Image of Soreda Hotel

Soreda Hotel

12 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 42 reviews
4 stars
St Paul's Bay, Malta
The Soreda Aparthotel is ideally located in apeaceful part of Qawra on St.Pauls Bay, yet is only a short walk from the lively centre of Bugibba and the shoreline. This comfortable and spacious aparthotel offers all-inclusive holidays.

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sandra Davies
Clean, friendly and comfortable
8 years 3 months ago
Very friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation good, clean and comfortable. Food good with plenty of choice. Facilities good - swimming pools, roof top bar, etc. Walking distance to the bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Excellent value for money
9 years 7 months ago
We just returned from a 5 night stay on All Inclusive basis at the Soreda Hotel.
I was at the hotel last year travelling alone. This time my husband came with me as we were meeting up with my parents while they were there on holiday too. It looks like we may very well be there again next year.

The Soreda Hotel is in a fabulous location with a short steep downhill walk to the seafront/promenade near the Qawra Palace hotel or a 10 minute walk to the bus station for those wanting to get out and about on the island.
The staff are all very friendly and eager to please.

The dining room can become a little cramped as the tables are quite close together as well as being a little on the small side. There is a great choice available for breakfast and evening dinner. Lunch provided a lesser choice but not so many people used the restaurant at lunchtime.
You can request a packed lunch from the reception if booked the day before you need it.

We used the roof terrace and there are plenty of places to choose to enjoy the sun. It can get a bit breezy up there, but we didn't make use of the indoor pool or gym.

Our room was spacious and warm with a little sun on the balcony in the afternoon. Tea, coffee, sugar and milk provided for hot drinks in the room on the first day of arrival but not replenished.

Evening entertainment is in the main bar lounge every evening. Not really our cup of tea but many seemed to enjoy it. It ranges from karaoke, keyboard players, singers, dancers etc.

Free WiFi is available in the internet room and some of the lounges depending on how good your object of choice is. If you don't have a laptop, tablet pc etc there are desktop pc's available at a reasonable cost.

I would say it's excellent value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Great location
10 years 7 months ago
First of all, I booked this as a quick and cheap getaway in order to catch up with my parents whilst they were in Malta on holiday. I booked 5 nights on half board basis including a return minibus transfer.

The room allocated (435) was in a corner position in the couryard area and did get some sun in the mid afternoon. My parents were on the other side in 333 which got no sun at all and the room was quite dark.

The room was clean and the bathroom had recently been regrouted. I understand a number of refurbishments have been carried out in the hotel before my arrival. Towels were thick, white and fluffy and replaced every day. There were tea making facilities with tea, coffee and creamer provided on the first day only (unless you are on AI basis). There's also a mini fridge and a hairdryer in the room as well as a tv which provided CNN news, a couple of movie channels in English as well as other language programmes. The heating was provided via a central controlled switch.

Food - it was okay but a bit bland and that's only to be expected on the scale of the hotel. There was plenty of choice on offer.

Breakfast included: juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, fried and boiled eggs, bacon and sausage (alternate days), beans, tomatoes, fried bread, toast machine, bread rolls, jam, croissants, doughnuts and 2 kinds of plain cake (madeira type and chocolate). Tea and coffee.

Evening meal: soup, salad bar, pasta, choice of meat dishes, vegetarian option meal, 2 vegetable dishes, potatoes (roast or boiled), chips, around 4 - 6 different desserts (cake, gateaux or tarts) plus a main dessert such as bread & butter pudding, rice pudding and custard, cheese and crackers (only 1 kind of cheese).

The hotel is approx 10 minutes walk from the bus station in Bugibba/Qawra border and no more than 5 minutes walk downhill from the seafront opposite the Qawra Palace hotel. There are a handful of small bars within 2 streets distance.

The hotel staff were all friendly and courteous at all times.

Entertainment was provided every night - not all to my taste but varied from Diamond karaoke, Danny de Vito (singer/entertainer), DJ with dancing, a duet. There is a movie shown in the main bar every afternoon and twice a week someone comes to play and sing so everyone can join in at the baby grand piano. Free Wifi is provided in the main reception areas and there is an internet room. Indoor pool looked okay and there is a rooftop pool as well as a ground level, small outdoor pool.

I would visit the hotel again for its physical location and cleanliness alone. I would probably prefer to have B+B basis and eat out nearby. The hotel also has some studio apartments.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian Thompson
Hygiene awful!
11 years ago
The room we were in was so dark (that even at midday) the lights had to be put on to see what we were doing. The bathroom smelt awful and we noticed mould all over, it was on the ceiling, all over the grout between the tiles and when I saw water on the floor, and we hadn't turned anything on by that time, I began to worry.

However, we then went for breakfast that first morning, it got a whole lot worse. The eggs were only half cooked, what they passed for bacon was, I believe baked ham, cut thinly then grilled, it was like iron and tasted horrible, there was nothing right about the food so we had toast. Bearing in mind we were all inclusive, on the whole we found all meals so bad that we ended up spending over £250 extra on food over the fortnight.

Cleanliness was another thing I have to report. The corridor carpets had footprints and wheel marks on them, the lifts smelt of rotting fish (we were told that this smell emanated from the kitchens) and on about the sixth day we actually saw a member of staff standing in a lift holding on to an overfilled wheelie bin full of food waste. We were told that they didn't have service lifts they could use.

One day we watched a waiter resetting the tables and saw him pick up a knife that a young German had been playing with whilst eating his cereal, and replace it on the place setting and lift up the napkin that the lad had laid down and then refold it and set it down between the knife and fork. It is as though basic food hygiene is not a requisite for that job.

There are different areas of the hotel and some have been refurbished, but for the most part it is a warren in there. For instance, to get to the pool bar, we had to take the lift from the fourth floor, walk through to reception, and then take another lift from ground level to the pool area and vice-versa.

There is air conditioning in the hotel but it is on a timer and only works for 15 minutes every hour. They say it is to keep costs down.

I could go on and on, needless to say, put in a complaint and nothing is done unless you pester them, the Management just don't seem interested and the rest of the staff are so overworked that they have no time to do anything else.

The only bright spot are the two staff members who work the pool bar, they are a double act and really cheer you up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
J Renwick
11 years 8 months ago
the Soreda at Quara . This is a large comfortable hotel ,well used by the English.We enjoyed our stay although the weather wasnt brilliant.
The hotel was nearly full ,being down to good deals .We thought it was a good deal at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mercury direct

Buttrey
11 years 8 months ago
the staff in this hotel are impolite,when i made comment about the food was told to pack bags and leave if i did not like,food was very drab,breakfast was worse,television in room only had few programs on ,got repaired on third week of stay,beds in rooms not comfortable,furniture in hotel rooms old ,location very poor,walk up very steep hill paths in need of repair,or completion,rubbish laying in streets ,this hotel is not 4 star possibly 3??,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mercury

Deal
12 years 7 months ago
My wife and I would like to express our thanks to the Manager on night duty and ultimately to the Reservations Department for your understanding and therefore providing us with alternative accommodation. This really helped in making our holiday most enjoyable.
Staff all round were very helpful. We enjoyed all our meals and snacks and of course the sunshine and the little walks.
Our room was comfortable and was cleaned daily. We had extra pillows and fresh towels and sheets were changed regularly. Absolutely wonderful.
Hopefully we shall return on our holiday next winter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunspot

Recommended
L J Trew
12 years 10 months ago
This was our second hotel, we asked to be moved from St Pauls Bay Hotel due to our dislike of mouldy bathrooms, fittings and fixtures which were either missing or broken, but that's another review.
This hotel by comparison was somewhat better, but not much. The room we were given was clean and roomy and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with towels that were changed daily. However, we could not use the balcony because we had an adjacent balacony at right angles to ours and those folk could see staight into our room. Now, where do I start with the rest of the hotel? The food was completly uninspiring, often tepid and lacking in taste. Hygiene standards were suspect, we saw a chef drop a lid from one of the hot dishes and immediately put it back on. We also saw a waitress wipe up a floor spillage with the cloth she then used to wipe the tables with. The carpets in the public room, especially outside the dining room are filthy, and not once was the carpet in our corridor vacummed during out stay. The hotel is not the standard quoted, which is a 4 star, in fact, it would hardly rate a 2 star in England. The staff seemed pleasant but ususally we were given a shrug of the shoulders when we complained.I could go on and on, suffice to say, NO WAY would I recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Malta, and I certainly will not be going to Malta again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Evie
12 years 11 months ago
We would like to commend all staff for making our stay a very pleasant one.

Special thanks go to Claude and his assistant at the Bar, who were always so cheerful, friendly and polite.

Dinner was something to look forward to. Complements to the Chef and his team for setting up such wonderful and tasty meals.

Lastly, a big thank you to the staff in the Housekeeping department. They do a wonderful job in the rooms. Highly commendable.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunspot

Recommended
Rbt
12 years 11 months ago
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Soreda Hotel. What made us go back to this hotel is it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.