Image of Mare Nostrum Cleopatra Palace Hotel

Mare Nostrum Cleopatra Palace Hotel

11 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
5 stars
Avenida de las Américas, 38640 Arona, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pete & Trish
9 years 8 months ago
We stayed 7 nights Bed and Breakfast at the Cleopatra hotel. We booked hotel and flights separtely. We intially decided on the Meditterean Palace as it was such a good price however it only worked out
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Relaxabroad.com

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We celebrated New Year at the Cleopatra Palace
as always the rooms aren't massive but plenty of room for 2

Breakfast gave a good selection of hot or cold food with enough choice and quality to suit anyone

The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and bathroom toiletries also replaced bedding changed every other day

Staff from the moment we checked in where as always excellent polite and friendly

As said above we went to celebrate New Years and unfortunately Mare Nostrum this year had decided to cut corners with the banquet The food was plentyfull but left a lot to be desired both with choice and temperature by the time delivered to the table

The evenings entertainment was excellent and the fire works display as always unbelievable I have a video but not sure if it can be uploaded
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Arrangements

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
We are just back from the Cleopatra Palace where we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis for 7 nights.The breakfast was ok but much the usual type of fare usual in Spanish style hotels consisting of the fatty belly pork bacon(yuch) and fried/scrambled eggs and strange tasting sausages.They did however cook you a fresh omelette of your choice if you asked. However if youre a healthier eater there was a good range of fruits,yoghurts and cereals etc. there was also some type of "champagne" available but Dom Perignon or Bollinger it wasnt.
The Hotel has a magnificent looking interior bedecked with dark marble and beautiful lit chandeleirs and statues with running fountains in the interior and a pianist playing even at breakfast.The cleanliness of the hotel,bedrooms and pool areas was immaculate.
I didnt eat in any of the hotel restaurants at night so i really cant comment on the quality of the restaurants. The reason was that many of them were labelled as buffet dinners and im not keen on queueing up for evening meals when youre paying those prices especially when you can go to places like mama rosas restuarant and be treated like royalty,perhaps I didnt give Cleopatras resturants at least a try and I feel I should have but theres just so many fantastic eating places in and around PDLA.
The Hotels location is wonderful right in the middle of shops,restaurants and v close to everything but manages to be shielded from most of the noise.
The hotel staff were unbeleivable both efficient and friendly, maids cleaned rooms daily and changed bed linen and towels v frequently and also replaced complimentary toiletries. Bar staff were friendly and always willing to share a joke with you.
We had a superior room(pool facing) with large balcony with outside shower and plunge pool which was absolutely gorgeous but with one major drawback the sun was on our balcony for only about 1-2 hours per day with a result the plunge pool being very cold and us having to go poolside for sunbathing purposes what a waste because we had upmarket sunloungers ,tables chairs on a beautiful balcony with great views over the poolsand hills to the back of Tenerife.
The entertainment in the piano bar were a talented duo playing a mixture of songs but the bar was only ever fairly empty probably due to the higher cost of the drinks although they were never
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Melanie
10 years 11 months ago
We booked this hotel as a couple of my colleagues had been to the Meditteranean Palace and found the hotel location was perfect.

We decided to pay a little more to stay in the Cleopatra Hotel, as we were holidaying without our four children!!! It seemed quieter and more elegant and not so busy around the pool area!

The hotel was beautiful. It has marble throughout the interior. Glass lifts and a beautiful immaculately presented pool area, with free pool towels.

The buffet breakfast was superb, everything from full english breakfast, to fresh bread, fruit etc - too much to list! A quiet bar (but expensive).

You can use the other three hotels which are all interconnected in different ways. Room nice and clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: xl.com

Recommended
Jennifer Bigham
11 years 3 months ago
We actually booked the Mediterranean Palace Hotel for this holiday, but on our arrival were informed that we would be staying in the Cleopatra Palace Hotel instead! Lucky us, because the Cleopatra is one of the newest hotels in the Mare Nostrum Resort, and as such far superior in overall decor/upkeep.

Our room was lovely (although not a double as we had asked!)Rooms were kept v clean and staff polite and friendly. Breakfast included the usual hot stuff bacon,egg,toast meats and cheese plus cereals (with champagne if you want!) and a pianist playing while you eat!! The swimming pool area was nice and quiet as very few children which suited us!

As for pubs and restaurants there is a complex right opposite which has an Italian, a Chinese/Thai and a Mexican plus a nice bar called Harry's Bar. Wait about for the fountain light display at night!

We also visited a wee pub called Jen's Den which had been recommended on this website.(Don't be put off by the fact that the place is small!) Joyce and her hubby were friendly, drink cheap and home baking was good too!

They also do a mean bacon roll! We liked the food so much that we got them to make us rolls up for the plane ride back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Barrhead Travel

Recommended
J
12 years 11 months ago
On arrival the check in was dealt with excellently, which was a very good start. Everything explained in detail and shown to our room.

In breakfast we felt that the non-smoking area was very limited and although and excellent selection of fruit and continental choice, the hot fare was limited.

Unfortunately the arrival of a rather large number of people in connection with a convention detracted from the quiet ambience of the hotel especially around the pool area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
D
13 years 3 months ago
This Hotel is excellent if you have a Platinum Credit card and are not on holiday on a budget.
Too expensive for Mr & Mrs Average to eat in the Hotel and it's sister hotels restaurants.
It is part of the Mare Nostrum Resort of 5 star hotels.

Staff were as you would expect polite and curteous, but forget about making any new friends here....unless you are of noble blood, wealthy business people, upper class.
You get looked up and down by "poor little rich bitches"and the like.
The Hotel refused to deal with changing up any of our travellers cheques, and looked at us in that unforgetable way when all they ever deal with is credit cards, and business accounts.
The Piano Bar....well just a load of miserable snotty people sitting around paying over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Classic

Recommended
Rocky
13 years 4 months ago
Stayed in a twin room with a sea view on the third floor. Superb views. The room had two massive beds with a classy bathroom and a mini bar. The drinks cost us less than ,if we had the same drinks in a three star hotel in London or Manchester. The breakfast was fantastic and lots of it,including champers to wash it down with. Brilliant location, close to designer and non designer shops and lots of resturants especially the mama rosa and the golden hands. The staff could not do enough for me because i tipped them well, but then i do that everywhere.I loved the piano bar, because that for me is entertainment and not your noisy bands and djs. Mr d of kent could not have been at the same hotel. I am going back in December and again in april next year. I can not wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jetset leisure travel

Recommended
A V
13 years 6 months ago
Since I went to Las Americas with a mate in November '99 for the first time we walked about and saw the Mare Nostrum Resort to which the Cleopatra Palace belongs - we said "next timewe are staying there". It is so impressive. At night virtually everyone who walks past takes a photo.

It is always clean. THe rooms are good. Great views. Great service. I have visited every year since then and have booked for march '05.

If you can raise the money itis well worth it.

Trust me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
14 years 1 month ago
We went to the Cleopatra Palace for the third time last year, and are going back again this year (so it must be good!)

The hotel is in a fantastic place between PDLA & LC, with some great restaurants nearby. It's part of a large complex (Mare Nostrum) which you can use nearly all of the facilities of at no extra cost. The pool between the cleopatra, mark anthony and julius caesar is lovely but quite small. The one at the med palace is just huge, but not quite as nicely done. Both are freshwater, which many new ones are not.

The hotel is very clean (there are always cleaners working, at all times of day), as are the rooms (our room was cleaned every day, sheets changed and beds made, etc.) Each year we have been there has been some maintenance work going on, but it is low-key and doesn't disturb, and they seem to be keeping on top of things. The glass lifts are a nice touch, as are the fountains.

The restaurants may not be cheap, but they are excellent and the food is generally fantastic. However, I wouldn't get taken in by the Pyramid restaurant - it was very expensive for the quality of food (which was the same as all of the others on the resort) and the chamber music ended at 9pm. The breakfast is definitely something to get out of bed for though, however there aren't as many non-smoking tables as we would like. It's Cava with breakfast (not quite Champagne, but still a good hair of the dog!), and there is a great selection of hot and cold food.

We have seen a number of different rooms, but always pay extra for a deluxe room with a pool. These have a LARGE sun terrace with your own sunbeds and table/chairs, a plunge pool and external shower area. My wife likes the privacy of sunbathing in her own space, and taking a dip as and when the mood takes. There are also some deluxe rooms with open-plan marble bath/shower areas that are just superb, and give the room a really big feeling. The pools are emptied and cleaned every other day, or on request if needed. Minibar prices are not cheap by local standards, but by UK standards are quite reasonable.

We find the staff here to be excellent. One hint - when the bellboy takes your luggage to the room give him a large tip... it gets back to the other staff and they just can't help you enough from that point on. They might not change travellers cheques there (the rate would be bad anyway) but they will do all they can to help with your stay.

There is a clubhouse between the hotel and the med palace that is very, very useful. They can book trips, restaurant tables, cars and anything else you need, and again are very friendly.

The spa is nice, and the range of treatments is good (thalassotherapy, massage, facials...). It's a bit pricey, but if you book a full day's package its a great way to relax.

The piano bar isn't what I would call entertainment, but it's a nice place to start an evening with an aperitif, or to end the evening with a nightcap. The prices are steep, but the measures are huge so I would say that it's good value. For example, a large cognac costs about a tenner, but it's LARGE (and I've paid 3-4 times that in the UK for something a lot smaller).

OK... so it's not cheap. It's quite a bit cheaper if you book directly with the hotel, and I would recommend this as they do treat you differently also (as well as providing a range of extras for free). But you do get what you pay for, and I think the extra cost is well worth it. We haven't noticed many divas or seriously rich people (they have probably all migrated to the Bahia Del Duque or Villa Cortes now), and you do get a few posers, but generally it's just nice people having a nice time.

So in summary, I would recommend this place very highly, it's one of the best (if not the best) hotel in the area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.