Image of San Anton Hotel

San Anton Hotel

16 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
Triq Ir-Ramel, Bugibba SPB 03, Malta

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Joy & Alan
Excellent value for money
7 years 7 months ago
Hotel was a little dated, plaster loose throughout corridors and main areas in the Hotel's many of these areas also had shabby paintwork. However, on a more positive note that was more important to us was that the rooms were clean, newly painted bedroom area, bathroom had been patched up and looked quite grubby due them all needing some serious TLC. Bedroom areas had new mattresses bedding and curtains with sheets and towels changed every other day. Food for a 3* Hotel was generally good with more than enough of a selection. All the staff were helpful and very friendly, the entertainment was poor though we did go out of season so didn't expect anything more than what was on offer. We met 2 great couples so didn't really notice the lack of entertainment as we made our own.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Isobel Simpson&david Kerr
14 years ago
on arrival 12noon, after 10 hours travelling to the san anton we were told the room would not be ready till check in time at 2pm. we went for a walk till around 2.10 even though we were in dire need of a shower and a rest. we received our key and i went straight to the toilet. it was covered in human waste i pictures to prove this which i will be sending to cosmos along with other photographic evedence. there was human dirt on the dinning room furniture too.
the sink was full of recent tea or coffee stains the work surface was full of dust. there was oil from who knows wot on surfaces that were meant to house the tea and milk jugs.
the balcony funiture was piled up in a corner that was filthy as was the balcony.
there were stains on the couches in the living area/kitchen. the head board in the bed room was covered in something ?????
i cleaned all of the above before using this because i had no choice the manager to whome we spoke said it would all be done . it wasnt.
we had to get our own towels every day after a haggle with cheeky staff.
there were power cuts .
there was fire alarms (in the middle of the night) to which all the mostly over 60 clientell tried attend.
we were self catering but ended up eating out as the fridge was so black around the magnetic edges we thought it best not to risk food poisoning.
i could go on as the list is endless but the most worrying this was there was no back on the plug for the tv, if u had not noticed this and reached in to turn tv off at socket you could have been electrocuted.
if we had had kids with us id have been terrified.
nothing was done and i was unable to reach a cosmos agent in malta.
i love malta and its people but this has to be the worst place i have ever stayed anywere.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Mrs Williams
14 years 1 month ago
This hotel is the dirtiest we have ever stayed in, the room was diry on arrival and remained so for our 2 week stay. The room was not cleaned at all and in the end I brought cleaning material and cleaned it as best I could. The bathroom in particular was very dirty, numerous problems with the toilet, we were in apartment 13! It appears that staff do not really care about guests. The location is poor as it is at the top of a steep hill and the surrounding area seems very seedy. The entertainment if you could call it that was very poor.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Healy
14 years 1 month ago
san anton is not a clean hotel maids dont clean rooms very good filthy floors toilets smell.cockroach is probably still sitting on molly malones shelf which was there all of our hols.food is not very nice u have to eat out all the time so i wud never go all inclusive again.the streets round hotel are fill of cat mess and cockroaches.nightclub never opened once even though advertised in brocure.bars in both hotels never opened on time but were quick enough to close on time.queing system to get snacks is a joke and same for drinks as well.give this hotel a miss and go on holiday somewhere else .this place is cockroach heaven filthy and dirty.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

M Garlick
14 years 3 months ago
On arriving at the hotel, our flight was I hour late we arrived at 8pm. The receptionist bluntly said no meal it is too late, he offered us a lunch on the last day out, we asked him to tell us where we could get a meal, as we had not eaten, for five hours he ignored us and pointed us to the lift where our room was located.

On entering the room, I found it was very dirty checking the bathroom, the hairdryes, was broken. The toiet was very dirty, and the shower was a nightmare to work. I informed the receptionest the next day, two days later the electrician came. On the fourth day Thursday, in the morning about 7 30, the fire alarm went off. As we went out the door our room was on the end, all the fire doors were shut, we went down the fire stairs ,as we got to the fire door exit it was blocked with a garden bench, next to it was the laundrette, we pushed it open and went into the reception.

There was only about five people there, we asked the lady in the receptionist, what was wrong she didn't seem to know much about it, we sat there for about half an hour, no one informing us about, what was wrong, no one took us to a fire point, we went back to our rooms, we found out later that it was a false alarm. We come to the conclusion that the reason for the hotel to be so dirty was it's been closed in October and turned into an Old Peoples home. I was so looking foward to going to MALTA but it really put me off I would never recommend it to any one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget

Liz Bob & Family
14 years 6 months ago
We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was nice and spacious with all the equipment we needed.

Anything we wanted we just asked and staff were very helpful. The maids were in the rooms near enough everyday.

The hotel facilities were fine for what we needed. As we were there end of March the pool was freezing and it was a shame it wasnt heated. We also had the use of the Santa Maria hotel across the street and we used their small indoor pool, and also the restaraunt there was available for meals.

Entertainment wise, it was mainly for the over 50's I would say ( bingo and live bands with 60's music etc) but we enjoyed a few nights there. We mainly headed out for nights out as it was only a short walk to nearby resterants etc, and we used the local buses to get around the island.

If you are looking for 5 star then this hotel wont suit you but if you are looking for somewhere within the middle of things and dont want a lot of noise at night then I would recommend the San Anton.

We would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Ann
15 years 2 months ago
First of all when we arrived in the San Anton reception at 1 o'clock in afternoon, I was told room wasn't ready but to sit and wait and someone will come and get us, 45 minutes later I went back to reception and asked if room was ready to a sarcastic "yes of course" and was handed my key.. no apology.

My main complaint about this hotel is the food! Breakfast consists of very very cheap cornflakes/sugarpuffs or greasy English breakfast, no fruit, yoghurt's any continental choice unless you ask for cold alternative which consists of saucer of 1 slice of cheese (rubber) with 4 slices of what I would describe as bright pink salami which I would not eat.

Main courses every night were bad, they would have some sort of meat every night which they would carve in front of you, at least 3 occasions when saw blood running out of meat & it was also very fatty, only 1 children's choice, chips really hard and tasteless even kids didn't like them! We all spent fortnight living off bread and soup, because half board didn't bring enough money to eat out every night. During the 14 days this was the main thing that people complained about(only 1 family said food was OK), in fact during one of the evening meals someone stood up and shouted "this food is a disgrace" and walked out.

As no air-con in room evenings were very unpleasant for the 4 of us to try and get under ceiling fan - we asked for additional fan but was told no.

Entertainment was OK if you were over 60, apart from Thursdays when it was karaoke! just singers/band playing country, 50/60's music. Nothing for children apart from twice week kids disco on, my 11 & 8 yrs old girls said all they done was played baby songs, they didn't have anything to do.

There was a games room which had approx 6 coin-fed machines and pool table, but always saw about 6 cockroaches and on few occasions water was dripping onto tiled floor in games room which was dangerous and we pointed it out to staff - still dripping time we left.

Most of staff were polite, few cheeky to us (higher management) it was as if we were inconvenience to them. Disco (Santa Maria) which was suppose to be Thursday -Sunday was never open - we would go in and it would be in complete darkness.

Malta was fantastic!! would never recommend San Anton/Santa Maria though.

Reading this back it sounds like I am really moanie! I have never felt the need more than to write this review & I am only early 30's.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Maria/Brendan Murphy
15 years 2 months ago
Arrived at 12.30am very pleasant man on desk bars in hotel closed not surprised. Found room pleasant but very hot temp37% most of the week hired a fan to complement ceiling fan.

Food good temps checked regularly by probe plenty of choice at every meal including veggie options fresh fruit was available i myself had melon and plums twice.

Staff helpful and friendly.will say that evening entertainment suitable for our age group 48+ not youngsters. Maid service every day clean fluffy towels.

We would visit again but in May or Oct when heat not so intense.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ice-lolly

Recommended
15 years 3 months ago
I have visited the San Anton apartments twice already and im due to go back in three weeks!! and i can't wait. I have been reading most of the reviews on here about this hotel and i'm sorry but you have just had a bad experience.

The hotel is clean, the food is delicious, the staff are friendly and the location is great!!

I agree with the floors in the hotel being dirty and i found it quite annoying that once i had had a shower would find that walking across the room i had dirty feet again. Once mentioning this to the receptionist my room floor was cleaned daily.

The hotel's laundrette was the worst, most of the time it was out of use and when the machines did work they didn't wash your clothes properly.

Other than the above we have always had a pleasant stay at the San Anton - see you in three weeks!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TV Travel Shop

Recommended
Terry Garrett
15 years 4 months ago
We found the hotel a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable.

The food was of very good quality and there was a variety to suit all tastes. We actually had our meals at the Santa Maria (sister hotel)across the road, but that was no hardship. You can share all facilities of both the hotels.

It's a little hilly in this area, but that appears to be said about most of Malta, but the bus stop was only a 10 minute walk away from where you could travel to anywhere on the island.

Entertainment was usually singers,and there was a karaoke night,all of which was quite good.

This hotel would not suit the young and lively but for the more mature or parents with young children it is ideal. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and hope to visit it again sometime in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.