Image of Qawra Palace Hotel

Qawra Palace Hotel

7 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 105 reviews
Dawret Il - Qawra, St Paul's Bay, Malta
The Qawra Palace Hotel is ideally located on the Qawra seafront with views of the bay, providing a comfortable and convenient setting. Situated on the attractive promenade, shops, bars and restaurants can be found in the immediate area.

105 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    36
  • Good
    23
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
James Elder
Accomodation good
7 years 4 months ago
Has lost a lot of its standards since we where there last
Entertainments more directed to the locals and at times take over this was my third time at this hotel do not think I will return
But will def go back to malta
Still a lot more to see and do
Did a tour Malta by night went to the most amazing 5d show
Recommend to all to see
Overall had a good holiday from start to finish
First time I have flown with air Malta great flight
Not to many frills customer orintated

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Deborah Gibney
Great hotel for relaxing and the views are brilliant
7 years 5 months ago
Great location and rooms. staff brilliant and helpful. Only one let down was the lack of printer to print out boarding passes but the really kind staff helped me through that. Also the internet was down a lot and the payphones weren't that great. Maybe get a phone card. Clean rooms and restaurant was busy but clean and food was hot and well cooked. a bit confusing when we first entered the restaurant as we didn't realise there were different stations and zones we were sitting the wrong area and the staff got annoyed at this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Hotel tip: sea view rooms were fantastic and well worth the extra. go half board as the food is great and plenty of it.

Recommended
Taylor
Ok food, clean rooms, nice pool
10 years 3 months ago
I have visited Malta many times in the past and this year thought I would go further up north. The hotel isn't the best I have been to but its okay. It needs a bit of TLC in places, we were on the 8th floor overlooking the courtyard, to be honest the balcony wasn't worth bothering with, it was tiny. So if you like a view pay the extra for a sea view as they have larger balconies. The bathroom was tiny, very compact but then it served its purpose. There is a fridge in room too so handy to put cartons of drinks in you can get from the pool bar.

The pool is accessed via a walk way under the road, the door to the pool is opened about 8.20am so people start to queue at about 7.15am to get a prime spot by the pool. The most popular place seemed to be the part over looking the sea. Plenty of umbrellas and beds, you have to pay 1 Euro a day if you want a mattress on your sun bed. The pool bar opens at 11am, I think this is a bit too late but then breakfast is served until 10.30am.

Food is OK, its more Maltese food and I rather like this, nice to taste local dishes, you can get chips/burgers at the pool bar if you prefer that. I didn't find as much choice as I've had in other hotels but we didn't starve. Seemed at the pool bar they would run out of sandwiches/cake and didn't restock and with us being all inclusive I wasn't that happy about this.

The hotels coffee shop is to die for, not included in the all inclusive deal but well worth a treat.

Location was good for shops, out of the hotel, turn left then take the 1st left up the hill and you come to Buggiba and the centre/sea front with plenty of bars/shops.

Staff were OK, a few that made more of an effort than others. Entertainment wasn't what I'd call brilliant, each night they closed the pool area at 5pm and cleaned it then put tables and chairs out, it was always a singer/musician on, local people were allowed to come in and join in and usually there were people dancing. Some nights it was packed, usually at weekends with locals but it was good to people watch.

I wouldn't stop at this hotel again as it wasn't close to my friends who live there but if you want something handy for a few shops/bars and a take it easy time then id say its okay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Good value
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel was very clean, although looking tired in some areas, and the staff generally friendly and helpful. We had a sea view room overlooking the pool (and road) but the weather prevented us from sitting on the balcony much.

The food was excellently cooked and we have no complaints except that we felt it was very English. This could be due to the large number of long term English guests staying anything from one to six months.

We didn't see the hotel's entertainment so cannot comment from personal experience but we overheard a few comments!! However, remember that March is outside their main season.

Although I have said we wouldn’t visit this hotel again this is because we weren't impressed with Malta - we felt the hotel was good value.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jules
11 years 4 months ago
We've stayed here on a number of occasions but because of price and various other issues will no longer be visiting anymore....
This is such a shame as it used to be an amazing place to spend your hard earned two weeks holiday. But not anymore. The prices are now for a four star hotel but this hotel is not to this standard. Having said all this, we still had a decent holiday. Here's the details:
Rooms: They have had some updating but the bathrooms are in desperate need of a coat of paint etc. There are still the tiny single beds and the TV only has two english speaking channels. But the rooms are kept clean and there are regular linen changes. Always book a sea view room. They are noisier because of the location to the roads and awful entertainment but the view is amazing and worth it.

Food: Yes, it's like going back to having school dinners but the food is good enough to keep you satisfied. It isn't five star cuisine by any means but it's decent and i've never had an upset stomach here.

Entertainment: In a word AWFUL!!!! If you are under the age of 50, you have to go elsewhere. And the locals have taken over what entertainment there is anyway. I was shocked and annoyed to see them all take over the dance floors yet those who've paid thousands of hard earned pennies have to sit and watch them prance like nutters. Several people complained to management but they didn't listen. These locals didn't even buy drinks. They just turn up en masse, take up the tables, make a huge mess and crowd the dance floor. The musicians play tunes just for them. Even the disco on a saturday night has been hijacked by the elderly locals. All I can say is avoid the entertainment at all costs. And the hotel must now stop charging holiday makers for the provision of so-called entertainment.

Pool: Same old same old here. Reserving sunbeds, kids running riot whilst their booze soaked parents sleep. The pool area is a nice area normally but we were there when the UK kids were off school so we had to suffer the Chavvy types (our fault for choosing the wrong dates).

Negatives: Sadly, there are so many now. The entertainment i've already mentioned. There used to be certain times of year when the Italian school kids used to descend on the hotel and also run riot. But sorry to say, they arrive on a regular basis now. We had two different parties during our stay. It isn't easy putting up with them and you can imagine the complaints. Sticking arrogant, noisy and unsupervised Italian youths in the same hotel as mainly British OAP's just isn't a good idea and isn't fair on either group. The hotel do this obviously for the profit. They apparently gain much more profit from the kids than they do from normal holiday makers so sorry to break this to you all, if you visit Malta at any time of year and stay in a three star or less hotel, you will now encounter the IT kids.
The noise from the road and crap entertainment if you have a sea view room.
We also managed to have a meal at the Pizzeria that isn't part of the all inclusive and only opens for the summer season. The food was good but the service was the worst i've ever encountered. I would still recommend trying it just for the lovely fresh pizza but you'll have to wait ages and be ignored and have your order lost whilst the staff bullshit you!!!!

Choose your dates carefully if you decide to go here. Go out for night time fun. Don't hire the TV remote and take your own travel kettle. Book a sea view room and take ear plugs.

Hope you have a decent time at the Qawra.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron

Brian Nugent
11 years 8 months ago
Travelled here with my son as as surprise for my 40th birthday. We arrived at hotel around 10.30pm due to delayed flight, but we were in the room within 5 minutes of our arrival. Had an inside room which overlooked the mimi-golf course, but the room was huge with 4 beds, and to be honest it perfectly adequate for us.

We went to breakfast and were shown which area to sit in for the duration of the holiday, the waitress was fantastic, could not do enough to help us, even asking if we had visited Malta before, and when we said we had not, she went out of her way to give us all sorts of usefull information.

Food was amazing, so much choice and so much of it, only grumble was the queues that formed each morning for the toasters, they could do with some more.

All satff at hotel were great, the room was cleaned every day, and the facilities were fantastic, indoor heated pool and jacuzzis, we did not venture into the outdoor pool as it was only around 15 degrees that time of year.

We had an evening flight home so would miss our evening meal, but the hotel gave us a voucher to exchange on last day so we could have a lunch instead which was fantastic also, we both had huge salad platters in the coffee shop.

There was not much to do in the vening in the hotel unless you were elderly and enjoyed bingo or ballroom dancing, but we found a super little bar just around the corner from hotel and went there every night.

One tip is to take a travel kettle with you as it is not provided in the rooms, but the fact that the plugs and electrics are the same as uk makes it easy to take these things with you, and you can easily get tea, coffee etc in the Tal Lira shop a few hundred yards away.

Have already booked to go back to the same hotel in October with all the family..ignore the negative comments, this place is great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Easyjet

Recommended
Vee
11 years 10 months ago
Hotel in good location overlooking the bay.
bedroom was a good size, clean towels every day, clean sheets every 2 days. Buffet food was well cooked with several choices. Hotel staff were pleasant, especially the chambermaids. The entertainment was ok.
There is a large ballroom with live music for dancing and a night-club. It has an excellent coffee shop. Is on bus route and near Bugibba, easy to get around the island. Be warned.We took a small kettle because the hotel charges 3.70 euros a day for a hospitality tray & kettle.
There is a large pool area and indoor pool, both kept very clean. We had an enjoyable holiday with lots of sunshine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
After reading some reports,I have to say I was a little concerned. However, after visiting this hotel we have come to the decision that typical of us English,we aren`t happy unless we have something to complain about.
We arrived at 1am and within 15 minutes we were in our room and unpacking. The staff were very efficient on checking in and cleared the waiting visitors very quickly.
When we went to breakfast you are given a zone and you must only sit in this zone throughout your stay. The breakfast consisted of cereal,all ingredients to have an all English, toast, bread, Cheese,tea and coffee,boiled eggs and fruit salad. this stays the same throughtout your stay. We enjoyed this as you could choose as much as you like or as little.
For the evening meal, the menu changed every night. My wife and I are fussy eaters and cannot eat anything remotely spicy. We never had any problem choosing anything as there was always plenty of variety. The meat was always cooked correctly and tasted as good as it looked. They even put Chips on along with mash for 2 nights of our 14.
The only downside to this hotel is:-
1)The Lifts. They are so slow that its quicker to walk the Stairs.
2) If you want to have tea making facilities in your room it costs 3.70 euros a day. We got round this by buying our own travel kettle and we worked out it saved us 52 Euros.
The maids came in EVERYDAY and gave us clean towels and changed the linen 3 times a week. The rooms were spacious if you paid for the Seaview which is recommended.
At the end of the day,you are not paying the Ritz prices, and believe me I have stayed in worse hotels in England and paid more for the previlige. So don`t worry about anything and go and enjoy this fine hotel and this magnificent Island.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Elisha
12 years 4 months ago
Went on hoilday as family children aged 5 and 8.
There was'nt much for families at this hotel the enterainment was geared towards the elderly people with bingo during some afternoons and 5o's/60's music at night the most up 2 date was the Elvis tirbute.
I have to commend the staff on the cleanliness of the hotel they never stopped clening frm morning to night!
Food was buffet style which was ok at breakfast but when it comes to the evening meals was'nt the best,plus it was very hot in the dinning room as most days no air-con not on!
The location was'nt bad and there was regular buses coming past.
Hotel staff were pleasant.
I have to say that the bedrooms were very dated and need a major over haul and that includes the air-con in the room was very bad if i said you could blow faster!!uncomfortable at night.
The whole hotel needs updating not a 4* more like 3* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easyjet

Ann Stace
12 years 5 months ago
arrived at qwara palace to find the room an utter disgrace dirty linen on beds balcony door off rails fluff and dirt on floor,bathroom no better just like a hostel i imagine.when will tour company's get their acts together and not send people to these dumps.refused to stay there so paid a subsantal amount of money to be moved to another hotel.cannot comment on food or entertainment as we were moved within 2 hours.if you dont mind spending money to stay in the pits then this is the place to go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.