Image of Suncrest Hotel

Suncrest Hotel

13 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Dawret Il - Qawra, St Paul's Bay, Malta
An ideal option for discerning couples, the friendly, comfortable Sol Suncrest boasts fine facilities, high standards and an excellent seafront location. The Sol Suncrest attracts a wide range of nationalities.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
It's the pits
3 years 3 months ago
It's not about this hotel but Buggiba as a resort. It's the pits. Dirty smelly and full of dog shit everywhere.. man made beach almost non existent. Sub standard restaurants and expensive alcohol prices. Awful place
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/A

Hotel tip: Dont go to Buggiba

James
16 years 11 months ago
Firstly, it's worth noting that this is not a Sol hotel. Apparently they neglected the premises over two years they owned it, however AX Holdings, a large Maltese organization has purchased it back.

This was my third visit in 6 years to the Suncrest, and whilst I agree that it not up to UK 4* standard, it is a more than adequate hotel.

The food, like a lot in Malta (unless you are willing to pay a premium price and source a premium restaurant) is pretty bland but is plentiful and fresh.

The kids will love the pool area...tidy, plenty of sun loungers and brollys and two kids
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
Eimear And Liam
17 years ago
I had read some of the reviews of this hotel on the net before I went and I was nervous going there. I couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Marie
17 years 2 months ago
we had a great stay at this hotel.. friendly and helpful staff that always did their best to make sure we had a good time. and good food.. I would love to go back one day! ..right now if possible;)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sts

Recommended
Sue Smith
17 years 2 months ago
This hotel is advertised as 4AAAA. It may have been once upon a time in the distant past but it certainly is not now. Our accomadation although large was poorly kept. The carpet had not been vacuumed for a very long time, the air conditioning vents were black, missing glass from the window vents, loose railings on the balcony, concrete crumbling away from the balcony. The enamel on the bath had worn away and the bath was rusting, the shower had to be wedged open to work and the light was so dim that you could hardly see. The 1st floor restaurant was full of flies, tables were not cleaned or cleared and the service was slow. The food was poor and the choice was limited. The staff although polite did not appear to be a happy lot. The pool area was unclean, food and litter strewn around and empty glasses floating in the water. The water was so dirty you could not see the bottom of it. The childrens water chute descended into a small pool with a very black ring around it and hotel carpet bits had been put down for the kids to walk on. The sunbeds around the pool needed replacing, most appeared threadbare and could have done with a good clean. The hotel encouraged non-residents to use the pool, even though there was not enough room for those staying at the hotel. Many of the plastic tables were broken. Discerning couples would certainly be amazed at the coach loads of students arriving. I have never cried on the first night of my holiday and I wouldn't want any one else to feel so disappointed. This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. It's tired and dingy. I personally wouldn't give it a rating, let alone 4*. I would never visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air Tours

Steve Coombes
17 years 2 months ago
We were booked here for 14 nights but only stayed for 2 nights as it was not a 4* hotel. I had to tell the airtours rep I am leaving to go home if you do not move us to another hotel. What was wrong with this place, well were do I start. The decor was dim and hot, the food was not up to standard, the pool was overcrowded and dirty, the restaraunts were dirty, the sunloungers were dirty and broken, the whole place was good once when new but no upgrading has ever been done. There was parties of school kids arriving daily and it was a hell hole. Some people may find it a palace but where do they live? I have always stayed in 4* hotels and this place I would rate 2*. If you find yourself here and you feel like I did you must complain and get moved. If you are used to 4* hotel you will get a shock.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Alison
17 years 2 months ago
Found staff very nice and food was ok. The hotel itself is a disgrace doesn't look like it has had a penny spent on it since the day it was built. Balcony was crumbling, rooms very basic, toilet facilities round by pool absolutely disgusting, sunbeds shabby, overall maintainence is very poor. Couldn't get near entertainment at weekend for the locals booking private parties where the special silverware was brought out! If you go on a last minute cheapy then you would probably tolerate the standard but when you specifically book 4 star and are looking forward to a treat then you will be very dissappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Fiona
17 years 3 months ago
Hotel Suncrest was rated a 4star but by UK standards was certainly not 4 star. The rooms were really clean and quite spacious. Each room had a balcony air conditioning with ceiling fan (which looked lethal but worked very well) and a fridge. The TV only had 2 English speaking channels including BBC Prime. remote controls were available at reception where you would be charged 5 Maltese Lira if they were not returned.

There was 6 lifts near reception but evreyone commented how slow they were, another 2 lifts were available at the side but they kept getting stuck.

We were on half-board but the food in the main restaurant (Pavilion) was not good at all, not even the breakfasts (we survived on toast for 2 weeks). You could use the coffee shop or the pizza restaurant in the hotel (using up to value of 3.50 Maltese Lira per person - any extra you had to pay for) but this didn't seem to be widely known.
The reception desk was very slow especially during busy periods. The safety deposit boxes were located behind reception so you had to wait to get in there.

We ate at the Analsysia Indian Restaurant on Tourist Street, Rojohn Indian Restaurant in Halel Street, Great Wall of China just off Tourist Street and TGI Fridays in Sliema all of which we would recommend. We did not like Clara May's opposite bus terminus on tourist Street - the service was slow and the mussels were still frozen !! We also ate in LaStalla on Tourist Sreet which was OK. We really liked The George pub - the food was really good and very reasonably priced.

The beach opposite hotel was rocky and the water very deep so most people stayed beside the pool.

The entertainment in the hotel was terrible, it was all singers with the same man providing the entertainment for 4/5 nights per week. The entertainment at the Qawra Palace (just next door) was better and you could stand on the main street and listen to that instead!

We did not take any trips, we just got the bus to all locations. We went to Gozo on the ferry (2 Lira return per person) and got a bus to Victoria the capital for 15 cents single per person.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Dave
17 years 3 months ago
We stayed in this Hotel for 10 days and found it to be a reasonable 4 star hotel.

Food was reasonably good and since it was a buffet you could always find something you liked, most of the staff were very friendly.

The room was basic in decor, but air-conditioned and also with a ceiling fan and the TV had 2 English channels including BBC Prime. Room was very clean and had a nice view. The fridge didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended
Johnward
21 years 9 months ago
Late deal holiday (sept 2001). The hotel is large and has its own undergound tunnel to get to the beach front (rocks). The rooms are basic but very clean. Some of our group stayed on the top floor and had very nice rooms with carpets. There are penthouse rooms with their own jacuzzies on the balconies. The hotel amenities are very good. Nightclub (open at weekends) small but nice. Live entertainment outside every evening with plent of tables and waiter service. The pool and bars are very good as it the seating around the pool. This hotel is used also by Saga guest and they are on an all inclusive basis. Massive hotel that deserves its 4* for the style and amenities. They even have a very good internet cafe'. Unfortunately i would not go back to this hotel. The reason................let me see. 1. The food: Worst i have ever had ...............very, very bland. Looks good, tastes awful. The Staff: The most unhelpful miserable bunch of people i have ever come across (not the maids!). There are two restaurants ... 1 in the lower ground (cool and very nice) the other on the 1st level. Both had long lines of people waiting to get in. No one clears that tables and the standards are more like a 1* Hotel .Holes in the table clothes

Travel operator: airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.