Image of Poseidon Playa Hotel

Poseidon Playa Hotel

74 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de la Armada EspaƱola, 3, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
The Poseidon Playa Hotel is located a half a mile walk or bus ride to the old town of Benidorm, but benefits from the beach being just a across the road. The pool area, with terrace has a lovely bar for guests to enjoy.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good for a few days
5 years ago
We were there for 7 days the hotel you could not fault, clean, and most of the staff were fine.

We were half board, for the first three days the food was OK, but for the rest of the week if you liked fish you were OK, they put fish with everything.

Would I recommend? yes but only for B&B. The entertainment was for Spanish not any other nationality. The hotel is in Old Town, not too far to walk, but if you are not good on your feet then a taxi is about 10 euro to Lavante and to the centre of old town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
R & L Crow
We would use this hotel again but only if we could move it out of Benidorm.
8 years ago
The hotel was spotless. Food was OK and we never went hungry, but by the end of the week all seemed to taste the same. The hotel is in a fantastic spot at the quieter end of Benidorm. All rooms have a sea view which is fantastic, and also have air-conditioning, which unfortunately, was switched off during the night so the room got quite stuffy.

We were there in second week of August which is during the Spanish holidays, so the hotel was full of Spanish which wasn't a problem but the entertainment was all in Spanish.

We would use this hotel again but only if we could move it out of Benidorm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carl
9 years 2 months ago
This was my second stay at the posiedon, and on this occassion it was our Honeymoon.

My wifes case did not arrive and the hotel staff were top class in ringing and chasing it on our behalf ensuring it arrived at the hotel, cannot find any fault at all with the team.

Cleanliness was great, many maids on all floors and the pool area was cleaned everyday.

The hotel is situated in the poiniente end of Benidorm and people should not be put off by the new promenade being constrcuted as all cafes are open and people working really hard to give you a good service and the work really is not at all intrusive.

Would definately visit again and hope to do so later this year. Ideal location if you have a family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Bob & Jenny
9 years 8 months ago
Food was fantastic with a great variety on offer for Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner, Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and towel and linen also this hotel is certainly the cleanest I have ever been to anywhere in the world, Entertainment provided for guests 7 days a week, This was our first time to this hotel in Benidorm and it wont be our last, If your looking for a quiter holiday in Benidorm go to this Hotel as its peacefull and quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Diy

Recommended
Steve
10 years 8 months ago
Review removed.

We do not accept reviews from the country where the hotel is based. Please resubmit on your return to the UK.

Admin
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Maggie & Maria
10 years 11 months ago
This was our second visit to the same hotel. We had been delighted the previous year with the location which is directly opposite the beach. There was a lot of building work going on at the main road, but this did not affect access to and from the hotel. We were once again on half board but simply used the hotel for bed and breakfast. It's a very reasonable holiday with Direct so we prefer to eat out each night. Once again we found the Hotel very clean, the Staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, although we did not partake of the evening entertainment. We are planning to go back again - I don't think 3 summers is enough time to see Benidorm!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Lisa
11 years ago
The hotel is ok, clean and right on the beach. The food was not bad but not much choice for a 6 year old.
I know we were in Spain but the Hotel catered for the Spanish clientele from the food to the entertainment. Where as hotels in the Levante end cater a lot more for the British visitor.
The pool was great but they regularly have games in the bigger pool so everyone seemed to cram in to the kids pool.
There's not a lot to do in the vacinity of the Hotel as there is a big revamped happening at the moment so most of the shops/bars/restaurants are closed butIt was only 1 euro to catch the bus in to the Old town which was far more busy and from there it is only a short walk in to New Benidorm, which has a great selection of bars & restaurants and had a lot more to entertain a 6 year old.
All in all we had a great holiday and the hotel was only somewhere to sleep as we were out & about most of the time. I would go back to Benidorm but i would stay in the Levante end of the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Fiona & Family
11 years 9 months ago
Poseidon Playa, Benidorm

Was not disappointed with the location of the hotel. Across the road from the beach as promised. This could either be reached by the underpass at the front of the hotel, or by crossing over the main road which was no problem due to their being a pedestrian crossing in front of the hotel too. We used the crossing as there is a small shop beside it to get supplies for the beach for the day!

Slight incline in front of the hotel is just that - no problem at all even though you do getted dropped off/picked up at the bottom of it. Public bus stop there as well with an excellent bus service running either into main Benidorm or up to Terra Mitica and Terra Natura.

We were on the 10th floor and the views were brilliant. Please ask for a lower floor if you are scared of heights as balcony is not totally closed in at the bottom! Also, the higher you are the longer you wait for the lifts. There are 4 but they are very busy, especially around meal times.

Room was small for 3 but for the amount of time we spent in it, it was quite adequate. Hotel in general is kept very clean - cleaners cleaned room and changed towels every day.

Had breakfast every morning and was plenty of choice. Either cooked food, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit etc. Free juice, tea, coffee and even champagne!! Only had evening meal twice as there are so many other places to eat out but the food we did have at night was fine, even with a picky 4 year old! There is a bar at night for you to purchase your drinks to have with your evening meal.

Did not really experience much of the hotel entertainment. Seemed to be Spanish based though.

Although there are quite a few bars/cafes both ways along the road from the hotel, it is only 1 euro each to get a bus to the busier Levante end and Old Benidorm. This is definately where the action is! Plently for all ages to do from tots to OAPs!

If you book with Thomson there is not a rep based at the hotel and you have to go to another hotel to go to the welcome meeting. We did not bother as we arranged our own excursions etc. There is a Thomas Cook rep based in the hotel and they have a folder which anyone can use which is quite useful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson/Skytours

Recommended
Maggie & Maria
11 years 10 months ago
This was our first summer holiday in Benidorm. We had chosen the Poseidon Playa for the situation to the beach and were not disappointed.

Our room was on the third floor and the sea view was excellent.

The hotel is immaculately clean. Reception staff and cleaner were both always pleasant and helpful.

We hired a fridge at a cost of 29 Euros for the 2 weeks - well worth it. Although on half board, we had already decided to eat all our evening meals out. Breakfast was the usual buffet of sausage, bacon, eggs, cereal and it was always plentiful although not always as hot as it could be.

The location to the beach is excellent and the loungers only cost 8 euros a day for 2.

The only real problem we found with this accommodation was the "slight incline" from the road to the hotel reception area. On the day we were arrived the temperature was in the high 80s and we were dropped with our suitcases at the bottom of the road. We noticed all British Tour Operators did this but Spanish Tour Operators buses always dropped at reception - strange because it was the same bus company.

We will visit this Hotel again and found the prices at the bar very reasonable, the walls of the rooms did seem very thin and it could be noisy at times.

We cannot comment on the evening meals but other people we spoke to at the hotel said they were fine.

There is a high percentage of Spanish to British at the Hotel and although there are 4 lifts, you might find yourself having quite a wait - would not want to be on a high floor for this reason.

Would recommend the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
June
12 years 4 months ago
Arrived and was given a room on the first floor, directly opposite air conditioning things over the bar area, the noise was a constant humming which was actually worse inside the room than on the balcony, never slept for two nights so asked for a change of room, reception was really good and moved us to the ninth floor, brilliant! The cleanliness of the hotel couldn't be better, we even had an inspector come into our room to check on the cleaners work.

Food was OK we stayed a week and nothing was repeated, although the usual fish, chicken and meat was available there was always something you could choose.
The area around the hotel was very quiet, not many bars to choose from but the bus stops right outside and there are always taxis.

All the hotel staff were pleasant, we did notice that if we came back to the hotel after one or two in the morning no one was on reception and the doors automatically opened, not very securtity minded. Never really stayed in for the entertainment at night, but there was always something going on during the day, archery, bowls etc.

Next time we visit Benidorm we would stay closer to the Old Town which we prefer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum