Image of Azurro Hotel

Azurro Hotel

89 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 3 months ago
On arrival into the main lobby i thought this is not bad considering we booked late and did not have any info on the hotel, the tiles in the lobby were spotless. There were porters hovering over you to take your bags to your room but be wary this was only done for a tip. The room was adequate a place to rest your head,no air conditioning, the shower had mould on the tiles,the shower head needed fixing but one had to wash themselves, maid sevice a joke,grey towels.Did not sample the food as i did not trust the overall cleanliness of the hotel.This hotel is situated about 20 mins walk to the centre and 15 lev for taxi back although you can get a mini train for 3lev which operates up to 12pm pot luck.Hotel staff sat idly around the lobby and you had to stand at the bar waiting to order a cup of coffee while they finished their conversation, not one bit friendly when being served. Entertainment was nil. I have stayed in Sunny Beach 4 times in some beautiful hotels and i love the resort it is great value for money but this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in i do not reccomend this hotel Avoid it like the plague.Do not be put off Sunny Beach it is well worth a visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunworld

10 years 3 months ago
Reference to comments already posted i wish to state the location of the hotel is not a 4 star rating but a 1 rating and also we had to leave this hotel and move into a friends apartment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunworld

Tracy Suttton
11 years 5 months ago
We booked a 2wk b&b as a last minute, First time in Bulgaria.
First impressions were clean but basic, but to be honest, we didn't pay for a palace so didn't expect one.
The breakfast was good when we made it, and the maids came everyday, though they didn't get in everyday as we were suffering most days (so our fault)
I've read reviews about the staff being not good, all i can say is that is so untrue, some of the most polite people we met!!!
We had 3 plugs in our room, 2 large mirrors but for 3 adults it was a bit of a squeeze by hey i don't mind living out of a suitcase!!
One thing i can say for sure is thank-you for not providing cheesy entertainment or kiddies clubs made my holiday superb. In fact i didn't think the resort as a whole was geared up for small children.
In fact so superb we ended up booking for another 2wks so all in all spent a month in Bulgaria.
We were there for so long we made some fantastic life long friends and will most certainly go back again and again and even stay at this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Rach
11 years 5 months ago
i have stayed in the Azurro hotel 3 times (2003, 2004 and 2007), twice with my family and most recently with my boyfrind. i have always found the staff to be helpful, they can be a bit off at times but after 13 years visiting the country i know know that's just the way they are sometimes.

the rooms were cleaned daily and we had clean towels and sheets every 4-5 days. the maids even mopped the carpets! the breakfast was ok - basic but to be honest i didn't make it to breakfast most days - too many late nights!

2/3 stays we were given rooms with air con for no extra charge - a surprise because we didn't request it!

on the last visit we were on the top floor - the porter carried them up for us, we gave him a small tip as a thank you. he was a nice guy - me and my boyfriend would have a laugh with him when we got back from a night out.

if you change money go to the crown exchanges out at the front of the hotel as you get a better rate.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Vickie Lloyd
11 years 7 months ago
This was all of our first time to Bulgaria, and as a group of friends age ranging from 21 up to 46, we were on a fun week of sunbathing and getting drunk so the hotel accomadation didn't seem too important at the time of booking.

On arrival, we were given a key to our 3rd floor room which I add there was no lift so we carried our some 20kilo cases up some 5 flights of stairs, no porter in sight, so be aware of this!!

We arrived in the early hours of the morning, so decided it was rude not to sample the local beer and introduce ourselves!

There is one small bar with plenty of spirits to chose from, only one type of lager/beer so if your after bottled or anything else on draught your out of luck.

We became very friendly with the barman miro who gave us some great tips where to eat out and places to visit and rough ideas what to pay for taxis etc, so don't be afraid of asking locals for tips.

Other bar staff were not as friendly, and many bulgarians can come across unfriendly and ungrateful, this is there way.

Our room was very very small, 3 women sharing one room with a tiny wardrobe and no drawer space(in our room anyway) one lady had the childs put me up which wasnt ideal.

There was one plug socket for all too share, so getting ready was a 2hr+ ordeal nightly as we all used straighteners!!

Rooms we had were clean, bedding was changed once whilst we was there, towels only once also, not good.bathroom adequate, everything was clean and worked ok. We had a fridge which had a bottle of water and coke(not complimentary) but upon inspection I noticed the top had previously been tampered so we threw it away.

Also the fridge is great but only works when you put your room key in the box on the wall which runs all the electric.

We ate about 3 times(due to late nights you understand) in the hotel, we was b&b so cant comment on the dinner menu. Breakfast was edible, it wasn't fantastic but with a choice of toast,cheese, boiled eggs,fried eggs, some kind of local meats,fruit,yogurts, local bread.

There was something to pick from,even a fussy eater like me. We ate at the hotel Azurro BBQ a few times which was ok, good portion size, one day we had a good meal another time it was crap, but we found this in most of the places we ate any way. But an average price for a jacket spud with tuna mayo, bottle water would cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Duffield
12 years 2 months ago
No aircon so would not go in summer at all.

Rooms kept clean, towels every other day, bed only changed once in 2 weeks.

Breakfast had a huge choice all exept beans which we only had once.

Staff all ok very good behind reception and in restaurant.

Location ok but all around us closed down after 4 days, even tha Azzuro barbeque closed 10 days before hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Steve
12 years 5 months ago
We found the hotel pretty good on the whole. Rooms were quite small but were kept clean. Towels amd sheets were changed frequently.

Breakfast was basic but was enough to fill the kids up till lunch, staff were friendly and helpful ... bearing in mind this is quite a cheap hotel we were quite impressed.

If you are traveling with kids be aware that Sunny Beach is a 24 hour resort and this hotel caters for both groups of young people and familys and on a couple of occasions we were woken up at 5.30 in the morning !!
We were on the second floor so had a view over the wall ...

We found that the food in the Azzouro barbeque was as good as anywere ( after miles of walking trying diffrent places for a week )and was one of the cheapest ... their happy hour was excellent, lasting from 7 till 11, order a pint and they bring you two !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
The hotel is reasonably placed 5 mins from sea and very close to plenty bars and shops. The hotel only gave clean towels once during the week and bed linen also only changed once.

No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and the television had 15 channels 10 german 4 bulgarian and only one english BBc world service, so if you do get a bad day you need to find somewhere else to fill your time in.

The hotel has 4 floors with NO LIFT so beware if your or a member of your party cannot negotiate stairs in any way DON'T GO.

The food was very poor with no english breakfast any where to be seen.

All in all this was a poor hotel if you are English as we ate out every day as the majority of local bars did a good reasonable priced breakfast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Sue
13 years 4 months ago
Stayed in the Azurro on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast definitely left something to be desired and was virtually gone if you didn't get there early doors. Restaurant by the pool was good and many good eating places nearby, we actually had some wonderful meals and very cheap.

The hotel staff were not particularly friendly and spoke very little English, quite grumpy if you started to actually enjoy yourselves at night.

No entertainment in hotel but, again, plenty nearby.

Rooms basic but were kept clean although the view was of a 10 foot wall !!

We love sunny beach but would definitely not go back to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum