Image of Best Residencial Michelangelo Hotel

Best Residencial Michelangelo Hotel

45 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Lleida, 43840 Salou, Spain

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Dale Haigh
11 years 3 months ago
Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on 2nd floor overlooking the now defunct crazy golf bt with a large balcony and view of the pool.
Decor was a little "tired" but functional. 2 rings, oven and toaster, various pans and enough crockery to cater for the family. TV with normal spanish cnannels plus Eurosport & CNN operated without the remote (which could be hired from reception). Main bedroom contained safety deposit box - key hired from reception. Beds were reasonably comfortable and plenty of pillows. Air con worked but only available in lounge area.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Entertainment was Spanish based but the kids enjoyed it, particularly the Flamenco show. Overall for what we paid we got value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/JMC

Recommended
Russ
12 years 2 months ago
When reading some of the reviews on here, I wonder if I stayed in the same place! The Michaelangelo was ideally situated (within 5 mins walk of the beach / promenade) and plenty of bars along the way!

The lifts were OK but made a few creeking noises on the move!

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment which was plenty big enough, although the cooking facilities were a bit naff - the rings on the Cooker took at least 15 mins to boil the kettle on!!

Never cooked anything in the cooker / oven as it was quicker to go out!!

The cupboards were a bit tatty but the wardrobes were big enough.

The beds were quite comfortable (which makes a change for Spainish hotels!!)

The pool was shaded until about 11am (bearing in mind it was early Sept) and the sun stayed around the pool until about 5.30pm ish!

The reception staff were OK and helpful enough when we asked for their help.

The Bar area was large and Happy hour was excellent!!

Bearing in mind we only paid roughly
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Stead
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was quite clean, maids in every 1-3 days.

Hotel food was for the Spanish, so we found a restaurant called the titanic tavern, which catered for English, with breakfast, snacks and evening meals, and also had excellent entertainment every evening until 2am.

The location was 100 metres from the beach, 30 metres from shops and bars, and close to the bus station for buses to take you all over the resorts of Salou, Cambrils, Port Aventura, La Pineda, Cap Salou and Barcelona.

The staffs at the reception were ok, but the bar staffs were very slow and disappeared quite frequently. Entertainment catered for the Spanish as a lot of Spanish stayed in the hotel and hotels over the road (Da Vinchi).

The Spanish always had the sun beds so you had to get out early and put the towels out early. The Spanish over the road were quite arrogant and get all the brollys and the staff that organised games was for the Spanish and never asked you if you want to join in.

The rep was interested in flogging her trips to Barcelona for 20 euros more than it is from the bus company Plana for each person.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook-jmc

A.Gilbert
12 years 5 months ago
Only one thing to say about this hotel dont bother it would take to long to tell you anything good about it, sorry aircon was the best.

The pool not bad, not enough sunbeds. We spent the two weeks eating out, never stopped in their bar found better places to eat and drink.

Read about this hotel in reviews after we had booked it not many good reports about the hotel but we said we have to make the best of it, and we did.

Try the rose and crown, the cottage and the vine, irish bar, all great places for food and drink.

Anyway a holiday is what you make it, good or bad hotels.

p.s.entertainment rubbish all Spanish in all hotels in the main part of town.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

L Parkins
12 years 5 months ago
went to this hotel expecting a well deserved break.never been so dissapointed.took my neice to the childrens pool to find it full of sick which was still there two days later.no entertainment for us or the kids only if you were fluant in spanish.the lights on the balcony went out at ten so you could not sit out.be warned do not go to this hotel.we love salou and the only good point was it was so near to the beach.never again. L.Parkins
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

M Harris
13 years 2 months ago
Where shall I start...there were 6 adults and 5 children in three rooms all various ages we were self catering so trying to cook for 5 of us on two electric hobs was absolutely madness so we gave up on the first night.

We were going to try the food in the hotel but we didnt think the kids could stomach squid or that type of food,so we ate out from then on. The hotel on the whole was quite clean,the entertainment was drab to say the least unless you can speak spanish,dutch or german. The bar closes at twelve regardless if you still got a drink or the kids are on the machines you will be asked to leave.

The staff are a waste of time ,the cupboards were falling apart,the lights on the balcony only stayed on from 8pm to 9.30pm and the balconies looked like they were ready to collapse,as for the pool go to the beach instead the kids can play on lilos there and not risk hurting themselves on the broken slabs or the draincovers.

Oh and by the way if it rains whilst you are there and you want to go to recption wear your wellingtons the reception flooded twice whilst we were there. We had a night flight,out of the rooms by 10am,had to hang around for 17 hours,no refreshments were offered. Asked if there was somewere we could freshen up we were told we could use the sink in the toilets to wash or we could use the shower next to the pool,what a joke.
If you are a family and thinking of using this hotel take my advice give it a miss and find a diffrent one ,one wich caters for children ,there are plenty of better ones im sure. PS sorry for the bad spelling and grammar and thank god we had a good group with us that made the holiday,because the hotel didnt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Steven Hook
13 years 3 months ago
Would never come here again the room was a death trap for my kids, the kitchen worktops and utensils was dirty.

The entertainment was rubbish don't cater for the English.

The staff were miserable, unhelpful and ignorant.

The pool was dangerous, the rep was useless but the location was brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jmc

Karen S
13 years 4 months ago
A great location - not too far from beach, PortAventura, shops.

Rooms & balcony large, but furniture stuck in a 70's time warp. The drawers were falling apart & the furniture was quite scruffy. Can't see why they don't invest in electric kettles - putting a kettle on the electric hob must be much more expensive. If they spent a bit of money on updating the rooms it could be great.

Warning - room deposit of 60 euros demanded, as well as 18 euros cost for safety deposit key.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

13 years 4 months ago
These apartments are in a good location, only a few minutes walk from the beach with a supermarket just around the corner.

They are in a quiet area, however if you have an apartment overlooking the street it is pretty noisy at night with late night party go-ers making their way home.

Our apartment had 2 bedrooms and a huge balcony, but some of the fittings were incredibly old, especially the hob and oven which we never used. The bathroom looked as if it was newly tiled and was very clean. The balcony railing was loose and had a huge gap at the bottom , if I had young kids I would not let them out on that balcony.There is no table, only a large breakfast bar, we ate out on the balcony as it was shady and cool.

The apartment was clean and the maid service was 6 days a week and we had clean towels every day, beds were changed once halfway through our first week.

The air conditioning consisted of one unit for a 2 bed apartment which was fine when it worked, unfortunately it broke down frequently, which seemed to be a fairly common problem.

The biggest downside to these apartments is the pool area. The pool is in the shade till about 11am each day, and then again from 6pm on(in July), which makes it very cool especially on not very sunny days. The area around the pool is concrete slabs which are broken and misplaced and fairly dangerous. There is a kiddies splash pool, but the shallow end of the main pool is about 4 feet deep and then suddenly gets much deeper, its not really suitable for non swimmers. There is a pool guard on duty and you are not allowed to take inflatables into the pool. Also kids are not allowed to wear T-shirts in the pool , but as its in the shade for much of the time its not too much of a problem.

If you plan to spend you whole holiday lying around the pool then I would say don't go to theses apartments. Fortunately there is so much to do in Salou that it is not necessary to spend too much time there.

A deposit of sixty euros is required on arrival but they will accept forty pounds so you are not left with a lot of extra currency on your way to the airport.

I think these are quite nice apartments which are let down by the swimming pool, they are probably better suited to adults and older kids and I am surprised that they are in the JMC family brochure.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Kerri
13 years 5 months ago
I stayed here with my mum, little brother and best mate. We had a two bedroomed apartment. This was very spacious. The balcony overlooking the pool/mini golf course was huge!! The apartment had a double room, a twin room and a pull out sofa bed. It had a full bathroom with a big bath!!! It even had a full size fridge in the kitchen, which may I add was of excellent size also.

The apartments, pool, bar and reception area were very clean and tidy. The only problem I had was when I went into the bathroom and stood on a nail. This was originally a door stop but the rubber cover came off. My fault really, shouldn't have been dancing around after a few too many drinks!! - These were really reasonable prices in the hotel bar!

As for staff, the bar men were great!! Very entertaining! The night security receptionist was miserable and rude, but so would I be if I had to work those hours!!

The bar area put on evening entertainment that was so cheesy but so much fun. Everyone joined in! Excellent atmosphere!! So much to do outside the hotel as well!!

I had an amazing two weeks here and I cannot wait to go back again. Amazing value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum