Image of Topaz Hotel

Topaz Hotel

9 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 53 reviews
4 stars
Bugibba, 3025, Malta
The Hotel Topaz is a large, comfortable and bustling complex. With great facilities on offer and a spacious pool area, this is a superb location for easy access to the local bars, restaurants and lively nightlife.

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
James Rushton
Staying at the Topaz Annex
6 years 1 month ago
The Topaz Annexe is not a hotel it is German teenager doss house. The rooms are dilapidated and have no balconies on rear face. The lift is unreliable and 5 floors is a hike at 77. My daughter and I were dumped there after a booking mess up by Low Cost Holidays' agent. We booked two 4 star rooms with balconies in February at another hotel so they had plenty of time to check. I could continue in this mode but it is probably pointless, but unless you are German or French or guaranteed a main hotel room DO NOT GO.

PS: The only 4 star feature is the reception, if you ignore the German students asleep in all the chairs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Low Cost Holidays

Hotel tip: 1. Stay away 2. Provide hearing aids for the security staff

Carole
Tatty but clean great staff
7 years ago
Beds changed every day room also cleaned daily bit on the tatty side but very clean staff very friendly and as a lone traveller was made to feel very welcome. Perfect if all you want is a bed and shower as I did. I ate in hotel a couple of times food hot and good plenty of choice both at breakfast and evening a little expensive but I enjoyed it. The pub type bar was small but friendly really nice bar staff. I had a fab holiday and will defo be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Loveholidays.com

Hotel tip: Food very good

Recommended
Rooms not ready, food ok, location terrible
10 years 2 months ago
Arrived at hotel at 13.30 told room was not ready, got into room at 14.30. Several other tourists arguing because room was not ready.
Check in time is 14.00 rooms never seem to be ready
check out time is strictly 10.00.

We stayed for 2 weeks and basically the hotel was OK, only minor complaints which were the room doors don't seem to fit and the only way to shut the door is to bang it shut not great late at night or early morning. Entertainment is not to our liking mainly Maltese singers.

Food in the restaurant is OK when you can get it, always waiting for things to be replaced, if you like toast in the morning be prepared for a long wait only 2x6 slice toasters for the entire hotel which were faulty. I watched one person holding the toast down in the toaster with a piece of wood and the other had the setting knob missing and a young girl trying to adjust the toaster with a fork.

If you want a fridge take a 5 amp fuse with you and put it in the plug as the hotel seems to remove the fuse then charge you 14 euros to put it back.

Reception staff not very attentive they seem to prefer talking to each other than attend to residents.

We were speaking to one of the locals when we went out one night and he asked where we were staying we said the Topaz and he informed us that a large part of the hotel was rumoured to be shutting down, several hotels in the area have already shut.

Hotel is used by students staying nearby although this is not a problem.

Since Arriva has taken over the bus service be prepared to be unfairly charged as there is one fare for locals and one highly inflated price for tourists.

I would not stay at this hotel again simply because of its location.

Malta is becoming a expensive holiday destination and inflating bus fares simply because you are a tourist is not the right way to attract visitors to the country.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dated but clean
11 years 1 month ago
Don't dismiss this hotel entirely, it is dated but it is clean. However I did hear people in the other block say it wasn't so good. We were self catering and had a very large one bed apartment with everything you could wish for, even more than I have at home eg. juicer and coffee maker!!

The room was cleaned daily and the sheets were spotless.

Downside the bath mat was mouldy but I just put it to one side and ignored it. Shower head broke but the following day a new one had been replaced. Double balcony looking down the road was fine as at least it was a view, preferable to the view of the pool.

We didn't stay for entertainment and had a drink in bar a couple of times and used the pool. Plenty of sunbeds apart from Sunday I think the local people or staff use it so very busy.

I would possibly go back to this hotel but would prefer to be closer to the bus station.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
S Robinson
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed all inclusive, I was not at all impressed with any of the food but my partner loved it. I love the Maltese bread so tended to eat this with thick butter and maybe soup. I hate garlic so meal times were a nightmare for me. To be fare If you ask the chef for something else he will do it for you, however be prepared to wait up to 30 minutes for it. Breakfast is ok ish, no fried eggs the sausage most mornings are tinned hotdog sausages fried to look good but they have that tinned texture. The hotel is clean the staff are lovely. You must try the spa room, its brilliant. The pool is huge and very clean, the problem is broken brollies and beds, when you go to collect them in the corner make sure the bed and brolly are not broke before you drag them to where your sitting. All inclusive isnt really all inclusive. If you want a packet of crisps you have to pay but if you want a bowl of crisps they are free. You cannot have a cocktail these have to be paid for, the pool menu for all inclusive has about 7 items on it but the menu for paying guests is two pages long. You can have a cup of ice cream but not an ice lolly. this is a political 4 star hotel, the owners do have 3 other finer hotels on the island they put a lot of business in Malta if you understand my meaning. Origionally I was so angry with the hotel but after a week once I stopped making a fool of myself asking for things that I couldnt have I was ok. The entertainment is usually an organist and a guitar player, its awful. I did say I would never go back but now I think I would. I have a disability and cant walk far but we drive every where, if your not a driver then this isnt the hotel for you. Lots of hotels have closed down in this area so its a bit run down looking. Its true you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended
Cazzie
12 years 11 months ago
me and my mam went to malta being as my sister lives out their.
when we got their the down stairs looked nice.
we had to go threw a tunnel to get to our room and both lifts at one time didnt work spes the top lift going down to the tunnel.
the beds was rock hard.
had to pay 12 euros for the remote but got it back.
had to hire a fridge if u wanted it.
had to hire a kettle and pay daily.
the food was cold.
smelt like dirty mops in the cubords.
some staff wasnt helpful.
this hotel should not be a 4 star and people i made friends with on holiday said the same!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bella air

13 years 7 months ago
Location - poor. Too far from bus station with very bad pavements. Very difficult for elderly people or those with walking difficulties. Too far from seafront for same reasons.
Cleanliness was not so good as last year - less staff at the hotel this year for some reason and there were more guests there this year.
We were allocated in a different part of the hotel, where we had to cross underneath the road by a tunnel from reception. The lift was extremely tiny and smelled of stagnant water. Many mosquitos were found in the lift, which made their way into the hotel rooms. I was bitten on a number of occasions as our room was diagonally opposite from the lift.
Bathroom floor needed a good scrub, particularly around the toilet area. Our maid was rushing to clean on the day we arrived as she had 26 rooms to "do" on her own! This was at 14.30pm.
Food - choice not as good as last visit. Food not always hot, big queues for the hot buffet. Very bad area provided to collect soup, bread & desserts as it's right by where people are entering & leaving the dining room. Very soon - someone will end up having (lukewarm) not hot soup spilled over them.
Only the bar staff are friendly. Reception staff not very pleasant, unusual for Maltese people but they always seemed harried. Cleaning staff/maids were friendly on the day before everyone was going home & said they weren't working the day you were leaving so they could get tips. We heard this many times and it happened to us too.
Entertainment hadn't changed from last year, with the exception that "Elvis" had finally left the building. Thank God! We spent 3 nights in the Peacock Lounge listening to the same drivel before deciding to frequent the downstairs bar instead. No entertainment other than a chat with the friendly barmen or to watch TV.
We stayed here because it's where my parents were also staying.
We won't go back again and someone told us the hotel is supposed to be closing down.... Not sure how true this is as we heard it still has 2yrs to run on the lease.
We will go back to Malta though as it appears my parents bought a timeshare just before we arrived!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Natalie
14 years 1 month ago
Me and my boyfriend stayed at Topaz on a bed and breakfast basis. This was our first visit to Malta and we had heard a mixed bag of opinions about the hotel and did wonder if it would be up to our usual standard. I can confidentially say YES it did! The hotel was not too far from Bugibba, a good 10 minute walk which was ideal.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The food for breakfast is basic but is adequate. My only moan would be the tea as its foul, so take your own tea bags and you will be fine.

The hotel staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

The entertainment was pretty poor, not our cup of tea, so we went for a walk around the resort.

We probably wouldn't visit this hotel again, only because we spotted another one in a different resort which court our eye. Overall good value for money if your on a budget!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Choice Holidays

Paul&mary Hunt
14 years 2 months ago
Booked a 5 night stay with choice holidays at Topaz Hotel and food very good ,hotel location central to all areas, staff very helpfull with special thanks to dunstan in lower bar (royal oak) for the j/ds & pernold & black not in the same glass also try the meat pies many thanks.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: choice holidays

Recommended
Michael &Marjorie
14 years 7 months ago
Visited Hotel Topaz for the 4th time. That should speak for itself! Food excellent, staff friendly and very helpful. The hotel is spotless, entertainment is limited but possibly due to the fact that we visited in low season. We shall be returning next year we hope.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.