Image of Sunflower Hotel

Sunflower Hotel

4 of 19 hotels in Bugibba

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Il- Qawra, St Paul's Bay SPB 1061, Malta

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Derek Bird
13 years 7 months ago
After reading all the reports on this hotel via the Internet We were a little undecided as there were some negative ones and it seemed so cheap.

Well we need not to have worried the hotel was just fine the staff were very friendly, rooms were cleaned every day,towels changed, breakfast(continental, you can pay a small cost for a full english)was plentiful.

Sea views you will not get! But it is in a quiet street 10mins from main bus depot and 6mins from sea.

All in all very good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
A Vd Meeren
14 years ago
New hotel with a small swimmingpool on the roof.the vieuw from the roof is not so nice.
Simple breakfast,every morning the same food but ok
Dinner ok ,friendly staff.
Last morning we should have a wake up call at 4.30 and breakfast.No call at that time i went down at 4.50 and the receptionist was asleep. going up to the room and get ready to go .the wake up call was then at 5 o,clock. When we game back to the reception i was very angry to the receptionist .he told me it was because of the computer!!I told him because he was asleep.No excuses at all and no breakfast.
First and last time we go to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: OAD

John & Karen
14 years 2 months ago
We have recently returned from a holiday in Malta. We were booked into the 3* Sunflower Hotel, Qawra on a half board basis. The entire holiday was a complete disappointment.

Our holiday rep. was nowhere to be seen on arrival at the airport in Malta. We travelled to our hotel from the airport still with no rep to refer too. There was no rep. present at the hotel check-in either. As I had holidayed in the area before I did not feel it necessary to attend the welcome meeting and at the time we did not feel it was necessary to speak with our rep. Whilst at the hotel we checked the available times of our rep. and found she only visited the hotel between 4.45pm and 5.15pm on approximately 3 days a week. The rest of the time she could be contacted by telephone. When on holiday it is stifling to find one has to race back to the hotel early evening to speak to the rep when necessary. We discovered this to be inconvenient and it would have been more desirable if the rep. had staggered the times of her visits to each hotel. We realise she had other hotels to attend but surely being available at various times at each hotel would have made her more accessible to holiday makers and therefore able to offer a much better service. There was also a note at the hotel stating the rep. was on leave for several days and an emergency number had been left. Why were we not offered the non-emergency services of another rep?

Our first impression on arrival in Qawra was one of disbelief. The whole area was a vast building site. The words
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: airtours/mytravel

14 years 3 months ago
This is the second visit we have made to this hotel, and not disappointed seccond time round.

The hotel is small and freindly, the staff are lovely and very helpful when you want to find your way on the local buses. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels daily. breakfast is continental, but for a small charge you can have a breakfast cooked to order.

You can also make arrangements to have dinner in the hotel as well if you choose. we did this on a couple of occasions and were both satisfied with the meals available. Location is a 10 minute walk to buggiba square were you can sit and watch the sun go down in one of the many bars.

There is not much in the way of entertainment but we went out most nights anyway. We loved the rooftop pool and bar and found the other guests to be very freindly, which helped to make our stay very enjoyable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Karen O'Hara
15 years 5 months ago
Sunflower hotel Qawra Malta ----- This hotel was of a very high standard.

The food was varied and of excellent quality, with a varied menu throughout our weeks stay.

Our room was cleaned daily with a change of clean white towels when required.

Although the immediate area around the hotel was of derelict buildings this did not however bother us as the hotel was of such a high quality.

The hotel staff were excellent always polite.helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The entertainment was very pleasant, on several evenings, and never interrupted your sleep.

My husband and I certainly would visit this hotel again in the near future and we highly recommend it as a base for exploring Malta.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for a wonderful, pleasant stay in your hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: apollo

Recommended
Robert Williams
16 years 1 month ago
On B+B basis whick was Ok, usual continental food.
The rooms and hotel very very clean. Air con and fans in room worked well. Superior room spacious.
Pool was small, but not many people used it so it was like having your own pool.

The hotel is situated in a quite area so no THUMP/THUMP music to keep you up all night. Approx 10 min walk to Bugibba / Qawra resort. Did not notice any day/nght time entertainment in hotel other than a musician in the bar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
K.W.Rees
16 years 11 months ago
A good start with taxi waiting for us at the airport and directly to the hotel.

An excellent hotel for its rating. Good rooms, good staff, location a little out of the way but this can be an advantage.

We were on B/B basis and breakfast was a reasonable continental choice with a full English alternative for only ML2:25. Previous contributor stated that food was all self-service but when we were there dinner was either self-service buffet (very good) or full a-la-carte which of course was waiter service.

When we were told that there was a disco nearby on Sat and Sun night
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/Med Hotels

Recommended
17 years 1 month ago
As the above review stated the pool is far too small nice for a dip, but when a few people get in there it can get very crowded. Sunbeds are in a state and are very uncomfortable when you're getting your back brown. Food by the pool is very limited especially as we don't eat meat so we found we went out most times for lunch.

Hotel was very very clean, towels changed every day and room cleaned every day.

Never ate in the hotel restaurant went out every night as again the choice was very limited.
Breakfast was ok but finishes at 9.30 which is far too early and gets very busy waiting for a piece of toast.

Also the wardrobe is tiny and when you have a girlfriend like mine with many clothes it got very difficult. 2 tiny shelves and 9 hangers for 2 people for 2 weeks is just not enough.

But these problems are very small. Staff were very friendly and we were very happy with it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Douglas Kerr
18 years 3 months ago
The reception gives a bad first impression - it is much too small. When a coachload of visiotrs arrives, chaos takes over. Bedrooms are fine, and of a reasonable size. The rooftop pool is pthetically small - son't expect to swim here. If, however, you want to do some rooftop sunbathing it is excellent, and you can always enjoy the view. The food, which is all self-service, us very good with a reasonable amount of variety, though the dining room can be a bit of a scrum. Again it is much too small, as is the bar area. However there is a very relaxed atmosphere about the place and the staff are friendly and helpful. At a price that won't do your bank balance much harm, the Sunfower has plenty going for it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron Holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.