Image of Barcelo La Galea Apartments

Barcelo La Galea Apartments

8 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
3 stars
Barcelo La Galea, Paseo Maritimo, S/N, 35508 Teguise (Lanzarote), Spain
These apartments boasts a warm welcome and create a relaxing setting for couples and families. There is direct access to the beach promenade from the hotel grounds, where a range of watersports are on offer, including windsurfing and sailing.

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
TonyB
Barcelo La Galea
3 years 3 months ago
Shame it will be closing 06/09/14 for a refurb. Only to re-open as an adult only resort.
Was a great place to stay with a decent variety of fresh cooked food. For inclusive it was good value. With help yourself soft and alcoholic drinks you could not do better. A good selection of snacks on the pool bar from 10.30 to 5.30. Sorry we will not be able to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine

Recommended
Sally & Richard
Pleasant stay during the winter
5 years 10 months ago
We arrived about 1.15pm on Christmas Day and got immediately checked in and given our room key to room 241. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room had an excellent sea view. The room was OK however could do with a refurb. We were also advised about the Gala dinners for Christmas Day and New Years Eve and were asked which sitting we would like.

Other nights the restaurant was open as standard buffet arrangements. Food was OK. It could have been warmer, and also a little more choice in the evening. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

As we were there in Winter, one of the pools was heated. It still felt cold but compared to the non-heated pool, it was definitely warmer. Many people reserved sunbeds early despite signs asking not to.

Location is excellent.

The snack bar by the pool serves snacks throughout the day and drinks that you help yourself to, though this closes at 6pm. Show bar is then open for drinks, but they close the all-inclusive drinks at 11pm, on the dot, even on New Years Eve! We along with others thought this was a bit crazy and thought on just this one night of the year, they would have extended this until later, as the entertainment was still in full flow. This meant many people left the bar, as we did, in search of a drink elsewhere.

The entertainment on some nights was better than others although it could do with starting earlier, as everyone was sat around waiting for entertainment to start until nearly 10pm most nights, and not much happening before that.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen
Great location
6 years 10 months ago
Stayed with husband, 3 year old and 4 month old baby, 2 weeks all inclusive.

Excellent location.

Lots of choice of food, always hot and tasted good in the main restruant but did not eat once in the pool bar as food left in containors for long periods of time. Basic local branded drinks but can purchase branded if you wish.

Kids club and park good and safe. Daytime and evening entertainment average, but always something going on which was great for my 3 year old.

Room clean but very basic and in need of modernisation. Be careful what TV chanels you turn on to if you have children with you.

Not a luxury hotel but all in all would visit again for its location, if the price was right.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
B-man
7 years 6 months ago
we stayed all inclusive and were a bit worried about reports but found the hotel fine no problems, the food plenty of variety and choice, did not have a bad meal at any time during our stay. Yes i would recomend this hotel. After reading some reviews I wonder if they have the right hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
7 years 10 months ago
Barcelo La Galea Hotel. The name is the only thing about this hotel that resembles any other Barcelo hotel that we have previously stayed in!
We had booked AI at the hotel in a 1 bed apartment for Xmas and New Year. We were late arriving at about 2200 hours due to the Canaries air traffic control working to rule. On arrival we had a quick check in and were given room 361. We then had to carry our luggage up 4 flights of stairs to this room as there is only 1 lift in the hotel and this only goes down to the show bar. The receptionist could have told us that there is a short cut to this floor but did not, he pointed out the long way. On arrival at the room it looked OK and was fairly large but overlooked the grubby rears of some bars, one of which can be blasting out music until 6AM . On waking the next morning we found it was raining heavily and when we ventured out on to the walkways to the stairs to go for breakfast we were greeted by the sight of blankets lying on the walkways and the stairs, these were being used to try and divert the water away from entering peoples rooms. Most rooms have level entry doorways and the water gathers on the walkways and then comes under the door.
After having breakfast we made our way back along flooded walkways to our room. Here we were greeted by water which had entered the room from both of the balcony doors. The bedroom door required the seal renewing and the lounge door was leaking from the top of the frame. We mopped this up and reported the problems to reception which were then added to a very long list of complaints from that morning. The receptionist could not have cared less and said
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self Booked

Keith Robinson
7 years 10 months ago
After returning home and finding this page we felt it ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY to give our warnings.
After reading the comments of the previous client we totally agree with his comments and cannot really expand on his comments but can readily sympathise with his experience.
The food was only just edible if you had a strong stomach.
The room was infrsted with ants and when we complained we were told it was Lanzarote and given a spray for us to treat the problem ourselves.
The staff were totally offhanded when we requested a change of room as my wife got a SERIOUS chest infection which we tried to treat locally but which took 6 weeks to clear on our return to UK.
Would we go back to this 'hotel' ?

DEFINITELY NOT ON YOUR LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: This is Travel

Kaz
8 years ago
Hotel is in a great location for beaches, shops, bars and restaurants. We were on a room only basis so did not eat at the hotel although we were offered the opportunity to go "all inclusive" on arrival for 24 euros per day. The reception staff were always pleasant and helpful. We had a very spacious 1 bed apartment which had two doors (1 from the lounge, 1 from the bedroom) onto a balcony which overlooked the pool. There was a small kitchen area with fridge, hob etc but no applicances such as kettle,toaster and no remote control for the tv but not a problem as channels, volume could be changed manually. Maid service is 5 days out of 7 and although our room was in need of a re-vamp as it was looking very tired, we could not fault it for cleanliness. Would I stay here again ? yes I probably would.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Kelly Bowker
9 years 9 months ago
This was my first holiday abroad in 10 years.

I went with my boyfriend and 5 year old son on half board and had a great time.

The location is great for the beach, shops and plenty of restaurants and bars including english food and drinks.The food served in the hotel buffet style was lovely (infact i couldnt resist getting seconds most nights!)A downfall is that the heated swimming pool they advertise is not heated but lovely to cool you down and the kids club has to have parental supervision.

We had to ask for a kettle for our room and you have to put a deposit down at reception for the remote control for the tv and the safe in your room, on the last day we also found out we could have had a toaster in our room for free.

We found that only a couple of the staff were helpful, and when my son was sick he had to wait until the following day for clean bed linen. On the first day one of the staff behind the reception desk shouted loudly at my son in spanish when we were in reception as he was crying due to being tired.

We also found sometimes the staff were reluctant to help but most of them were lovely and good with my son also. The maids have two days off on a Thursday and Sunday. The tv had only two english speaking channels that were CNN and Eurosports. The rep from first choice was absolutely perfect and soon helped us out when we needed answers.

resort had more German and east european visitors than english but this did not affect the holiday we had. The trip of the whole island offered through your tour guide is a must see.

Overall it was a lovely resort and relaxing holiday and we would go again in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Melloy
10 years 1 month ago
We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor of the complex. Our balcony overlooked a quiet side road and the sea. The apartment was very spacious and had two sets of doors leading onto the balcony. When we arrived there was no kettle or toaster, but a quick call to reception and they were brought straight up. The rooms were kept very clean by the maid and we had a change of towels each day and bedding once during our week long stay. The pool area was very nice and had no trouble getting a sunbed each day. There were two swimming pools, one of which was heated. My criticism was of the childrens' pool which was too deep for young children and absolutely freezing cold! There was various things going on during the day such as aerobics, darts, pistol shooting etc. One day we had a fashion show by the pool which was very entertaining. The complex is situated in an excellent location right near the beach and within a couple of minutes stroll to shops, bars and restaurants. The Bulldog pub just across the road did a good line in English breakfast and catered well for the football that was on at that time. All the staff at the complex were polite and helpful. All in all our group had a great time at La Galea and I would have no hesitation in recommending it for a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Leisa Huxley
10 years 2 months ago
We booked these apartments on the recommendation of friends who had already visited. They had already booked again and invited us to travel with them and another party. I must say that I had never been on a self catering holiday and following on from this I would only ever do self catering. The apartments were excellent. Very spacious and cleaned 5 days out of 7. The pools were great for the kids and even though a lot of the sunbeds were reserved in the morning you could still spend the day at the beach and get one when you came back. Could not comment on the food as we were only self catering but there are plenty of bars and restaurants to get a really good and inexpensive meal. The sandcastle (Just outside the apartments on the way to the beach) was excellent value for money. All the meals were great and the sunday dinner was well worth booking. All in all the resort is excellent and I would definately recommend both the apartments and Costa Teguise for a family holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.