17 independent reviews of the Bungalows Barranco Apartments
Address: Av Santiago Puig, 3, 38660 Playa de las Américas, Spain
Bungalows Barranco Apartments
Bungalows Barranco Apartments Location
Ranked #45 of 80 hotels in Playa de las Americas


4/5
Bungalows Barranco Apartments Bungalows Barranco Apartments is rated 3.53 out of 5 from 17 Reviews
65% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (17 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 0 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Bungalows Barranco Apartments Reviews

4/5
4

brown had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments, Playa de las Americas in May 2008
Barranco apartments are very basic but clean, the spiral staircase was difficult but manageable I wouldn\'t recommend for young or old, but not all apartments had them. Staff are friendly and our apt. was cleaned most days. Didn\'t use pool as it was tiny.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Mary stayed at Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in July 2006
I have stayed in the Barranco 3 time i enjoy the stay it is clean and all the staff are very friendly. What i really like about the apartments was that if you had a pool view you walk out to the pool at your feet. Everyone ther was very friend and it is in a great location you are close to everyiing you have great bars and you have supermarkets close and on site and you have a big Netto across the road. It was very safe and if was quiet of a night time.I would comr back to Barranco year atfer year and i think it should be more than a 2 star because it is a lovely place to stay and i will be going back for my fourth time.

Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Claire stayed at Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in October 2004
I enjoyed our stay here, the apartments were clean although a little bit on the small side. Our apartment was on the ground floor looking on to pool, which was a bit noisy 1st thing in the morning with the sunloungers being dragged around, while the area was been cleaned. Although on a very busy road the traffic noise never bothered us. The pool is tiny, but the roof terrace is excellent if you want to just lie in the sun all day. There is no bar on site just a vending machine which does sell beer and a small mini market. I didn\'t have any problems the only reason I would not visit again is because of the spiral staircase in the apartments a mega hassle with kids.

Tour Operator: Sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

kerstin had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in October 2004
The hotel was clean, very small and basic but it's on a very busy stretch of road which seems to get busier during the night.

Music from the Jersey Cow opposite was quite loud, but finished about 1.15.

The pool was tiny, we only went once and there was just enough standing room which was very disappointing, though we did find a nice quite pool over the road at El Dorado, just walk through reception next to the Jersey Cow as if it is your hotel and nobody bothers you!

Rooms were cleaned about every other day, towels changed about 3 times in the fortnight and bedding only changed once.

Found staff friendly and didn

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

kelly visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments in September 2004
The maids came in once during our stay and that was to sweep the floor.

The hotel was in a good location, although quite noisy, and it had a small pool.

Our room was the weirdest shape we have ever stayed in,no air con it was hotter in room than it was outside even at night, had to hire fan (20 euros.) Couldn't stand it any longer as we had a 2 yr old had to move hotels.

One friendly receptionist.

No entertainment.

Would never stay there again if you paid me!

Tour Operator: sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Becky visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel in July 2004
Although rooms are cleaned everyother day the maids could do with a little training i think mopping round anything that is in their way and leaving the floor wet through i thought was a bit dangerous.
Cock roaches were a problem for us but if we saw one we just killed it with a lighter and hairspray as we were told not to stand on them as the leave their eggs on the bottoms of your shoes.
The resteraunt downstarirs was gorgeous if you are staying in the barranco and you show them your room key card they give you a 10% discount which i thought was brill.
The location is great close enough to veronicas but just far enough away to get ...
sleep without noise.
Staff at the hotel i thought were great yes maybe they were a little harsh with security but they were very helpful and quite friendly towrds us.
I have never had reps like the two we had dave and lyndsey they were brill all problems were sorted out and they were reall freindly too.
only went in the attatched bar once to watch the kareoe which was a good laugh if you fancy staying round the apartments for a night. Also there are two pool tables which kill time if you get bored.

Read More

Tour Operator: sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

alyson had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments in July 2004
Me and my boyfriend stayed in the barranco, when walking in it was very pleasant, we was not bothered by them taking are passports, and we had to pat 15euro each deposit which you get back, are apartment was on the roof which when we seen how packed the very small pool area got we was glad as we had are own privacy and could just chill, even though i have children it was abit noisy with all the kids that were there, and the noise does wake you up in the morning, and the walls are very thin, and the cleaning ladys walk round hackling to each other which is irratating. The rooms got cleaned every day but the bedding didn\'t get changed, we didn\'t find any problem with the security ...
guard that was on he walked round on the roof terrace and would let on, there was only one who wouldn\'t let on but he was only there one nite, the worse problem we had there was on are last nite at 3.30 in the morning we flushed the toilet and pipe burst on the tap in the bath and flooded the whole apartment which took about an hour to mop up, Oh and the hotel opposit are room gets noisy as it is groups of people. I wouldn\'t go back here as it is not a place where you can just relax especially by the pool and have a quite dip, but all in all the rooms are ok and ok if you don\'t care about where you stay.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Richard stayed at Bungalows Barranco Apartments, Playa de las Americas, Spain in July 2004
Just want to put my backing to a lot already said.

They take your passport for 24 hours which is no big problem. Not exactly as if you need them is it?

There is one very friendly receptionist who also drew us a map to the bus depot. Rest were pretty miserable and could barely break into a smile.

Accommodation was basic, enough room in the fridge for water and beer though with food being so cheap we didn't cook anything ourselves.

Nice balcony to sit on and look out, though we were in one of the apartments overlooking the 18-30 hotel. This was a BIG problem for noise! They could be heard screaming and shouting at all hours of the day, including when they got back from a night out at 5am or 6am. No good if trying to sleep. This continued for ...
3 or 4 days but eventually quietened when they began struggling to hack the pace I feel.

The spiral staircase would be a major problem for anyone with young kids or the elderly. If a bit worse for wear they can be negotiated carefully, or you can just crash downstairs by pushing the two sofas

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunset i think

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Alison visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel in July 2004
The Barranco apartments are small, clean and friendly.

On site there is a mini-market and outside is the lovely tango restaurant in which you save 10% if you are a Barranco resident! This also applies to the Anchor Bar at the corner which is great for cocktalis and karaoke!

The apartment I stayed in was on 2 levels with a spiral staircase, so not great for anyone with walking difficulties, so remember when booking to state this because not all apartments have this!

The balcony is small but has no roof so its great for sunbathing! The pool is really small and deep but there are seperate kids areas! I have stayed in this resort a few times and I think I liked these aprtments the best so dont\'t listen to all the bad reviews I\'ve read!

Security is really good ...
in the apartments, a security guard walks round all night and at reception if they dont recognise you they ask for your room number and they look at photocopies they have taken of your passport! So if you want to take strangers back you might not get to!

Overall fantastic accommodation!

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

Paul Gallagher had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments in April 2004
The apartments are situated on a very busy main road. Combine this with the hotel\'s paper thin walls & a good night\'s sleep is almost impossible. The towels & bedsheets were changed only once during our week\'s stay & we had to wear shoes constantly to avoid the dirt clinging to our feet. (Two cockroaches also shared the room during our stay.)There are four receptionists, only one is polite & pleasant. The other three are surly & downright rude. (Expect to pay a 15 Euros per person deposit on arrival to cover any damages that might occur during your stay.) Our return flight was at 3.15 in the morning so we enquired about keeping the room until midnight as opposed to midday. We were told the chances were slim & even if a room was available it would cost 60 ...
Euros! (A courtesy room is sometimes available with a 10 minute slot per person.)I would NOT recommend this accommodation to anybody! A thouroughly miserable experience!

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunset Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

David Rennie stayed at Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas in April 2004
The Barranco apartments were much better than i had expected. We booked it more for location than standards but when we arrived i was pleasantly surprised.The rooms were basic but very clean.The swimming pool was small but the upstairs solaraium was there if you couldn\'t get to the pool.Location was superb as well, only a couple of minutes walk from Veronicas as well as other restaurants and bars.The security was very tight and they didn\'t allow anyone who wasn\'t staying there into the apartments, despite continued efforts from my mates.There is an excellent restaurant and bar next door to the apartments offering good value food and drink.
Overall an excellent holiday at a great price and i will be returning both to Tenerife and the Barranco Apts.

Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Estelle had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments in February 2004
When we arrived at Barranco I was a little upset about them taking our passports but soon got them back after they checked our id.

I went up to our room and we only had a studio which was without a balcony so I felt a little left out but still I enjoyed the stay.

It was extremely clean, they came in every other day to clean it so it was very clean. We were self catering but the restaurant downstairs was great and the staff were very freindly and helpful.

The entertainment in the bar at the end of the hotel (the anchor) was also very welcoming and the entertainment was good.

I would certainly visit Barranco Apartments again.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

annmarie,james+nicholas stayed at Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas, Spain in January 2004
SECOND TIME VISITING THIS APARTMENTS WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN.LOCATION WAS GREAT AS WAS OUR ROOM.FOUND THE STAFF REALLY NICE.APARTMENTS WERE SPOTLESS WE ONLY SEEN ONE COCKROACH DURING OUR STAY.ONLY DOWN POINT WAS THE SPIRAL STAIRCASE IF YOU HAVE HAD A FEW TO MANY ONLY 5 MINS FROM THE DUBLINER PUB WHICH I STRONGLY RECOMEND

Tour Operator: sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Lee visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments Hotel, Playa de las Americas in December 2003
We stayed in room 118 and 119 and we didnt here any noise then again it was around christmas time. these apartments are nice, loved the spiral staircase! never saw a cockroach:) Only one of the receptionists was nice and pleasant, the others wer miserable. never heard traffic noise. A bit shocked when they took our passports being taken but got them back. Shocked on our departure day when they wouldnt let us leave the hotel for the airport until they had checked our room,overall would definately go back

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Libby visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments in August 2003
Before we visited this hotel we were quite nervous as had read many bad reviews. However, when we arrived it seemed OK, but the arrival desk took both our passports as a security measure (slightly alarming after a night flight) so when we went back to the hotel at night they could check our IDs before letting us in. As a couple we found this OK, and if anything apprecicated the security, but the all-male or all-female groups resented this very vocally (usually around 3am) as no over-night guests were allowed! The hotel was very security conscious, with a night watchmen patrolling the roof areas, etc. This seeemed a bit over board.

The location, however, is very good. Very central, with the beaches and the pubs and clubs of Las Veronicas very close by. The pool was quite small and ...
always very busy, but with the beaches so close it wasn\'t really a problem. The apartments were basic but fairly clean, with a maid service every couple of days. The spiral staircases were very rickety, and I wouldn\'t recommend them for people either with children or on a booze holiday, as can be problematic to the young / drunk. Also the apartments were incredibly hot, as only one window per floor. It was like walking into an oven, so we took the risk of leaving the window and door open at night, which paid off as our security was never threatened.

The only real problems we encountered were the late night arguements over the passports (where school-girl Spanish was useful as the staffs English isn\'t perfect), and a run-in with the Sunset travel reps. The reps were supposed to book us onto the Dolphin spotting Catamaran trip (an expensive must) but when the coach arrived we were told another one would be along for us later... which never arrived! The reps didn\'t really seem that concerned, which was a shame.

Over all our holiday was very good, the last day was a waste as we had a 2am flight and had to be checked out at mid-day, which meant an unpleasant and sticky day. The apartments were basic, but for the money we felt probably a little TOO basic, and the success of our holiday was more due to the resort and luck, as we were told ours was the only apartment without cockroachs (lucky number 33!) If you\'re looking for a basic pad with good location then the Barranco will do, but its not the height of luxury, but more a base to build a good holiday around.

Read More

Tour Operator: Co-op

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Rachel had a holiday at Bungalows Barranco Apartments, Playa de las Americas, Spain in July 2003
Admittedly the hotel did take our passports, but were very nice about it, and explained why, and that we would have them back withinn 24 hours, which we did. 13 adults travelled in my party, and 5 rooms were used to accommodate us. The rooms were cleaned every other day, towels were also replenished every other day. All of our rooms were with a terrace and a balcony, which was great, and security at the hotel could not be falted.

One of the receptionists was amazing - she did everything she could to help us (including writing down for us instructions to a local dentist explaining a wisdom tooth needed to be removed!)

The only thing I\'d be cautious of when booking this hotel is that it is next door to an 18-30, although I believe this would affect ...
only a few of the barranco appartments (those around 120, 119, 118 etc).

The location is perfect - far enough from the clubs that you can sleep, close enough that if you want nightlife you can enjoy it.

There is no entertainment - a huge advantage as my experience of hotel entertainment tells me to avoid it!!

I would definitely stay here again!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Helen visited the Bungalows Barranco Apartments in June 2003
Stayed here for a week, found it to be generally clean and tidy, the pool area is really small and there are very few sunbeds, luckily our apartment was by the pool (not ideal for people travelling with children though) but for others there was little or no chance of getting a bed during the day.
The apartments are a short walk from veronicas and starco, but also near to quieter bars too, when we were there the complex had mainly young groups in, but the security were VERY strict, too strict at times. I would not recommend it for people with children during june/july/aug.

The staff were reasonably pleasant, but could be nasty, several people were given warnings and were evicted, some deserved it but others, to be fair didn\'t. You are asked for a breakage deposit upon arrival, ...
we had no problems getting ours back at the end of the week. The apartments weren\'t cleaned that often, nor were the towels changed, and I don\'t recall the bedding being changed at all during the week. Although on a positive note we didnt see a single cockroach during our stay.

There was improvements being made to some apartments, and the work on these started very early, sometimes from 8am! Although when we complained to the rep, the hotel manager denied this and said it didnt start until after 10am, this was a complete lie!

The apartments were small and had a spiral staircase to get up to the bedroom, this was fine for us but would be no good for elderly people or young children, you also couldnt get your cases upstairs at all.

They say you get what you pay for and ours was a last minute deal, and we thought it was value for money. I dont think I would go back as they arent welcoming at all, it would seem they dislike young people and instantly brand you all the same, thats a shame as due to its location and price they are going to attract groups in the summer season, and we arent all noisy thugs!!!
Excellent location, value for money and reasonably clean are the plus points...the minus are tiny pool, not enough sun loungers and the attitude of some of the staff.

Read More

Tour Operator: sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars
Other hotels in Playa de las Americas

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
1 star Hotels
Share