Image of Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel

Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel

13 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
3 stars
G├╝mbet Kvş, 48400 Bodrum, Turkey
A favourite with First Choice guests, this hotel occupies a peaceful beachfront location, built into the hillside and is a perfect setting for a relaxed holiday. The lively town of Gumbet, with shops, bars and restaurants, is within a short walk.

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Finch
Happy and friendly staff
9 years 2 months ago
Lovely hotel food very good and lots to choose from. Loved the restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel views were brilliant the hotel was very clean inside and out our bedroom was very nice clean and fresh. Entertainment was good lots to do daytime and a show in the evening look out for Michael Jackson, the entertainment guy portrayed him very well.

All the staff are very happy and friendly and all speak very good English made us feel very welcome. We stayed by the quiet pool always lots of sunbeds and shade from the trees when it got too hot. The grounds were nice lots of trees and shrubs and water running through.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D A Sullivan
Not enough space for guests
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel food in the panorama restaurant was often luke warm, and included chicken every night. There was no variety and often the chicken was undercooked. The restaurant could not cater when it was cold or windy. The enclosed part could not get everyone in. There was not enough room in most of the bars.

The lobby bar was often full with people going home and there was not enough seats and the marine bar was used as the Chinese a la carte and people who had eaten stayed at the table all night. There was not enough seating.
Anyone who came down late from breakfast could not always get a sunbed.

The entertainment was the worst I have ever had abroad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Eddie
10 years 4 months ago
this hotel we found was great the food was plentyfull so much to choose from hot and cold. our room cleaned every day the hotel was spotless. so if you read this have agood holiday like we had
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Gordon McDougall
11 years 1 month ago
Fantastic hotel that offers an above average all-inclusive service for its guests combined with friendly helpful staff creating a great atmosphere. Excellent room with sea view that was cleaned daily and towels and bedding changed. First class food with plenty of choice to suit all tastes which was available 24/7. The animation team provided an acceptable level of entertainment on the evening which attracted plenty of guest participation. Having taken a number of all-inclusive holidays over the past years I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel which I would be happy to use in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
M.kibar
11 years 2 months ago
royal asralik hotel gumbet could not fault this hotel from front reception too the house keepers and waiters all very friendly nothing to much trouble for them food exellent if you want english food stay at home the beach rooms are the best booked already for 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
We were in the Royal Asarlik from 10th-24th August, it was quite a lot to take in the first day as the complex was so big and strangley laid out due to the fact that it is two different complexes comined into one, with this in mind there was little to do during the day for the kids (8-13 year old's).
Of an evening the entertainment team done their level best to amuse us all, although they aimed the entertainment to just the ampitheatre and not the Marine bar aswell as there were just as many watching from there.
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, as are the grounds and pool area's, the pool's are very small but all managed very well, if you want a quiter afternoon by the pool then might i suggest the pool by the mediteranian resteraunt (the split pool with rocks in the middle).
Over all, would we go back, probably not, but not because of the hotel or its staff which i might add were out standing. It just did'nt have the 'wow' factor to make us go back.
Made some outstanding friends there, you know who you all our, my karaoke gang.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
We have just arrived back from the Royal Asarlik Beach after our first ever holiday in Turkey. When we first arrived at the hotel we were very impressed, some of the hotels we were dropping other holidaymakers off at were a bit 'ropey' looking so we were relieved.

Excellent, quick check in and prompt help from the bell boy got us to our room quickly. We were very disappointed with our room as it was a far cry from the pictures on the website we had viewed. Our room was dark and dingy and although hotel rooms generally don't bother us (as we only sleep and get changed there) we did go and complain to the reception. They explained that the hotel was formerly two seperate hotels and our room was in the older, original hotel. We did pay to upgrade and were really glad that we did as our son is nearly 14 and the size of an adult so we were relieved that the new room was very spacious and had a lovely view.

Anyway, enough moaning as we did really enjoy our time at this hotel! Having holidayed in Spain previously we found the Turkish people, especially the staff at this hotel, so friendly and welcoming.

