Image of Arda Hotel

Arda Hotel

93 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
2 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
The 10-storey Arda is located close to the centre of the resort and only 250 metres from the beautiful sandy beach. Offering good value this hotel is a good choice for the badget conscious guests.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen
Would go back to resort, but not this hotel
8 years 4 months ago
Avoid the Arda at all costs, hotel lobby very impressive. Rooms were the pits, 3 cleaners every day brill you think, but not so. 1 to open the door 1 to hold black bin bag 1 to empty bin and flush toilet.

That was all we got for the 2 week we stayed clean towels only saw these once. The mattresses 1 inch thick and am convinced they were filled with straw and on ply wood.

Food disgusting ill for 3 days and I only had boiled egg and toast. Location was good but for Franco's bar would not like to be there in the height of the season banging music till 4am.

Will go back to Sunny Beach but definitely choose a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Gill And Ian
9 years 3 months ago
should rename this hotel fawlty towers,one barman was drinking whilst working[early in the morning till late at night]and was very annoying.the mattresses was about one inch thick thrown over a ply wood base,light fittings were hanging off the walls,the sockets came away from the wall when you removed the plugs,bathroom flooded when you got a shower,when we ordered a coffee in the reception we got it in half pint glasses,staff spoke very little english,when ordering anything from the bar make sure you have the right money cos they never have any change,got done a few times with this saying they would give us our change later but never did,the only good thing about this hotel is its location and linda the dog
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Ann McKinsley
9 years 4 months ago
On arrival, our room was filthy with hair and kirby grips from previous guests matted into the threadbare carpet. One is too high a classification for cleanliness. We asked for a change of room and were shown two in the main building which were slightly bigger but no cleaner. When we declined, we were offered an alternative in the new wing if we waited a couple of nights but when the day came we were told there were no rooms in the new wing available. Very basic and very brown and very dirty is how I would describe the rooms we saw. There was always plenty of sometimes too hot water in the morning but if you wanted to shower before going out in the evening there was no hot water available. The cooked breakfast was awful and again one is too high a mark for what was on offer. Fried eggs that could be used as cricket balls, french toast that was too soggy and greasy to cut! The continental breakfast on offer was fairly safe except one day the "ham" had a peculiar sour taste - probably due to the fact that food was replenished from the top instead of the bottom and of course what's left was refrigerated for the next day.
The bar was expensive so we only used it once. No entertainment and the hotel lobby was inhabited by the manageress and what appeared to be her family and staff. Location central but noisy. Would not recommend hotel to anybody and Balkan Holidays would do well to drop it from their brochure.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Bulgarian Holidays

North Star Crew
9 years 4 months ago
the hotel arda was fab!!
it was quite clean as the maids did a great job on a daily basis. the breakfast was continentaly styled and there was enough to go around everybody however i personally prefered to eat elsewhere.
the location of the hotel was good as we where close to bars, restraunts and shops. there was a really busy main road directly behind the hotel which if crossed during rush hour meant taking your life in your own hands!!!!
the hotel had poolside music throughout the day and was close to local bars for nightlife anyway.
the staff working at the hotel were friendly enough.
i am returing to bulgaria again in august 2010 but need bigger premises so have chosen a different location to stay in.

:)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan airlines

Kayleigh
9 years 5 months ago
i stayed in the hotel arda in july 2009!! i arrived at the hotel at 2 oclock in the morning, only to find that my room was something from the 60's and smelt like it hadnt been cleaned in years!! the beds were rock hard and when i took the sheets off the paper thin matress they were covered in holes!! also the 'introduction' pack you recieve is mereley a sheet which tells u the prices if you damage anything! for example a pillow case?? beyond me!! then i go into the shower room only to find a dead cockroach so the room obviously hadnt been cleaned properly, and there were ciggerette butts stuffed in the cupboards too! nice. the breakfast was not edible whatsoever!! and the prices of the drinks seem to change depending on who was workin behind the bar!! and one of the barmen in particular was a bit creepy and kept tryin to hug and kiss me constantly! muchto the annoyance of my boyfriend...who eventually told him where to stick it. and beware if you lose the key they charge you 80 english quid! how i dont know but they did me! but what pi**ed me off the most is when i got the key that i payed 80quid for...it was another room key with a sticker put over the top and my number written onit,well worth 80quid!! not.As for the sunbeds..there was hardly ever any, as idiotic people would get up at stupid oclock in the morning and put there towel down....then i would come back in the afternoon and no one would be on the sunbeds, just the towels!! In the brochure it clearly states there is a jaccuzzi...although i never found it!!! It was quite noisy aswell, the hotel next door insisted on playing music 24-7.although at night time i didnt mind but the last thing i need isto be woken up at 6.30 in the morning to aload of drunkens singing downstairs!! over all i loved sunny beach and i am definatley going back! but i would NEVER stay in this hotel again and i certainley wouldnt reccomend it. the hotel i am going to stay in is opposite the arda! its called the meridian. Looks absoloutley fab!! so yer....i advise you not to go to this hotel unless ur really skint!! :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Rebecca
10 years 7 months ago
we went to the arda three times in a row, we loved it.altough staff the first time was alot more fun.they were alot friedly than the past two years.the hotel was very clean and if we ever needed anything they came to help staright away. the hotel location wasent great because there was a road beside the main pool but that dident bother us much. there was not any entertainment in the hotel at all. i would come back to this hotel although we are going some where else this year for a change. the arda was very quite but the hotel next to it was very loud and the music did not stop until 1 in the morning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Alex & Bernie
11 years 4 months ago
room was very poor standard we had to sleep on old wooden beds. we got blankets to sleep with. toilet was very poor in our room. breakfast was disgusting could not eat it & staff could not care less.
would not recomend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Dawesy
11 years 5 months ago
when will arived at the hotel we got told we would be in the same room and they give us 2 diferent room one on the 6 floor and the other on the 10 flooor but they sorted that problem the day aftef. the staff are really nice if u know what i mean and the room were always clean when we come home if you are going there to sleep i wouldnt reccommmend it to you it's for people who like to party. The location is really good because is has't got the nose of the town but the town is only 10min walk. The best thing about bulgaria was that beer was only 1 lav. there is not many englich people that go but most pweople can speack some english. i reccomand you to good just to see the fit staff.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easy jet

Recommended
Richard Doughty
12 years 4 months ago
Arrival:-
Arrived at hotel mid morning to be told that two of our 4 rooms were double booked and that we would have to take two inferior rooms for one night. After much haggling agreed that all the party (7 pax) would get two free evening meals in hotel restuarant. This was the only condition I agreed to the inferior rooms. After taking occupancy manager came to room and renegaed on deal and said one free meal only. I threatebed to leave room and sleep in lobby as protest, so original deal was re-instated. (After one free meal and such lousy food, we only had ione meal anyway)

Balkan rep was not interested in the morning as he had a welcome meeting to attend, (even though three other reps were in attendance), object obviously was to sell local tours.(Tip: Find your own tours elsewhere, same ones but cheaper!!)

Hotel staff were lazy, not really interested (except to tell you that they hadnt got enough change !!)

Room staff were excellent, rooms cleaned everyday, but very difficult to get towels changed.

Breakfast was quoted from 7am to 10am, but not able to get even coffee after 9.45, satff too busy clearing away to be interested, one waitress even told me that it wasnt her problem and wouldnt eventell the kitchen staff.

Constantly harraseed by Taxi drivers outside hotel who didnt even understand the first or second part of "****go off"

All in all, I wouldnt visit the hotel again if it were offered for free,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

12 years 5 months ago
Myself and my wife arrived their on 10th of July at least 2 hours late as our flight was delayed and we got told where our rooms were after standing 30 Min's to be checked in.

After we got to our room we went to the restaurant only to be told that the kitchen was closed and that they could cook us a bit of fried fish I said no I would like to see the menu I payed for half board I expect that they new that we would be arriving late.

We had a bit to eat and went to have a stroll around only to find that kids were running round like idiots and riding bikes and skateboards and their parents let them. This I found very annoying.

Staff were not very good, the room we were in was dirty it was covered in 3 inches of dust, the toilet seat was broke and they blamed us for doing it and they wanted us to pay which I refused. The rest of the staff were not very nice either.

Overall I did not enjoy my stay in this hotel and therefore will not be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel care

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum