Image of Bungalows Barranco Apartments

Bungalows Barranco Apartments

46 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
2 stars
Av Santiago Puig, 3, 38660 Playa de las Américas, Spain

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Brown
8 years 4 months ago
Barranco apartments are very basic but clean, the spiral staircase was difficult but manageable I wouldn't recommend for young or old, but not all apartments had them. Staff are friendly and our apt. was cleaned most days. Didn't use pool as it was tiny.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mary
10 years 2 months ago
I have stayed in the Barranco 3 time i enjoy the stay it is clean and all the staff are very friendly. What i really like about the apartments was that if you had a pool view you walk out to the pool at your feet. Everyone ther was very friend and it is in a great location you are close to everyiing you have great bars and you have supermarkets close and on site and you have a big Netto across the road. It was very safe and if was quiet of a night time.I would comr back to Barranco year atfer year and i think it should be more than a 2 star because it is a lovely place to stay and i will be going back for my fourth time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Claire
11 years 11 months ago
I enjoyed our stay here, the apartments were clean although a little bit on the small side. Our apartment was on the ground floor looking on to pool, which was a bit noisy 1st thing in the morning with the sunloungers being dragged around, while the area was been cleaned. Although on a very busy road the traffic noise never bothered us. The pool is tiny, but the roof terrace is excellent if you want to just lie in the sun all day. There is no bar on site just a vending machine which does sell beer and a small mini market. I didn't have any problems the only reason I would not visit again is because of the spiral staircase in the apartments a mega hassle with kids.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kerstin
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel was clean, very small and basic but it's on a very busy stretch of road which seems to get busier during the night.

Music from the Jersey Cow opposite was quite loud, but finished about 1.15.

The pool was tiny, we only went once and there was just enough standing room which was very disappointing, though we did find a nice quite pool over the road at El Dorado, just walk through reception next to the Jersey Cow as if it is your hotel and nobody bothers you!

Rooms were cleaned about every other day, towels changed about 3 times in the fortnight and bedding only changed once.

Found staff friendly and didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kelly
12 years ago
The maids came in once during our stay and that was to sweep the floor.

The hotel was in a good location, although quite noisy, and it had a small pool.

Our room was the weirdest shape we have ever stayed in,no air con it was hotter in room than it was outside even at night, had to hire fan (20 euros.) Couldn't stand it any longer as we had a 2 yr old had to move hotels.

One friendly receptionist.

No entertainment.

Would never stay there again if you paid me!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Becky
12 years 2 months ago
Although rooms are cleaned everyother day the maids could do with a little training i think mopping round anything that is in their way and leaving the floor wet through i thought was a bit dangerous.
Cock roaches were a problem for us but if we saw one we just killed it with a lighter and hairspray as we were told not to stand on them as the leave their eggs on the bottoms of your shoes.
The resteraunt downstarirs was gorgeous if you are staying in the barranco and you show them your room key card they give you a 10% discount which i thought was brill.
The location is great close enough to veronicas but just far enough away to get sleep without noise.
Staff at the hotel i thought were great yes maybe they were a little harsh with security but they were very helpful and quite friendly towrds us.
I have never had reps like the two we had dave and lyndsey they were brill all problems were sorted out and they were reall freindly too.
only went in the attatched bar once to watch the kareoe which was a good laugh if you fancy staying round the apartments for a night. Also there are two pool tables which kill time if you get bored.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alyson
12 years 2 months ago
Me and my boyfriend stayed in the barranco, when walking in it was very pleasant, we was not bothered by them taking are passports, and we had to pat 15euro each deposit which you get back, are apartment was on the roof which when we seen how packed the very small pool area got we was glad as we had are own privacy and could just chill, even though i have children it was abit noisy with all the kids that were there, and the noise does wake you up in the morning, and the walls are very thin, and the cleaning ladys walk round hackling to each other which is irratating. The rooms got cleaned every day but the bedding didn't get changed, we didn't find any problem with the security guard that was on he walked round on the roof terrace and would let on, there was only one who wouldn't let on but he was only there one nite, the worse problem we had there was on are last nite at 3.30 in the morning we flushed the toilet and pipe burst on the tap in the bath and flooded the whole apartment which took about an hour to mop up, Oh and the hotel opposit are room gets noisy as it is groups of people. I wouldn't go back here as it is not a place where you can just relax especially by the pool and have a quite dip, but all in all the rooms are ok and ok if you don't care about where you stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Richard
12 years 2 months ago
Just want to put my backing to a lot already said.

They take your passport for 24 hours which is no big problem. Not exactly as if you need them is it?

There is one very friendly receptionist who also drew us a map to the bus depot. Rest were pretty miserable and could barely break into a smile.

Accommodation was basic, enough room in the fridge for water and beer though with food being so cheap we didn't cook anything ourselves.

Nice balcony to sit on and look out, though we were in one of the apartments overlooking the 18-30 hotel. This was a BIG problem for noise! They could be heard screaming and shouting at all hours of the day, including when they got back from a night out at 5am or 6am. No good if trying to sleep. This continued for 3 or 4 days but eventually quietened when they began struggling to hack the pace I feel.

The spiral staircase would be a major problem for anyone with young kids or the elderly. If a bit worse for wear they can be negotiated carefully, or you can just crash downstairs by pushing the two sofas
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
The Barranco apartments are small, clean and friendly.

On site there is a mini-market and outside is the lovely tango restaurant in which you save 10% if you are a Barranco resident! This also applies to the Anchor Bar at the corner which is great for cocktalis and karaoke!

The apartment I stayed in was on 2 levels with a spiral staircase, so not great for anyone with walking difficulties, so remember when booking to state this because not all apartments have this!

The balcony is small but has no roof so its great for sunbathing! The pool is really small and deep but there are seperate kids areas! I have stayed in this resort a few times and I think I liked these aprtments the best so dont't listen to all the bad reviews I've read!

Security is really good in the apartments, a security guard walks round all night and at reception if they dont recognise you they ask for your room number and they look at photocopies they have taken of your passport! So if you want to take strangers back you might not get to!

Overall fantastic accommodation!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul Gallagher
12 years 5 months ago
The apartments are situated on a very busy main road. Combine this with the hotel's paper thin walls & a good night's sleep is almost impossible. The towels & bedsheets were changed only once during our week's stay & we had to wear shoes constantly to avoid the dirt clinging to our feet. (Two cockroaches also shared the room during our stay.)There are four receptionists, only one is polite & pleasant. The other three are surly & downright rude. (Expect to pay a 15 Euros per person deposit on arrival to cover any damages that might occur during your stay.) Our return flight was at 3.15 in the morning so we enquired about keeping the room until midnight as opposed to midday. We were told the chances were slim & even if a room was available it would cost 60 Euros! (A courtesy room is sometimes available with a 10 minute slot per person.)I would NOT recommend this accommodation to anybody! A thouroughly miserable experience!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices