Image of Crowne Plaza Universal Hotel

Crowne Plaza Universal Hotel

18 of 67 hotels in Orlando

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL, United States
This spacious hotel is located right on Universal Boulevard just 1 block from the lively bars, restaurants and shops on International Drive.

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ryder
11 years 11 months ago
First time we have stayed at this hotel all I can say is this is one of the finest hotels in Orlando. We go every year and have stayed in many hotels but this one beats the lot.

The staff are very frendly and helpful.

Rooms cleaned every day to perfection, rooms are so comf.y

The food in hotel was very nice.

Pool area very nice.

Games room good for children.

Also very good for disabled travelers we traveled with our son who is confined to wheelchair and had no problems with this hotel they have disabled rooms with roll in showers etc. While we were there our sons wheelchair broke down and they were exellent they phoned around and got our wheelchair fixed for us.

We will be going again in 2007 and can't wait
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelcitydirect

Recommended
Holidayinghubbard
11 years 11 months ago
We booked this hotel as part of a package with Travel City Direct, it was described as being DeLuxe....and it most certainly was.

Our beds, two queen sized, were the most sumptious beds we have slept in.

The room was cleaned thoroughly daily, and the staff were always polite and friendly.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant three/four mornings, which was more expensive than the likes of golden corral etc...but it really was a good breakfast, and much more relaxed.

The bar also stocked an excellent variety of drinks, and made a good stop off after a busy day at the parks.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
Janice Barker
13 years 2 months ago
The hotel was absolutely beautiful, very clean and modern.

The staff are very helpful, polite and greeted you every time they saw us.

Free shuttle to Disney and Universal was great.

The food was nice, although breakfast was very expensive, evening meals were around $18 per entree. But you are only a short walk from International drive, so you have a good choice of restaurants (except "Essence of India" which had poor quality service and food)also near a 7 11 which sold 8 bottles of water for $1.99 which cost over $2.50 in the parks so stock up.

No fridge in room, but ice machine on each floor. Also have a self service launderette. Beds made every day, and rooms spotless. The most comfortable I have ever slept in. Although we were next to lift, room very quiet. Air con a little noisy but we did expect that so it didn't bother us.

I would stay here again! Loved it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Sarah
13 years 8 months ago
On first arrival I was impressed with this hotel, the staff were helpful polite and considerate, and were throughout the holiday. The room was the best room I have ever stayed in, very specious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Which is much needed after a day at the theme parks.

The swimming pool was well maintained with a bar tender that catered for your every need. The location is on a quiet road, (universal boulivade, which lead straight to unversal studies, islands of adventure, and wet and wild) it is a comfortable walk of in between five and ten minutes to the resturants near by.

The hotel had its own resturant and bar, of which was very expensive. so you had to get up abit earlier to have your breakfast at a local resturant.

There are also buses that take you to the local theme parks including disney universal bush gardens and wet and wild and sea world. Although you didn't need the wet and wild, nor sea world buses, as wet and wild is a 15 minute walk, and sea world, you can get on a trolley (bus) for 50c to sea world this allows you to go to the park what time you want and come home what time you want and stop at a resturant on the way.

The hotel is used mainly by businessmen and pilots, staying over for conferences, and overnight stays. Also a well known american football team stayed there, whilst in orlando. This shows that the hotel is good.

However this hotel in my opinion isnt suitable for those with young children wanting to meet other children, as of the people that stay there.

overall a very good hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city direct

Recommended
Charlotte Woodward
13 years 8 months ago
I have to say that this hotel has got to be the finest I have ever had the luck to stay in.

On arrival after an 8 hour flight, we were upgraded to priority club level which meant 14th floor, executive suite.

As we concentrated on the parks we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel but found the food to be good, service and attitude of staff was excellent at all times and the communal areas were spotless [I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Andy Hollingworth
14 years ago
We stayed in the hotel in July/August 2004 and overall it is a fantastic hotel.

The rooms and facilities are first class and although the pool area looks small, we were nearly always able to get loungers, and sometimes a parasol. I think this was because most of the guests are out sightseeing and visiting the parks etc. during the day.

(I have given the hotel a 3 for entertainment because there was none, but this was not an issue for us)

I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
The Vaughtons
14 years 2 months ago
This was our 3rd visit to Orlando but our first time at the Crowne Plaza. As soon as we entered the reception area, we were made to feel welcome and this continued and increased for all of our stay. The room was superb, clean and well maintained. The beds were excellent, very comfy. The pool was great and the poolside staff brilliant, frozen flannel anyone to cool down?! Heaven.

This is the hotel to stay in as the location is also great for the resturants etc on I Drive, having that small bit of distance from the constant traffic yet close enough to walk. Recommend the Front Row Sports Bar,we go there every time and never been dispointed.

Virgin excelled themselves finding this hotel and we now judge other hotels against this one and as yet not found one that comes anywhere close. We not ony would recommend
this hotel, we rave about it!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum