Image of Munamar Hotel

Munamar Hotel

63 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
5 stars
Cumhuriyet Mh., 48700 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey
Hotel Munamar is located on its own private beach and set in a garden which is surrounded by pine trees and spectacular mountain scenery. It rests between crystal clear water of the Aegean Sea and the Taurus Mountains.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years ago
We had a splendid holiday at the Munamar and find it difficult to find fault as all the staff from restaurant,the room cleaners and the beach boys gave excellent service.The sea views are well worth paying extra for,and the reception staff get any problems solved easily and quickly.The location is second to none and although the entertainment could be better ,we were never in the hotel many evenings as we prefer to walk round the lively friendly village.The big down side is I have heard from Turkey that the hotel has been sold to an Arab Prince,and the future as a Hotel has been thrown into some doubt,so I would be very grateful if somebody can throw some light onto this problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Right Travel

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
Lovely hotel, friendly staff as is usual in Turkey. There was plentiful amounts of food although by day three it all became a bit "samey", chicken, meatballs, stir fry, and nice cakes but they all tasted the same. Still nice though!
Fantastic location, our room overlooked the bay, quite awsome in fact. Although we were just a couple we were allocated a room with interconnecting doors and a further room with twin beds, so very spacious. We did pay extra for the sea view and balcony though.

We went out every night as we dont like staying in a hotel at night, so cant comment too much on the entertainment, but the last night we stayed as we were waiting for the coach to pick us up. No the entertainment wasnt that good but they do work very hard all the same.

The beat box "noise" coming from the speakers by the pool was very loud but perhaps I'm just getting old!

We would certainly come back to this hotel again, but I am unsure which British tour operator still goes to the Munamar. All in all a lovely holiday really enjoyed it and would recommend this hotel. I am now a stone heavier as well!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Barbara Hamilton
14 years 3 months ago
The hotel itself was immaculate. Food plentiful and well presented, the veranda restaurant had magnificent views out to sea. Although we had no view or balcony the room itself was spacious. Our maid did a perfect job each day with the usual little touches of rose petals on the beds.

The beach was kept clean and tidy.
My one critism was the charge for having a mattress on the bed. This charge was the same as having sunbeds on any of the public beaches. Around the pool all beds had mattresses which cost nothing. Only trouble you could not get a bed there as towels were on them early every morning.....

As we were there during World Cup there was not many Engish in the hotel, in fact Icmler too was feeling the pinch, there was a large amount of Turkish guests as their school holidays had started and also some Turkish festival/

We went out every night as the entertainment was not that good. It started around 9 with a childrens disco, then perhaps a belly dancer or entertainment team doing something. It seemed to finish by 10 and the pool bar closed and everyone wandered off. I believe there was some disco in the basement area until midnight.

Drinks were up until 12 midnight and then you paid. All drinks were local brewed but whisky is imported so you paid all the time for it. The cocktail bar did seem to serve very warm drinks. I did say something about this and hopefully this will be rectified..

We have decided that AI is not for us and in future will go SC or BB, too many good bars and restaurants in Icmeler.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Pauline
15 years ago
Set right on the sea front, lovely clean beach good swimming, sunbeds not too cramped. The hotel has a backdrop of the town and tree covered mountains.

The rooms have efficient air conditioning, are well appointed and clean - the room service is very good, with a personal touch from the staff.

You can eat frequently and very well, always a lot of choice - do not expect a full english breakfast.
Good disabled access.

Our first visit and would return. It was popular with Dutch folk. One of the top 3 hotels in the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Detur

Recommended
Cooper
15 years 1 month ago
As this was a late booking we didn't really know what to expect. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised.

Rooms were spacious and well kept. Staff were very helpful. Food was of a good standard. As well as kitchen prepared food - chefs cooked in front of you so you knew it was fresh. Variety of food on offer was very good.

Drinks at the bars were very limited. There needs to be wider choice of local brands.

Entertainment staff were very friendly and tried to get everyone involved. Music round pool was sometimes quite loud and "clubby" which is not everyones taste. Evening entertainment was very basic (bingo, comedy sketches etc).

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Detour

Recommended
Joy Ward
15 years 4 months ago
Our stay at the Munamar, was a really enjoyable 2 weeks.

The staff were very friendly, and the hotel was very well maintained.

The selection of food was varied, but the only thing letting it down was the lack of choice in the fresh fruit dept.

The entertainment staff worked hard to do shows every night, and to get us involved, a great group of people, we will always remember them.

The location was perfect and we would go there again, like a shot.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sue.mick.no Kids
15 years 4 months ago
Stayed at this hotel end of May, when we arrived at 3.30 am we were taken to a small room with an even smaller balcony,just about get two chairs on, then told the air con came on only twice a day!! After much arguing were took to another room which was better and air con when ever we wanted.

The hotel was spotless and the staff lovely, very helpful,
The food was OK but rather monotonous always the same fish chicken or Turkey.

The entertainment was a 45 min spot around 9pm by the same entertainment lads ,they tried to be funny but telling the same punch line in three different languages soon became boring.

After a couple of nights we ventured out to other bars for music and a bit of fun. When we were there it was mostly retired couples.

If you want a very relaxing holiday this is the hotel for you. Kids would be bored stiff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: vision holidays

Recommended
Bigmike
16 years ago
Off again to this fantastic hotel on the 27 sept 2004.

yipeeeeeeeeee

mike
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
QUINNEY
16 years 4 months ago
Having spent two weeks enduring unfriendly staff and cold food i would not stay at this hotel again. Neither would i recommend this hotel to anyone.
Excuses given at the hotel all related to change of ownership.
Add to this unhelpfull reception staff plus Thomas Cook rep with no experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

John Parkinson
16 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a fantastic 2 week all inclusive holiday at the Munamar. It was our first visit to turkey and we didn't know what to expect. But we did not have to worry because everything was fantastic.

The rooms were very spacious and definatley 5 star quality, most had balconies which either had an excellent view of the hotels private beach or swimming pool.

Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, except breakfast was a little boring.

If you are visiting the munamar and you see the hotel Dj Ersin
then put your to fists side by side and bring them round in a circle and say JOOOOOOOOOOOOOEEEEEEEE and say it is from Kate and Sarah. Now you can see how fun the staff are.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.