90 independent reviews of the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel
Address: Yeroskipou, Cyprus
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #36 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel is rated 3.57 out of 5 from 90 Reviews
78% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (90 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 5 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Caters for all ages"
Pat Williams stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2011
Just returned from this fab, friendly, brill hotel and we loved it from start to end. Reception staff are superb and very helpful indeed, bar staff are excellent. Animation team well what can I say - Dido and his team are a one off and work themselves to the highest level of entertainment. All shows are absolutely fab - funny too and the kids and adults loved it. They work so hard I donít know how they manage to smile all the time. The crazy boys are fab and are great to watch with all their fab moves and they can really move.

Food is excellent and no-one has any reason to complain as they cater for everyone. The only thing I did not like was people feeding the cats as I think they should put a sign up telling ...
people not to feed them.

Also be careful on the tiles by pools when wet as they are very slippy and some people did fall especially some kids. The pool side staff are great as they always come around and collect your empties and plates so you do not have to move from your lounger. The water slides make this holiday even more special as they are brilliant and the life guards are very professional indeed and look after everyone around the pool and on the slides.

Going back next year as this has to be one of the best holidays we have had and I would thoroughly recommend to everyone young or old as it caters for all ages.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

bush stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2009
All inclusive was the best option to take for this hotel. Althougth the hotel was, as previous people have described, a 3* not a 4*, the food was excellent, plentiful, very varied with local dishes too, plenty for the kids to eat and available throughout the day. It is a perfect hotel for families as the entertainment is excellent and plentiful for both adults and kids. The music round the pool was fine for me, but may not be wanted by some!
The hotel does need some tlc, mainly in the bedrooms, but the dining room, indoor pool and bar areas are fine.

Tour Operator: first chioce

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Steve Povey had a holiday at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in September 2009
The Hotel was a 3star not 4 star as advertised. But the food was excelent and the staff were very helpfull, bus stop just outside 1.50euro into town. There is a lovely pool with lots going on. The rooms are basic and a little tired but do the job. Note no tea/coffee making in the rooms or fridge. We would go again.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Rod Birch visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in September 2009
Very happy with Hotel, Room, Food good but only warm as is norm, staff friendly, my only complaint was the entertainment. We are in our 60s so did not appreciate the non-stop thump thump thump of disco type music which was played from 10am to 5pm, it was impossible to find anywhere in the pool/grassed area
where this noise did not invade. The animation team obviously liked inflicting this loud noise on the hotel customers, even when they went for lunch from 1-3pm! Next time we will go AI to the other Louis Hotel
The Imperial Beach a bit further up the beach nearer Paphos. They also have sunbed mattresses which this hotel didn\'t, as well as peace and quiet, heaven.

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

emma visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in August 2009
where can i start? this hotel is so good. food is fantastic, served through out the day and every one can have something. everywhere is clean. the staff are helpful and sort out any problems. the location is a bit out but only a 15 minuite walk to the nearest shop. the entertainment is good and the animation team do a brilliant job (they practiculy work 24 7).

don\'t listen to bad reveiws

p.s were going back in 2010

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Elaine visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2009
We were really impressed with this hotel. The location was a bit out of the centre but there was a bus just outside and for 1 euro 50 you could go into town or tomb of the kings. The food was excellent with lots of choice and always something we liked. The pool side restaurant was also very good serving food all day. The drinks were good with the cocktails included in the AI also. Staff were all very friendly and there was plenty to do all day entertainment wise. DO NOT go here if you want a quiet holiday!! Would definately book this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

jim had a holiday at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in January 2009
We have visited this hotel for some 12 years and have enjoyed every time but this last visit standards have dropped.
Food: the quality and selection has now deteriorated, the food is served tepid not hot, together with cold plates, is not good. The meal in the evening is served at tables with no table cloths!.Staff have been cut to a minimum.
Saving grace was the animation team which have improved no end including their appearance.
We shall look to stay at different hotel next January.

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Parmar stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2008
We went on a 2 week All Inclusive package from 30th July to 13th August with Thomsons.
Flight to Pafos airport was stress free. Arrived at the airport and immediately had our bags checked in.
Flight was on time and uneventful. Arrived at Pafos and met by the Thomson

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Sara Boothright stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in August 2008
If have been travelling AI for the past 3 years and this was by far my worst experience.

We stayed on the first floor the room was very tired looking and need of a make over for example drawers broken, woodwork rotten, cupboards smelly, carpet dirty, curtains kept coming off the rail, bed linen thin and wripped on the kids bed on two occassions and the bedroom door had to be repaired 3x because it wouldn\'t lock. Upside fresh towels every day and air conditioning effective. The common parts of the hotel such as corridors, windows and nightclub area were also in need of refreshing. No water is provided in the rooms as part of AI and no fridges we tried to hire one when we arrived but none were available. The main reception area and resturant was alot ...
better.

As AI goes the food in the main restuarant was ok, plenty to choose from but the menu cycle was weekly so by week two a bit boring and predictable, the food by the swimming pool was poor. We did enjoy the iced coffees with baileys though.

The swimming pool area presents as real health and safety hazard. The paved area around this pool was extremely slipply and that\'s just adults trying walk across it. I witnessed far too many seriuos falls resulting in injuries, some of which required hospital treatment. On this point alone this hotel should not be marketed for families as the paved pool area is completely unsuitable.

Location is ok there is no beach to speak of where the hotel is sited, however there is a beach 250m away which is sandy and has shallow waters. Shops are some distance away but that didn\'t bother us. Water park in walking distance and this was a fun day out for all.

Hotel staff were very friendly and the bedroom cleaning staff did the best they could considering the state of the room. Thomson reps were good seemed to be fending off lots of complaints about rooms and the pool.

Entertainment was boring and probably spoilt by the fact that a minority of people were smoking in the night club. Why do people do this is beyond me when its the mini disco for kids.

Would I go to Cyprus again definitely, would i go to this hotel again definitely not and I would not recommend.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Sheila Jones had a holiday at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
The Phaethon is a wonderful hotel. It is well managed and all staff from Christos and Jason the Managers down to the cleaners. All are friendly and eager to help. Nothing is too much trouble.

This was our 14th visit to this Hotel and it did not let us down again. It is like a home from home.

Clean and fresh decor throughout. Food and drinks great and lots of choice of bars and restaurants to try out. Has also a very hard working animation team that entertain you throughout the day - with a smile.

Great to see the same friends staying and working there each year. Have already booked for 2009. Highly recommend for couples, families and children.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jones had a holiday at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in July 2008
I have never reviewed hotels before but really felt on this occassion the need to. This hotel was great, clean and well presented. The facilities, including the outdoor and indoor pool were well maintained and there were always plenty of sunbeds so you were not all on top of each other. The food is exceptional, plenty of variation the only problem is eating too much, all the staff are very attentive and will try to accommodate everything you need. We upgraded to All Inclusive and this was certainly a good move even though the euro was so weak at the time it makes life so much easier and is much more cost effective.

OK, the rooms may be on the small side but have everything you need and are cleaned to a very high standard.

Of course it ...
helps when the weather is so wonderful and credit must go to the fantastic entertainment team who work tirelessly around the clock to keep everyone happy. It may not be everyones cup of tea but if you have children (whatever age) they will certainly keep them occupied and if they are happy then it just helps you enjoy your holiday even more.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

helen watkins visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2008
Just returned from a week at this hotel and would definetly recommend it. Very clean with excellent food everything you can think of.Hotel a little bit out of way, supermarket about 5 min walk, hotel has got own shop with mostly everything in but a little dearer. Fab pool plenty of room had canoe race 1 day thats how big it is.Only downside for us our 8 year old daughter fell ill with ear infection + sickness and had to make two trips to local hospital, hospital very clean all staff including doctors spoke good english. The reception staff in hotel were very helpful in this bad situation, most are english expats. Entertainment was very good with activities going on right through the day, evening entertainment was excellent only downside was it was indoors.Would definetly go back to this hotel.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Diane visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in April 2008
I have just come back form 2 week holiday at this hotel. ( 29 / 3 to12 / 4)
I cannot give it enough praise, it is around 97% English and 3% international.

The food was excellent, there was something for every taste including the children could not fault it, it was going from 8 in the morning till 10 at night.
You could also get a sandwich or cake up till 12 if you wonted it.

The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you.

The rooms were very nice I had a pool / sea view as most of the rooms do.
There is a hair dryer in every room and it works well, TV has Sky news.
The rooms were keep very clean with clean towels every day and sheets changed at least twice a week.
Pool towels ...
were also available if you wonted them.

The day time and evening entertainment was that of most 3* hotels games for kids and adults spread throughout the day, the animation team were good although I was told this can change every 6 months.

The pool has lots of sun beds and umbrellas, there was also sun beds set out in the gardens and beach front.
The beach is not really a beach, some dark sand and stones, so if you are looking for a good beach holiday this is not the place for you, the sea is nice to look at though.

We met some very nice people in the 2 weeks we were there,I wont mention there names, but if you read this you will know who you are

A family form Romford, I hope you enjoy your cruise.
A couple form Fith, hope you are doing well in the Bowls.
A couple from Birmingham, watch him with the vodka.
last but not least a Father and Daughter from Chester, don\'t forget to keep me informed on you know who.

All in all great holiday, good fun, I will defiantly go back.

Read More

Tour Operator: tomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Neil Page stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in February 2008
Just returned after a great time. The hotel is very clean. the staff friendly and helpfull. The food is out of this world, best I have ever had on holiday. It was three days before we found the carvery counter. On the right as you go into the dining room.

I have read reports of the beach not being so good. We did not bathe in the sea and the sandy beach is 200m away. It looked ok.

We hired a car so did not have to walk into Pathos. The bus runs every 1/2 hour or so. There are bars within walking distance. You would be sober by the time you got back!

We were All Inclusive and were well looked after.

We took Cyprus

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

caroline visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in January 2008
We travelled with the in-laws to this hotel in January. The 1 thing that sticks in my mind, and I have to mention it first, is the food. Completely out of this world. I am convinced no hotel on earth cooks food this good. From home made bread and butter pudding, steak, carvery, a salad bar to die for, you cant fail to be disappointed. Ladies beware...I went a size 10 and came back a 12-14, and none of the clothes I bought to wear at night fit me after the first week!!! So if you\'re planning to pig out, don\'t spend a lot on new clothes before you go.

The hotel is clean and the staff work hard all day long. The rooms are very small and need decorating (like most of the hotel...especially Chariots nightclub...more like a 1970\'s ballroom ...
than nightclub as advertised!!) It doesn\'t matter that rooms are small though, as you are rarely in them. If too cold to swim outside, the indoor pool is nice, and the large jacuzzi even better. Towels for swimming are provided which is good.

Entertainment went on throughout the day, the usual table tennis, shuffleboard, darts, and we joined in, it was a lot of fun!!! The entertainment team are great, really friendly and not over the top like at some hotels. Ceri, Polly, Noddy, Joe and Petra put some shows on if outside entertainment was not on, they did well!!! The hypnotist show is not to be missed either.

All in all this is a very relaxing hotel with plenty to do all year round, the pirate ship playground is great for the kids, and there are bars dotted alla round the complex. It\'s easy to get to Paphos on the bus from directly outside the hotel. I don\'t think I\'d go back to the Phaethon (pronounced Fa-ye-thon) as I\'d probably go self catering next time so as not to get so fat and not be able to move!!! That\'s the only reason though, nothing against the hotel!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

James Boyd visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in November 2007
My family and I just returned from a weeks All Inclusive stay & loved it!!

The hotel was very well set out and gorgeous inside, as were the rooms. Staff constantly on the go ensuring hotel is clean. Our room was plenty big enough for the four of us and we were very impressed.

The food was ace, always plenty to choose from and not repetitive like some hotels.

The entertainment was excellent for both the kids throughout the day then the kids and adults in the evening. The Animations team also worked very hard and very long hours always delivering a great show. Big thanks to Craig, Dida, Dita, Ceri, Polly, Norby, Sarah and Chris as made our stay all the more enjoyable.

Likewise the bar staff in the hotel were excellent and put in a hard days work. Big thanks to ...
Anna and Petra at the Atrium bar for always ensuring I had a beer and for there friendliness and making the holiday!!

Would go back to this hotel in an instant and will be doing so in near future.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

maureen stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in October 2007
Just returned from a week at Louis Phaethon Beach with my husband and adult son and daughter. This was our second visit, their first.Had a great week just lazing by the pool. Could have done lots of activities but only really joined in the aqua gym with Crazy Craig who is great fun. Agree with everything good that has been said by previous posters. There was one couple who were on their 30th visit to this hotel. Says it all I think.Have only put 4 for food as there was plenty to eat but not many local dishes at night. There were two Cypriot dishes at lunchtime, but only inside the restaurant and most people, including us, found it too hot to move inside and just used the pool bar/cafe if we ate at all. Didn\'t see much of the ...
entertainment as Chariots night club is downstairs and my daughter uses a wheelchair.Have given stars for the daytime activities. It was the last night before we realised (after talking to Craig) that she could go into the nightclub through the emergency exit. We just stayed upstairs in the lounge area playing cards and watching the world go by.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Matt stayed at Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in October 2007
We were in a family room which comprised of a double bed and two single beds for the children (age 2 and 5). Far too small and unsuitable for us so had to upgrade to adjoinng rooms at an extra cost.

