Image of Parkim Ayaz Hotel

Parkim Ayaz Hotel

14 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
12 years 9 months ago
Hubby & i Arrived at hotel 4.30am to be greeted by 2 male reception arrived at our holding cell which consisted of 2 single beds the toilet needed a good clean the balcony overlooked the corner of bar street a partial sea view & views of airconditioning units.I was very unhappy but as too tired to confront reception so slept till 8am asked reception to change room to a clean double with sea view which i paid for.The male receptionist stared at my chest & asked why u want double room? an sniggered i replied because my husband had paid for double & showed him the invoice & told him not to be so insulting soon wiped the smirk off his face. Was shown to a seaview overlooking pool with double bed, the toilet was cleaner, still a standard room you couldnt swing cat in but we accepted it. This day was the start of a good holiday. Plenty to eat at the Dining hall not too busy all fresh & hot, dissapointed with sweet selection seemed to be sponge soaked in syrup or swiss roll types with cream.
The weather : i expected t to be a bit cloudy possible rain wich it was from day one out of our 7 days we had about 2 days of no sun the rest cloudy.
Our 1st day we booked to visit the Turkish bath over in Bodrum way cant remember the name but it was the best turkish bath i have ever had, very professional , welcoming, expalined everything we were going to get w also had full body oil massage which should only have been 30 mins but i got extra 30 mins absolutely fanastic. The cost of TB was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Steve Jones
12 years 10 months ago
My fiance and I have just returned from this hotel only yesterday.

There is very little we can add to what the previous reviewer said about the hotel. He covered everything in his review really well and is very accurate in all he has stated.

The people of Turkey, as usual, are particurly friendly and is why we have been coming to Turkey for the past 10 years.

The hotel management are very accommodating if you have a problem.

We did.... we booked a Deluxe room rather than just the standard room, as the standard rooms we were shown were very basic to say the least, although they were clean and the maid came every day to provide fresh towels and to clean the room.

We were given room 1125, which is a deluxe room with wonderful views of the pool and the sea.

All was well until we discovered on our first night that this room backs onto a 'fun-pub' which is just over the back wall from this room and the VERY LOUD music went on until 3am every morning.

It was my 50th birthday while we stayed here and so Im getting to that age where I like my earlier nights and this room didnt allow you to sleep.

Its a pity that the best rooms are located near the noisiest bars.

We asked to be moved the next day to a quiet room which was sorted by the hotel reception.

This was my only complaint about this hotel and it seems churlish to say its a complaint, as to be fair, its more of a comment to let anyone thinking of staying at the hotel to expect some noise, and if you are a light sleeper as I am, you may well be kept awake.

It is no exageration to state that in the deluxe room where we spent the 1 night, it honestly feels as though the 'fun-pub' music is actually being played in your room.

Apart from this one detail, we would recommend this hotel as the location is excellent for the beach and bars and I would have marked the location higher had it not been for the noise at night.

If you are younger and not an old 'fuddy duddy' as I am now, you will love it as there are some great bars nearby, playing great music.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nicki
13 years 1 month ago
Really nice and clean hotel. Staff really helpful and friendly. We we're lucky and was given a luxury room when we had only booked a standard room, we had a jucuzzi bath in the room. The hotel food was really nice with so much to choose from. The location of the hotel is fantastic but only if you like nightlife, some older people we're complaining about the noise. If you walk out the front of the hotel there are all the bars and at the back of the hotel is the beach and some more quieter bars. I would definately go back to this hotel. Im returning to Gumbet in Aug 2010 with the girls but unfortuatey this hotel doesnt have rooms for 4 people so we've had to stay at a different hotel near by.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
I really was not looking forward to this holiday as I love Icmeler and decided to try Gumbet mainly because of this hotel and the excellent reviews.
I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have stayed in in Turkey over the last 20 years.
We arrived about 2am after a very quick flight from the UK.(3hrs 50mins)
Check in was swift and we were given AI type bracelets to wear?This is because the hotel is situated on the beach and anyone could enter the dining room and eat.
The room we were allocated was beautiful.Everything was brand new and we were the first occupants this year.
We were tired but could hear a noise that we thought was the fridge.Next morning after a sleepless night we opened the curtains and realised the noise was coming from the huge extractor fan on the roof of the kitchens a few feet away from the window.
Reluctantly we asked to be moved even though the room had a garden,pool and sea view.This room had a double bed,TV and a shower room with hair dryer.There were complimentary toiletries.The balconies were small but had enough room for 2 chairs and a table.
We were given a ground floor room overlooking the beautiful gardens which were like a botanical garden,coplete with a family of tortoises!
The dining room was large but was in sections so it didnt feel like a canteen.There was also a large outdoor dining area overlooking the sea.
There were cereals,yoghurt,fruit,cheeses,tomatoes and cucumber along with omelets,fried eggs,sausages and lovely bread.
Dinner was served at 7pm when we first arrived and was moved to 7.30pm then 8pm the second week.This is to late for families with small children and adults like us who are not used to eating this late.This is the only fault.
There was soup,a vast salad bar and 2 stations serving meat and vegetables which we were told were grown in the hotels own organic farm.
The desserts were to die for and the highlight for a lot of people was that there were 2 huge bowls of fresh strawberries every night!
We certainly ate our share and maybe thats why we didnt put on any weight as Slimming World say they are a slimming food!
Drinks had to be bought in the dining room and we bought a large bottle of water ,1.5lt,for 4 TL.every night.
There are 4 bars on site,the Cozzy bar which holds the entertainment on an evening in a large round building with large white sofas around the edge. There is Dennys steak house where guests we offered a 20% discount.The Ladybird bar did lunches,as did the Carmedia bar.All these are situated on the edge of the beach.
There are 2 super pools,one with a large jacuzzi area and the other with slides.
Next to the jacuzzi pool was a decked area under the palm trees with 120 large bean bag cushions.This is were we spent our mornings.
There were also plenty of sunbeds around this pool.
The area was surrounded by beautiful trees and plants.
We went to the shingle beach after lunch as there was a lovely breeze.There was always plenty of sunbeds and sun shades.The sea is very shallow and you could go out a fair bit and the water was only about 3ft deep.

