Image of Riu Kaya Belek Hotel

Riu Kaya Belek Hotel

19 of 20 hotels in Belek

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
5 stars
Üçkum Tepesi, 07391 Belek/Antalya Province, Turkey

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
C
12 years 2 months ago
Just returned from Kaya Belek and had fantastic week.

Hotel recently been refurbished to a very high standard and is beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. Rooms all cleaned daily very well and all communal areas immaculate, although pool toilets could get bit smelly by the end of the day, but lobby and bar toilets spotless and beautiful! Always someone mopping a floor or polishing something, and they dont possess a wet foor sign!

Rooms comfortable although for the first few days our fridge didn't work, we didn't mention it but someone repaired it without being told after a few days! 'Air conditiong' in rooms is a glorified fan, people were moaning but left running day and night it did the job and rooms were lovely and cool.


Food gorgeous and plentiful, breakfast very basic and not the best but tides you over to amazing pizzas cooked in the ovens at the snack bar. Evening meals amazing if you can stand the heat and go outside where they cook in the outdoor ovens in front of you. Inside restaurant even more food, all very good and alot coler and non smoking!

Lifts have minds of their own, usually easier to walk the stairs if you can be bothered, they have a habit of sailing past or containing a child but its great exercise!

Pool bar lovely at night, didn't try the entertainment but they definitely get a gold star for effort! Definitely a lazy hotel and not for anyone who's easily bored.

Staff all quite nice and helpful but English not their best language and we're definitely in the minority amongst the Turks, Russians and Germans so did struggle a few times! Generally they were quite helpful and polite though, check in definitley brings Fawlty Towers to mind but worth a laugh!

Hotel quite a way from anywhere, Belek 20 minutes away in Taxi but rank straight outside the Hotel gates and apparently quite reasonable, area where the Hotel is mostly All Inclusive Hotels so not much in the way of stuff to do that we saw. Shops in Hotel all nice and staff struggle by with English, none of them could work Lira though so in hindsight wish we'd taken Euros!

Generally a fantastic holiday, beautiful hotel, pools fantastic and rooms comfortable!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
W Hall
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel Cleanliness: On the whole was very clean and there are cleaners busily cleaning all day and night but the pool toilets were rather smelly.

Hotel food: As it was all inclusive it does get a bit boring after the first week. You would never starve as there was food to be found a short distance from anywhere you may be. The main restaurant had no air con and was stiffling, they kept the doors and windows open but then you got cigarette smoke coming in and the dreaded birds that seem to fly in and just sit pecking the bread and cakes. A real hygiene hazard given the bird flu thing. It was hard to find a clean table and I had to turn the table cloth myself sometimes and my hubby got cuttlery himself!
Queuing for food would be fine except that the former Soviet Block guests (who make up at least 97% of guests) are rude and refuse to queue. They like to push in and push you out. They grab the serving spoons off you and hide excess food in their large canvas bags. The A'La Carte Restaurants are good for a change and more peaceful as the main restaurant area has unruly Soviet children running around and scarily skating around on some sort of wheelie shoes!! Very unsafe where there is hot food stuffs!!

Hotel location: The Thomson description says this hotel is on the doorstep of Belek and Kadriye, but this is a blatant lie as you have a 10 minute journey by a trailer to Kadriye and a 20 Euros taxi fare to Belek!!! No cafes, bars restuarant anywhere near by, so don't believe the brochure!

Hotel staff: Generally ok but only a handful are genuinely friendly. Some are just after a tip. The A'La Carte waiters are fantastic. I kept getting spoken to in German even though I clearly spoke in English!!

Hotel entertainment: Nothing to shout about. No indoor entertainment, the theatre is outside in the stiffling heat and where insects like to nibble you. Also outside is not smoke free so non smokers beware!! Never saw any bingo which is noted in holiday description!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Geoff Wells
15 years 1 month ago
When we walked in we went wow !!! When we left we couldn`t get away quick enough.

The staff`s grasp of english is very poor or they couldn`t be bothered as they only wanted to be helpful to the very large contingent of Germans and Russians

Food was ok but you had to queue sometimes quite a long time only for the above mentioned to push in. This was very frustrating and upsetting for the kids who we encouraged to choose their own food,(this was the same at all meal times).

Nothing to say about the entertainment except `pants`

The pool area although large didn`t have enough beds in the shade which meant getting at 6.45am to reserve the unreservable beds (some holiday that when you can`t get a lie in if you want).

We were warned by the rep there had been some people with ear infections so use ear plugs (ever tried to buy ear plugs in Turkey )

we all left the hotel with either ear infection or viral infection and awaiting to hear if we are going to be compensated for a rotten time there.

We shall never return ,never I say never.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Dave Pestridge
15 years 1 month ago
We expected the British to be in the minority as we did alittle bit of homework prior to booking - so we were not surprised- The Germans & Russians are catered for more so due to the fact that they have a policy of employing Turkish people and therefore there language skills revolve around this.

So we went there also knowing that the area was a little secluded - again we expected this - What can I say this was the most relaxing holiday we have had in a long time - we read / sunbathed and generally chilled out - superb.

The pool does get quite busy but there are numerous sunbeds on the beach with mattresses and parosols and we were never at a loss to find space whatever time of day we went down.

The food was extremely good, my daughter is very hard to please with regard to food but there was always something for her to eat, as for me,I never eat desserts or cakes, but if there is one thing you should try is their cakes, they are to die for.

Accomodation we found to meet our needs admirably and the staff were all very pleasant and try to please.
The Thomas Cook Kids Club was very good also, my daughter eager to attend most events.

All I will say is that your holiday is what you make it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angela Wallace
15 years 1 month ago
The hotel was lovely always kept clean and tidy.

Hotel rooms ok maids come in every day to tidy and hover and they are friendly.

Food was very nice especially when you see them cooking outside try their bread it's amazing. The only the I was annoyed at was the served a lot of turkey every night in fact but still lovely.

Pools outside are really nice can get a bit busy but what do you expect in heat like theirs? The inside pool is amazing freezing cold but good. Sea can be a bit rough so watch the kids in it, water sports rather cheap we tried parasailing it was amazing.

Staff are friendly and are helpful you be nice to them and they're the same back.

Entertainment isn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Anna Moore
15 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Kaya Belek hotel in Belek Turkey a supposingly 5* but was more like a 3* the rooms were dirty especially the carpets and sleeping arrangements were uncomfortable.

There was no air con in the main restaurant which was boiling hot and you couldn't stand it for very long. Doors were left open so it was free for insects and birds to fly around and perch on the supposingly fresh produce.

Whilst we were there many people came down with a serious stomach upset and ear infections many were admitted to the local hospital and many had treatment from the resident doctor we are still suffering back at home and are being tested for salmonella poisoning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ryan
15 years 1 month ago
Again, The Sun Zeynep is not 5*, more like 3*. The hotel itself is clean but the rooms were very scruffy and the maids sometimes only took 5 minutes to clean it!

Food was repetetive, gave up eating by the 2nd week. We went with some friends and luckily none of us was too ill. As long as you are careful with what you eat there should be no problem. The hotel is on a long strip with other hotels. These varied in colour and size.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The main problem was safety.

The adults and children both plaid football with no shoes on. There were a number of broken toes, legs and ankles. The entertainments staff were only helpful if you were Russian or Turkish. Ah! The Russians. They have now replaced the Germans in my heart. Rude and pushy!

Although we did not have a bad holiday (mainly because of the company) I would not go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

A Aitken
15 years 2 months ago
This Hotel said it was a five star. I would say more a Two plus.

The rooms were Basic and some over looked a building site at the side of the hotel. The hotel was right on the beach which was very stoney and hard to get out off.

The hotel staff were good except the night shift receptionist who was very unhelpful. The hotel Entertainment was a joke.

The best thing about this hotel was coming home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

J Dark
15 years 2 months ago
No way this Hotel is a 5 Star - more like a 3 star, although the hotel was clean enough - the bedrooms are a bit tatty and in need of modernisation.

The food was very repetitive and sometimes you had to queue for quite a while before being served, and then there are the Russians and Germans who do not believe in queing!!!!

The Staff are friendly, but speak very little English - they pay more attention to the Russians and Germans.

As for the entertainment - only one word "pants" again probably ok if you speak German or Russian - but we didn't understand a word. The kids mini disco was a farce, nothing for the English, just rubbish songs and dances in a language the kids don't understand!

Most of our party were ill with stomach bugs there and since returning home - we now understand there is a problem with one of the pools.

Definitely would not go back - even if it was free!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Royna Hughes
15 years 2 months ago
Went to this hotel on recommendation from friends who came with us again this year. The hotel had totally changed from 2004.

Food fine.

No air conditioning in the loby bar area unless 5-10 people complained - then they would put it on.

Entertainment poor.

Dining area - finding a clean table was very difficult no matter what time we went to diner.

Various trips to the hospital with two adults in the party - ear infections. Pool - witnessed "an accident" in the pool by a young child. In my view the pool should have been shut down - oh no very nice to watch the staff fishing things out of the pool and placing it in a clear plastic bag - see story in local paper of over 140 people being sent home this year through the pool.

Would not go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.