Image of Luxor Hotel

Luxor Hotel

40 of 59 hotels in Las Vegas

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
3900 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV, United States

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Marie Graham
9 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from a week in Vegas staying at the Luxor .
Before traveling but afer booking i was shocked to read such bad reports about the Luxor and tryed to change my hotel the reports said dirty roome ,long waits for checking in and out,nasty staff on reception.
We did,nt find any of this ,we had a large room in the east block,quiet and clean, very nice .
We could see that some places had been refurbish the restrooms in the casino and some flooring in the casino area but no work was in progress .
Our only complaint was our room was not serviced one day another day the maid had not closed the door when leaving luckily it was ok.
The Luxor is at the very end of the south strip and quite a walk to the centre i would look for a more central hotel next time, the strip bus was great but very slow after the first few journeys we got a bit fed up it would have been better in a central hotels.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Lisa & Nigel Perry
9 years 10 months ago
After a long flight out of Manchester in pre booked and paid for 'extra leg room seats' (which unfortunately didn't give you any extra width) we arrived at the hotel to be given a room in the Pyramid section rather than the Tower. We asked for a non smoking room but on entering the room it smelt very heavily of smoke. We travelled with my parents and they had been before to the same hotel so when they saw what they and us had been given they weren't very impressed either. The rooms themselves were also very small and actually very grubby and dirty. We went and complained immediately and as a result were given rooms in 'The Tower' and this time we were very pleased. They lived up to our expectations of a hotel in America and the whole process of complaining and changing our rooms was painless. (As we were moving our things, another couple were also in the process of complaining so it wasn't just us complaining for the sake of it) The staff were very helpful and changed us straight away. I always thought that the rooms in the pyramid were supposed to be the better ones but in fact the rooms in the Tower were the upgraded ones and despite having to pay an extra suplement, they gave us the upgrade with 4 out of the 7 nights for free. The rooms were kept very clean while we were there however we did notice that on occasions when food was delivered by room service, it took a long time for them to remove dirty/used plates from outside the doors. Security was very good as you are not able to access the different floors of the hotel unless you have a room key that activates the lifts. Also, you are not allowed to use the pool and it's facilities unless you present your room key, but I understand this is the same for other hotels as well.
When you are in the reception/public part of the hotel, as you can imagine there are people trying to sell you shows/trips but if you are not interested and just walk past, they don't hassle you.
The hotel gets a lot busier at the weekend when a large number of Americans visit the resort. This also changed some of the things in the hotel. For example if you wanted the breakfast buffet at the weekend you 'had' to have the Champagne Brunch rather than the normal buffet, which of course was more expensive.
Overall though we had a great time in the hotel and were very pleased with it. If we were to go back again and this was the only hotel available then we would have no problems staying there, however, as there are so many others in Las Vegas, we would initially look at trying out another hotel. It is definitley worth remembering though that if you have a choice, then the Tower is the better part rather than the Pyramid. As far as entertainment was concerned, there were shows on in the hotel although we didn't go to any of them which is why I've given an average rating.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the Luxor at the end of Sep 2008, the lobby was clean and looked nice.The check in was quick but the only thing the queue for check in was long and slow.
The room which we where given was on the third floor and the view was restricted, as there was a big metal grid in the way so you couldn't look out of the window.The room was very big and plenty of space, but they could do with painting.
We didn't try the buffet, so I cannot comment on the food. The bars where excellent but the price to get into LAX nightclub was very expensive.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Donna
9 years 11 months ago
we came here last in 1996 and it was amazing ,this time was not so ,after getting from the airport jetlagged and to the checkin at the luxor greeted by reps thought you were getting things for free but selling you tickets for shows ,just touts in suits, we upgraded to east tower block wish we never ,no egyptian theme to room as what they have in the pyramid suites ,lots of building works going on ,very noisy during the day while playing the machines ,went to breakfast be prepared to wait in a queue for 45 mins to get served as of that never went again. never seen any of the staff but the room was always cleaned. i woulndn't go back here rather go to venetian ,ex-caliber or new york new york
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: american airlines

10 years ago
Sorry but this place really is over rated,

We got an awfull room which we had to pay to upgrade to a room that was ok but only ok.(they forgot to bill us for this so that was a resut!!)

Massive problems with the lifts meaning long walks and rides in the service lift with the dirty bed linnen,

The place is having alot of work done so its like a building site in places,

Very bad customer service they just did not want to know, odd for the states.


You would be better off staying in Excaliber at a cheaper rate with much better rooms and staff.

Sorry Luxor Hotel in our tour of the western side of america this year you really were the weakest link!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

Steve
10 years 1 month ago
Stunning Hotel which is going through a renovation at the moment, They are making it a little more modern. The rooms are showing their age but certainly nothing to complain about and they are also to get a make over shortly. The casino area is excellent the bars fantastic and the restaurants are brilliant, people came from allover to the buffet, $13 dollars for breakfast and $18 for dinner anything you wanted and as much as you wanted. Pool area is also stunning but there isn't much shade and it's been in the 110's while we were there !! Checked out the other Hotels on the strip and this was one of the best, would go again. Only negatives, queing 40 mins to check in and the timeshare touts, but you soon find out they are in every hotel - just remember, NOTHING IS FREE
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Traveller!!
10 years 3 months ago
Hotel was really nice. Rooms are very basic in the pyramid, however are apparently nicer in the tower block. Should be having makeover soon. Even though food was not included in our holiday, we visited the buffet restaurant at the hotel a number of times. It was 11 dollars for brunch with chapagne!! And there was an amazing choice!! Definately recommend a visit there! Hotel situated at the end of the strip which was good - everything is easy to reach. Casino = huge and fab!!! Free drinks (inc. alcoholic) when you are at a machine/table. Overall, a great hotel and area!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: United

Recommended
Sharon Davies
10 years 10 months ago
our first visit to america and what a place to stay. the hotel is excellent. everywhere was so clean. maids did an excellent job in the rooms. all staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the firt day or so when we had trouble finding our way around.

hotel is situated south of the strip but still remains within walking distance of other hotels, you did not even need to go outside to get to two of them.

pool area was very large, no problem getting a sun bed, only problem though was lack of shade as it was so hot, we could only stay out for two or three hours.

entertainment at the hotel was very good, we tried to sample a lot of shows up and down the strip throughout our stay.

food was excellent value, we tended to use the pyramid cafe most of the time especially breakfast. it was reasonaably priced, very good potrtions and friendly service. we ate there at night too sometimes, again very good.

we would not hesitate to visit this hotel again. our first visit to this amazing place was made better by staying here.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Garry.b
10 years 10 months ago
First time to Vegas hotel brill towards the end of the strip but still close enough to everything the hotel was excellent staff friendly rooms are clean and a maid calls in everyday. Food and drink are expensive in Vegas but we are in Vegas and not Benidorm The strip is fantastic and do call into as many hotels as you can as each one as something different. If you can do the Grand Canyon we did it with Papillion tours cost about 550 dollars worth every cent went in helicopter and landed at the bottom for champagne photos and videos don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Jodi & James
11 years ago
This was our first trip to America and what a trip! the Luxor was amazing, we stayed in one of the towers our room had a huge bed and flat screen TV and was cleaned daily. The view from the masasive window was breathtaking even though we were not facing the strip we were quite high up so had a good view. We were really impressed with the room and the staff were very helpful, there was also a huge pool area but we did not spend much time there as i was to hot outside!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
One Week Or Two offers a complete personalised travel service with Holidays | Flights | Cruises | Hotels at fantastic prices.
Holiday Truths Forum