Image of Coronas Playa Hotel

Coronas Playa Hotel

6 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

4 out of 5 from 67 reviews
4 stars
Avenida del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Spain
The spacious rooms and pool areas of the Coronas Playa Hotel make this an excellent choice for a relaxing stay.

67 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    25
  • Very Good
    36
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Scoop
A Happy Return
3 years 6 months ago
My partner first visited the Hotel, when it first opened about 13 years ago and had been itching to return. We were not disappointed. It still maintains the Thomson Gold standard.Very friendly and helpfull staff in all departments (we had a slight problem with the lock on the room door on arrival and it was rectified during the course of our evening meal)

Generally food was of a good quality and variety - although the cooked breakfasts were very much the same each day

All Inclusive is an option, but if you take it up with he Hotel on arrival, I felt 23 Euros a night (each) was a little excessive.

From our observations there were a lot of returning Clients, which probably speaks volumes for the client satisfaction

The Thomson team on site work very hard during the day with the planned activities, followed by supervising the evening entertainments,

Location is about a brisk 10 minute walk to the resort centre along a seaside promenade, where a variety of shops/restaurants/pubs can be found.

Weatherwise at this time of year we found very windy (can't say we weren't warned !) althougn the cloudy mornings would break up about lunchtime with the resultant (apparent)rise in temperatures

One downside was that our stay coincided with work on demolishing a very old structure between the Hotel and the seafront, which required some lengthy work with pneumatic drills during the day. Somewhat distracting at times, but on the day we left most of the work seemed complete
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Hotel tip: Nice little bar in the next door complex - Playa Bastian On our first visit there our drinks order got forgotten and eventually arrived with profuse apologies, which was then followed by a refusal to accept any payment due to their lapse.

Recommended
More like a 3*
6 years 7 months ago
First of all, the hotel Coronas is classed as a 4 star but I think it’s more a 3+. Little things like no bidet, soap, only shampoos in bathroom, no tea/coffee making facilities, writing paper ect the bed sheets had holes in them, saying that the rooms were quite large and the maid kept it spotless.

The food in the restaurant was quite good a good selection of meats fish veg etc. but sweet selection was very poor as was the cheese table only two types of cheese and only cream crackers.

The staff in all departments were fantastic from front desk, restaurant, bars, cleaners, even the gardeners all had time to chat and always smiling.

All said we had a lovely stay in the Coronas Playa.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave And Pam
7 years 4 months ago
Unfortunately the hotel by comparison to other hotels recently visited does not, in my opinion, live up to 4 star status. The sunbeds are looking a little tatty and the few replacements are hard plastic, they do not have any cushions on the hard wicker seats in the dining room (they pass a few around according to what time you arrive at the restuarant), the food is well presented and palatable but lacks variety and has limited choice.
The beds are hard and uncomfortable and the sheets and blankets provided appear to be somewhat aged.
I have been to this hotel on several occasions over the last ten years and can honestly say that it has changed beyond all recogniton since my last visit two years ago. It is in need of a revamp and some tender loving care.
The entertainment crew tried hard but the evening entertainment was adequate and was limited to tribute bands and acrobats.
It is unlikely that I shall ever return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Jill And Dave Richardson Both 50 Ish
7 years 9 months ago
This was our second stay at this hotel ,, the last time we were half board and found the drinks in the hotel very expensive, this time we were able to up grade to all inclusive on arrival for 19 euros each a day,,, well worth it it includes everything,, water coffee.. lunch time snack by the pool,, bearing in mind most cocktails are over 4 euros and half jug of sangria was 5 euros, we deffinately got our monies worth,,

We emailed the hotel before arrival and asked for a room with a south facing balcony,,, we were given room 624,, over looking the top pool and ideal,,, sun from early morning til late evening, The rooms are all huge as are the balconies..

The food cannot be faulted.. excellent and massive choice at every meal time ,, and snacks available by the pool bar if you re a bit peckish.

The entertainment as better than alot of the thomson gold hotels we ve stayed in,,, the comedian was very good,, although we were a little disappointed with the Elvis act

Although we and a lot of other guests were all in clusive,, it was noticed that a many people still tipped the waiters and waitresses,,, they work very hard,,, long hours and always a smile for everyone .

Offering the guests to up grade to all inclusive is the best thing this hotel could do,,, we really enjoyed our holiday and will probably return in a couple of years

The cats are still in residence at the hotel,, they ve been there for years now and many guests feed them on the quiet,, ourselves included,, although one particular couple were very annoyed with us for doing so,,, if the cats were a problem at the hotel then the management would have dealt with them ?? Live and let live !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Linda & Mick
8 years 6 months ago
We went half board and the food was lovely a great choice everyday. The hotel was the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The location of the hotel wasnt great but you could walk to the town in about 20 mins very windy though. The hotel staff couldnt do enough for us very pleasant. The entertainment team really do try very hard to keep everyone happy there was something going on during the day by the pool and in the evening.Our room was huge and we had a great view of the pool and the sun on our huge balcony from about 11.00 until the evening that was lovely. I emailed the hotel 2 weeks before we went and requested a high room with a southerly aspect and they did us proud I would recommend room 624.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
The Hotel was kept immaculate and clean. Reception staff were excellent. Maids etc. did a first class job. Sheets, towels changed as and when required.

Food was of quite a good standard. Especially enjoyed breakfast. Evening meal was good but did have some strange combinations but we tried them all and enjoyed most of them. Restaurant staff were very good and attentive to your needs.

We emailed before the holiday to request mattress toppers and a high level room with a pool view. We got both and room 626 gives excellent views of the pool and the sea and the balcony gets the sun most of the day.

The room was very big and as we have said kept immaculate. Plenty of toiletries supplied in bathroom.

The entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The Thomson team did their best but quite frankly little of it appealled to us but others thought it was great. So it all comes down to personal taste.

The pools were very clean although the water was cold but isn't it always in the Canaries. Plenty of sun beds so you could get a good tan.

The hotel location puts it 15 to 20 minute walk from the shops etc. of Costa Teguise but it is a pleasant stroll along the promenade.

We had a very pleasant, relaxing fortnight here and met some nice people.Would we go back? Strangely no. It was our first time at a Thomsons Gold Hotel and probably the last and it just seemed to lack something that would make you want to say. "that was great, lets try it again". For us it just didn't have it. Quiet, relaxing, well run but there was just something missing. Again it could just be personal choices and tastes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Jo
9 years ago
Hotel was great,only downside was the weather it was very wet,as the hotel has open corridors it made it very dangerous due to the marble flooring. The staff kept them as dry as possible,but there were many elderly guests that were unsteady on their feet,so it must have been scarey for them.Hotel did give a warning letter and there were lots of signs around warning of danger.
Hotel is spotless,and maids were lovely.
Beds are very hard,if you ask at reception you can get a topper for the bed this made a big difference.
Rooms are very large with air con,but No heating. It was fairly cold during our stay. They offered more blankets for the beds.I did find it cold first thing and late at night.
Entertainment was fair,I have been to other Gold Hotels and entertainment has been much better. It may have been as we had the change over from summer to winter season.
All the hotel staff were lovely and friendly especially in the restaurant.
I would not return to this hotel only because we are trying not to return to the same place twice. It has many guests visiting at least 3 times a year.
Take a kettle with you if you have not booked a superior room otherwise their is a charge and they don't have that many.
We did a free blanket trip it was alright, but only because the weather was bad if it had been sunny day time would be better spent on the sun lounger.
There are cats around, they are very friendly and do not bother you.
I would recommend this hotel, it was just a shame we had poor weather which is very unusal for Lanzarote.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Tolley
9 years ago
My wife and I have stayed here on several occasions and have never been dissappointed.The staff are all very friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.The reception staff all speak fluent english.The hotel is situated in a quiet area but there are several bars and restaurants close by if you choose not to use the hotel facilities.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Mr Mrs Statham
9 years ago
the hotel we stayed at was coronas playa lanzarote we loved this hotel it was fantastic from the second you arrive to the point of leaving and you want want to go home made alot of new friends dave and yvonne john and cynthia plus many more food was great and the to main waiters in resturant fantastic rooms you cant fault beds are very comfy we found the pools bril then theres the entertainment well done lewis and specialy kerry if you put me up on stage again you no i will get me own back bril loved it thank you also to alburto yes you will no all there names and just to had you will never get bord of menu its bril every night you want want to eat anywhere else drinks abit expensive but come on your on holiday one last thing got to mention davide the waiter with the poney tail he is the best bloke you could meet always smiling sat with the mrs whilst i was on stage yes kerry always a laugh makes your holiday nice one davi boy but saying go yourself you will never regret it see you all soon daz sue
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Plumridge
9 years 1 month ago
Chose this Thomson Gold hotel 2 weeks before we went, and we were not wrong in chosing it.
There are 3 words that sum up this Hotel completely they are "Brilliant" "Great" Fantastice. the entertainment was worth seeing every night, the rooms were the biggest we have ever stay in and the food was superb.
Only 2 minor faults, 1, the price charged for a small 250mls of water in the resturant, hotel bar and pool bar of 1.80 Euro which many said was far too much. it was even dearer to buy a bottle of water than to have a pot of tea at 1.30.
If you have a late flight home and want to stay in youyr room the charge 47 euro for this a bit over the top.But if you chose this hotel you will not be dissapointed in any way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.