Image of Mar Bas Hotel

Mar Bas Hotel

43 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
48700 İçmeler/Muğla, Turkey

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Just great
10 years ago
Great hotel in a superb location. Nothing much to add to the excellent well deserved reviews previously posted. I thought the staff were exceptional.

Great entertainment close by including the brilliant Stella Show. Give this hotel a go, you won't regret it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Darren Dilks
Great week away
10 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a great week at the Mar Bas Hotel. The hotel is in a great position at the end of a bay overlooking the sea with the beach 10 feet away from the hotel steps.

The rooms are of a good size we paid for a sea view which was worth the extra and the maids came in every day and changed the sheets every 3 days. The hotel was spotless and all the staff were excellent the food was also very good with lots of choices.

There were not many sunbeds around the pool but it has it's own section of beach with about 50 sunbeds but you need to put your towels out at about 7am.

All in all I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone couples or families.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen
Very friendly
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from mar-bas hotel. hotel excellent clean. Food very good, lots of variety, salad, pasta fruit etc.

Location excellent, right on the beach plenty of sunbeds to be had. Lots of water sports to choose from. Very very hot 49 degrees on hottest day. Rooms very clean, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

Staff very friendly. Would definitely go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Matt Harris
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from the holiday, cannot fault the hotel, the food was really good, the usual salads, pasta etc with hot dishes, the hotel was spotless and of a high quality, the only entertainment was in the Liberty Bar(which is part of the hotel) which was expensive to drink in, although we were all inc and could take drinks from the hotel into the Liberty Bar, the beach was directly in front of the hotel which was small but we never had a problem getting a sun louncher and there were always plenty around (not high season) the only thing I would say was the pool was to small, but with the beach that close, who cares, I would definitely go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gold Trail

Recommended
Gezt
11 years 4 months ago
apart from the monarch flight in and out ,i cannot fault this hotel.
From arriving to leaving we felt like all the owner and staff wanted to do do was make our holiday very special. Room was as said and very clean,dining was very good with plenty salad choice and a variety of foods etc, bar was fine with all local drinks, pool area excellent. views from room (sea view) and pool/dining room superb.Location was brill.
ease of access very good. Icmeler better than Marmaris for smaller resort.People are very friedly but not pushy or stuff as you may be led to beleive, example!! "hello would you like to eat here tonight,
no thanks we just ate
would you like a drink then
no thanks we are just having a walk
ok can i give you my card and thank you have a nice evening.
all in the space of their bar area and def not pushy.
good fun NO HASSLE AT ALL"
Hotel owner was very very attentive to guest comfort etc.
Finally the waiters/waitresess were exceptional to the extreme, looking after you and clearing your table with promptness.
All in all a VERY VERY good experiance and will def be going back.
take
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Kelly Bailey
15 years ago
Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Mar-bas and it was excellent. We were recommended this hotel from Carol at icmeler travel centre and booked it. It has a wonderful position right on the beach.

The only thing we did wrong was to book all inclusive as it is so cheap to eat out, though we couldnt fault the food at all. I agree with previous comments that the rooms could do with updating, but they are very clean as is the hotel. The hotel entertainment is in the liberty bar next door, but as we were on all inclusive we had to pay for drinks in there as we had to get our drinks from the hotel bar.

We had a wonderful week everybody is very friendly and will do anything for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: icmeler travel centre

Recommended
Brian.
15 years ago
We stayed at the Mar Bas Hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the receptionist " Veli" was very pleasant as werev the 2 maids "Ayshe and Uzlam".

The Hotel is in need of modernising but if you manage to get a sea view room the views are magnificent, although only certain tour operators have an agreement with the hotel to book sea view rooms, this is the only reason I would not return to this hotel as the rear facing rooms are quite uninviting.

The balcony was furnished with a poor home made small table and what I would describe as two moulded plastic child seats which are very uncomfortable, the result was that we hardly ever sat on the balcony for the entire 2 weeks.

Although as stated the hotel requires refurbishment the maids do an excellent job of keeping it clean, and we returned daily to find the beds had been decorated with blanket and flower petal displays, a very nice touch.

So overall, brilliant staff, brilliant sea views, but the bulding is dated.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Margaret Cooper
15 years ago
Having stayed at the Marbas in 2002 we were looking forward to staying there again last September as stated in my previous review. We were in for a disappointment!.

The hotel standards had deteriorated.

The staff were polite and friendly but the cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired.

The swimming pool was dirty, there were no sunbeds, and the children's pool was even dirtier than the main pool.
The main problem however was the noise from a bar next door. It was very very loud indeed from about 9pm till 1.30.am.

It was so stressful that we asked to be moved to a different room at the front of the hotel. We were not happy having to do this as we had paid extra for a sea view.

The room at the front was quiet but we will never stay in this hotel again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Cavan Shepherd
15 years 1 month ago
Very Clean hotel, however does need refurb, Air Conditioning is controlled centrally, comes on 5.30pm - 9.00pm then again Midnight - 6.00am. We were both ill for 2 days, therefore the room was very uncomfortable as it was approx 40 degrees outside! We finally got the air con put on permantly, this would normally cost
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Rob
15 years 3 months ago
This was my 10th year in Icmeler and my first holiday on my own. I was confident enough about booking a flight only and making my own way to the Mar-Bas Hotel .. even at 7.00am Veli was delighted to see me again. I love Icmeler and have made a lot of friends in the town.

The Mar-Bas started refurbishing their rooms last year and all rooms will be ready for 2006. Their 'show room'#324 looked really nice. The maids were always smiling and I had to smile when I read an earlier post about them. I intend to return to Icmeler and the Mar-Bas every year, out on Mehmet's and his son Farouk's boat at 10am, a morning dip followed by a nice hot apple tea. Fabulous lunch, more swimming, relaxing music and back to port at 5pm with an obligatory Raki, followed by some on-board singing and dancing.

Cannae wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flight only

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.