Image of Litera Gumbet Relax

Litera Gumbet Relax

37 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

3 out of 5 from 45 reviews
3 stars

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Elizabeth Cush
11 years 3 months ago
When we arrived at the hotel, bearing in mind we had travelled all night and were very tired, we found that some of the people were told that the hotel had overbooked and these people had to walk to another hotel for the first night. We were ok and got what we found to be a good room. We had a door which actually locked and also hot water.
The maid also came to our room each day and changed beds etc. Only one day we got no towels and after asking for some it was no problem.
The hotel had said 4 star all inclusive but the food was inedible. We never ate a meal there. The food mainly consisted of salad etc for breakfast and tea. We did however make the most of the all inclusive coffee and beer.
The location of the hotel was perfect. The bay in Gumbet is lovely and walking along the waters edge was beautiful. The turkish people are extremely friendly and in restaurants we were offered coffee or a drink on the house which we have never had in Spain.
This hotel is not suitable for families with small children as getting around with a pram is difficult due to the amount of steps everywhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Johnson
11 years 5 months ago
just arrived back from Turkey. We were thoroughly disappointed. Had to move rooms 4 times. Only stayedfor a week. Rooms were damp. With damp sheets on bed. Had to sleep on beach towels till got rep to move us from damp rooms. One room wouldn't lock. Showers wouldn't work. Towels were dirty and damp. Not a 4 starhotel. meals were o.k. if you liked salads. Don't know what you would do if had children. Entertainment was o.k. This hotel has gone down hill. was there 2 years ago and was o.k. Wouldn't go back again. Girl on reception couldn't understand English which didn't help
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hayes travel

Mr Hailey
12 years 1 month ago
This nightmere holiday started at the airport when we were inform that the hotel we had originally book was not available and we had been up graded to the gumbet relax, hate to think if this was an up grade what the first was like.

Anyway: we arrived at 5 am and was taken down to what can only be discibed as a dungeon. (room 1112) this room was along a dark and dingy corridor that had no natural light, the patio door was opened to this room that can only be discibed as a small smelly box room with a smell simalar to a public toilet. After many hours of complaining we were relocated to room 2603, which at least had natural light and was bigger, but still smelt like a public toilet. we found the extractor fan in the room that resembled a bathroom missing and found that this made all the bedding damp when used, the tv and the air conditioning did not work either, we had paid for this as part of the package. again in fairness this was all rectified very quickly but only after more complaining. During the repair work cigarettes went missing from our room and when challenged the response of the management was "they did do alot of work in the room" great makes it ok then.

After 3 days of the room not being cleaned and the toilt bin over flowing with used toilet paper, I asked why it had not been cleaned, I was told by the management that if I had not put the key into reception by 12 noon each day it would not be cleaned, if only we had been told that when we arrived.

The all inclusive was ok if you liked chicken done in a varity of ways, there was a second choice on the menue and plenty of food to go round. all edible just!
Restaurant and bar staff very pleastant people who worked hard to provide a good service which on the whole they all achieved.

The hotel grounds were kept very clean and tidy. pool area and pool well maintained.
Would never ever go back to this hotel even if it was the only one left avaliable in the world, rather stay at home for 7 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Gibb
12 years 1 month ago
Thought it was to be the holiday from hell as rooms allocated smelt of damp/sewage we refused them and was told there was nothing else , but we still refused to accept, we were then allocated others of same standard which we again refused then finally given acceptable rooms, which were basic but clean. This is not 4 star hotel which is what we booked but it would be 3 star.The domestic staff always took away dirty towels but had a habit of forgetting to leave fresh ones so you had to go to reception which was a nuisance. Any complaints we had were dealt with by the manager promptly and efficiently.The dining room was nice, the food good and very well presented. All the staff were friendly and approachable and good fun and the atmosphere in the evenings was superb tho' the entertainment wasnt great. Pity the bar closed at 11pm I think thatshould be extended to 12 tho' we all still sat around and hae a laugh. The pool area clean and tidy too. we enjoyed our stay after a rocky start. I was very apprehensive after reading some reviews but it really is not like a lot of the reviews say. we had a most enjoyable holiday and would return . All the staff seem to put in very long hours but are always happy and smiling, i take my hat off to them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gold trail

Recommended
Peter
12 years 2 months ago
Decent rooms although quite basic,pretty clean furniture was in good nick, fridge wasn't very cold, no cups, cutlery, or kettle so don't bother taking the tea bags and coffee. the maintenance leaves a lot to be desired, wobbly toilet electrical wires running from the hair dryer and extractor fan went behind the shabby mirror, room 2402 smelled of drains on quite a few occasions

Food after 3 days was more than enough for me and the rest of the family, we got up for breakfast just the once, which was a mistake, shouldn't have bothered getting up. No bacon or pork as it's a muslim country i'm not complaining as the food that accompanied it ( that i like at home ) was disgraceful. sloppy scrambled egg, boiled egg still in the shell and the beans were terrible.
Cocoa pops were ok but the wife complained that the corn flakes were soggy, and NO TOAST!! grrrr!!
I would say it's Ok if you like the traditional Turkish breakfast as there was more of a choice.
Dinner and tea time foods were almost the same, usually 3 choices of hot meals, with rice (cus-cus) or chips, plenty of cold foods and salad foods though. the soup was the same for the 3 days we had meals there.

We stayed in rooms 2401 and 2402 which luckily was quite close to the main reception area and pool bar. few flights of stairs, so a non starter for disabled or those who find it dificult to climb stairs
The hotel is set slightly back up quite a steep hill, it's not very noisy up there so good for those wanting some quiet of a night time.
A 10 minute walk to the beach we stayed at the tropicana beach owned part of the beach it was 5 lira per sun lounger and you got a free drink with that too which was a nice gesture from them.:)
Good speed boat activites, ranging form 10 uk pounds and upwards. we had a go on the big mable it was well worth the tenner we payed.
Didn't get to know them much they seemed pretty ok although i wouldn't let your daughters loose, lots of winking and smiling going on, if you get my drift.
Didn't see any female members of staff at all.?

Entertainment?? ...non existant as far as i could tell.
Had lots of good reviews about the turkey and it's people they are quite friendly although i think for the obvious.. they wanna sell you something. ;)

I think they have applied for a 4 start rating, which in my opinion is two stars above what the hotel deserves 2 star or a shabby 3 star at best.
Wouldn't ever go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

K
12 years 3 months ago
Worst hotel and room I have ever had at any hotel. Only stayed at hotel for one night. That was one night too many. Boxed room, no windows, only patio doors. Brick wall facing patio doors. Room was full of dampness, although sheets and pillow cases were clean. The actual pillows and mattresses were rotten and could not sleep with them. Toilet had running water constantly, shower was had to be handheld, fridge did not work, had to buy batteries for tv remote and it was still wrong remote for tv. Air conditioning was not required as room was freezing as no sunlight could get to room as it was like war bunker. Only had 2 hours sleep.

The bar was too small for size of hotel, miniature glasses of soft drinks so barely wet your tongue before having to re-order. Same with beers half pint is a large glass at hotel. Didnt try spirits.

Apart from room and staff. The entertainment was ok, food was ok, pool was ok (a bit dirty probably due to the amount of people in and out with suncream.)

The sunset from hotel was nice.

Would not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

Audrey And Lee
13 years 2 months ago
First time me and lee have visited turkey it a lovely place but the hotel was the worst we have ever been to.The food was awful ate outside hotel alot.

Rooms were cleaned daily pitty the rest of hotel wasnt. The staff were terrible exept for a lad called enpin he could teach the other staff how to be friendly and polite.

The bar was too small for size of hotel and glass cups were given even to small children around the pool.

The entertainment was rubish and only ten minutes on a night if that.

We will never go back to this hotel and wouldnt recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Matt
13 years 3 months ago
Hi, this was my first holiday abroad with my girlfriend so didnt have any experience to compare this hotel with bt.....
in my opinion i thought it was great, we arrived at bodrum airport and got directed to the Goldtrail coach where the reps were very helpful, arrived at hotel and we thought it was a palace. One of the staff came straight out and welcomed us and took our bags and showed us to our room, opened the door and it was the size of my downstairs of my house. Swimming pools were very clean and kept tidy, staff were extremely freindly and room was unbelievable although we heard that some people were very disappointed with theirs (family of five with two beds) The only fault i can tell you was the food, chicken basically every night and it was a rush to get the food before it was all gone.
Overall i would deffinatley go there again only if we got given the same room, 25 pound for air con is abit steep considering how hot it is there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
R.Robertson
13 years 3 months ago
Don't know where to begin!

I stayed in the Litera Relax for 1 week in July, and I will NEVER go back!

The staff in the restuarant and behind the bar, I found, were not friendly, unless you where a young girl alone. Being an all-inclusive, the drinks tasted like washing up liquid and the food... well, if your a fussy eater or a vegetarian who is not happy to eat vegetables the whole time of your holiday, you will find yourself self-catering. The rooms are decent, the toilet in our room smelled and it wasn't really attached onto the floor properly! We asked around people who where staying there, they had the same problem. Its well known in Turkey that they use solar panels for the water heat source, so it is best to have a shower between 5pm and 6pm if you would like a hot shower, thats it other people don't use it up first, and your lucky if you get a decent shower, due to the showers hardly working! Also, stairs are just everywhere! Which isn't a problem if your not lazy, but is a problem is the guy who takes your suitcases to your room isn't around. Not suitable for elderly or disabled people.

I didn't think this was a particularly good hotel, definitely would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Paul
13 years 4 months ago
Have been going abroad 25 yrs this is the worst food I have ever seen 1 word slop.

Location a good 20 mins walk to centre of Gumbet, the drinks at hotel beer was very week in strength there were also long ques at the bar to get served also the bar was way too small to cater for this large hotel.

There was steps everywhere to climb up and down the staff miserable as if they didnt want to be there.

EntertainmentsI've seen a lot better busking on street corners the only decent thing about htis hotel was the room it was cleaned every day although there were rooms that weren't we must have been lucky.

Would definitley never go there ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.