Image of Kuban Hotel

Kuban Hotel

90 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
The 20-storey Kuban has been a firm favourite with our guests for many years. It offers a lively environment and is ideally situated on the main promenade in the very heart of the resort, near the main square and market area.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M Freeman
10 years 6 months ago
I Stayed at the kuban in june 2008 we were on bed and breakfast there were fruit cornflakes ect also eggs sausage bacon and something i thing were left over from the night before you could always find something you liked the rooms were very clean always clean towels plenty of sunbeds the pool was keep clean i have read many reports that you had to pay for sunbeds but if you showed your room key you did not pay for them we enjoyed bulgaria plenty to do good beaches good places to eat at and alot cheaper than spain yes i would go again and yes i would stay at the kuban it near to beach shop cafes and buses
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Edwards
10 years 7 months ago
The staff at the Kuban were very helpful and assisted our every needs, the security guards kept themselves to themselves but I suppose that was their job. The room was very modern, with air conditioning and spacious enough for a damily of four. The maids serviced the rooms every day and changed our towels on a regular basis. We only booked bed and breakfast but the food was varied, fresh and very tasty. The Kuban is centrally located and is close by to the beach. The only thing I can give negative comments about is the fact that even though we were resident at the Kuban we were expected to pay 5 Leva for a sun lounger and 15 Leva per day per person to use the 3 water slides.

Above all a fantastic holiday and I wouldnt hesitate to book there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Peter Sherwood
11 years 6 months ago
We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday to Sunny Beach, staying at the Kuban Hotel.

We stayed on half board basis thinking if we overspent our holiday budget early we would at least know there was going to be food available if money got short.

Reading through the previous reports on this hotel I noticed that a lot of them are from a few years back. Although some of the bad reports are still valid we did find the hotel quite clean.

Alas the bad reports on the food proved to be true.

At first we though that staying in a country that was differed from our own with different foods on offer, we should not expect it to match european standards.
However looking at some of the fantastic restaurants available we soon realised that the food in the hotel was sub-standard.

We knew in advace that we had to pay a nominal charge for the use of the sunbeds and the waterpark slides but did not realise that anyone could use the hotels pool facilities, which some of the local children took full advantage of.

The waterslides were not managed properly which resulted in my son being jumped on by someone who thought it funny to climb up the waterslide as he was decending.

We saw no sign of any prostitutes and the casino was closed which we think is a sign that Bulgaria is trying to clean up its act to enable them to fully join the EU.

Hotel staff were frendly especially the pool attendant
the only exception was the restaurants assistant manager who had a face like she had been sucking lemons all night.

The food was poor we noticed some unusal things on the breakfast menu (fish fingers/chicken nuggets/ chichen portions etc) which as time progressed we realised were left overs from the previous evening meal. If you stuck to what you recognised (eggs, toast, cereal, rolls coffee) then breakfast was fine.

The evening meal however was a different kettle of fish. Buffet style, a choice of 6 dishes that reduced as the evening meal time progressed (if you arrive half way through you only had a choice of 4)
Most of the food was very basic (omlette, chicken drumstick, bits of meat on skewers) but looking at how much you paid for the meal as a suppliment you would be much better off buying your meal at one on the fantastic Itallian/ Chinese / Indian restaurants within easy walking distance.

We went mid June and the pool was clean and the Hotel staff were mostly frendly but then again it was not that busy. Before we left the standards were slipping as the amount of guests increased and the pool started to become cloudy.

There was no entertainment in the hotel which was a bit of a shame for the kids but the lovely rep stated that 6 days a week entertainment was available at the globus hotel which was only 3 mins walk away.

We would visit this hotel again as we believe that the standards have improved since some of the derogitory reports were written 2-3 years ago. But it would have to be early in the season and only bed and breakfast.

One last note if this is being read by any of the Kuban staff. Buy another CD as two weeks of listening to brother louie at every meal nearly drove us all bonkers !!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balken Holidays

Recommended
Joe And Tracey
12 years 5 months ago
OK we have just arrived back home from kuban hotel on a balkans flight I thought we would have to jump start the plane it was a total disgrace (disaster waiting to happen).

Didn't have to deal much with hotel staff and everything seemed in order and having read some other views I was just a wee bit apprehensive about going.

Anyhow we arrived at kuban having paid extra for a sea view and never got it (well not much ). Rooms were spotless and cleaners were very good at their jobs.

The location was great however being propositioned by a lady of the night wasnt very nice the buffet bar at breakfast wasn't up to scratch had to get there early to catch the first serving.

Not a great choice to choose from so slice of toast was order of the day or go outside to the many places however I gave a huge thanks to the bar staff who made us so welcome and especially to Milen and Torodo nothing was too much trouble for them they were genuinely very friendly.

Paying for sun loungers was still a sore point as just like everyone else in the hotel we have paid to stay there and thought that the facilities would be there for us, the slides were mostly used by the kids so I thought why not join in and it was great.

So my over all view is as follows don't fly with Balkan and if you have any complaints try find English speaking staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
My husband and I and our two grown up daughters went to the Kuban in 06. Tthis was are 4th time in Bulgaria 3rd time in the Kuban.

We absolutely loved our time there, we are going back in August 08 and we cant wait.

The hotel was lovely and the staff were great,we all loved the slides(although I wouldnt go down the big one ha coward).

The Bulgarian people are the friendliest Ive met,they cant do enough for you. We met lots of people there all types and they all thought the same.

It didnt matter about the food in the hotel as the resturants outside were very nice. The Chinese resturants were great.

All in all we loved it and cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Sharon
13 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Kuban in August 2005 and really enjoyed it. I found the hotel to be clean and the cleaners were there everyday. The lads in the bar couldn,t do enough for you, my husband got ill when we were out there and Khalin came to the chemist and explained his syptons to the pharmacist so i could get the correct medication.

I do agree about the food I only got up one morning for breakfast it wasn,t worth getting up for it looked rotten, I also agree that we shouldn,t be charged for the sunbeds if we are guests there.

The flight was a bit hazardous as I thought the plane was going to fall apart but all in all we had a great fortnight there and would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Ang & Danny
13 years 6 months ago
Hotel very nice, could not fault it one bit.

Rooms very nice, new bathroom suites and great views room balcony. Rooms cleaned every day, and clean towels every day. Bedding changed three times in two weeks.

Breakfast was buffet style, alot to choose from.

The hotel location is good, in the middle of everything, beach about 5 mins walk away but the hotel pool is good but you do have to pay for sun loungers which are 5lvs each!

Staff ok but not really that friendly, didn't smile much!

There is no entertainment at this hotel but seen as you are close to everything, it didn't really matter.

All in all a great holiday and would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Lisa Turnbull
14 years 2 months ago
Just got back from a holiday from hell!!

I booked last minute with Balkan holidays which wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan hell holidays

Natalie
14 years 2 months ago
I went to hotel Kuban In October here
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Richard & Jayne
14 years 2 months ago
Just finished reading all the reports on the Kuban!

Well I & my wife & our close friends & our kids were looking forward to our first Bulgarian break!

We have never booked with Balkan holidays before or heard much about them so we seen the Kuban the kids thought it would be great so we went ahead and booked! Worst mistake we have ever made!

The hotel seemed OK on arrival wasn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum