Image of Sunway Hotel

Sunway Hotel

40 of 52 hotels in Gumbet

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
2 stars

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Leeds 2
14 years 1 month ago
we had the worst holiday of our lives at this hotel. we have been to turkey before and many times since but staff were rudeapart from pool bar man atilla if i remember right. food was always cold (when we could get to it) turkish guests ALWAYS get served first i waited up to an hour for a burger on one occasion from poolside snack bar whilst others were ordering 5 at at time. me and my partner after 3 days of queuing decided to eat outside hotel, gumbet is a wonderful resort so please aanyone dont go all inclusive in sunway!!! we also had a lizard in our bed one night and when told staff they simply said "we get them all the time nothing to worry about dont be weak" also rooms are very very basic and boiling hot!!! any one thinking of booking here should try Dilek apartments instead much much nicer but s/catering and smaller! you dont need all inc in gumbet! x x x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: turkey.com online

Mazzie
16 years 2 months ago
The hotel was nice and clean and very well located, just a couple of minutes from restaurants and a short tuktuk ride to main bars/nightlife and bodrum.

Staff, while pleasant, were not very proactive when a problem occurred which it did with air-con, which you pay extra for (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: vision holiday

Recommended
Claire
16 years 4 months ago
The staff at the hotel are absolutley amazing, hospitable and nothing is a problem.

Rooms are very basic, but hey you only sleep there, the holiday was out of this world, we are going back in June.

Turkish people are extremely polite and the nicest people we've met.

I would strongly recommend this hotel as long as you don't expect too much as far as facilities in your rooms.

The rooms were cleaned everday with fresh towels and sheets.

This was the best holiday we've ever had and can't wait to return!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gold Trail

Recommended
Dave Shelley
17 years 11 months ago
Hi well we have just returned from the Sunway hotel, Gumbet, Turkey.

We were originally booked for the Yellow Rose, but on arriving at Bodrum airport the rep told us that it was fully booked and we were upgraded to the Sunway.

We arrived 4 o clock in the morning and just wanted to get sorted. When we got into the room first impressions were, what have we come to. The room was quite dull but it had air con so we crashed out for the night.

In the morning we noticed that it was a little dirty, we had a rep visit next day and we had heard from others who had the same thing happen to them (also from the Yellow Rose.) A couple on the same flight complained and moved to a nearby 5 star but it cost them (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: visionholidays

Jacqui & Mike
17 years 11 months ago
We booked last minute to go to Turkey through Vision Holidays off Teletext beginning of September 2004.

Flights were rubbish but we knew they would be so we can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Vishion Holidays

Lynzi
17 years 11 months ago
I have just returned from a week in the Sunway Hotel and I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I have ever had.

We booked a last minute deal with Vision Holiday and didn't exactly pay a fortune so really didn't expect much.

The rep was very helpful and we saw him several times during our say.

The food was very nice however do not come here if you do not have an international palate and are not prepared to try Turkish food. I very much enjoyed the food, a nice change from the usual burger and chips rubbish.

Our room was very clean and we had maid service from the very friendly maid on a daily basis. The staff in this hotel really are exceptional, I really cannot say enough in their favour - especially Atilla, Onur and the lovely waiter that always brought me butter for my bread!

The hotel is excellently located for nightlife, shops and the beach. There was no entertainment however the bright lights of Gumbet are right on the doorstep! Turkish bath was also very nice, however they got a little too close to private parts of the body - apparently it is the same for everyone though!

Went on a boat trip during our stay which was excellent. Brilliant weather the whole time - not a cloud in the sky! All in all a fantastic holiday for the money we paid, I would definitely return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Vision Holiday

Recommended
Neil & Kath Drury
17 years 11 months ago
Good Points:

A few of the staff were fantastic - Atilla at the pool bar and the head food waiter (didn't get his name - very quiet but couldn't do enough for you).

Turkish bath and sauna was brilliant value at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Vision Holidays

Recommended
Linda Lever
18 years ago
Arrived at 04.30 and left at 15.00hrs. Changed to another hotel.

Very rundown appalling food and everything advertised is no longer available.

Truly awful
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Vision

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.