Image of Galeon Playa Apartments

Galeon Playa Apartments

14 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

4 out of 5 from 89 reviews
3 stars
Calle de las Conchas, 2 35508 Teguise, Spain
The complex has all you would expect, like sunbeds and parasols, plus two fantastic swimming pools.

89 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    36
  • Good
    18
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Suzanne Sabatelli & Joyce Shankland
Galeon Playa Apartments
2 years 8 months ago
The apartments are clean but needing repairs on the little things like the taps, lights, jaded furniture etc. The maids come in every other day and although they were good at cleaning our room we found that she was moving our personal belongings around. I was with my sister and we had some things with us that were the same but when the maid moved stuff around we didn't know what belonged to who. The two ring cooker was useless. Not much heat at all. Took ages to cook anything so we ate out.

The apartments are very close to the beach and a supermarket on the doorstep. We were housed in block E8, not the best because you don't get much of the sun there but you can see the Atlantic Ocean. The food is very good. Bella in the restaurant is a lovely lady. Despite the few niggles we will be back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2

Hotel tip: Try La Hacienda Tex Mex Restaurant. Great atmosphere. Great food.

Recommended
Sandra MacLean
Shabby but clean
3 years 6 months ago
I could never stay there again as I like a better standard. Discoloured bath, rust, doors peeling at bottom, etc. All in all drastically in need of refurbishment.

Ok for young and families on a tight budget as everything was there and funcional.

There is a snack bar, bar, plenty of sun-loungers, wi-fi in reception or for hire.

Handy for everything and there is a small supermarket across from reception for your daily needs and a bigger one a few yards up the road.

TV remote is 20 euro refundable deposit but you only get the news.

Iron can be got from reception at no charge.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2

Hotel tip: Blocks 9,10 and 11 have lifts only.

Scott Green
Great hotel
3 years 10 months ago
Great hotel loved it. great Location right by sea and main strip great pools very clean staff great. good Chinese buffe all you can eat by hotel think it was €4 each kids €3 not bad ether the market squire has lots of bars & resturants great place to go have beer and people watch in evening the snuck bar in middle is a great little bar have entertainer some evenings and market going back February can't wait
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S Jones
6 years 5 months ago
Having visited Galeon Player in October 2010 (me and my husband) we decided to book up again and take our teenage children, aged 18 and 16 and their partners. We are not party animals, although my 16 year old daughter likes to think she is!!

We went back to the Galeon because we could not fault it last time. This time the accommodation, although basic, (and slightly dated), remained clean and fresh. We required the maintenance team to assist us on a couple of occasions. The first time a handle came off a door, the second the boiler broke, but hey! They responded immediately and even the boiler was replaced within 2 hours.

We ate a few times at the onsite bar, my order came out wrong - only once - because she was new to the bar, but she was friendly and couldn't do enough for you so I didn't mind because the basic style food was pleasant and reasonably priced for a snack.

We did notice, however, that the pool wasn't cleaned out daily like before. We had more wind this time and more debris ended up in the pool, but nobody cleaned it out and the pool contained the debris for 2-3 days. We did report this to reception but it was not attended to as quickly as maintenance issues.

My daughter left her I phone in the room (only remembering when we were on our way to the airport!!) My husband went back to the room and the cleaners were at work cleaning our room, but they had already taken the phone to reception.

We would return to this hotel for a non- main holiday as it demonstrates value for money and an excellent location, basic, clean accommodation and staff who are friendly and very trustworthy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
A Smith
6 years 7 months ago
My wife and I stayed for 11 days at the Galeon Playa apartments from 10th April this year. We normally holiday in 3 or 4 star hotels, but went self catering because this complex had a disabled friendly apartment which my wife needed. We read some of the later reviews here after booking the holiday and so we were rather apprehensive. In fact we found little to concern us although the place was more downmarket than we are used to.

The apartments are a little run down, but not as bad as we expected from some comments. Certainly the four star rating has probably worn out its welcome by now but they rooms are clean and reasonably well stocked.

Our beds were changed every two or three days and the maid was always cheerful and helpful. Clean towels arrived every time she cleaned the rooms, which was about three times a week. The cooking facilities were basic but adequate, a microwave oven, kettle, toaster and two ring hotplate. Everything worked although the cooker tripped the electrics when water leaked down the side of a ring, but the handyman came and fixed it very promptly.

The pool area was good, and the pool was cleaned every day. The pool area was a real suntrap. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. There were just about enough sun beds to go around. The internet was expensive, but there is an internet cafe in the games arcade only a few hundred yards away at a fraction the cost.

The Atlantic bar was a little shabby and the entertainment wasn’t up to much, but there are music bars nearby so that wasn’t a problem. The Shamrock, up behind the pharmacy, was about the best we found. Cactus Jacks was highly recommended but it’s a long walk away. The range of drinks in the Atlantic bar was limited too, but there is a happy hour until 10.30 every night on most alcoholic drinks (although not on the few considered exotic, such as Southern Comfort). The apartment television was poor, only about one English Channel.

The apartments are well situated in the shopping and restaurant area. We did not use the onsite restaurant so I can’t comment on it, but the pool bar food was adequate if nothing special.

Overall, this place is pretty good for the price you are likely to pay. You could get better, but you would have to pay a lot more for it. If you are prepared to rough it a little then you could do worse than have a cheap and cheerful holiday here.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
I have stayed at Galeon Playa twice in the last 6 months and have booked another holiday there next month, so I think it is safe to say I highly recommend it.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it is right by the Jabillo beach and only a few minutes from Las Cucharas. A lot of the rooms have a sea view and the others have a pool view, the reception staff will try to accomodate your request if you e-mail them before hand.
I stayed self catering, so cannot comment on the food in the hotel, but I was told it was good quality, I did see that you had the option to upgrade to half board for a day at a time, which gives you the option to eat in the hotel which from memory was very reasonably priced (about 12 Euro per day) and also try the numerous very good local restaurants.

There was entertainment in the bar 6 night a week, which I didn't see and there is also a guy by the pool 5 days a week organising actvities to keep kids and adults amused (Water Polo, kids games, Scuba).

The apartments themselves are spacious and very clean, I did have a small problem with some ants on day one of my first stay but this was sorted as soon as I reported it. There is a kettle, toaster, microwave, two rung hob and fridge in the kitchen, so all you really need for a holiday kitchen. The crockery, glasses etc are also enough for 4 people. The patios and balconies all have tables and chairs and are quite large, both that I had got the sun for a large portion of the day.

The hotel isn't the Ritz, but its certainly not shabby either and offers great value for money, hence me going back AGAIN :) I have previously stayed in a private apartment which although had every luxury I could want it was double the price, staying at Galeon Playa is much more cost effective and if I really want the luxury of a bath robe I can always take one with me....

One other thing to mention which was important to me, there is a security guard on duty all night long so the complex is completely safe (not that others aren't) which made me feel very comfortable as woman travelling alone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended
Paul Cockbain
8 years 3 months ago
The rooms at the Galeon Playa are very spacious and clean, we didn't have a single cockroach just a few ants on the first day which we soon got rid of. There are two pools, the 'quiet' pool and the 'busy' pool. We spent our days by the quiet pool where there were plenty of spare sun loungers, it was a bit windy and the water was cooler but we didn't mind. A 2 minute walk takes you to the small sheltered beach of Punta Jablillo and only 7 or 8 minutes and you are on the main beach of Las Cucharas. We have already decided to return to Galeon Playa next summer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: flexible trips

Recommended
Doreen Simpson
8 years 9 months ago
The room we had was very clean with the maids cleaning every day .
the breakfast was very cool and not very much variation lacking in cleanliness ie. plates still wet after being washed,salt condiments empty despite staff being told the day before.


reception on arrival and throughout the week was excellent but when we left the service was diabolicle with no please and thank you or hope you have a good flight or good bye or anything just without speaking gave us our deposits back then the person carried on speaking to another member of staff
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: monarch

Nicola & Neil
9 years 2 months ago
we found the galeon playa apartments very centrally located.the beach,shops and restaurants are all a stones throw away.the hotel is made up of different blocks,some blocks are better placed than others.our apartment balcony faced the road but we had a sea view too.the bedroom had a high window but you only sleep in there so no big deal.the rooms are basic but very clean and spacious.the pool area is nice though the water is cold!not much in the way of entertainment,abit hit and miss.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: avro

Recommended
Shan And John
9 years 3 months ago
Stayed here for 2 weeks with my husband and 8 year old son and loved it .Excellent location with a great clean pool .Rooms were very spacious and well equiped and cleaned to a very high standard .Clean towells every day .Staff were very polite and helpful and any problems dealt with efficently .Club staff great with the children and a good range of day activities .
Very impressed and would reccommend to others .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.