location, but however food is not good at all not bad if you like scramble eggs other than dont even try other food as you will send back. As for pool side bar, make sure you give them the correct amount of money as change is none existent due to them having no change (right).Daytime entertainment does nt exist only swimming so if you are marine boy or man from antlantis you will be ok but watch out for the clorine levels they are at danger point.Don t be fooled in getting a saftey deposit box
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas crook

Hotel Baba
12 years 2 months ago
Well after reading the reviews I was looking forward to going to the Baba. My family and I have travelled extensively and have visited numerous other resorts in turkey itself.

The Hotel is diabolical, an utter hole! The rooms are the equivalent to coffins or dungeons was the description of the rooms around the pool with guests moving rooms numerous times including us to escape the sheer noise from the main street which can be heard in the pool side rooms till 4/5am, then they all congregate around the pool till 6/6.30am - still drinking and being noisy....not on when your trying to sleep or have kids etc..but then thats when your alarm goes off - yes you have to set your alarm to get up to reserve your sunbed and umbrella - thats if you can get one, the funniest was when the guests started to go out and buy them as other guests started to steal them as soon as you went to the loo or complain to the rep or reception!

The bar staff are ignorant putting it mildly and short changed numerous guests and over priced them, If you don't book the weekly entertainment of a pool party then they ignore you! One lady whom spoke Turkish overheard them calling the other guests in Turkish, she pulled them up over this and gave a piece of her mind in Turkish - they didn't like this!

The reception staff are very nice so long as you don't actually want them to do anything, then they become pretty useless, but are polite unlike the pool bar staff.

The hotel restaurant food is lovely and the staff are very nice and cannot do enough for you and are simply wasted in the hole of the baba.

The brochure did not mention flights of stairs when I booked it, there are huge flights to navigate to get from reception to rooms or the pool at least 35 stairs, made of marble - fantastic with everyone going up and down dripping wet from the pool - there were numerous accidents involving guests - adults and children falling down the stairs. Hideous for pushchairs or wheelchairs as they have to leave the hotel from the beach side entrance and push the pushchairs up hill around the block to the reception!!

The pool area is lethal as it is raised with no barriers with a 2 foot drop off the side - not great for little kids, neither was the constant broken glass that the pool bar staff hardly ever cleaned up, and when they did it was left so numerous adults and kids had cut feet, one girl ended up in hospital with an operation due to glass and infection!

Basically non of the staff give a hoot what happens or how unhappy the guests are.

Next year it is twenty's and escapades (18-30) which is more or less what the baba is. It is not for families at all and the biggest dump I have ever been to.

Avoid at all costs, save your time by booking else where as many were requesting hotel changes and they charge more for that!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

12 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a week at the Baba. My husband and I have done quite a lot of travelling, but the stay at the Baba was one of our best holidays. There is absolutely nothing that we can complain about. The Baba is very central, out through 1 door is the beach, and out through the other is bar street, with many bars and restaurants. I wouldn't recommend the show "Dreamgirls", drag comedy, or if you decided to go, I would eat before hand. The food during the show was chicken and chips, which was quite tasty, but you literally had 5 chips. My husband and I were still hungry afterwards. I would definately recommend the 1 day boat trip with the Baba. The whole day was fab, the food provided was delicious, and plenty of sunbathing and swimming time. We stopped off at camel beach, and were able to do some water sports before setting off again. The hotel brekfast had plenty of choice, from bread, cheese, olives e.t.c to sausage, scrambled egg, beans, toast e.t.c. The apartment is cleaned on a daily basis, and fresh towels provided. We will definately be returning to Baba hotel some day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Anna
12 years 3 months ago
The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable to sleep and get changed in.

I would defentily recommend investing in the Air con which has to be paid for sepretaly but well worth the money with temp. reaching 45+ degrees in the day.

Breakfast was average ranging from cereal to cooked and all the other usual contiental ham & cheeses. The food that could be purchased at the pool bar or the other restaurants were of very good choice and standard.

The location of the hotel was excellent, right on the beach and as close to the bars as you could wish for but noise was not an issue.

The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke very good english.

Would deffiently be visiting this hotel again if not this year next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Pete & Mich
12 years 3 months ago
If your going to Gumbet then this is without doubt the best hotel to stay in.
The reasons for this are very simple to understand.
When you go on a holiday in my opinion you need:

Location
Quiet at night
Clean
Good pool
Friendly

The baba has all of the best points and more.
READ ON FOR MORE INFO.

The baba is on the lower end of bar street so noise is minimal, your on the beach so nothing to complain about there.
There is a supermarket next to reception and lots of little shops, bars and restaurants to keep you occupied.

The hotel staff are all very friendly and try to do anything you want.

Gem works on the pool bar and is very funny and makes the hotel pool the place to be if you wanna have a laugh.

The location is perfect as you only need walk 10 minutes to anywhere in Gumbet from the babas location.

It was actually a camping site in the 70s

The linen is changed everyday by very hardworking staff.

GET THE AIRCON your going to need it........

The only reason I give food a two star is due to the breakfast being the same everday but in my opinion who needs it we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
Hotel Baba in Gumbet Turkey Cleaned everyday lots of fresh towels.Food was good.Location was excellant..Very helpful staff nothing was too much trouble for them..Woul d Definately stay here again..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Julie And Demi
13 years 1 month ago
Stayed at The Baba Hotel for 2 weeks in August..Good location right on top of the beach,and bars.Very friendly staff..Food was good always found something we liked..

Boat trip is excellant went on it twice..Big hello to the Captain..

Would Definately return to this hotel..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.