Image of Mariposa Apartments

Mariposa Apartments

67 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 31 reviews
Calle de Vendrell, 19 Salou Costa Dorada ES-43840, 43850, Spain

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    8

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karl Wood
Asked for a cash deposit!
6 years 10 months ago
Really stuffy in the room as there was no air conditioning, staff didn't seem to care and tried to sell us a table fan to use.

Not too clean so we had to wipe everything down when we got there (not paranoid but room was quite dirty)

To check in, you have to pay a large cash deposit starting from euro 110 (varied depending who was checking in, up to euro 250 for an older guy who checked in before us. They were really funny about giving out receipts.

Young girl on reception didn't care at all and laughed when we said we weren't told about having to pay a cash deposit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Katie
8 years 11 months ago
We went to this hotel in June. We had an absolute scream! The hotel was clean but basic, the reception was helpful. This hotel would not be recommened for families or anyone wanting a quiet holiday. Its a typical 18-30s place..people coming in at early hours screaming, laughing. but would say for any groups going, it is ideal. Fantastic location, not to worry about upsetting anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ian+janet
10 years 8 months ago
on arrival the appartments looked quite good.
a spacious living area with a recently fitted kitchen complete with a 4 ring [touch top]hob,toaster, microwave and fridge/freezer.
the bedroom was very small with only 5 or 6 hangers in what is meant to be a wardrobe[not much space for clothes]
there was no air conditioning which resulted in the appartment [and ourselves] staying very hot causing us to sweat badly during the night.
you could hire a fan at the reception 25e/18
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mrs S Waldron
10 years 8 months ago
Oh Dear I Read some of the reviews on the Mariposa Apartments unfortunately id already booked the holiday going on the 10th September 2007 but well you can't believe all you read or can you, well here goes apartment was was a bit tatty but clean and spacious enough if there is only two of you ours was meant for four (Sardine comes to mind) Maid service was great if you wanted clean towels we got them every other day just don't expect them to clean tidy or take the rubbish out or anything Really,the Noise from outside and the apartments was hurendus we came in at all hours and the noise was just the same night after night people shouting doors banging you name it. no air con and a very large deposit for your apartment in our opinion Don't Go
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Traval

Recommended
Kia Hague
10 years 9 months ago
this hotel was gr8.
very clean.
pool was good.
close to local shops.
pubs nearby.
good location.
lots of activities to do.
weather fab.
love to go back!

kia hague
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sam
10 years 11 months ago
The Mariposa is a mix of private and rented property. We booked with Freedom Direct and as a result of this for a 10 night stay we had no maid service and only had clean sheets and towels once, if we wanted more we had to pay for it.

We were not impressed with our apartments, they were dirty, sheets had cigarette burns in, curtains had holes in, the beds in the living room were so old that when you lay on the matress it was like being on the floor, several broken floor tiles.

All in all the place simply is not maintained at all. The apartment we stayed in was no 8 on the 4th floor staircase 2. I think it depends who owns the property you stay in as other people were very happy with their apartments.

A very important point is there is no 24 hour reception so if like us you have a private transfer from the airport make sure you arrive before 11pm as this is when reception closes. We arrived at 4 in the morning and had no way of getting our keys.Luckily another resident came back to their apartment and told us that the keys are left at another hotel for you to collect (it might have helped if the holiday company had told us this before hand) the place is called "Albatross Hotel" this is located- if you stand outside Mariposa looking at Sinatras you go right, up the hill to the top.

Then go right down the hill and you will see Albatross on the left hand side of the road, you have to leave a passport to obtain the keys.

Also not having a 24 hour reception can cause problems with noise, out of 10 nights we only got a few decent nights sleep due to inconsiderate residents fighting and drinking, buy earplugs!

A few people commented previously on the pool but we found it fine, on a hot day it was just right but no good on a cloudy day but that is the same with all the outdoor pools.

Places to eat, I would recommend the 19th hole, under the apartments, food is fantastic, staff are fantastic and the prices are great!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

T Cook
11 years 7 months ago
I have just returned from the Mariposa after booking last minute holiday. I was a bit weary as we go to Florida every year where everything is spotless, but what a fantastic holiday this was.

Apartmentss were spotless. Yes basic but everything we needed was there. We are now arranging to go back same time next year.

If you go you should definitely go to Sinatra's bar across the road from apartments..amazing
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Robert Ocallaghan
11 years 8 months ago
I have travelled abroad for forty years, and these apartments have got to be the noisest in then noisest area of Salou. As prev/reported the culprits were mostly from Ulster or north-east england.

No bar/no lounge/no security. I think that sums this excuse for hol/apts up. I returned home and slept for 18hrs because I hardly slept all week on hols.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Gary Cox
11 years 8 months ago
My partner and mother and father and I stayed in the Mariposa apts in Salou I had read some disturbing reports on this site but let me tell you that the bad ones were unfounded, they were clean comfy and equipped well. Microwave, fridge freezer, oven etc. Towels changed 3 times per week but not bed linen. Some spare in wardrobes though so forget all the bad reports you read on here just go there and enjoy yourself. For the money your paying don't expect 5 star rooms for 1 star money.

Great location to just enough away from the centre so you dont get rowdy gang's all night outside your window but close enough to walk in 10 Min's.

One gripe pool doesn't get enough sun but you have 2 small coves and 3 large beaches within 10 Min's walk I can't wait to return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Julie
11 years 9 months ago
The Mariposa is an excellent choice of apartments, it is very well run and the staff are very efficient and helpful.

The apartments are spotlessly clean and the towels changed every two days, they are private and it was usually quiet on the corridors. The pool area is excellent and their were always sunbeds free! There is also a roof top terrace where you can sunbathe privately.

The only minus points was the lack of air conditioning, it also doesnt have entertainment or a bbar but you are surrounded by friendly bars and lots of shops.

You will not be disappointed!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum