Image of Louis Colossus Beach Hotel

Louis Colossus Beach Hotel

14 of 22 hotels in Faliraki

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
Louis Colossos Beach Hotel, P.O.Box 105, Rhodes 85100, Greece

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very good time
6 years 6 months ago
We have spent a week at Colossos Hotel and in general we had a very good time. Their Food and beverage is very good and they have a variety of buffets during the day. The beach in front of the hotel is super. The hotel is near to town and to Faliraki.

We don’t have much to say than Rhodos is fantastic. There are several nice places to visit, such as Rhodos Old town, Kalithea springs, Lindos Village. Good and local food can be found at Psinthos Hotel. For renting a car, we used colossus rent a car, their cars are in good conditions and their prices are very reasonable!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Emma And Lee
10 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a great all inclusive holiday. Hotel first impressions was that it was a little tired compared to some other hotels in the area and perhaps in need of a little updating and tlc in places eg the garden area's out front and some of the family rooms were a little out of date but apart from that an excellent hotel. It had especially nice clean pool areas very clean rooms that were nice and spacious and cleaned every day, situated right on the beach, quite a walk into falaraki but good bus links outside hotel if needed.The buffet style food was excellent, good choice every day, always something different, bbq on beach for lunch was fabulous. Entertainment was ok always something going off in the evenings for kids and adults. Plenty of bars to choose from and a v cheesy nightclub/disco till 2am to carry on the party if you don't fancy the treck to Falaraki. All the staff were v friendly always eager to please and help if required. I would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Glenn Sanderson
10 years 2 months ago
Just had 10 days here and summary is as follows:
Large complex, very clean but decor very tired. 1970s style carpeting in rooms did not help.

My daughter had a broken ankle and room allocated initially was very cramped and quite a distance from lifts. The Hotel was very accomodating and moved us to a larger more spacious room on request. As mentioned in other posts, the lifts were small and very slow. I always prefer to take the stairs but with my daughter in a wheelchair had to suffer them and be prepared for pushing in and long waits. Also on one occasion they had broken down and my daughter had to shuffle on her bum down 6 flights of stairs rather than wait for them to be fixed!

Food is good and caters for all. Chinese selection at lunch time was good and made a change to the usual cuisine.
Location was excellent, short walk down to the beach, swimming area of sea is a little stony and shelves quite steeply so be careful.

Staff at the hotel were polite and in general very helpful.
If you are looking for Entertainment in the evening however, then this is not for you. It was very poor. For starters the team needed more than the one mic provided for them. Any distance from the stage and you could not hear the dialogue. Some of the gestures on stage were in my view offensive and it did not help when the team was made up of volunteers from the guests staying. Having witnessed animation teams on many occasions at different accomodations this has to rate as the worst I have seen.

If staying on site the evenings can become daunting as there is very little for older / teenage children to do aprt from hang around the pool tables / arcade area.
Regarding facilities, if you plan to use the gym for running then you'll have to try the beach! The bike machines were broken and the running machine did not exist. However the video playing in the hotel advertising the accomodation shows a woman running on a running machine, plus two table tennis tables in another area, when there was only one.

Tennis courts a plenty but for the first few days, one pair of extremely poor racquets were available with toyshop tennis balls that did not bounce! They had invested in some more racquets and balls by the time we left (probably due to complaints) but my advice would be to bring your own tennis equipment.

Plus, if you are a runner then if you run along the beach from the hotel to Faliraki, be careful when running on the wooden slats as there is potential to trip and do some damage. One guest at the hotel experienced this misfortune.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Joanne Witter
10 years 3 months ago
this is the fifth louis hotel we have stayed at and we thought it a little tired! however, it was very clean but it was for us our least favourite out of them all.

the choice of food was ok, breakfast was quite poor but lunch time was excellent. Wine and beer was on tap as was the usual soft drinks, but it did lack a cocktail menu.

The staff were brilliant from the hotel but what can i say about the animation team!!!! Well here goes: inexperienced, un-entertaining, not at all funny, no routines or costumes, but they did try!

location of this hotel was excellent a water park was just on the doorstep, taxi cabs available over the road and for 12 euro only a 20 minute ride to rhodes town which is lovely but expensive as the euro at the moment isn't very good. the beach was shingle and ok and you did have to pay for a sunbed. The sea was lovely but became quite deep very quickly and it was alot warmer than the hotel pools! We did have a lovely time but we were glad we only went for a week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Jamesguest
10 years 4 months ago
not much to add to the ratings on the left except the hotel and staff were excellent and very courtious
food was great there was something to suit everyone
location was perfect and my wife and i would recomend this hotel to anyone we have travelled all over the world and not found a better hotel for friendliness
or food better presented
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years ago
This was our first time in Rhodes and at any Louis hotel. We arrived late at night but the reception staff were great at getting us booked in. Yes, we were tagged with a green wristband to indicate we were all-inclusive but this didn't bother us in the least.

The main reception areas, toilets, bars, restaurants were immaculately clean as was our room. The bathroom was a comfortable size with hairdryer, toilet, bath with overhead shower.

The bedroom looked to have been newly decorated and tiled. With three single beds in the room, a dressing table, 2 chairs, a table and a large wardrobe, it was a bit cramped but this didn't worry us as we spent little time in it.
The maids came in to make the beds and leave towels every day.

We were on the next to top floor overlooking the sea so it was lovely to wake in a morning and step out onto the balcony. Three plastic chairs and table out there if you wanted to sit and sip a glass of ouzo!

The food was excellent with a massive selection. I defy anyone to go hungry at this hotel. Beer, wine on tap in the large restaurants to help yourself to. The carvery was especially good with all the meats being well-cooked, tender and delicious. Ice-cream and desserts were good too. Can't fault the food in any way.

We only made it to the beach BBQ and Chinese once as they closed it down shortly after we arrived because the hotel was due to close down for the season. This was a bit disappointing as we felt we'd paid for the use, but I suppose if there aren't that many guests left they can't really keep all the eateries open.

The pools were very clean as was the surrounding area. Sunbeds weren't a problem as we went late season.

We paid to use the jacuzzi/sauna etc which passed an afternoon nicely!

Be aware that the lifts in the hotel only hold 6 people (though there're 3 lifts on each floor)so at peak times there can be a bit of a wait...but hey, take the stairs!

The only let-down was the entertainment. The Animation Team work really hard, but only appeared for an hour long show at 10pm when they mimed and danced about. By the third day we didn't even bother watching them and as there's nothing else going on (except Sky Sports with the sound turned down) the evenings can drag if you don't want to drink or play pool/the slot machines/cards. We tended to go out of an evening into Faliraki.

Because of some poor reviews of this hotel, I was a little worried about going, but I needn't have been - altogether a good holiday and yes, I would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Smith
11 years 1 month ago
Travelled with First Choice, who gave this hotel 3* which I agree. The hotel is old and it shows, however is kept very clean. The main plus for this hotel was the outstanding food, breakfast had it all, almost (no pancakes and maple syrup!!!!). Lunch, one area for hot dogs pizza'setc, then a chinese food bar, limited dishes of 6 but still good, the third area was the barbaque. Chicken, lamb, pork etc salards. Dinner was just as good, I could go on for ever. Drinks were ok 'ish I did not like the beer or wine it tasted like cheap homebrew and the service at the bars could have been a bit quicker with more staff. The pools were kept clean. There were two things that people at this hotel were moaning about, sunbeds you need to get up between 6-7am and the very poor entertainment. If you book this hotel without expecting anything you would be nearer the mark. The room was ok, the bathroom was dated, the bed was made each day, that was it, balcony not swept etc. Most of the staff did what they had to, the Greek staff did a bit more! One other point, the Louis Hotel group is part of the Iberostar! chain I expected better!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Angela
11 years 3 months ago
we stayed in the hotel for the first 2 weeks in july .we stayed all inclusive and we had a fantastic holiday first class i would say cleanliness was excellent couldnt fault any area (flies a pest at the poolside though )food excellent with a wide choice from greek, chinese, to european you shouldnt be stuck .there is so much choice you shouldnt have to have the same twice if you dont want to your choice .entertainment wasnt our cup of tea but that doesnt mean its bad the team put a huge amount of energy into day and night entertainment and work very hard most kids we saw loved it and afterall if there happy the adults are happy .great games room for the kids and big kids with pool tables and that sort of thing .great shop in the hotel with everything in it .staff were great every one was helpful polite and hardworking but still smiling . i would definately go back to this hotel .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Daz
11 years 4 months ago
When we arrived we thought that the reception area was big,clean and well looked after.

We were allocated a room on the 4th floor which was ok and clean of the newer part of the hotel ( the original being built in 1977 and well outdated). This wasn't a problem at first as we arrived at 05.00 hours. It wasn't until the hotel started getting busy that the lifts became a problem. 3 lifts for 7 floors. Long waits with a child in a pushchair.

We had reports of guests getting up at 04.30 to get a sunbed round the pool which I can well believe as when we got down there at 08.00 ish there were not at all left. You can hire the beds on the beach for 3 euros each and children dont pay.

The beach is full of pebbles and shingles and you will definatley need shoes for the sea. Quite clean beach though.

The food was good if not repetitive with the options of chinese buffet,b b q and the buffet resturaunt which gave you plenty of choice.

Entertainment was poor but the team did try their best to put on a good variety but not to our taste.

In all a good hotel with the usual problems encountered in this type of accomodation and the staff are pleasant enough in dealing with you.

Would go to Rhodes again but not this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

K Palmer
12 years 1 month ago
We arrived at this hotel in the middle of September. When we arrived at the hotel the reception area looked quite large and airy and we thought we had chosen a good hotel. We were told our room numbers and we had been allocated rooms on the top floor.

We were not to bothered by this but when we emerged out of the lift our hearts sank. The carpets were very badly stained on route to our room and their was graffiti on the wall which they had tried to remove. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

The rooms were very dated and had obviously been used previously for self catering. we were very disappointed. Due to some inclement weather when everyone was forced to be indoors the hotel literally stank of cigarette smoke. I do not mind people smoking usually but this made you feel sick.

The food was OK and we had no complaints on that score. The swimming pools were nice but the water was very cold. The entertainment was not very good but the animation team did put their hearts and souls into it and the children seemed to love them.

The hotel was outside Faliraki which you could walk into but was on a very busy main road. Better to get a taxi. We had days out in old Rhodes town which we absolutely loved and also to Lindos which we liked very much. We enjoyed our holiday overall but would not go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum