Image of Porlamar Apartments

Porlamar Apartments

30 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
Avenida El Gavilan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Eric Davidson
No staff on arrival
7 years 3 months ago
On arrival there was no one on reception, we had to telephone to get someone to come and open up with a 25 minute wait. The bar was never open so no drinks or food could be purchased, but the supermarket was only a 5 minute walk away. As the bar was never open we could eat and drink as much of our own food and drink at the pool side.

The rooms were of reasonable size and cleaned every other day and the pool was cleaned every day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Eric Davidson
7 years 3 months ago
On arrival no one on reception. Had to telephone to get someone to come and open up- 25 min wait.

The bar was never open so no drinks or food but the supermarket was only a 5 min walk. As the bar was never open we could eat and drink as much of our own at the pool side when we wanted (lot cheaper that way). The rooms were of reasonable size and cleaned every other day and pool cleaned every day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Claire
9 years 2 months ago
when we first arrived there was no one to let us in, just a handwritten note on the closed reception door! After a quick phonecall the lovely barman came and took us to our room, and it was all good from there really! The room is small, but it has everything in you need (apart from a kettle!) and the balconies are huge! 2 sunbeds and a patio table and chairs. Our appartment had a beautiful view of the harbour and the mini golf course, and it had the sun all day. Some didnt though!
We were right above the bar, but that didnt cause any problems. There's only entertainment once a week here and we stayed up for that. Normally the bar was closed when we got back. Bar food is pretty much what you'd expect, good breakfasts and lovely pizzas too.
The porlamar is in a nice, more secluded location, behind the main part of P. rico. This was good for not hearing music blaring from the centre till 5am! Still only a short walk to the main centre though, and lovely going past the harbour and the beach. It also has a small centre below it, with a couple of shops bars and restaurants.
probably the best thing about this hotel though is that nobody really minds what you do! it was very rare there was anyone in reception at night, so jumping in the pool to cool off after a night out happened quite a lot! I loved staying here!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: seguro

Recommended
Burke
9 years 3 months ago
i stayd in the porlamar with my husband and two teenage girls.when we first arrived at 7oclock in morning their was no one their to let us in had to wait over an hour before a maid turnd up and gave us a key.The rooms were small but very clean the maids came every day by 2 for the 2wks we were there.The bar food was very nice but was sometimes a bit hit and miss when it was open.The apartments are a good 2omin walk to the centre but we had no problems with that. Their was no entertainment at the apatments but that didnt bother us as we went to the centre,the bar staff were very nice and friendly.I would go to these apartments again as overall we found them very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Ian Cunningham
10 years ago
hotel was clean .some off the doors very hard too open .pool too small for the amount off rooms. no air conditioning big problem for us .if you dont like steps stay away from here.the staff were ok pool bar does nice snacks.i would not like too stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Mark
10 years 3 months ago
we travelled at the end of June 2007

Nice cheap apartments. The rooms were a good size with a surprisingly big balcony that had 2 sunbeds, table and chairs - ours got sunshine for most of the day.

The pool was fairly small but clean.

The bar staff were really nice and helpful.

Puerto Rico was fairly quiet at this time of year (started getting busier into July) but great for a relaxing holiday.

Cleaners came 6 out of 7 days. Bedding was changed twice.

It's set on a hillside, which was fine for us but may be a challenge for others. Couple of nice bars at the bottom of the hill as well as a Netto plus a minimarket on site.

Would recommend for cheap, clean accommodation.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: a1

Recommended
Emma
10 years 4 months ago
I went to these apartments last June with my Boyfriend. It really was lovely, everyone, staff and other vistors were all very friendly.

Yes the apartments are on a hill, which like most places in Gran Canaria are. So if you are traveling with disabled or the elderly, i would steer clear as there is quite a few steps.

Nevertheless it only 5 mins away from the local supermarket and some great (reasonable priced) restaurants. (and if i was to recommend a restuarnt, try the chinese one just below the apartments, above the arcade, really lovely food and even if you don't like chinese food they do other delicious meals too.)

All in all a really great place to stay for couples and familys, in close distance of everything and reasonably priced! Clean, reasonably sized apartments and also very quiet too..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Teletext Holidays

Recommended
Roger
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed for 2 weeks from mid May 2007. First impressions were disappointing, walls were in need of repaint, patio door very difficult (stiff) to open, light bulbs not working etc. said to have side sea veiw some apartments did ours did not.

Pool very small, pool bar was open on a hit and miss basis only open 3 nights out of our 14 night stay.

Mini market on site open from 8am to 1pm then 4pm to 8pm ok for basics water etc. There is a shopping center below the apartments, said to be 50 meters away??? which can be reached via a 1/4 mile walk down hill (not recommended for the unfit or if you have walking difficulties)there is a gate for access from the complex but it is kept permanently locked!

The staff were friendly and were ok.

No entertainment whatsoever maybe later in season though.

Would we stay again yes but only if it improves.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

James Mason
11 years 3 months ago
I stayed in these apartments for two weeks, the rooms were nice and clean, and a cleaner came to our room four times per week. the rooms was a good size, they wasn't too big but neither too small.

The location of the apartments are not too bad, there is a small shop on the apartments complex and there is a Netto supermarket just down the road, the main beach in Puerto Rico is just a 10 minute walk from the apartments with excellent views.

All of the apartment staff was lovely, they all said hola or hello when they saw you.

The entertainment was excellent, the bar was open six nights per week and open in the mornings for breakfast if you wanted anything.

The pool bar served a large variety of drinks, also cocktails, Thursday night was party night, with a game of bingo, quiz and a karaoke, entertainment is 100% enjoyable.
I would stay at these apartments again all in all the were really nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Porlamar apartments for 2 weeks in July they were clean and not to small.

Plenty to do during the day and in the evenings.

The pool bar was open in the mornings for breakfast and then open again in the evenings for food and drink.

All the staff were friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.