The other pool had lots of sunbeds and a cushioned area with about 80 cushions.
The entertainment is varied from Brazilian dancers to a snake dancer! We went out every night but plenty of guests enjoyed the shows.
The guests were from the UK,Turkey,Holland and Belgium which was a lovely mix.Everyone was friendly and there was no queue jumping!
The hotel staff are the best I have encountered in Turkey and nothing was a problem for them.
Our friends came 2 days after us and were allocated a room overlooking a wall,they were shown 3 rooms before they were happy with the room.Their daughter and son-in-law came 1 week later and I asked the desk staff if they could have a room near their parents so they could use their room when leaving.They were given a pool view and 2 doors away from their parents.I was the only person who knew they were coming so it was quite a surprise for our friends.
I would go back to this hotel tomorrow as the grounds are amazing and although the hotel was full there was plenty of space and you could get a sun bed or cushion any time of day.
The whole complex was very similar to large AI hotels and I hope it stays HB as it really is a great hotel.
It is in the centre of the resort and has very noisy bars opposite.This could be a problem for some rooms but luckily we didnt hear any noise from our room.
Take wax earplugs just in case your room is allocated near the bars.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Robert Millar
13 years 10 months ago
The hotel itself is nice and the food is ok. The problem is it is not a hotel for older people as the music never stops and is very loud. We had to change our room as we were not getting any sleep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrain

Recommended
Caroline
14 years ago
Although I cannot fault the service and friendliness of the staff the hotel slightly disappointed me with the selection of food available.

But saying that the location is absolutly spot on you can sit in the outside dining room area and practically touch the beach and sea.

Through the reception area and out the front door you are slap bang in the middle of Gumet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
14 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the Parkim Palace in Gumbet.
Hotel was really clean throughout, rooms cleaned daily also bedding and towels also changed daily.
There is a good hairdryer in the Bathroom which comes in very useful.

The gardens are really nice,with plenty of hammocks.
The hotel is of an excellent location, directly on the beach which is good but the beach wasnt that great. It was very dirty with awful stoney sand - i wouldnt even call it shingle.

The food was the only downfall to this hotel, breakfast ok with, eggs, cereals, toast, jam etc but the main meals were un eatable by anyones standards.
The first week was ok and edible but the last week went slowly downhill.

The hotel staff were great. Mum had trouble walking upstairs to her room so they happily gave her a low floor one as soon as one came available.
The beach bar staff were great, just beware though that at the bar outside the hotel Joy-In overcharged us for drinks everytime we went and this does belong to the hotel.

Entertainment was really repetitive not only in the hotel but all the way along the beach front hotels. Cannot comment on other hotels but the entertainment never lasted for more than 45 mins!!

Overall we did like the hotel desipte the odd issue, We would re-visiit the hotel again but probably only on a B&B basis and if it was in a different resort.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Hammill
14 years 11 months ago
first impressions. was good until we saw our room which was dark and dingy, however after complaining we were shown to a superior room at a cost of an extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays direct

Bennett
14 years 11 months ago
We just came back from the Parkim Palas, we was a bit disapointed with our room but they were very helpful in letting us change, we was given a better room and we was very pleased with it.

The pool was one depth, there was a small pool for children to play in. Being very hot the hotel had adequate shaded areas , there was also hammocks in the garden which were lovely to lay in.

The food was basic in the morning , (cereals and toast), the evening meal was definately turkish style.

The pool bar food was excellent for a snack at lunch time and evening meal, and the staff in the pool bar, they were fantastic, very friendly, we enjoyed their company.

We had entertainment every night which most nights was very good.Also ideal place for nightlife outside of the hotel.

Overal it was a really good holiday and would definately return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Donna R
15 years ago
Me, my partner and another couple returned from the Parkim Palace on Monday and we have already booked to go back next August with our children.

We have been to many places in Turkey but I have to say that this is one of the best. The location is perfect and you do not have to go very far from the hotel as everything you could possibly want is right on the door step weather it's the beach and restaurants at the back of the hotel or the bars and shops at the front. The staff in the hotel are all very helpful and really friendly especially the lads in the beach bar.

The rooms are clean and bedding and towels are changed daily and if your lucky the cleaner will do a pretty design on your bed with the sheets and petals.

To be honest we didn't use the half board restaurant, but the restaurants around Gumbet are all very nice and reasonably priced (approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.