Image of Camposol Hotel

Camposol Hotel

115 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
2 stars
Calle del Apolo XI, 17, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Shops and nightlife are close by, just a short walk away, and Alicante Airport is 57km from The Camposol Hotel. Local transport links are easily accessible. The hotel has 130 guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and a safe. There is an outdoor pool area, and a sauna. The restaurant offers buffet style dining to all guests.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
AJill Wolstanholme
Hotel Camposol's own Basil Fawlty!
1 year 5 months ago
Upon arrival, we are given a room with no balcony but strange, smaller than average furniture (Think, Annabelle, the horror film!) The bath would be a perfect fit for someone no taller than three feet and the chairs resembled a spooky, Victorian house. Back down to reception where we were told by a smiling receptionist, 'no,' when asked for a balcony room due to our small window overlooked the air conditioning and a lovely wall! After some expressions of disappointment, we were told to come back tomorrow to see the Manager. We asked Senor Fawlty to put it in writing and again were met with a smiling 'no.'

The Manager gave us another room and from discussions around the pool, the hotel often puts English guests in what can only be described as box rooms. Only if you complain do you get a move to a room with a balcony. The Manager actually stated, if guests want a balcony, they 'come to me and ask for one!' Why he thinks anyone going on holiday would want a pokey old room with no natural light is beyond me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Rude and unfriendly staff
2 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the hotel Camposol with my son for a 5 night stay. The hotel is very basic and our room was very small with a tiny balcony facing a wall. All the catering and bar staff are very rude and hostile towards British guesses to the extent that they will ignore the British and only acknowledge Spanish guess. We were very rudely told that we are not allowed to sit in the lounge area after 11pm and that the hotel WiFi is turned off to stop people like us using it.

The hotel WiFi doesn't work on the 5th floor where our room is and it's turned off after 11pm. The air-conditioning in the rooms is turned off from 8 am till 1pm.
At least the cleaning staff have manners as well as one young man on the reception.

It's a shame as the hotels in a good location and food is good for the full board price I paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster.co.uk

Hotel tip: If booking here ask for a room overlooking the pool and be prepared for rude staff!

Liz Neisham
Never again!
3 years 5 months ago
I have visited Benidorm Old Town for many years as I love it but this was the first time I had ever stayed in Camposol Hotel & it will be the last! On arrival in the room the first thing to notice is the smell of sprouts which was there all week all around the hotel. The rooms were basic but clean even though they did smell. The maids cleaned each day with the foulest smelling disinfectant ever. The beds were very comfortable.

The pool is useless for kids as it was far too deep & also very small. The desk staff were ok, the food was the worst I have ever eaten, totally disgusting and tasteless with no variety, was repetitive and burnt. 2 consecutive nights there were little fish complete with eyes or veal, I couldn't eat either so opted for veggie option, pasta with tomato sauce, I may well have eaten cardboard. I am not a fussy person with food, I can eat or try most things but this was beyond me, I would have been embarrassed had I been the chef!

One was amused when I asked what the little black things were, they were cremated sausage. I have never ever been in any hotel with this quality of disgusting food on offer. We had paid Full Board as well.

I would strongly advise anyone to avoid this hotel, take heed of this review as it is totally accurate. I will return to Benidorm each year but have learned a lesson to make sure I research the hotel before I book in future. This hotel is a complete no go. Visit at your own risk! There was no entertainment unless your Spanish, in fact there's nothing including respect unless your Spanish! This hotel shouldn't even be given 1 star.
Cleanliness:
Location:

Travel operator: superescapes.com

Hotel tip: Avoid!

NICE BUT NOT NICE.
6 years 5 months ago
We where a English party of nine people a mixture of adults, teenagers and children, stayed for 7 nights between 11-18 August 2012, hotel was very clean, rooms where cleaned and beds where made every day, towels where also changed daily, Stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and garden area, our room was quite small but very liveable, we had a balcony, some rooms don't apparently.

We stayed half board, the Restaurant was clean and roomy, Breakfast consisted of eggs bacon (Spanish Style) beans, cereal, "warm puri milk" "warm very sweet juices", had a double toaster which was handy, coffee machine, tea bags, marmalade etc, quite good really!

Dinner was catered predominately for the Spanish Clients, lots of fish, salad, bread, cakes fresh fruit, fried potatoes, not my cup of tea but acceptable, You could buy a bottle of wine for 3 Euros which was quite good.

The Pool and Garden area was shaded most of the day, but this suited us, because we spent most of the days walking in the town and sunbathing on the beach the temperature was in the 30s so it was nice to return to a nice cool pool and cool area; the pool was cleaned every day and was very clean.

This Hotel was mainly occupied by elderly Spanish clientele, I unfortunately have to say who where not at all friendly towards our English Party, unfriendly, sometimes very rude, impolite, and arrogant.

