Image of Mavina Apartments

Mavina Apartments

8 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
2 stars
Triq-IL-Fliegu, Qawra 1403, Malta
The Mavina and Huli are sister apartment blocks, 150m apart, within easy walking distance of the centre of the resort. Guests may be accommodated in either block, and have the use of all the shared facilities.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kate Anthony
Amazing Experience
4 years 5 months ago
Child friendly. Nothing to much trouble. Service with a smile. Clean rooms. Clean towels and bedding. Comfy beds. Clean swimming pool with outside bar. From the minute we arrived to when we left, not one bad word I could say about this hotel. There were fans in every room.

Will definitely be staying here again. Brilliant location. Wifi in the lobby.

Cant comment on food as was self catering but kitchenette was well equipped and clean cutlery.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: OTB

Recommended
moo
No toilet paper
8 years 2 months ago
Very disappointing. Paid nearly £1000 for one week self catering.
Towels not changed once. As it was really hot we were showering twice a day so not having them changed you can imagine what they were like at the end of the week.

Bed linen not changed.... I don't mind making my own bed so beds not being made not a problem to me but no change.

No fans to hire they were all out so just a ceiling fan. It was so hot.

Plug removed from TV as you need to pay extra. I don't go on holiday to watch TV but like a bit of background noise.

But .....the best thing no toilet paper !!!! We asked for some but were told as we were self catering we have to buy our own !!! If we were half board we could have had some!

Sounds really petty complaints but for what we paid feel really let down - especially as its advertised as three star it isn't.

Good points.....staff nice .....location good.....very clean apart from the towels by our fourth day
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: easyjet

J Mortimer
Good hotel
11 years 1 month ago
Studio apartment, third floor, overlooking small square and street. Quite noisy at times but only until 12 - 1 ish.
Beds were comfortable, room spacious enough, basic kitchen equipment. Ceiling fan ineffectual, very hot at night, could open patio doors and bathroom window but got noise from street and plumbing.

Bathroom okay, bit of polyfilla in the bath, shower attachment broken. Towels changed once in the week, no cleaning or bed linen change, rubbish emptied daily.

All was clean enough when we got there. Close to bus terminus, sea front, supermarkets etc. Staff friendly and helpful. Has to be put in context, this hotel was very cheap.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Smith
No staff at this hotel, you had to go to the sister hotel!
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel was very basic, I don't think it is a 2*.

Rooms very standard and not very clean, for our 7 day stay we did not have our room cleaned. We had to wash our own towels and bedding. The bathroom decor was awful, and looked like it had not been cleaned before we got there.

I can't comment on the food as we was self-catering. There are supermarkets very close, very cheap too. We had all the facilities in our apartment kitchen.

Hotel location was good, next to bus station, shops, bars and supermarkets. The pool on the Huli Apartment roof is very small, fit about 4 people in it. There is only a maximum of 6 sunbeds for the whole hotel, was stupid. You have to pay if you wanted more sunbeds.

There was no entertainment provided, however there are plenty of bars around. However the bar at the Huli, (not part of the hotel) played music until early hours which annoyed you if you wanted to sleep.

The rooms had no air con, just a ceiling fan which did nothing.
I would not visit this hotel again.

Couldn't find any staff during our stay in the Huli complex, you have to travel to the parent hotel which is 5 minutes’ walk away.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Brian Miller
11 years 6 months ago
The Hotel rooms were dingy ,Put you up Beds fit for Skip< mattresses worn out.> it gave my son a bad back.
Food was Poor .Chef had no idea.
Staff were great.Location Good.nice area of malta.
2nd visit to malta <last to this Malvina.>
It wants money spending on the rooms to make it a"2**
Hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Dave Daughtrey
12 years 3 months ago
I took my wife to the Mavina for our Honeymoon (she had never visited Malta before). We Enjoyed our stay tremendously and as a consequence, we always stay at the Mavina now...we even stay in the same room. The staff are superb, the rooms are more than adequate (if you want 5 star accomm, you pay 5 star prices). The price for the accommodation can only be described as excellent value for money. The location could not be better,,,,i.e.: 5 minutes from the Bus station, 2 minutes from the nearest Supermarket and lots of bars/cafes around and only 10 minutes from the sea. We are looking forward to our next stay on the 8 June 2010 for 14 days and are even planning our stay for 2011. Keep it up Mavina. Thank you
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
Miss Walker
14 years 2 months ago
I went to Malta this year as I wanted to show my boyfriend and son. This is my 18th time in Malta and the 6th time in the Mavina. The hotel was as usual entirely clean and tidy. We went self catering to start but changed to half board due to my son not being able to sit, only wanting to run about. Food was brilliant as usual and the beach is a 5 minute walk excellent for tireing out the children at the carnival. Hotel staff excellent and took my son away to watch TV so we could finish our meals when they were not busy. If you fancy a change of drink and dont know what to have the staff will make you something to go with your mood which is always a delight (ask for a Frances Special!!) We have booked again for next year and will always return again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct with Hotel

Recommended
McIntyre
15 years ago
This was the first time I have visited Malta and found the Mavina to be a great place to stay.

The staff were all excellent there was nothing they would not do to be helpful.

I fully intend to return to the Mavina again, the apartments were basic but very clean as you really only sleep and wash in your room the apartments were ideal.

Situated 2 mins from the bus station where you can travel anywhwere on the island.

Again I would recomend any one stay at the Mavina a holiday is what you make of it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Burgess Clan
15 years 1 month ago
Clean apartment, but air con definitely required in rooms.

Ate a couple of times at hotel, food ok.

Staff excellent.Joseph very helpful.

Central location.

No entertainment unfortunately. Good holiday for first time in Malta.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr & Mrs. Vella
15 years 1 month ago
This is our fourth visit to the Mavina. Very clean rooms with everything that you need for self catering.

Tried the food, good, but with so many restaurants around it is very easy to find what you like.

Location we thought it was perfect, loads to do, see and go.

Staff very helpful. Lacks a bit of entertainment, but a lot of it in other places.

We will be going there again next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.