Image of Selomar Hotel

Selomar Hotel

85 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Calle de la Virgen de la Almudena, 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gibson
12 years 1 month ago
The hotel is well located across the semi-pedestrianised road from the sandy Levante Beach and adjacent to the Old Town. This is good for families especially as you can get anything you want at the nearby shops, cafes, bars and supermarkets.

The hotel itself is o.k. in the public areas but the rooms are very shabby. However everything is kept very clean and the Staff are helpful and friendly. It was very quiet at night despite being so close to the Old Town.

Do not expect it to be anything like 4 Star in spite of the fact that you get multi-channel t.v. a minibar, hairdryer, safe and various goodies in the bathroom. The food is pretty varied.

Breakfast always has enough variety to suit most nationalities including the Great British Fry-Up. At dinner, the soup is tasteless powder mix stuff, the salads are very good.

The main course is a matter of choosing the least curious form of meat or veg but the desserts will generally encourage you to put on all the calories you saved by eating the salad.

Finally, the entertainment is very poor. Currently there are some very cheap deals on offer for this hotel so you can live with the shortcomings. Finally, we were informed that it will be closed next year for complete refurbishment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hellosunshine

Recommended
Phil Oates
12 years 6 months ago
First impression of the Hotel Selomar was good.

The location is excellent.

The reception is very smart and the staff were helpful.

The Hotel was quiet, I would assume because of the time of year. We had only paid for the most basic rooms but were upgraded to side, sea view rooms, for nothing. The Hotel is very clean but some of the rooms are a bit dated.

The food was adequate with a fairly good selection both for breakfast and evening meal. Both are buffet service, which was great for the more hungry among us.

Didn't stop in for the entertainment so cannot comment about it. It is classed as a 4* hotel, be under no illusions that if you are expecting this to be the same standard as a 4* Hotel at home, you are going to be disappointed. The Hotel is excellent value for money. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 118 Travel

Recommended
Bill
12 years 7 months ago
Our first night was a very noisy room on the 2nd floor, asked to be moved the next morning.

Good room on the 7th floor on the side with sea view. food poor for a Bali Group Hotel, definately need new chefs.

The hotel cleanliness was excellent, rooms very clean. super position on the beach. Hotel staff really need to go to be trained on customer services. Entertainment was good.

The local spanish people put coats on seats to reserve for their friends, covering the first 3 rows of tables, which left only seats at the back for hotel guests. the spanish locals had no need to purchase drinks whilst the entertainment was on but there was a 60cent supplement on drinks for the hotel guests.

We would stay at the hotel again providing we had the same room on the 7th floor and the food improved. For the entertainment we would go elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
Hadrian Bithell
12 years 11 months ago
This hotel is a 3 star the only reason a 4 star is the location.

The reception and bar areas are very nice.

This is a Spanish hotel but the food is very good. If you like sea food there is fresh shrimps, all types of fish, if you like meat there is chicken, steak, pork, spare ribs, kebabs,liver and many many more plus all your cold meats and salads.
Breakfast, bacon, eggs ect.

The rooms are a bit dated but are cleaned every day and bedding and towels changed every day. If you wanted to up-grade your room to a sea view it costs 20 euros a night per room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: excell

Recommended
Clive
12 years 11 months ago
Hotel in general was not brilliant. But the staff were cool.

Food was poor.

Didn't see any entertainment.

Would return again for the comedy value.

The locals enjoyed seeing batman on the beach, whose identity will remain secret!!

LOVED IT
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended
Barry
13 years ago
We visited the hotel Selomar for 10 nights in June and found it to be quite acceptable.

The general cleanliness in good and the maids are very friendly and efficient.

The food however was not very good although it was edible. The staff in the restaurant were very unfriendly with one lady pointing at her watch and pulling her face at 8.50pm when they served till 9.30pm very off putting
reception team very surly we where also charged a supplement of 14 euros per night for a sea view on the side of the hotel.

Entertainment very dreary one fella pretending to play the keyboards and some surly faced lady clicking her fingers in time with the music

As far as it goes yes we would visit the hotel again.

Thank you!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
13 years 6 months ago
I stayed at the Selomar from 23/12 to 30/12 and found it a nice hotel with an ideal location right on the seafront, close to all amenities and also in a quiet area of Benidorm.

I had a rear view room which wasn't bad and kept very clean by the maids who worked hard.

Foodwise there was plenty available although not always the greatest you could wish for, but the staff were excellent and most were very friendly.

All in all not a bad holiday but if I go back to Benidorm I would pick a different hotel as I like variety.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Anita & Geoff Wilcox
13 years 9 months ago
Reasonably clean, but the hotel very "tired". The location is superb though. With a total refurbishment it would be very good. Food OK, but the dining room too hot on many occasions, unless you could find a table near the window. Dining room staff not overly friendly. Bedrooms extremely dismal and depressing.Bathrooms very old. Entertainment caters only for locals, but Benidorm has excellent entertainment anyway.Has a small rooftop pool and sunbathing area, which we used. Could be made much better than it is though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Martin
13 years 10 months ago
I thought this hotel was fine. The food was of a very mixed quality but more than often it was possible to put together a decent plate of say salad, calamari, rice etc. We used the restaurant just for breakfast and a light lunch; in the evenings we went so some of the lovely fish restaurants nearby as well as an alley way just around the corner which has fantastic tapas.
I liked the fact that most of the guests were Spanish families or older Spanish - the British are at the other end of the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Peter
14 years 1 month ago
Anyone who slags off the Selomar must have something wrong with them. It is a clean, pleasant hotel with a great location on the seafront. Staff are polite/friendly, food is adequate and if you have a seaview room, you couldnt ask for nicer position.
Avoid the side seaview rooms and the back rooms. There can be lots of noise from the street below and the local school during the daytime.
definitely somewhere we would stay again. No problems at all during an enjoyable stay and can't understand the damning report further down the page!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum