Image of Be Live Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

Be Live Hotel Grand Teguise Playa

15 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Avda del Jablillo s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 months ago
I have stayed at this hotel before, last time being October 2015 and was not at all impressed. The rooms were old and outdated and the food was cheap, budget, and lack of variety, and not catering for vegetarians. The main thing that was going for this hotel was its location.

Two years later, having spoken to people about various changes at the hotel, I decided things must have improved so thought I would return.

This is my honest review, having stayed at many other 4 star establishments on the island of Lanzarote. I would also recommend people read my previous review on this hotel.

Positives – Location, Location, Location. The views from the rooms are good overlooking the sea. Most the staff are friendly. I would like to say a big thankyou to Brenda and Chicco who work very hard trying to keep everyone entertained, and are friendly and go out of their way to ensure guests have a good time.

Negatives – This time I choose a Superior room on 6th floor which had good views, very comfy bed and modernised bathroom. The air con was still the same that didn’t work properly, and the same old noisy sliding wardrobe doors. These so called Superior rooms would be what other hotels would call standard rooms. It is a joke to charge more for them and call them superior. I certainly wouldn’t recommend staying in one of the old run down rooms which are lower than floor 4.

FOOD – Well, where do I start! If you like a good choice of food, and quality food, or are a vegetarian, then PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL.

Trust me, that the food is dreadful in terms of quality and choice. The fruit juices are syrupy, most the food is dripping in oil and sauces. Certainly not of a standard that other 4 star all-inclusive buffets offer on the island. I spoke to people at the hotel who found the food to be good, and the reason why is because they hadn’t stayed at other 4 star hotels on the island, so they had nothing to compare it with. I would suggest the managers (and customers) take a trip to other hotels to compare their food such as Rubicon Palace, Mirador, Sandos Papagayo, it is in a total different league and at a lower cost of staying there too.

I am a vegetarian, and a healthy eater. I generally eat grilled fish, plenty of salad and rice and fruit. The salad bar is very basic and doesn’t offer enough to warrant having this as a main meal. Lots of things weren’t labelled, and regularly I would find ham in the mixed salads or rice.

After day one, I realised I was not going to find anything to eat that suited my vegetarian requirements as I do not like sauces, oils, stodge or pasta, so I mentioned this to a waiter, who said he would get the manager to come and see me, who never did.

I then remembered following a previous review I had written where I slated the food in October 2015 that Laura Diaz had responded saying

“Although we are not a vegetarian buffet we recommend vegetarians ask us for specifics plates of their like and we will prepare for them every day A LA CARTE. She also stated if a preferred fruit like melon is not present ASK OUR STAFF THEY WILL BE DELIGHTED TO PLEASE YOU”

I then decided if there was nothing to suit my vegetarian requirements that every lunch and dinner I would ask for fish. I then waited 15-20 minutes for it to be cooked for me. I give special thanks to Oscar who was very friendly and obliging, however for a 4* hotel, to have plain grilled fish every day should be a given, not something I have to ask for. It was embarrassing as a solo traveller to sit there at mealtimes with people looking at you wondering why you are not eating, then have a waiter serve you fish.

I didn’t see watermelon all week, but they did have another type. Again I had to ask most mealtimes for Melon which is what I eat for breakfast and dessert as it was not readily available. each mealtime. I could go on and on about the food, but I won’t. Please see some attached photos though to see what I mean.
When I returned home I wrote a complaint letter to my holiday company about the hotel mainly in terms of the food, and they replied by saying:

“It could not be compared with an an a la carte Restaurant, where you chose and paid for the plates of your like. Although not advertised as specialised in vegetarian, vegan or healthy food, we make really great effort to suit vegetarian and gluten free guest (there are vegetarian and gluten free section). We recommend to ask us for specifics plates we are willing to cook a la carte".

They advised they would not consider any compensation as they felt I had been given an a la carte service without any extra price. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING RESPONSE, especially as in October 2015 Laura Diaz told me to ask for food and it would be prepared for me, which is what I did!!!!

Also I would like to finish off by saying that I spoke to many repeat guests and the reason they keep returning is for the location and friends they make, not the food. Most of them hadn’t even tried other hotels on the island either so had nothing to compare it with.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine.co.uk

Hotel tip: Floors 4th to 6th floor

Fantastic Break
1 year 6 months ago
We went here as a family to get over the winter months and get us ready for summer. Hotel was great, all the staff were welcoming and always happy. The hotel was nice, had everything you needed and did not disappoint. We went all inclusive and the food was plentiful and varied. All drinks were good and not watered down. The management were always helpful and as we had an afternoon flight they even allows us to stay in the room after midday at no extra cost. The pool area was good and although the water was not warm warm, it was still pleasant to have a dip.

The room was clean, well maintained and the beds comfortable. It was not a 5 star hotel but you cannot go wrong with the price you pay.

The sun was shining everyday, beach was great and we also headed out to eat a few nights in the local restaurants. Like anything the holiday is what you make it and there are cheap and expensive ways to eat out and drink but it does pay to look around as there is some real hidden gems in the resort.

All in the hotel was fab, with the money and the staff, food, drink and resort was great. The only down side to the holiday was that we had to fly with Ryanair, which is always a chore!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: One The Beach

Hotel tip: Get a pool room view.

Recommended
Russell Whittaker
Great for all ages ! More suited to adults. Constant activities for all ages. superb entertainment and activities staff !
2 years 1 month ago
A very clean hotel with spectacular views. Constant attention from incredibly hard working, pleasant, and engaging staff. A really welcoming environment. You can do as much or a little as you choose! A fine selection of good quality food, within a first rate restaurant. Lots of activities throughout the day hosted by an enthusiastic team. Entertainment every evening that caters to all.

Highly recommend for an unforgettable holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Hotel tip: Any with a beach view !

Recommended
M Coupland
Family Hotel
3 years 9 months ago
I took my two children with me for a little break to this hotel/resort we found. The hotel was clean, modern and had all amenities required for our stay. The rooms were all overlooking pool and could consider it as seaview. rooms were of good size and cleaned daily.

The Animation team were very friendly, enthusiastic and made my son feel very comfortable for joining in the daily children clubs. Pools were very cold but expected that at this time of year. Food was as any other All inclusive resort I've stayed at.

My only gripes would be having to queue for drinks at the only two bars, pool bar during day and lobby bar at night especially as had to leave my children alone to do so. What's also annoying is that people are leaving their towels on the sun beds before breakfast and not using them until lunch even though there are clear signs asking people not to do this. This made it hard to find a free sun bed at times.

All inclusive drinks were OK in taste compared to other resorts but what was great was that you can upgrade to more well known brands at £7.50 a day which I thought was a great offer.

All in all a very good hotel and break. Defiantly recommend to friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave.com

Recommended
Barnett
Fantastic hotel and location
6 years 1 month ago
The Hotel itself was perfect for us as the location was brilliant. It was close to all the shops and restaurants, there was even a gate leading straight from the hotel to the beach.

There was plenty of sunbeds around the pool and saving sunbeds was forbidden and the manager removed any towels that were put out. The swimming pools were lovely and all surrounding areas were kept clean.

The hotel was also very clean as were the rooms. All the rooms had a pool and sea view. The reception staff were polite and helpful.

We were however a little disappointed with the food. Breakfast was okay - the usual english fry up, cereal, fruit, etc. The evening meal was not so good. There was not a lot of choice and we found it to be lukewarm. We even heated it up in the microwave that could be found in the corner of the room! After couple of days we decided to swap our evening meal and take lunch instead which was much better. So many nice restaurants in the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gazaa
Good Hotel
6 years 1 month ago
Food excellent-staff friendly-location spot on.
Only real disappointment was the entertainment which was usually dancing (or Parrott show), started at 10pm finished by 10:45, then back to the piped music or semi live duo.

Didn`t see kids entertainment but it couldn`t have lasted very long. On the other hand, to be fair, the all-inclusive drinks ended at midnight, which is reasonable.

Most guests where elderly couples. A mix of Spanish, English, Germans. Not many kids even at half term.

The pool area was very nice. Don`t worry it’s a nice place, enjoy your holiday, we did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brilliant location!
6 years 9 months ago
Half board was okay for us - breakfast and evening meal. This gave us time to sun-bathe, swim, and go on excursions, before returning for our meal in the evening.

The hotel is very clean, and new carpets have been fitted. Room cleaned every day, and towels changed daily. No evidence of any creepy-crawlies.

Food was of a good standard and well presented and there was plenty of choice and variety.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, right in front of the beach. Fantastic views - we were on the 5th floor, in the middle of the main block.

Hotel staff were always helpful and attentive.

The entertainment was limited, but okay if you are not too fussy.

We would definitely visit this hotel again - we felt safe and looked after. Nor quite sure if it is definately 4 star, but perhaps so.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Greene
7 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a last minute holiday here.
We stayed on a half board basis in which the food was ok but ate out a couple of evenings.
The location was Exellent right on the beach but the two fresh water swimming pools were just as nice if you dont want to go on the beach.... I used to just take a wander onto the beach for a walk in the afternoon.
The staff were extreamly helpful and enjoyed looking after you.
The enterainment was quite good but was only on for an hour of an evening, the entertainment was good during the day, golf, darts,shuffle board etc, it passed an hour or day in the day out of the baking sun.
I would not hesitate to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel republic

Recommended
Suzy
7 years 8 months ago
beautiful hotel very clean,all rooms have pool/sea view,staff very friendly,good food something for everyone,near shops and resturants.would recommend hotel,2 large pools one heated.Plenty of sun loungers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Nicky
8 years 6 months ago
most of the reviews i would say are accurate, unfortunately this hotel is well past its best!

Im quite open minded but having paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direst holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.