Now!....Apart from the Cleaners, and the Lady who wore spectacles on Reception the Management Staff seemed very unfriendly and sometimes hostile towards our English Party, Why? we don't know, but we got the distinct impression that this was a Spanish Hotel and the English where not welcome even though they accept English bookings and the money spent in the Hotel.

I have to point out the "Spanish Lady Bar Tender", was a most unpleasant, unfriendly, arrogant person we had ever come across, she would always give priority to the Spanish/Italian Guests, and kept us English waiting and last to be served. The Bar closed at 12 midnight on the dot the lights where dimmed at this time, we where told in no uncertain terms to finish our drinks and leave the Pool/ garden because it was going to be locked up, not what we expected on a Spanish Holiday!

When it was time to check out nobody from the management asked if we had enjoyed our stay and not a thank you or good bye.

Finally Hotel Camposol was in very good location 5/10 minutes walk to the Old Main Town, Beach and Restaurants, we all enjoyed our Holiday and Benidorm, we would all go back, but not to Hotel Composol.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
D Wright
9 years 3 months ago
when i read the reviews on this hotel i was dreading going but it wasnt as bad as people make out.
location was ok situated in the old town and 5 minute walk from the beach, not good if you want to spend most of your time in the new town because its quite a walk. also you go up a hill to get to the hotel so not so good for the disabled!
the hotel was very clean, maid service daily, clean towels etc. there was a slight smell at night on the corridoor but you could never smell it in the room.
the food was ok, im such a fussy eater so it wasnt really any good for me, breakfast was eggs, bacon, toast, beans n continental etc. and the main meals was choices of salads, fish and meat, i have to add it was chips with everything!!!!!
hotel staff didnt speak much english but were ok, the hotel certainly caters more for the spanish!!
all in all you get what you pay for, if you want a cheap holiday go here!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: low cost holidays

Recommended
Paul A. Reeves
10 years 1 month ago
I stayed there for 1 week. I had not read reviews on this or any other site before travelling, or else I would not have gone!
In the event, I found that I had absolutely nothing to complain about. The room was spotless. The food was hot, plentiful, and there was a lot of choice. In the time that I was there, there was no repetition of main courses, either fish or meat. If you were a vegetarian, there was enough salad to fill yourself up with.
The staff were helpful and efficient. With very little Spanish and a smile I managed to communicate very well. There was not a lot of entertainment, but as it was November, I did not expect any. The Spanish football was interesting to watch on television, and made a change from the constant diet of Manchester United or Chelsea!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Suzanne
10 years 4 months ago
The hotel was definitely Spanish orientated. I have never been to Spain and been made to feel unwelcome by the Spaniards, but I certainly did with the the staff and other Spanish guests here. It was noisy every night, with groups of lads (Spanish, not English for once!) creating massive amounts of noise. When one of our English counterparts went to complain at 4am, she was told 'You pay basic, you get basic'. The pool is ALWAYS in the shade. Don't think that people are exaggerating on this point - they are not. Therefore, it was always cold. No welcoming smile when you walked into the hotel - you are totally blanked. Unless you leave the patio door open to the pool - then you get bawled at (again, unless you are not British!). Location was very close to the beach. Walking into the town centre, however, in the old Spanish part in the evening was a nightmare, and too busy. Food was ok, nothing special. The maids and cleaners are the best thing about this hotel - very friendly, and do a great job. I wouldn't ever go back - even if you paid me. I have been to Benidorm many times, but would never stay in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Mrs Alison Rich
10 years 5 months ago
The hotel was dark and dingy. Cockroaches in the bed and corridors. Meals were inpalatable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidaycitysuperstore.com

Liam
10 years 8 months ago
This hotel was the cheapest on the internet...... and now we know why! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The hotel from the outsude looks like something from the 70's and meeting staff upon arrival is no better with there poor english. First room we stayed in was small and smelt of sewage, so moved on day 2 where the room was much better but still basic. Cannot fault how clean the place was however the smell of sewage in the corridors was less than pleasant.

BED & BREADFAST- not worth the money, thought it was strange on the first day when no english people were eating in there..... it was awful and we didnt go back. Rude staff, little choice, poor quality food and generally not pleasant.

The pool was not used once by anyone while we were there as it is constantly in the shade and can be swam in about 3 stokes. English people are not welcome in the bar downstairs as spanish take it over and make you feel extremly unwelcome.

However the location is great for beaches, shopping and nighlife!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Asda

Taylor
10 years 10 months ago
this hotel is the worst i have ever stayed in
rooms were clean but curtains and bedspreads had big holes in them
smell of sewerage in room and corridors
food disgusting always cold 1 choice meat 1 choice fish plenty of salad.
there wasnt any tea coffee making equiptment in rooms so had to wait till breakfast to get hot drink
spainish oaps were rude ignorant slam doors in your face queue jump shove you out of the way .
staff all unhelpful.
the hotel is right opposite a multistorey car park
pictures of hotel on different websites dont look anything like it looks now photos must have been taken about 30yrs ago
DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: fleetway

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum