Image of Canifor Hotel

Canifor Hotel

14 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 41 reviews
Triq in-Nakkri,, Mellieħa SPB 05, Malta
Canifor Hotel is well situated and within easy reach of the attractive seafronts of Bugibba and Qawra and the shops, bars, restaurants and casino. The Canifor Hotel offers an excellent service to all their residents.

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wakeford
Dissapointed
9 years 5 months ago
We chose the Canifor Hotel because we had used it in 1997; we had no reason for complaint on that occasion.
On our arrival this time we were shocked to see how much the hotel had been left to decline. The reception staff require a course in Customer Care, they are not interested in their customers at all, we were never greeted with a "good morning" or "good evening" for the whole week that we were there.

The restaurant staff never smile, they look as if they are not enjoying their work at all, they seem reluctant to take away used dishes from your table, the standard of the food is something else, we gave it three days and after that we decided to eat out, it was the only solution to getting a decent meal.

The food looks good, but the taste in entirely different, the word horrible comes to mind.
At breakfast there is no fruit available unless you are willing to pay extra, the choice then is do you want an orange or an apple.

This hotel does not have a slope at the entrance for people with walking difficulties, a large number of customers found it difficult and sometimes impossible to manage the two flights of steps at the entrance of the hotel, so "be warned" the management at the front desk don't want to know about this, and offer their customers no help at all.

Our beds were not very comfortable for the reason of the mattress was resting on a smooth surface, if we turned over it would slip to the edge and fall off the base, we have never had that in a four star hotel.

The hotel has four stars on the sign outside, but in the UK this would be reduced to a two if they pushed it. Trading Standards would have a field day if they inspected it, Merchantable Quality, not on your life.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Wakeford
Returning guest, never again!
9 years 5 months ago
We chose the Canifor Hotel because we had used it in 1997, we had no reason for complaints on that occasion.

On our arrival this time we were shocked to see how much the hotel had been left to decline. The reception staff require a course in Customer Care, they are not interested in their customers at all. We were never greeted with a "Good morning" or "Good evening" for the whole week we were there.

The restaurant staff never smile, they look as if they are not enjoying their work at all, seem reluctant to take away used dishes from your table. The standard of the food is something else. We gave it three days and after that we decided to eat out, it was the only solution to getting a decent meal.
The food looks good, but the taste in entirely different. At breakfast there is no fruit available unless you are willing to pay extra, the choice then is do you want an orange or an apple?

This hotel does not have a slope at the entrance for people with walking difficulties, a large number of customers found it difficult and sometimes impossible to manage the two flights of steps at the entrance of the hotel.

Our beds were not very comfortable for the reason of the mattress was resting on a smooth surface, if we turned over it would slip to the edge and fall off the base. We have never had that in a four star hotel.

The hotel has four stars on the sign out side, but in the UK this would be reduced to a two if they pushed it. Trading Standards would have a field day if they inspected it, Merchantable Quality, not on your life.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Keep going back!
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed here many times and keep going back.

This time the hotel was very busy with young athletes from China, Hungary and several other European countries so meal times were rather hectic. The restaurant is really too small for the hotel and very cramped both at your table and when getting your meals from the buffet. Food as I have said before is repetitive but I never left hungry.

The location is perfect only 400 yards from the bus station which is being refurbished. Plenty resteraunts and bars in the area. Our favourite watering hole is the tourist bar next door to the hotel and for a home cooked meal or snack at a really good price visit the Welcome bar just 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Will be back in Malta again and will be staying at the Canifor again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rob & Karen
Staff were friendly and helpful!
10 years 9 months ago
We have stayed in the Canifor hotel / Apartments.
In the last few years we have stayed at least 5 times.

We have found the staff to be very helpful, rooms clean, towels daily. Jess and her team are a treasure nothing is too much trouble they are really stars !

Food - there was enough choice for everyone. Its great that toast is made for you, none of that waiting around (doing your own). Coffee really nice, waiters really helpful!

The best watering holes are the Tourist Bar which is directly next door to the Hotel.

The pub at the end of the Street on corner Tourist St is very intimadating even to walk past, also drunks in there shouting and swearing not welcoming at all !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Great holiday yet again at the Canifor.Looking forward to our next visit.Staff are excellent, location excellent.Only minor gripe is the food which is not to bad but repetative and the sweet section is always cake no custard,rice or even a bit of pouring cream would be nice,but as i say this is just a minor thing never left the resteraunt hungry.Will be back at this hotel in 2011.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
P.O'Shea
11 years 8 months ago
I stayed at this hotel for 5 weeks, from jan 5th to Feb 9th. I was disappointed not to be able to bring into the hotel, my electric scooter which I brought with me, but apart from that I had a very nice holiday considering I was almost confined to the hotel as I twisted my knee on the second day of my holidays. I thought I was going to be bored to tears, but not a bit of it.
The people were so friendly as were all the staff. As a regular visitor to Malta over many years, and stayed at numerous hotels, I found the Conifor ideal for me at this time of year. I made friends with all sorts of people and delighted to have done so. In fact some are coming back again next year around this time on the long stay basis. P.O'Shea
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We travelled over the Bank Holiday weekend and this was our first visit, to this Hotel.

On arrival, we checked in very quickly by the reception staff and everything was ready for us. The room was on the third floor and there is two lifts, both in fully working order.

The hotel is rated as a four star, but as is often the case in Malta, you have to subtract one star from any rating. We have booked all inclusive and utilised this facility heavily during the first three days. Only local drinks and spirits are available (as is the usual case) between 0900-1100 and we found these to be of a reasonable quality.

The meals are again of a three star variety and of good quality. The available choices repeated themselves every four to five days, or so. After a while they became boring and uninspiring. There is also some limitations in the cafe, that are not present when dining in the restuarant and I guess there is good reason for this. When we asked, no one seemed to know why.

The pool is divided into three sections for varing depths and seemed to be utlilised alot between 0800 and 1400 each day. The pool water contained a high concentration of salt and took a few dips to get used to. As the day progessed, the pool became littered with small bits of dirt and I expected this to be cleaned during the day, but, it was only done when the pool closed at 1800. There is an indoor swimming pool with jacousy for use, also on the top floor is an outdoor jacousy and proved popular all day long.

The accommodation is of a three star standard and our room was cleaned daily. Hot water was provided between 0700 to 1000 and between 1500 to 2000, we got used to this, after the first couple of days.

We didnt stop in for the entertainment, but, from what we saw this was designed for the older guests. Most younger people headed out of the hotel, to the local bars on an evening. The hotel is around five minutes from the bus station and less than fifthteen minutes from Bugibba square.

If you have disabled persons in your party, this hotel will prove difficult to enter, due to the lack of ramp. This is a great shame, because the hotel would suit most if not all people, if they added a simple ramp to the entrance.

As regards to the cost of a holiday, this hotel is positioned between a three star and four star. Other hotels were rated at four star, but, cost considerably more to stop in. Its a classic case of you get what you pay for.

Overall, we would visit this hotel again and give this a maximum of three star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Anon
12 years 5 months ago
Having read quite a few negative reviews of the hotel we were a bit concerned about what we would find.However we need not have worried. Our room, a standard room, was very good and we found the hotel to be very well situated, especially for getting to the bus station in order to get around the island.The staff were very good and friendly.
We did not attend the entertainment as it was not really our 'scene'.
The food was good but the menu was rather boring and unimaginative and perhaps was the area in which the hotel could improve.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Easyjet

Recommended
Laurence Plum
13 years 2 months ago
We read the reviews on this hotel a week before we left, most of them were true.
There are many complaints about this hotel, the rooms were never cleaned properly, the bathroom was never cleaned the whole 2 weeks we stayed. The pool was cleaned once on our second day, the scum around the edges with peoples names written in was still there when we left. The lifts broke down on average 2 - 3 times every day. Our sheets were only changed twice in two weeks. We were not the only one's complaining, I only hope others write reviews as well. Mid week into our holiday the hotel was invaded buy Dutch teenagers 60 - 70 and the place turned into a YMCA for the next ten days. there is nothing for kids to do, no entertainment during the day and at night it's alright if your over 70 and deaf. The breakfast is average with plenty of choice, didn't try any other meals. This hotel is supposed to be a 4*, no chance it's 2* on a very good day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: MaltaDirect

Mrs M Phillips
13 years 3 months ago
My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Canifor and have to say we were very disappointed with this hotel. It was classified as a 4 star, but it should be rated as a 3 star. The main complaint was the dining area as it was very small and could not cater for large numbers of people as well as the food served. The tables and chairs were so crammed together it was a fight to get around and I got fed up by keep saying
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.