Image of Portofino Hotel

Portofino Hotel

106 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie
Poor hotel
10 years 11 months ago
Staff were ok, but hotel was poor with cold showers most of the week. Bed was that hard my hips were sore and couldn’t sleep as one push on door to room and it would have just opened.

Cleaner came in while we were in bed without knocking first. Electric wires just hanging all over, hairdryer in bathroom was lethal didn’t use it as electrics were hanging off wall.

Turkish breakfast was OK until I saw inside the kitchen it was disgusting. Been to Icmeler many times this is the worst hotel I have been in but didn’t let it spoil our holiday as Turkish people are very friendly.

Location very near beach, and towels changed once and bedding changed once. We didn’t stay for entertainment as it was just music blaring out until 12pm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kate
Food was pot luck
11 years 3 months ago
We arrived at about 5am after a coach journey we weren't sure we'd get through alive (100mph in a 25mph zone?!) and were greeted by a man who seemed pretty unhappy and barely spoke English. Originally we thought he might just be tired, but his attitude was the same the entire week. I handed him the reservation and he took us to our room, but he demanded our passports. I gave them to him, thinking it was a routine check, but he left. We got them back around 12 hours later. Being without a passport in a foreign country is scary.
Some of the staff seemed hostile. Some nights we didn't feel comfortable being in the same building.
Some of them of course are friendly enough though. It’s not fair to generalise! There is a major lack of communication between them though. If you have a problem, you might have to ask more than one person. For example, one day we wanted to use the pool, but there were sunbeds placed around it as if to say 'back off'. We asked one staff member if it was open and he said it was, and that we should move the sunbeds and go in, however when we were back at the pool, a technician was there adjusting the chlorine levels.

The rooms were not bad at all. Air conditioning worked very well. Bathroom was clean but very slippery - I've seen this on other reviews, must just be the way they're built. The balcony was a nice place to sit, but don't bother paying extra for the 'sea view' like we did, it’s NOT on the seafront!
Our view was a restaurant garden and a big tree. My fiancé is 6'1 and he could only just see a glimpse of the water.

One downside - we booked a double and got a twin. Apparently they're the same thing to the staff. We thought maybe they were all twin, but we saw a double bed through a door that had been left open.
The room didn't have a safe, like many hotels do.

There are so many reviews on the hotel's 'all inclusive' policy and they all differ, so I'm hoping me posting a recent update will be of use to someone.
On the first day we were told the 'bar' is all inclusive. We went to the bar, they said no. Turns out, the 'bar' is the hotel reception - very strange. Drinks are all inclusive from 10am to 11pm provided you order them from the front desk. Choice is limited - beer, wine, vodka or raki. There is no service for tea, coffee or juice - you get it yourself from a machine. One evening we were going to have a cup of tea, but the water in the machine was cold. The coffee one is a little different, so it’s always hot.

After reading the reviews (too late to switch hotels), we really didn't want to eat here, and we didn't, but I can give some information on how it works.
At dinner time (I think 7 until 9), you sit in the restaurant area and they assume you want to eat (happened to us when we were just having a drink). Some reviews say there is a buffet - this must have changed because there is no choice. They tell you what you're going to eat. There is a board but most days they don't bother. They bring whatever they feel like to your table, and tough luck if you don't like it.
Luckily, there are a few nice enough restaurants around the area with a range of food styles and prices, although going all inclusive then having to pay for all our meals elsewhere was not what we had in mind.
Same goes for lunch and breakfast.

On average we got around 5 hours sleep per night due to the ridiculous amount of clubs and bars that play loud music that comes into the hotel. We actually took to going for walks up the beach and sitting by the sea until 2am to drown out the noise.


There's also the pool at the hotel. It’s a good size and very clean. Nothing wrong with it, except being fairly close to the road.


I would say my one of my favourite parts of the holiday would be the tortoises that live at the hotel. Look in the flowerbeds. There are two, a big one and a smaller one, and they are so beautiful. We named the big one Speedy and the small one Cheeseburger. They're friendly, to the point they even try to climb up you when you're giving them attention and I have several pictures of us picking them up, cuddling them etc. Just lovely and they brightened each day after all the stress I mentioned above!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Johnnie Fred
Disgusting
12 years ago
We booked this hotel as all inclusive but when we got there we were told it was all inclusive light which meant drinks only at mealtimes if you wanted to upgrade it cost you 70 pound each a week. The food was diabolical what you did not eat on a dinner time you got for tea time served up in a different meal.

The hotel cleanliness was disgusting, the bed was falling apart, the shower filthy with no water pressure on taps. The carpet was threadbare and stained. The toilet seat was falling off and stained.

