Image of Malibu Apartments

Malibu Apartments

53 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars
Avenida Roque Del Este, 26, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Danny And Marie
9 years 6 months ago
Hi me and my partner saw a late deal on offer at the Malibu apts checked the reports on this site .Thought long and hard abought it decided to go for it but leave anything exspensive behind .Arrived what a pleasent suprise nice big rooms very nice reps and staff .Security has been upgraded new bolts on balconys new locks on doors would definitely go back regards Danny and Marie
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Mary
9 years 6 months ago
Apartments were very clean, maid was in 5 days out of 7.

Food was good,not much entertainment but its out of season.

Pool area very clean lots of sunloungers,reps looked after us well.

Security was good. Hotel staff friendly - will visit again.












Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguo

Recommended
Scotlads
9 years 8 months ago
Well, as other reviews have made comment on the Break Ins and raided safes here i thought i ought to confirm our experience. We have just returned from the Malibu where we stayed over the New Year 2007/08
and had read that there had been some problems with rooms being broken into but stupidly thought that since they had a year to sort things, it would all be happy days....Sorry but Not A Chance. On 31st December 2007 (new years eve) we happily headed off down the hill to bring in the bells with some mates from the hotel, where a brilliant night was had in several bars in the centre....happy days...aye. around 4am we returned to the aptmnts via taxi up the hill where we were greeted by some other guests who were all gathered in the reception area, all a bit confused. We wer asked by a girl (sorry cant remember the name) who stayed on the same floor as us which incidently was FLOOR 6 (the bottom floor where all the previous break inns occured) if we hd been to check our safe/room...in a kind of drunken dash we got ourselves to the 6th floor and our room to find the room was (i think) in tact but....ye you guessed.. the safety deposit box had been ripped open and all contents exept passports and flight tickets were gone. All money UK & Euros, cards and jewelery were taken. Next morn we found out the extent of the break inns, Seven other rooms (maybe more, i know of seven) had been burgled too. and the remainder of the holiday was just more of an inconvienience more than anything, people were from then spending time visiting other resorts (where police stations were located) to fill out Reports, or spent soo much time on telephones to banks trying to cancel credit/debit cards that had been taken, and is my thoughts that all folk wanted to do on new years Day was Go Home. I knbow i did and had there been a flight we would have

Sorry its so long and is only about the burglary but i will post a review soon about the Resort itself which we thought was Bloody Fantastic, tho places like the Malibu spoil the name of Peurto Rico
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Jennifer O'Brien
10 years 8 months ago
The Malibu was clean and basic but our holiday was marred by our room being broken into and safety deposit box raided on new years eve the night before we left. At least 9 other rooms were broken into in the same way -jewellery, cash, wallets, mobile phones, cameras, some people even had passports & ticktes stolen. The Malibu staff were reluctant to help us and even complained that we wanted to use the reception phone to report our stolen credit cards!
Not happy and would not recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Hazel Dobbie
10 years 8 months ago
The rooms were basic but clean, we were self catering so we ate out although we did have breakfast which was fine.

There was very little entertainment.

The Malibu was situated at the top of one of the hills so you need a taxi to get down which is very cheap also there is no bus service at that side of the hill.

All in all it was fine until we returned on new years to find 13 apartment had been broken into, and for this reason I would not return to these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Gordon / Marnie
10 years 10 months ago
Rooms basic but adequate and cleaned regurally.

Only ate at breakfast and lunch time,food again was what you would expect and we enjoyed what we had.

Located at top of the hill you can expect to get a lot of taxi,s but these are cheap and arrive quickly.

Hotel staff were ok.

Entertainment was so cheesy that in the end it became entertaining and was of great debate on the flight home.
Overall if your after cheap and cheerful this should be ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Beachbhoy
11 years ago
We have just returned today form the Malibu apartments. The only down side to this accomodation is the location. The apartmnts are located 1km from the centre of Peurto Rico nad at the top af a large hill. We walked down the hill on our first day and found it to be slippy and not suitable for the kids so we hired a car for the duration of our holiday. The cost of a taxi was around 3 euros which is good value, however we decided to hire a car and this gave us the freedom to visit other resorts on the island. The kids really enjoyed visiting "Holiday World" in maspalomas which is a funfair.

The rooms are pretty basic, it was suitable for us as we only used the room to sleep wash and get dressed in. A fridge and a 2 ring cooker are the only facilities in the room if you wanted a toaster or kettle then you could hire them from reception.

The supermarket ( if you could call it that) was a bit of a joke - not very much stock and only seemed to open whne it suited them. A much better shop was available just a 2 min walk from Malibu.

Swimming pool was pretty good and the kids enjoyed visiting this on a daily basis. There is also a bar and resturant on site with entertainment on every night, the music that was played was quite repetative and it was the same for both weeks.

We would return to stay at the malibu as it is considered to be excellant value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Keith Young
11 years ago
The pool was filthy and due to never seeing anyone clean it my son got an ear infection which cost 121 euros to treat.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Alan &Mary Ritchie
11 years ago
We were very happy with the Malabu Appts.

OK it was at the top of a hill but the views were great and we got the sun first in the morning.
Our apartment looked down on the entrance to the harbour ,what a view.

The rooms were worn but clean and tidy we had our towels changed every day and the maids have an obsession with cleaning ashtrays!!!

The staff were all friendly and the food in the bar was very good espically breakfast.

We hired a car as the steep hill at the end of a good meal down at the beach was just to much to tackle.There is a set of steps (484) down to the harbour if you are going on a boat trip.

The shopping centres are good ,just the usual perfume and electrical shops and gifts but good fun to look round.

The worst bit of the holiday were the night flights 23.45 outbound and pick up at 4 home,next time we are going from Aberdeen much more civilised
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Kerr
11 years 1 month ago
We have visted the Malibu over the last 3 years and always found it be be clean and basic but it is a good base to go all round Gran Canaria where there is lots to do for the family.

However, the standards have slipped pool was filthy, staff unfriendly and rude even the seguro rep Robert.

Apartments were all been broken into and the opinion of the holiday makers was that it was an inside job we would not go back to the Malibu unless it got back to its high standards and security was stepped up. However, Seguro have not put the Malibu in their 2007 brochure so it looks like it has had its day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.