Image of Catalunya Apartments

Catalunya Apartments

63 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars
C/ Vendrell 14-16 43840, Salou, Spai

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Farrow
9 years 4 months ago
Our appartment had no aircondtioning which we had booked, had to take own linen and towels, no kettle. The shower was broken the bathroom had mouled all round the tiles. There was noise every night from night clubs, people shouting and buses and cars beeping horns. The pool had live things swimming in it(not just human!?). The lifts kept breaking down to.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Oh-Barcelona.com

10 years 3 months ago
Arrived at this hotel at 11am and got told our rooms were not ready till 1.30 but they had a luggage room, well it's more like a dumping yard!! with smelly old beds lying around, so anyway went to have a look around and was very dissapointed it was filthy the loos beside the pool had no toilet roll or soap and there was human mess smeared inside the toilet roll holder!!! we then went in to the bar area were there was a unfreindly bar man who did'nt take you on but stared at you and the bar was also disgusting

When we got to our room wich was in block 2 the room was very basic and dingy we soon came to discover that this hotel is mainly owned by locals and some rooms are for tour operators. there are little cockroaches everywhere, as for cleaning you have to do it yourself aswell as change your bed and buy toilet roll because the cleaner just leaves the sheets and towells on the side for you to do wich is a complete joke who goes on holiday to do these things?

The pool area was only open for the first few days we were there after that you had to use the pool at internacional 2 across the road thats also where the reception is as there is'nt one at the catalunya 92 or as stated in the brochure catalonia gardens apts. So all i can say is that you really should avoid staying here it did'nt have a nice holiday feeling about it and we were so glad to get home!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Roseanne Mulholland
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed at this hotel with my sister and our friend for 2 weeks. After reading some of the bad reviews about this hotel we were so afraid!!
We arrived at the hotel around 11.00am and were given our room at 1.30pm. We didn't mind at all and waited in the bar area.
We were shown our room which was situated on the 7th floor (the lift only went to the 6th and there were a short flight of stairs to a steel door) Our room was massive it had a bedroom with 2 single beds, bathroom, large living area and kitchen. Our terrace was the main focus of our room is was so huge! We had a view of our pool the nearby forest and Fuerteventura!! The views were amazing!

Our room was cleaned twice a week, the beds were changed and clean towels were also left twice a week. The maid was lovely and always left our room clean and fresh.

The food in the hotel was also lovely we only ever really had lunch there and ended up eating out at night time, the prices of food is reasonable as well as the drink.

Hotel staff here are brilliant sometimes we couldnt get the steel door opened and even though they were so busy they came the whole way up to the 7th floor and helped us. They always had smiles on their faces which is want you want to see.

The entertainment was not so good at night time, but families enjoyed it we went to the nearby clubs and bars anyway which is what you will end up doing. The entertainment at the pool is OK though the music gets you in the mood for a sing a long! ! lol

Overall please do not listen to the bad reviews on this hotel they are all lies!!! Believe me!! I couldnt believe it when i got there, me and my friends kept saying to ourselves those reviews were a bunch of s*it!

I am hoping to return to Catalonia next year as i enjoyed it so much!! And you will too. After all it is a basic room and so cheap to get there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Ella And Rob
12 years 3 months ago
When we arrived the hotel staff did everything in their power to accomodate us,we found them to be very friendly and pleasant to be around.

The room was basic but clean and the pool and bar area was spotless,the prices were reasonable and the food was not too bad, but make sure the waiter brings it to you immediately the buzzer sounds or it will be cold as this happened to us on more than one occasion.

One thing though,if you are not Southern Irish,then the tricolours fluttering in the breeze might offend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Berni
12 years 4 months ago
Catalonia Gardens, I had read really bad reports but was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Not great but clean enough for a base.

Clean towels every 2 days and cleaned twice a week. No air conditioning, had to hire fans at a cost which were inefficient- very little air came out.

Food in restaurant cheap and cheerful. Location very central for shops, bars, restaurants etc but could be noisy at night esp for families with kids, but in block 1 facing bar and pool we found it ok.

Had no dealings with staff except in bar, who needed to be a bit more pleasant to customers.

Entertainment was repetitive and quite rude while children were present eg men getting bras + pants off girls in audience and flashing their private parts, my daughter is only 7 and witnessed this. It was also geared towards English customers so we felt inferior and were booed on occasions when entering competitions. To any Irish holiday makers I would say if you want to be in the minority and watch this type of vulgarity with your kids then this is the place for you, if not give it a wide berth.

We would visit Salou again but stay somewhere we felt welcome and treated equally.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Veronica
12 years 4 months ago
These were the worst apartments I have ever stayed at. We were in block 1 which overlooked a very busy road where cars hooted their horns all night and a German nightclub that was very loud and went on till 6am every morning.

We had no linen or towel change the whole week, saw no maid till the morning we were leaving when they knocked the door bang on 10am and ordered us out. The toilet was smelly all week and the hot water ran out all the time.

Reception staff very rude.

Entertainment was ok.

Pool was lovely which had a lifeguard at all times.

If you are due to stay here then I would seriously reconsider.

Salou itself nice place, good places to eat were Sinatra's, Hollywood's and Texas grill. Champions great at night for kids as have clown nearly every night to amuse kids.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpharooms

Julie Purvis
12 years 4 months ago
My family booked this holiday 1 year ago there was 18 members of our family 4 apartments were booked. Before we went I went onto the internet for reviews these were not good upon that I e-mailed Aspro and was advised that rival companys have acsess to the net, this reassured me, another family member asked our travel agent and was told that they had no complaints about these apartments.

On our arrival at the reseption the staff were so rude. We were given our rooms, I was in a totally different block to the others, the room was filthy, the single bed still had dirty tissues in the bed, the curtains were falling down.

The dinning room table that was supposed to fit five was a garden table(WOOD)this was a mess with a dirty table cloth.

It was supposed to be self catering the cooker was rusty with no shelving. I went straight to reception the girl on the desk did not understand me whilst I was there other members of my family came to complain also other guests.

It was totaly a mess. We had our welcome meeting and the poor rep was past herself as everyone was up in arms. She has resigned while we were there.

IF you are booked in these apartments don't go you will regret this.

It was a total nightmare.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Hopkins
12 years 4 months ago
When we arrived the room was'nt ready we had to wait 5 hours.

When we got our room we were very disapointed one of the beds was broken with a very small piece of foam for a mattress,the smoke alarm had been taped up and painted over,the shower hook was broken off we had no kettle or toaster so basically we cooked on two cooker rings all week.

We were also concerned about the patio door not locking cos there had been a few breakins in this block.We complained to the rep a few times but nothing got resloved.This block is above a nightclub that is open until 5am so is not suited to families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Don
12 years 6 months ago
Heard a few mixed reviews about these appartments but I like to make my own mind up, and I'm glad I did.

I thought the appartments where spotless and well maintained the staff where very helpfull and pleasant. The rooms where very basic but we where hardly in there was so much to do elsewhere and if you what a quiet night in in front of the tv, you can hire one at a cost.

The pool was also spotless with it's own lifegaurd. The pool opened at 10 so you where almost guaranteed a bed. (no throwing the towels down at 6am.)

Cant say anymore about it. GREAT!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Recommended
Sonya
12 years 6 months ago
We arrived in Salou at 10.30am were driven to an office to check in and were told we could not get the key to our rooms until 4 o'clock and there was 100 euro dep, for each room!!!,

We had two rooms both of which smelt disgusting we found food on our balcony and our bathroom was covered in dirt and mould, our friends found their balcony covered in broken glass the smell in their room was disgusting and their 'furniture' had definately seen better days!

Many groups changed hotels but we decided to stay as we are a young group that was only going to use the rooms as a base, if we had children with us we would have been the first out, general untidiness about whole place- also having pitch black corridoors is not a good idea, staff not overly friendly but ok.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices