Image of Comfort Inn Universal Studios Area

Comfort Inn Universal Studios Area

49 of 67 hotels in Orlando

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
6101 West Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL, United States

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years ago
First time to Florida and had heard lots of bad reports about accommodation. We arrived at hotel and check in was slow and I have to say staff were not very welcoming. Despite being given directions to our room it took us a while to find it. I was prepared for the worst, however when we found our room I was pleasantly surprised. It was extremely spacious and comfortable. It was clean and no worse than some other 3* hotels I have stayed in. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We had a sofa and a writing table, fridge, microwave and a coffee machine.The room was cleaned daily clean towels put in the room. A free breakfast was served each morning, cereals, toast, pastries and muffins and fresh waffles. We didn't spend much time in the hotel but it was perfect for our needs. We ate out in the evening on International Drive and although the hotel is only about a 10 minute walk, after a busy day it seemed much longer. For me that was the only downside. There was transport to Disney and Universal. Coach to Disney was often full and we had to stand and it was a little annoying to have to tell them when you got there what time coach you would be returning on. It would have been nice to have coaches that ran more regularly and that you could just turn up for, although I'm not sure that this was any fault of the hotel. I would most definitely stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jamie & Amanda
10 years 9 months ago
The good side is that the hotel is in a good location to international drive where you wil find it very easy to get to all park area's
The staff where fine you towels where changed every day ....Everything else about this hotel was shocking!! there was only a few saftey deposit boxes that where behind the reception area.
we decided against a room on the bottom floor as we had heard complaints already as we checked in, so we got a room on the 3rd floor.
As you walked into the room the smell of damp hits you straight away...there was mould/damp marks in the corners of the ceilings the air con machine worked but was in very bad condition bits broken off, also some holes in the wall you had to keep your curtains shut as people walk by the window so the room felt very depressing even in day light... luckily orlando florida is a very busy holiday and we didnt spend much time in the room
we booked this hotel as a 3 star and just wanted somewhere to lay our heads at night, as we have no kids we put up with the conditions of the room....if we did have children we would of left the hotel asap and checked in somwhere else, first choice need to know that this is a hotel thats way off 3 star standard

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First choice

Goldspink
10 years 11 months ago
Stopped at this hotel with another family.was our 5th time to Orlando but first at this hotel so knew what to expect from hotel room as all pretty similar.Room was slightly old fashioned but was clean,cleaners came and made beds and changed towels every day.Beds were comfortable,plenty of space for clothes etc.Bathroom fine,powerful shower.Had fridge in room which was excellent,also microwave and coffee maker.
Breakfast in a morning could get busy, not a big room, but always got a table.Plenty to choose from,bagels,muffins,toast,cereal,waffles,juice,tea,coffee etc all very good and over the 3 weeks we were there saved quite abit of money!
Staff always pleasant,nothing too much trouble for them,rang and booked us in at a hotel in Clearwater when we were having trouble with the phone.
Location of hotel was also good,only a 5 min walk to I Drive,felt totally safe even late at night.
Pool was only small really compared to size of hotel but who goes to Florida to stay in pool all day,it was never over busy and you could get a sunbed usually.
I would stop at this hotel again as it offers good value for money.and if my daughter(age 15),who is very fussy said it was ok and she would stop there again then it must be ok!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Ade
11 years 10 months ago
We found this hotel to be the worst hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in in our 20 years of holidaying.

We were a family of 4 and booked 18 months in advance as such, only to be given a single room with one double bed on our arrival.

We were given a second room with two double beds, but we did not enter the room as the smell that hit us as we opened the door was so foul and you could see the water logged carpet.

We were then offered another room which had damp bedding and a slighly damp carpet and was told that no more rooms were available until the morning as it was Labour day week end. We threw the bedding on the landing and slept on the bare bed. We awoke to find our clothes infested with ants.

Also the sink and bathroom were over run by them as well.
We were offered a different room the next day as some guests had left. We took the room as it seemed clean and dry.

Breakfast was serve in a small room with approxiametly ten tables that seated about four persons each and the hotel held approximately 350 people, so breakfast time was a mad rush to find a seat and wait in line for the toasters and coffee dispensors.

We found the pool was so dirty I did not allow my children in it and the "Tropical gardens" as advertised in the brochure was nothing more than a fly infested piece of swamp like land.

The washers and dryers did not work. The elevator was out of order and the brochure boasted an ice machine on every floor, which there was, but only the one on the ground floor actually worked.

That evening the toilet over flowed after its first use and flooded the bathroom and the bed room. We call reception and they told us that they would send some one in the morning to see to it. I asked what were we to do for toilet facilities until then, and we were told we could use the public toilets located near reception, which was four floors down (with no elevator) and across the other side of the hotel.

We left the ironically named "Comfort Inn" the next morning and paid to stay elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel city direct

Karen
12 years 1 month ago
Comfort Inn is in agood location.I-drive 5mins walk, 10mins in car to Universal, 20mins car journey to Disney.

Rooms clean and maid service every day. Great to have the fridge, microwave, iron & ironing board. Air-conditioning a saver after hectic days in the sun.

Pool could be a bit bigger but ideal as you weren't at the pool all the time.

Found staff friendly & helpful.

Good choice for breakfasts but could be busy and couldn't get seats but just took breakfast back to your room.

Ideal holiday base for a busy unforgettable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Rick And Pauline
12 years 9 months ago
We thought the hotel was clean.

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.

The pool was small for the size of the hotel.

We found most of the staff very helpful and friendly.

Not having a bar in the hotel was a let down, but I believe there is plans for pool bar next year.

The location was spot on,just off International Drive.

Also they are going to up grade the games room.
buses to the theme parks were laid on from the hotel which was a good idea.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Smith
12 years 10 months ago
The hotel was o.k, as far as being clean, but otherwise
it was a disaster. Firstly I had my 3yr old grandson, and he could climb through missing iron bars on the
first floor.

Second,the electric light was hanging in
the swimming pool! How no one was killed I dont know.

Third,algie was found to be growing round the sides
of the pool. In the end after numerouse complaints the
Health & Safety Exec,came and closed the pool.

My next complaint was the transport to Disney? it was
overcrowded to say the least? Over twice its capacity, until everbody complained then after 10 days a new larger bus was arranged.

In the room the carpet was wet through but the Manager said it was the air-con, and the same in all rooms. It was the air-con draining into the room?

In all for a so called upper class ? society, they dont care about guests. The dining hall was large enough for about 100 and the hotel housed many more.

Also 40 sunbeds isnt many for so many people?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city direct

Karen
12 years 10 months ago
My family and I stayed at the Comfort Inn in September after transferring from another hotel for transport reasons. We chose to transfer there as we also stayed there for three weeks last year.

The rooms are very clean and are cleaned on a daily basis.

The breakfast is very good there was lots of variety, the only problem was it could get a little over crowded but this wasn't a problem for me as the staff didn't mind you taking your breakfast out of the breakfasting room to elsewhere eg your room by the pool.

This place is in a great location as it is only a five minute walk onto I-Drive which there is loads to see and do and places to eat.

Hotel staff are first class they are so helpful and will resolve any problem you have, they will make your stay a pleasure.

There was no entertainment on site but this is not needed as you can go onto I-drive.

I would highly recommend the Comfort Inn to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum