Image of Sun Palace Hotel

Sun Palace Hotel

10 of 22 hotels in Faliraki

4 out of 5 from 94 reviews
4 stars
Faliraki Road Rhodes Rhodes, Athens 85100, Greece

94 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    44
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Patricia Nicholls
Not Happy
4 years 6 months ago
Stayed here for a week from 12April 2014. The hotel had just opened and wasn't ready for us.

Food - ok to start with but if you didn't eat it for breakfast you got it for lunch then dinner. Al a cart isn't as discribed it's a set meal which you then saw at the splash area the next day if it wasn't eaten.

Entertainment - not as described. Through out the whole week we had 2 semi professional acts, the other nights were quiz nights Karaoke or nothing at all.
Entertainment team tried during the day but from the Sat until the Thurs there was only 2 of them. Kids disco consisted of the same 5 songs each night.
Childrens play area - overgrown with stinging nettles, hosepipes left laying around, Broken equipment. The kids club place hadn't been touched. It smelt of damp, still had last years pictures on the wall, equipment was filthy and to top it all there was a wire hanging from the light down across the room to the light socket. This was pointed out to the Rep and manager. I could go on but I think you have got the gist.

As we were leaving, more entertainments team arrived, and the hotel was starting to get things together.

No good to us who had paid excessive prices to travel in the school holiday.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Worst holiday I have had
6 years ago
Have never been so disappointed before, worst holiday I have ever had!
Reading reviews I was really looking forward to this holiday, I was even packed 4 weeks before I was due to go but from the minute we arrived it was 1 disappointment followed by another.

We stayed the last 2 weeks of the season and felt like we were just getting in the way of the hotel closing.

ROOMS- We had a family room, it was dark with hardly any natural light what so ever. We had the most awful smell of sewage every night from the drains just outside, made us feel physically sick. The patio doors were very hard to open and they wouldn't even lock (not very safe considering we were ground floor) Ant's were a real problem as well.

Bathrooms are run down with cracked tiles and mould. The toilet flush fell off the wall. And the floor tiles are lethal when wet and you can’t avoid getting them wet because when you let the bath plug out it comes up through the floor before draining away. Eventually a week into our stay we did get moved when we realised other guests had been moved (hotel said they had no more rooms) We were moved into the newer block. The room wasn't much better ants a continuing problem to the point the cleaner just handed me the ant killer so she didn't have to keep coming over. Faulty electrics, wires just hanging out the wall, Rusty water was leaking onto the terrace from the rusty air con unit (I think that's what it was) this wasn't just grose but dangerous as well because the tiles were so slippery when wet. And the terrace was filthy, I had to ask the cleaner to clean it as it had obviously been like this for a while. All in all the rooms were not nice at all.

FOOD- Disgusting! The food in the main dining hall was awful. Same meat every night in a different colour sauce. Dry fish, hard uncooked veg (frozen veg), Chicken just tasted of salt. It felt like we were basically being fed whatever was left in the freezers. The second week was even worse with the choices really diminishing. Flies were everywhere and none of the food was covered. The morning bread for toast was just left on the counter completely uncovered, the flies had a field day with this and only 1 toaster for the whole hotel with elements that had gone so you had to put the bread through 3 to 4 times before it started to toast. Birds were also free to just fly around the dining room leaving birds mess on the dining tables and chairs. When I pointed this out to staff they just walked away. The saving grace was the waterpark food, fresh pizza every day, but there is only so many slices of pizza you can eat!

Drinks were pretty bad too but then they often are at AI so won't say much about that but what did annoy me was when drinks machines were running out that was it, they wouldn't refill them because it was end of season....I still paid for AI so expect the same treatment that guest received in July. Fizzy drinks machines in the dining room were flat and when we told the staff again they just shrugged their shoulders. No one cared because all the wanted to do was close and go home!

Never at any point during our 2 week stay did we have any of the themed nights, We had No BBQ night, No Mexican night, No Italian night, No carvery and no Greek night with Greek folk music and dancing as advertised in the programme in the rooms.

Entertainment was again Awful.....We travelled with friends and between us we had 12 children ranging from 1-15 and there was absolutely nothing for them to do. The entertainment of an evening consisted of- sit in a circle and throw a ball in a hat, 4-5 kids disco songs, bingo the a quiz or Karaoke if they couldn't be bothered with the quiz. And none of this started till about 8.45pm, quite late to just be starting the entertainment. Some quizzes the kids couldn't even join in because it was a drinking game, fun for adults but when kids went to run on stage with the answer they were shoved away, not really a great way to get the whole family involved.

We ended up spending hundreds of euros just on the pool tables to keep our kids happy. When it rained which it did for 3 days we had no entertainment at all and yes rain is quite common at this time of year in Rhodes but no one had planned for this so no entertainment was put on. You were lost at night in this hotel if you didn't have a pack of cards or Uno. We couldn't even go back to our rooms to watch TV because the only English channel was world news.

Entertainers- Sean was just plain rude and how he became an entertainer I do not know. 2 of the girls had very little personality at all. Lauren was lovely but she went home the 1st week we were there and Aurel (entertainment manager) was fab, he made you smile the minute he walked in a room, shame he was only there from bingo onwards.

Other things wrong with this hotel- No health and safety standards at all, highchairs with broken straps so can't secure your child. Loose railings on upper floors. Walkways like ice rinks when wet, Public toilet areas out of use for days, cleaners mopping floors with no signs, many accidents happening in the 2 weeks I was there. Animals free to go around the dining areas pooing where they please, Just disgusting!

The only redeeming factor to this hotel is the waterpark and the staff who work in it. Food was better there and the lifeguards were fantastic

Faliraki has also had it day, not only were we in an awful hotel but resort as well. Faliraki looks like it was abandoned many years ago. The fairground and fun land are just pieces of baron waste land. Restaurants and bars were closed, they looked they had been closed for quite some time and were falling apart. It actually gave me the creeps being there.

I would never ever visit Sun Palace hotel again and certainly would not recommend it to families with kids of any age. I was that shocked at this place I am making a full complaint to FC about just how Dire this place was. I have holidayed to many places in Greece, Cyprus and Egypt most being 3 star hotels and have never felt the need to complain about any of them till now.

Shocking place!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Dave
great all round hotel
7 years 3 months ago
We stayed for a week all inclusive in early July. We were a family of four including a 16 year old and a 19 year old. The weather was fantastic ranging between 33 & 38 degrees every day and we didn’t see a single cloud.

Although the airport transfer should only be about 25 minutes it took us an hour and a half as we were last drop off although the rep had told us we would be third, to be honest I think they forgot to drop us off as the rep seemed surprised to see us still on the coach at the end.

When we arrived at the hotel it was 11.50pm and the bar closes at 12 midnight and as we hadn’t had a drink for a couple of hours we had to rush to the bar to get a drink before it closed as we were so thirsty. Unfortunately there is no pay bar so you can only have what’s included in the all-inclusive and only during their specified times. There are tea and coffee facilities in the reception area.

We were allocated a ground floor room in the annex and after reading some of the reviews on here we initially weren’t very happy with this but on reflection it was one of the best rooms. It was room 401 and was the very end room so was well away from any noise so was a lot more peaceful than the rooms in the main block. We did notice that some groups of teenagers would be quite loud around the main hotel in the early hours. Room was a good size with air conditioning situated over both bedrooms. The maids were really good and friendly, they came in every day except one. The room had TV but only the news channel in English and a good size fridge.

The food was quite good, always something although quite samey, there was an excellent selection of salads etc and always some hot meat and vegetables. There was always fresh watermelon with every meal too. You can have beer, wine or pop with your meal. Did seem a little odd that you could get chips with breakfast, chips with lunch but then sometimes there were not with the evening meal. My daughter is a really fussy eater so she did struggle sometimes to find something she likes which is why we noticed about the chips because if all else fails she will normally eat them.

The all-inclusive drink selection was VERY limited and to be honest not that good. The beer was ok although it was actually nicer with a splash of lemonade. The fizzy drinks were really not that good, you could drink them but they were the cheap concentrate mixes so it’s like the cheap Tesco own stuff where the coke tastes like chicken. The Ouzo was good, the vodka was good, the red wine was also not bad but the gin and tonic was foul, I only tried it twice and had to throw it away both times as it tasted like washing up liquid. After a few days drinking the beer my husband started buying bottles of strong bow from the shop and drinking them instead.

As its all-inclusive the staff don’t get any tips anymore so we gave him 10 euros at the beginning of our holiday and thereafter we never had to wait long in a queue, he would see us standing there and just pour our drinks whilst pouring someone else’s then just call us across to pick them up. He always gave us extra large measures as well.

The pool was great, definitely the best thing about the hotel, there is always plenty of sunbeds without having to be down at poolside at stupid O'clock to get a bed. The pool had a waterpolo net permanently across one part of the pool so you could play whenever you want. The depth was good too, I am 5'7" and could touch the bottom at all times even though sometimes I was on tip toes. George the pool man is always on duty and friendly.
Recommended
Anne Lpool.
Wonderful complex, great for kids
7 years 4 months ago
Just returned from Sun Palace hotel. Had a wonderful time,6 Adults and 5 Children. Staff I found were friendly, and the entertainment staff were excellent.

The Room was cleaned every day, the food was second to none, with lots of choice. The Kids club was great with morning and afternoon sessions. The children loved it, and were encouraged to join in with the evening entertainment.

Lots to do and would definitely go back to Sun Palace.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Margaret Marshall
8 years 2 months ago
First time in the Sun palce. We had a family room right opposite the pool if you do not want to hear a lot of noise ask for room 101 it was very quiet at night. We had a great time at this hotel and the staff were very friendly and the reception staff were all nice. Chamber maids were not so good we got our beds made every day ,clean towels and the toilet pan washed and that was it. we left a piece of paper on the floor deliberatly and it was still there when we left. the animation team were the best we have had yet especialy Shaun he was a great laugh my son liked Emily but we girls were swooning over Andy as he was a hunk. they work very hard to entertain you and did a very good job. Night time was the usual holiday entertainment but was alright. If i have one complaint about the hotel it is that the pool area is a bit small for the amount of guests that are in the hotel and the sun beds ar all tight up to other people. The food was good some nights we went out to eat but managed to eat most nights. But if this hotel is not careful it will loose its good name being a family resort. there werea lot of groups of young boys and girls who were very noisy and drunk most of the time and some guests got fed up with them.The girls were worse than the boys some girls from berkshire used to stubb outtheir cigarettes in the pool until a lady went and complained they had been there 1.5 days and had 6 final warnings about their behaviour. So the hotel should watch that it does not become a club 18 - 30. But saying that i would definatly return to the sun palace.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Jean And Malcolm
8 years 11 months ago
This hotel is a good 3 star with larger than average outdoor seating in the pool bar/entertainment area and a good-sized pool area.What set it apart from the rest when we were there was the staff.Somehow the hotel radiated a friendly aura due mainly to the hard work of the 4 girls in the animation team who,without being pushy,managed to get plenty of people involved in the activities,me included.However,they will probably not be there next year as most of them were intending to get "proper jobs".
CLEANLINESS-Although the reception/lobby area was kept extremely clean,some of the other public areas were not so good,eg.toilets(only one block in the hotel)and restaurant.Our room was only given a quick going over each day,and though ok was not completely clean.Other blocks may have been better.
FOOD-What was there was usually well cooked,although the choice was a bit limited and by the 2nd week a bit samey.
LOCATION-Not far from the beach or Faliraki centre,although the whole area is in decline.
STAFF-Most of the staff were friendly and upbeat.When we were there most of the waiting staff were a group of Slovakian students on a placement to improve their language skills,all very pleasant young people but,once again probably only there for the one season.
ENTERTAINMENT-Although there were not really any professional shows,the shear hard work and enthusiasm of the team managed to create an entertaining show most evenings.Well done Lyndsay,Raluka,Monika and Beatrice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Syd Day
9 years 1 month ago
Wow!!! What a holiday! Well done Sun Palace!

My wife and I have just returned from a one week visit to Hotel Sun Palace in Faliraki, Rhodes. Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
Wish I was still there!

Food was always hot and plentiful although I do think could have done with more variety - especially the snack bar - i.e - hot dogs, burgers, pizza's. I never went hungry and not complaining about the quality of food just wish there had been more choice especially for my youngest daughter age 7. The deserts were delicious!

The drinks were delicious - strawberry slush with cherry liquour mmmmmmm lol an many different cocktails all of course included. The bar staff were always friendly and drinks were strong lol...

The Hotel was immaculately cleaned and the rooms done everyday with the maids being very pleasant and polite to you.

The location was great, short stroll from the lovely beach and the bars but not to close to the noise.

The entertainment team were fab, specially the girls! They were constantly working hard to ensure all guests had a fab time, encouraging you to join in with stretching, water arobics, water polo/volleyball, killer darts, killer pool, killer table tennis an much more. Various evening activities we joined in, inc Boys v Girls of which I am pleased to say the Girls won!! Bingo with excellent prize money - of which unfortunately I was not lucky enough to win lol.

Sun beds could be a problem so unless you reserved your bed by 8.00am ish you could struggle to find some especially the ones closer to the bar. However this would prob not be a prob out of peak time.

Lots of different nationalites most of whom were polite but you did get the very ignorant ones who slammed glasses on the bar an demanded A BEER without so much as saying pls an thanks - ignorant. Other than that a good bunch of holiday makers having a fab time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Murray
9 years 2 months ago
just back from 2weeks hotel was ok but very busy at pool nice beach 5 minutes away though .food was good and plenty of it just got very repetitive after the first week or so not much for the kids ages 9 and 13 to do at night in resort so mabaye not an ideal place for that age group but overall a nice clean hotel with freindly staff
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

9 years 2 months ago
My family travelled to the Sun Palace this summer and had the most fabulous holiday. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the cleaners work really hard and are nice and friendly.
The reception is welcoming with marble floors, comfy seating area and a lovely waterfall feature. We stayed in a family room, with a seperate area for the children to sleep in and then you walked down a couple of steps where there is a double bed and plasma screen tv, and a newly refurbished bathroom.
The food is fantastic and plentiful with something for everyone, the waiting staff work none stop making sure that as soon as a dish is finished then it is replaced immediately, the food was always hot, although slightly repetative in the second week, not a problem tho. Drinks are available from the outside bar from 10am and there is also a self-service bar for the soft drinks and tea, coffee etc.
There is plenty of entertainment both in the daytime and the evening, a fantastic group of people who make you feel very welcome, there is no pressure to get you involved if you dont want to.
All in all a great holiday and will definatley be going back.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum