Image of Cumana Apartments

Cumana Apartments

34 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 26 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de las Palmeras, 14, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dawn Holmes
8 years 6 months ago
Self catering, very clean. Lucky enough to be at lower part of complex by the pool. Everything was basic but functional. The pillows were the worst thing, lumpy, stained and not at all pleasant to use. However, we had a great time and we would go back there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dee
8 years 9 months ago
I am just back from a week in the Cumana. As we were the youngest people on the bus we got accommodation right at the top of the Complex. The apartments were nice and clean (except for the pillows which looked old and had dribble stains under the cases)and the bed sheets looked old fashioned. We found the apartment had a mop, sweeping brush, bucket etc which came in handy and had all cooking utensils but we ate out everynight.

The pool was small but we headed to the beach anyway. From the shopping complex we counted 219 steps to our room but as it was December we didn't mind climbing them, wouldn't like to do it in July in high sun!!

Great location and we were barely in the room so didn't mind. The staff were really friendly and it seemed like the cleaners were always in after we camem back each evening. I would stay in the Cumana again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
Louise Corrigan
9 years ago
we stayed in a two bedroom apartment nice size very basic, towels and bedding only changed once during the week,could not get near the pool or bar as these are spanish owned as we only found out when we got there.so we could never get a sun bed or even get to the bar and they make it ther duty that your not welcome they own the pool,so we had to go out every day.location was ok but would not recommend for children or eldery due to hills and steps and as your so near to the commerical centre you cant get any sleep from the noise of music from the night clubs,only met one staff member during the whole week was quite pleasent! no entertainment at all would certainly not return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Lora
9 years 4 months ago
I love the Cumana Apartments!

My family and I have been coming to the Cumana since I was around 12years old and I'm now 21. We always book to stay here as it is the best self catering we have stayed at in Puerto Rico, and we've been here many a time...around 11 times I think.

The apartments are basic, but that's all you need! They are always clean, the location is perfect...right by the commercial centre, and the staff are always welcoming. There are a lot of steps but anywhere you stay in Puerto Rico, unless you're on the beach, you are going to have to take the steps or get a taxi to your place of stay.

This place has everything!!! Hopefully going back this year, and I can't wait!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Andrea
9 years 9 months ago
just back from cumana apartments travelling with 4 adults and 2 teenagers. these apartments were surpisingly ok . they were very basic but suited our needs as we eat out every night, so really just in them for sleeping. maids in most days and only saw one cockroach but hey you are in the canaries at least there was "nay bloomin midges". the pool bar was the same wee man everyday and was quite reasonable prices hot dog 2 euro. the pool was very small and feezing and you not allowed big lilos or ball games so that really pleased the old yins when we all turned up with a life boat to make a dive and splash lol.
the best thing about the cumana is its location to the commercial centre down one flight steps and you there and book 2 bedroom apartment and you at pool level. also word warning make sure your bus drops you off at reception and not at back of hotel or you will have many many steps to walk down and then back up again. would stay here again for location and basic sleeping quarters.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Chloe
9 years 11 months ago
I have just recently return from a week stay at Cumana.
Before i arrived i was dreading the stay after reading the reviews.
Yes, there is alot of steps me and my partner were staying at the very top! but after a few trips you get used to it.
The rooms were very clean and had all the cooking equipment that you would need.The cleaners came in 3 times that week and the beds were changed twice.They even washed up for us!!
The pool bar was ok, but we ate out eveynight so we only ever usd it to buy drinks!
You can hear the music from the commercial centre but it only goes on til 4!! and its not that bad.

We had a night flight back and the friendly receptionist gave us the key to an apartment by the pool so that me and my boyfriend could get ready for our flight home which was really good.
And during our entire weeks stay we never saw one cockroach.Me and my boyfriend are already looking at booking again for next year and we would definatly be staying at cumana again and would recommed it to anyone who doesnt mind walking up a few steps as the apartments are in a great location to the commercial centre.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: partner

Recommended
Phil And Hayley
9 years 11 months ago
This is the first time I've stayed in anything less than a four star, so the basic room and pay-TV came as a bit of a shock! The room was otherwise very clean with the beds changed twice in one week and clean towels every other day. The stairs took a bit of getting used to, but didn't bother too much in the end. Staff all very friendly and helpful. You will hear music in your apartment until around 3am, this didn't really bother us both as we'd be out until late most nights anyway. If you are up for a week or two of sun, eating out and clubbing, Cumama serves as a decent crash pad. I'd probably go back, most of the surrounding apartments looked a much of a muchness and all suffer with noise from the centre of the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Thompson
10 years ago
This was our second year at the cumana apartments. we were lucky enough to get the same apartment just by reception.

Apartments had had a lick of paint and new appliances since the previouse year. Very clean.

Friendly staff. Always got a sunbed no matter what time of day it was.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Gary & Mary
10 years 3 months ago
98 steps to the pool from our apartment, but got used to it. Staff very friendly even carried the wifes case up to apartment on arrival. Saw no cockroaches in apartments. Apartment very clean cleaner came in every day. Poolbar staff friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Paul
10 years 4 months ago
The Cumana apartments are located on the lower side of the valley in Puerto Rico.

The apartments are located in groups of two or three and cover a large area of the hill side. Be warned if you have baby buggies are do not like climbing steps then this accommodation is not for you!

The rooms were not bad but could have been better and are very basic. We had a Kettle, Toaster and pay TV.
During our weeks stay the room was visited 3 times by the cleaners.

The apartments are only a very short walk away from the main centre-the music from the discos and bars carries in the air a bit so be aware that you will hear distant music till around 3am! This is not a problem if your normal UK home is in a bust area.

Overall not bad, but could be better.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.