The staff were only happy when there were getting tipped. There was no form of entertainment money we took for family presents were spent on eating out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Lucy Conyers
12 years 1 month ago
we had a last minute booking on this holiday and was very suprised about how easy it was. as soon as we arrived at the hotel we had a nice warm meeting and the staff carried our bags up to our room and let us take the lift up to our room whilst they took the stairs. the staff was amazing at this hotel i fell unlucky and had an allergic reaction whilst over there and they did everything they could to help, the bar man even had to argue to get me some ice for my swelling. yes the hotel has its down sides but the hotel just needs a lick of paint and some screw tightening. the food was very ideal for what you want in that heat you cant expect a 8oz steak from a 3 star hotel, they also informed you whether the cooked meal is spicy or not. the pool water was clear and you can see the floor at all times maybe the draining part could do with some scrubbing but that is about it. also during our stay icmeler had a power cut but the hotel still managed to serve us decent food and heated food too. the hotel just needs time spent on it that is it and me and my family are going back in september
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2.com

Recommended
Couple
12 years 9 months ago
kept running out or beer and did not seem to care.
food was turkish which is not a prop have been to turkey on and off for the last 12 years so could say we know what to expect put food here was not good at all. hotel location is great no entertainment.would not go back to this hotel even if holiday was free holiday companys should not send people there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: HOLIDAY GEMS

Ireland
12 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from icmeler having stayed here for a week. The food was terrible, no variation, left out uncovered for long periods. Food was also rationed and staff served you meagre portions of the hot food, when a guest at our hotel asked for another potato she was told "no you are too fat already" the staff were keeping the good food for themselves and dishing out the rotten stuff to guests. they ran out of beer half way through our stay, we ended up buying it locally ourselfs. the hotel looks lovely on the outside and has the potential to be a good hotel. The rooms however are dirty our sheets were not changed throughout our stay the shower flooded the bathroom from the moment you turned on the tap. Staff told me to put towels on the floor. Staff were unhelpful and rude at times the only time they smiled or was attentive was when we were due to leave and were looking for a tip. the pool was the talking point in icmeler as it was green like a stagnant pond you could not swim in it. you would hear visitors pass and make comments about it. Staff pretended not to understand when we asked why the pool was not cleaned and serviced. One guest was moved to another hotel after allegations of inappropriate behaviour from a member of staff. The hotel is known by locals as faulty towers and it certainly lived up to that name. There is no way i would ever set foot in this hotel again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Flletway Travel

Elizabeth
12 years 9 months ago
First the hotel is not on the beach,this was a cheap holiday but a lot of things should have been better like all the salad etc should have been covered with something better than cling filmm,once it was fetched off it was left off till they moved it flys was on the cheese and meat,the whole place was drab (needed the house doctor)the stairs and where you ate was depressing also yhe pool was allways cloudy.We found one of the staff asleep under the bar and the beer was not the best never saw a pudding in 14 days they had stoped doing them ,cafe Annes was good for hot cherry pancakes and coffee with cream staff where nice to ,i would say it was not a good hotel a change of owners might help .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: A1 travel

Elizabeth
12 years 9 months ago
First the hotel is not on the beach,this was a cheap holiday but a lot of things should have been better like all the salad etc should have been covered with something better than cling filmm,once it was fetched off it was left off till they moved it flys was on the cheese and meat,the whole place was drab (needed the house doctor)the stairs and where you ate was depressing also yhe pool was allways cloudy.We found one of the staff asleep under the bar and the beer was not the best never saw a pudding in 14 days they had stoped doing them ,cafe Annes was good for hot cherry pancakes and coffee with cream staff where nice to ,i would say it was not a good hotel a change of owners might help .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: A1 travel

Rodney Davies
12 years 10 months ago
the hotel food was the worst food we have ever had.salad every day for 14 days,3 times a day breakfast lunch dinner.cold pigs trotters cold spaghetti cold chips.we ate out every day,it was so bad.the location of the hotel couldnt be faulterd 40 meters from the beach.the staff didnt smile at all, espesialy the hotel bar man who had no idea how to pour drinks,and ice was non existant, no matter what drink you had.and you would never get a clean glass, thats if you were lucky enough to get one,if you are one of the ones to get plastic tumbler watch you dont cut your mouth.don expect any entertainment as there isnt any.as for ever going back to this hotel.not a chance in hell
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: a1 travel

Alan
12 years 11 months ago
the hotel rooms are a joke the water from the shower was all over the floor the carpet had holes in the rooms were really small the switches were hanging off the wall
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.