The Hotel and large grounds are kept in good, clean condition and we were pleased with the way our room was cleaned every day. We had a leak in the bathroom which was sorted quickly and with the minimum disruption to us. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and the hotel put a bottle of wine and cake in our room which was a nice touch, we thought. be careful with the glasses though - some of them end up in the sand and grass and there were a few times that our drinks had floaters from the beach and grounds!!!! Not a problem really but funny we thought.

The Hotel is quite big and does take a bit of getting to grips with as there are a couple of other hotels within the same site as well. As mentioned elsewhere the staff are geared up to sell, sell, sell i.e. haircuts, spa treatments, photo shoot's etc etc however a firm no thanks is all thats needed.

We thought the hotel food was very tasty, well cooked and plentiful - but very boring. I was looking forward to trying some turkish quisine but generally, once you've sampled one evening's menu then it's pretty much the same each night.

Hotel is well located and if you want any excursions go and see 'Forget Me Not' travel just outside the hotel. He says he's called Dennis but they all seem to be called Dennis the Menace!! If you shop around on the front etc you can save a lira or two but we thought for the convenience of front door pick up it was well worth it!! However compare the prices with the Thomson rep and you are getting a real bargain!

The entertainment was ok but as we had our son with us we found that we were making our own entertainment or going outside the hotel. It's unfair to mark the hotel down due to not having enough facilities for children as it isn't advertised as a hotel for children.

I would recommend this hotel to others and although parts of this review sound negative, to put everyting in perspective:
the original room was a let down, definately, but it wouldn't have ruined the holiday.
The food was very repetitive, yes, but what all inclusive isn't.
We had a leak, yes but it was very quickly sorted.

The only other thing I would say, and it is by no means a reflection on the hotel, do not forget your immodium!!!! All three of us had the turkish trots which made for some hilarious memories!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gibb
11 years 4 months ago
The Royal Aserlik Beach Hotel was absolutely fabulous. The staff very friendly,helpful and kind and nothing was too much trouble for them. The selection of food was superb and plenty of it. There were 3 a la carte resturants and the chinese one was surerb. There were occasions when perhaps the food could have done to be a little warmer.The cleanliness was excellent and the pool and surrounding areas always kept very clean The entertainment was good and the entertainment team worked hard to involve everyone. An absolutely fabulous place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Smith
11 years 4 months ago
This was our first visit to turkey, hotel was absolutely wonderful, very clean,staff very friendly and could not do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The entertainment team were first class and always with a smile, This will certainly not be our last visit to this hotel. A special mention must go to Eto, in entertainment and Sinnan the milk shake lad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Graham& Lsa
11 years 4 months ago
Arrived back last week from the Royal Asarlik Beach, had a great 2 weeks there, weather wis in the high 30s mid 40s for the whole 2 weeks.Depending on where you have stayed before, you will have mixed reviews on this hotel.On previous trips to turkey we have stayed in belek and the quality and ammenities of these hotels is/are far better.this hotel is listed as a 4*, which i would probably agree with if we hadn't stayed in a 5* in Belek.This hotel is more like a 3*.The staff are exeptionally friendly and will do all they can to help and assist.Check in is from 1400hrs and as we landed there at 9am we were given 2 rooms in the hotel opposite, which was adequate for the short time we were there.At 2 pm we were given our rooms as promised.These rooms were excellent and had all you needed.The air conditioning was excellent and stayed on when you left the room and also when the balcony doors were open, we have never had this before.
The pool areas are far too small for the number of rooms.when we arrived for the first couple of days we got up around the pool at about 9am and we were able to find loungers but after a few days we were having to get up at 7am to reserve a lounger.
The animation team are great (Scooby, Alex,Sam,Rosa,Mike&Tuba and the main man Muhac).If you have teenagers with you these guys will take them out round Bar Street and bring them home safely.
The food in the hotel was excellent and could not be faulted apart from the Chinese a la Cart, id give this a miss if i were you (afterall they are Turkish trying to cook Chinese food and i have never tasted food so bland in my life).
The drinks on offer are great and even some international brands are included (beware of the mini bar in your room as it is not all inclusive) but you can get drinks 24hrs down at the Marine Bar near the beach.
all in all we had a great holiday but we would not return to this hotel due to the outside space being too small and having been spoiled in Belek.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.