Poolside was a danger zone. When tiles became wet they were slippy and our children slipped over numerous times.

Weather was great, even in mid / end of October. However, the outside pool was really cold - too cold for our children to spend more than 20 minutes in at one time - which is a real shame as they usualy love playing in the pool all day.

We thought food was excellent. Loads of it and really good standard. Mass production but did not taste like it. I had a different roast meal for 4 days running!

Location is poor, there is ...
literally nothing around the hotel for 2 miles.

The hotel is right next to the sea and the one brochure we saw advertises a sandy beach - don\'t be fooled! There is no sand, more of a dust-bowl and a waste of time for the kids.

Great activities throughout the day - boules, volleyball, killer darts etc to keep you entertained throughout the day.

Getting a drink at night time was hard-work. Loads of waiters but it seemed to take ages to get served, get your drink and then (if your not on AI) waiting to get your change!

We usually go with Thompson Superfamily but this time went with Olympic. Thompson Reps were up to their usual high standard but we could not use these.

Hotel kids club were poor. We had no faith in the staff and when I went with the children, the kidsreps just get the children to do drawing for an hour - no interaction or fun. My kids got bored.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Claire visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel in October 2007
Overall this hotel was good value. The food was of a good standard and the hotel facilities were good . The location is a bit awkward as its the last in a line of beachfront hotels away from Paphos. Its about 45 to 60 minutes walk into the centre of Paphos . You can , of course, get a taxi for about

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Clare/David visited the Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel, Paphos in September 2007
Hi
We didnt know what to expect from this hotel as there are so many different reviews both good and bad. We went with an open mind although it was a tired mind after being delayed at Manchester by Thompson! (Lets just say we wont be booking with them again.) We arrived at the hotel and were grateful to be dropped off 1st. Hotel reception very impressive, only downside is that smoking is allowed which doesnt give a good first impression! We changed rooms once within minutes of arriving as there was a problem with ants. (although if I hadnt been so tired I dont think I would have been bothered.

Room: Clean, fantastic view, hair drier, clean towels changed everyday.

Food: Fantastic selection if you are dont like foreign food. Breakfast is the usual continental and English fry up. ...
Lunch: Either in the restuarant or around the pool they have a chinese buffet with a few dishes on and also there is food available in the pool side restuarant. Evening: There is a list outside the restuarant of what is available on the carvery on a weekly basis. Food nice enough but far too English for me. Not enough Cypriot dishes, either that or nothing to go with it.

Pool Area: Plenty of sun lounges for everyone. People with small children please purchase swimming nappies available at the poolside bar to save any closures on the pool for cleaning. A few cats hang around but they are very friendly (nick a couple of scraps for them it wont go wasted)

Evening Entertainment: Very limited resorces and aimed mainly at keeping the children entertained, the Lion King show was good. Aladdin was dodgy. Bingo is great fun and decent cash prizes. They did put on some entertainment a hypnotist which was a great laugh and my favourite night (hello Susan! ha ha).

Day Entertainment: Plenty to keep the kids occupied and adults too, shuffleboard, shooting, Archery, French Bowls etc.

Bar: Staff work very hard and we always tipped them not to get served any quicker, but the fact is they do multiple jobs and often work long hours and are on their feet for most of the day and night for very little pay. (Hello to Roy and Volancs) who were always very friendly and polite.

General Comments:
Ok hotel, downsides are too many smoking areas, and rude people who kept ignoring the rules and eating around the pool despite it not being allowed. I had a massage whilst there and it was so relaxing. Highly recomended.

Harbour Area lovely, shops not brilliant. Bar street was a pain if you dont want the hassle avoid like the plague.

Buses: Great for getting around and only 80 cents although be careful of little steps near the pavements I walked off one and sprained my ankle.

Went to a restuarant near the Amathus hotel called Olestro for a meal simply the best food you will taste!!

Best Memory: Getting engaged.

Worst Memory: Being delayed 11 hours at Manchester.

I would probably return to Cyprus but prob not to this hotel not that anything was wrong with it. just that it catered too much for English and I like a bit of culture. I would however recomend this hotel if you have never been abroad and not sure whether you would like the food as its mostly English anyway.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Share