158 independent reviews of Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Malgrat de Mar Location

4/5
Malgrat de Mar is rated 4 out of 5 from 158 Reviews

Malgrat de Mar Hotels

Malgrat de Mar Reviews

4/5


lloydand liz visited here on May 2008
We got woken up one morning as they were power washing the pavement below our balcony. Its great to have things cleaned, but not at 6am. There were disco\'s, bars, plenty of shops, and a good transport service. Trains to Barcelona went every 1/2 hour. We never went on the beach, but it looked clean, was not packed, and the sea was calm. We probably would of spent most of our time on the beach if we had taken the grankids.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Ronnie visited here on March 2008
Malgrat is a lovely flat place that isnt tarred by the 18 30 groups that frequent Lloret, it is flat and is relatively quiet, it can be noisier peak season, theres plenty of british bars around our preffered choice was legends but there are others (legends will tell you about all the other bars) and plenty of alternative dining and drinking options, Spanish and Dutch to name 2, the beach is not a pure sand beach but is clean and safe during the day, Entertainment is in the hotels as the mayoress in the resort will not let the bars have live entertainment
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Wendy visited here on March 2008
The Resort was quite good. Although it was April when we went, there was still plenty of shops open. They however appeared to close around 9pm, but might close later further into the season. Plenty of places to eat out, and quite cheap. Santa Suzanna resort was within walking distance, and only took 20mins to walk there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


jimd-f visited here on March 2008
this is a lovely flat resort that stretches from the old town and railway to the newer hotel area and joins up with santa sussanah.plenty of shops to visit and its worth getting on the noddy train to see round some of the parts of the old town you may not normally find.
most of the entertainment is hotel based, but there are plenty of bars for all types and all ages.
try \"bar street\" for a great collection of different styles of bars.
my friends in the costa brava tell me that the local clubs are very good, but i never got round to trying them myself.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

1/5


Aidan visited here on February 2008
it may be february but we managed to find one place open that served food. finding a beach that wasn\'t full of dog waste was a challange along with a building that wasn\'t covered in graffiti.

all in all i would never return to this location and will wait till later in the year to go to greece.

also, why is there a constant stench from the drains? it really can\'t be good for those holiday makers who actually choose to stay in a area like this.

thank god im back in britain.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Fiona and Nicky visited here on February 2008
I was not impressed with this resort at all. I went in February for a 3 day break with my friend and we couldnt wait to come home. The hotel we stayed in is on a huge road which is packed with bars and restaurants. Unfortunately though, all of these were shut. We walked up and down this road for about an hour and come across 1 shop, 2 cafes and a pub that were actually open. The pub and 1 of the cafes wasnt even on this road, this was after we\'d wandered off up another road. I know out of season places are quiet and certain things are shut but this was like a ghost town. We\'d been ...
to Turkey 2 months before over new year and everything was opne, we had a great time! We were hoping this would be similar but it didnt even compare.

We didnt even go on the beach as it was too cold but it looked quite nice from what we could see from our balcony. Resort cleanliness was ok but there\'s a lot of graffiti about on shop shutters and walls etc.

From what i could see though with the big main road, long beach and railways etc its probably a very lively resort over summer and quite possibly an alright place to go. Unfortunately we had a bad experience though and can safely say we wont be returning. Id never really liked mainland Spain and that trip confirmed why.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Lisa visited here on September 2007
Resort was brilliant! Loads of shops, bars and nightclubs for the young ones!! Brilliant music in the clubs and bars, cheap drink, lots of differnt activities to do eg, quad bikes, mopeds, trains to Barcelona, boat trips to Lloret and buses to Calella. Lots of markets and smiling faces, cant wait to go back next year!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


disappointed visited here on September 2007
the resort had a high standard of cleanliness apart from the odd take-away wrapper.
i never visited any night clubs but did frequent a british bar called \'legends\' which serves great food & drinks.
i would visit malgrat de mar again but not the planamar hotel.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


g hughes visited here on August 2007
Malgrat is a nice resort.The streets are very clean.There are a number of hotels which have entertainment in the evening and you are encouraged to join their guests so you have a choice of what type of entertainment you prefer.There are a number of British type pubs in the area with their own brand of entertainment eg. on the 5th Sept they all seemed to advertise that they would be showing The Big Brother Final.Everyone to their own i suppose.The beach is easily accessable and clean.It does seem to shelve very sharply (not great for kids).The only down side of the beach was the sunbeds and parasols.12 euros (£8.50) for two beds and a parasol.The parasols were the kind you ...
stick in the sand and were well worn.They can be bought for 6 euros in the local shops.The train station is very close and a ticket to Barcelona cost 6.20 euros return/adult.The journey takes just over 1 hour and the trains run every half hour.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


hall visited here on August 2007
Over all this resort is very tired,we found the locals to be very rude and the transport links to be difficult.

The beach areas were quite shabby and there was a distinct lack of good quality resturants, further along in Santa Sussanna the resort was of a higher standard with better ameneties and better beaches ...I think that MALGRAT is a 70s resort.very disapointing.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


RICHARD-MYRTLE-DOROTHY-BARRY visited here on August 2007
Foot path not very safe as slabs are very loose, not very clean but it a shame as it a very nice area, last year all the paths was cleaned from chewing gum this year it just as bad, beach cleaned every-morning.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Andy B visited here on July 2007
Malgrat De Mar. It\'s okay, usual collection of British bars, souvenir shops etc.

Beach isn\'t bad, but it\'s man made and the sand is like builders sharp sand.

It could be a little cleaner, but it\'s an aging resort and in needed of tarting up a bit.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Brittany visited here on July 2007
We love malgrat, its good for families and groups of friends. It is bustling during the day and evening, the shoppings great and the market on thursday is packed!
Malgrat is great for youths too as it has got great nightlife, litre drinks all round!
we recommend malgrat, theres lots of things to do, the rail line makes getting to other places easy!
Its brilliant.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


l smith visited here on July 2007
the resort was excellent, with no complaints what so ever. There was always so much going on there is always something to do. There is a waide variety of shops, which pleased me!! This is not a rowdy resort, with most things quiet by mid night
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


David and Sharon visited here on June 2007
The hotel is ideally placed with shopping areas on both sides of us and the paper shop and supermarket just a couple of minutes walk to the right of the hotel entrance. The beach is about 50 metres walk and really nice though the sand is a little gritty and gets stuck in places you never thought you had. The sea can be a little choppy and slopes down quite deep
just a few feet in so if you have young kids be careful as i found out and got wet a bit sooner than i expected when one of my daughters went in too deep which wasn\'t far in. I love markets but i wasn\'t too impressed with the ...
market which is on a Thursday about a quarter of a mile behind the Planamar, i found the price of the items for sale to be very close or the same as in the shops and too many stalls selling the same stuff. There are some wonderful clothes shops in Malgrat and quite good prices im sure the Ladies will love them as my Wife did. overall we were very happy with the resort and the hotel location, we will definately go back there sometime.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


mike hooper visited here on June 2007
The resort was filthy, dogs roaming the streets and fowling everywhere, we saw children been allowed to urinate up the trees in the street and the place just stunk terrible. The entertainment was mostly hotel shows like cabaret, the only good bars was the robin hood and the black bull which were opposite the hotel which were excellent bars. The beach was ok very gritty but you had to watch out for bits of glass everywhere and people playing football who hit you and don\'t care. Would definately not visit this resort again as it is very boring and not great for kids, they could not wait to get back home.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


david wilkinson visited here on May 2007
The reort itself is from end to end a mixture of hotels bars shops and three or four night clubs. Lots to do and see, entertainment can be found outside many hotels in the form of live singers, bands and comics.

Plenty of bars to try, but in my opinion the best by far and has been for many years is the Robin Hood. Always been made to feel welcome, entertained, well watered and what great food!

The beach and sea are somthing else, but be watchful of the youngsters as the sea gets deep very quickly.

Everything said Malgrat de mar is a clean and friendly, value for money place to stay, an ideal base to travel from to see neighboring towns/resorts, an overall little gem!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


caroline visited here on May 2007
This resort is clean and friendly. There are lots of bars if you want them. Shopping is very nice and there is a market down the road in Santa Suzanna on a Tues just a short walk away.

Careful with the roads though its a busy road with a train track on one side, you need to cross all this to get to the beach - so use the underpass.

I think there is something for everyone at this resort without being like Benidorm! The beach is sandy and sunbeds cost 4 euro for the day.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


sylvia mcmahon visited here on May 2007
Hotel good but lacked some frills, e.g. lounge area likening to a cafeterier no comfortable seating, entertainment was v good but it was not comfortable.

Lacking ambience, beer was so much cheaper round the corner with the same seating thats where most people headed and created there own entertainment, which I have to say was good I would go again if the price was right.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


BOB HICKINBOTTOM visited here on April 2007
The resort in general was great for me as it was all flat for a wheel chair, it was very clean, there was not much access for a wheel chair which I struggled, they could do a little on the access for the wheel ramps that lead onto the road as I found some of them had lifted and was hard to get over, but all in all the resort is ideal for the disabled, thankyou for a wonderful stay regards from

BOB HICKINBOTTOM
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Alhambra Hotel  stars Alhambra Hotel
Address: Carrer del Mar, 20, 08398, Barcelona, Spain

Latest Review: Jun 2006

Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3/5
Amaraigua Hotel  stars Amaraigua Hotel
Address: Avinguda dels Pins, 7, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2008

Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

4/5
Bella Playa Aqua Hotel  stars Bella Playa Aqua Hotel
Situated just south of the Old town, the Aqua Hotel Bella Playa is spacious and comfortable offering a good range of facilities including 2 swimming pools. Closely located to the beach and to the town's bars and restaurants, it's an ideal holiday base.

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

2/5
Cartaga Nova Hotel  stars Cartaga Nova Hotel
Address: Passeig Marítim, 92, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2006

Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

4/5
Luna Park Hotel  stars Luna Park Hotel
The location of the Luna Park Hotel is ideal being less than 250m from the beach and local shops, bars and restaurants. The Gerona airport is about 35km away and public transport links can be found within walking distance from the hotel.

Latest Review: May 2005

Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

5/5
Maripins Hotel  stars Maripins Hotel
Address: Passeig Marítim, 20, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: May 2014

Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3/5
Monteplaya Hotel  stars Monteplaya Hotel
Suitable for those looking for a relaxing holiday with lots of activities. The swimming pool with its cascading waterfall provides the centrepiece for this delightful hotel. During the day you can relax on the terraces, soaking up the Mediterranean sunshine.

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3/5
Papi Hotel  stars Papi Hotel
This is a family run hotel set just back from the promenade in an ideal position to enjoy the cafes, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Malgrat. A tree lined entrance leads you to this pleasant informal hotel.

Latest Review: Aug 2012

Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3/5
Planamar Hotel  stars Planamar Hotel
Address: Passeig Marítim, 10, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

Latest Review: Apr 2014

Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

2/5
Reymar Playa Hotel  stars Reymar Playa Hotel
The Reymar Playa hotel sits almost on top of the beach, provides well equipped rooms and basic facilities such as children's playground and foreign currency exchange.

Latest Review: Sep 2007

Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

4/5
Rosa Nautica Hotel  stars Rosa Nautica Hotel
Rosa Nautica Hotel Malgrat de Mar is 50 meters from city centre and 25 meters from beach. All the rooms at the hotel are equipped with amenities and some of them offer sea view or pool view. The hotel's restaurant serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Latest Review: Aug 2008

Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3/5
Sorra d Or Hotel  stars Sorra d Or Hotel
The Sorra díOr is an established family-run hotel, tastefully decorated with marble floors and offering a friendly ambience. Itís within an easy stroll of the shops and bars, and beach lovers need only cross the street and coastal railway line.

Latest Review: Aug 2012

Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

5/5
Sorra Daurada Hotel  stars Sorra Daurada Hotel
All rooms within the Sorra Daurada Hotel are air conditioned and equipped with a satellite television, telephone and a balcony/terrace. The beach is right outside your front door and the resort centre can be found 150m up the road.

Latest Review: Sep 2002

Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Share