14 independent reviews of the Azia Beach Hotel
Address: Akama, Kouklia, Cyprus
Azia Beach Hotel
Azia Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #57 of 61 hotels in Paphos


2/5
Azia Beach Hotel Azia Beach Hotel is rated 2.36 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
50% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 4 stars

Azia Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

Elaine visited the Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2006
We had a junior suite in the supposedly separate building \"The Azir Club & Spa\". This was not a separate building as indicated in the Azir Hotel information. However, the room was nice but not exceptional.
We paid a lot of money for our holiday and from speaking to a lot of guests at the hotel, we probably subsidised their holidays.

The first couple of days there were only 34 people in the hotel, and this number did not increase significantly for the remainder of our holiday.

The staff worked very hard and did everything they could to please.

Spa excellent, used it twice, Spa reception does not do it justice.

The evening meal setting was very nice on the terrace (waiter service), in the amphytheatre I did not like the fact that you had to ...
go down steps to get food, and then carry it back to your table.

Read More

Tour Operator: Argo

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sarah stayed at Azia Beach Hotel in June 2005
We have just got back from a 1 week stay in the Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos and would definately recommend it. We stayed in a club junior suite which was very clean and nicely decorated (as in the hotel website pictures - No deception). As soon as we arrived we had to check out the georgous seaview from the balcony, which was very peaceful as it is away from the pool area.

The Air conditioning was very good, keeping the room at just the right temperature, we even had to turn it down later in the week, as we got more used to the heat.

The only problem I had with the room was that there was no plug socket near the mirror. However I asked the engineer for an extension lead and within 10 mins 1 ...
was in our room. The room was cleaned every morning and the maids came round again in the evening to turn the bed down and leave more shampoo etc...

It wasnt only the rooms that were clean, the pool was cleaned every day, while we ate breakfast and the public areas and gardens were immaculate.

We were only bed & breakfast at the hotel, with which there was lots to choose, ranging from cold meats and cheese to a full fry-up with plenty of fresh bread and rolls. If you want toast, it is best to get that first, as the conveyor belt toaster was a little slow. The only other meal we had in the hotel was a carvery buffet, which was really good, especially eating outside by the pool. We thought that 14.50CYP per head was very reasonable and the chefs were very generous with the food.

We also ate at the pool bar which was nice, with food ranging from salads to burgers and chips. The swim-up bar was very refreshing and the staff were very friendly, a really nice touch!

Although on first arrival the hotel seemed a bit far from anything, most places are easy to get to. There are 2 bus stops just outside the hotel, one over the road which goes to the harbour and the other, on the same side, goes to Coral Bay. All bus rides, no matter how far you travel, are 70 cents. We did hire a car for four days and found that the driving in cyprus wasnt as bad as we had heard, quite civil in fact.

There are a few restaurants right next door to the hotel, along with a pub and a cocktail bar. Then down Tomb of the Kings road on the way to the harbour, there a lots more restaurants. Fat Mamas and Sisyfos roof Restaurant, were favourites of ours as the food was lovely and was excellent value for money.

The evening entertainment was quite good. There was 3 or 4 people which we saw maybe twice during the week, each very different. But if you wanted more nightlife then barstreet is only a cab ride away, costing approximately

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Andy Proudfoot stayed at Azia Beach Hotel in October 2004
The Azia Beach is a perfectly acceptable hotel, where you will enjoy a comfortable holiday. It just about merits its 5 stars, at least as a tourist hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and very attentive around the pool and garden areas. The room was a bit basic, and the common parts a bit dated, and I gather that the hotel is to be refurbished after Xmas, when it will be closd for 3 months. This should make it a really fine hotel, provided they do it right!

It is located about a 15 minute bus ride from Paphos, and that suited us fine, the town being a bit \'touristy\' for our taste.

Around the hotel are a number of bars and restauaurants, some better than others, but all of a reasonable standard. Yes the ...
hotel is expensive but it is 5 stars.

The only thing that drove us bats was the poor quality of the \'entertainers\' in the bar in the evening, although I should say that some of the older residents seemd to have a whale of a time! Be warned!

Read More

Tour Operator: Lastminute.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Denise visited the Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2004
The Azia Beach staff try exceptionally hard to keep this medium sized hotel clean, especially around the pool. The pool is wonderful both in design and size however it can be a bit slippy when depth changes.

Staff around pool area are lovely and efficient and will try their best to help. Free frozen handtowels and fresh melon are handed out regularly - a welcome refreshment. Staff in main restaurants are also friendly although rather swift to take away plates, although restaurants were half full they made you feel at times, that they wanted to feed you and get rid of you.

As for staff in reception, not impressed! They are too inward thinking and not customer focused enough. If you have a slight problem they are too quick to blame you and then later after a ...
lot of hassle finally admit the error was theirs! No apology.

If you stay half board, and want to have lovely music whilst eating or attend Greek nights etc you must pay suppliments. Also bar prices are ridiculous, you pay 2-3 times as much as anywhere else.

There is a bad smell near the tennis courts ie. septic tank problems.

I strongly recommend visiting local amenities for food and drink, there are some good places, with good prices, ranges of food and drink and extremely friendly staff.

This hotel is not in walking distance of Paphos centre.

Evening entertainment is rather boring, repetitive and stops very early as bedrooms are within region of main hotel bar.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cyplon
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Karen stayed at Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2004
Never having had a hotel holiday with our young family we didn't know what to expect when we were invited to the Azia to join some friends who were getting married there.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Our two small boisterous boys had the time of their lives and the hotel was so child friendly.

The staff were delightful with the children and the wedding was handled beautifully.

The food was of a fabulous standard and apart from the evenings we barely left the hotel.

We chose not to use the beach as someone warned us that the currents could be quite nasty....this wasn't a problem as the pools were excellent for the children with huge areas that were shallow and plenty of shade.

Local bars and restaurants were child friendly and offered great menus.

The hotel standards of cleanliness ...
were faultless and I would stay here again like a shot.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

rosalind had a holiday at Azia Beach Hotel in July 2004
This was possiably the BEST holiday i have ever been on. We went for the junior sea view suit and we were massivly impressed. The room was fantastic, and as very regular travelers we have seen everything.
The hotel staff were perfect, and although the hotel got a little busy at times it was all a very pleasant experiance. The food was great and they offered a wide variaty of fresh courses throughout the day. Yes, although the porices are a bit high what do you expect from a 5*? We had fresh sheets everyday and all the toiletries you could possiably want! The outside was great and the pool MASSIVE. It closed early in the evening but that was only to clean it so that it would be made as nice it was the next morning. The perfect green ...
and colourful gardens were beautiful and the gym and sprts facilities fantastic. Defenitly worthy of 5*s the best holiday ever, looking forward to coming back next year! Reccomend it to all of you!

Read More

Tour Operator: mytravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sally had a holiday at Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2004
Had a lovely holiday. Hotel was brill and very impressed with the standard of cleanliness.

Remember to ask for childerens menu when you sit down in the evening otherwise thay assume kids will have the ala cart menu.

Staff polite and always very helpful

Just be aware men must wear long trousers for evening meal,no shorts allowed.

Just shame there wasn\'t more local bars to walk to.

Tour Operator: Oylimpic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Carolyn, Roger & Katy visited the Azia Beach Hotel in July 2004
Having availed ourselves of the hotel pool and bar last summer whilst staying in a poo-less villa nearby, our duaghter beged, pleaded and cajoled to go back to the Azia as a paying guest this year.

We were given a room in the premium wing, but they forgot to give us the pass to get into the premium lounge. The third bed in our pleasantly large room was a Z bed which had seen better days, and which collapsed under our daughter on the third night - as the rest of the beds available were no better, she opted to sleep on a mattress on the floor for the rest of the week. The sheets and towels were changed daily, and there was a plentiful supply of toiletries provided. However, the maids could be over zealous, as somehow my travel size ...
freebie of Estee Lauder face wash was thrown out whilst still half full.

Our main niggles were
1. the fact that the airconditioning was controlled by the keycard, and it wasn\'t that pleasant walking into a hot room and having to wait for the temperature to drop - however - we discovered that any credit card sized piece of plastic triggered it and providing the maids had serviced the room, we could safely leave the aircon on.
2. The mini bar - prices for the contents were extortionate, and if you wanted to use it for your own supplies, you could for

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

0/5
0

honeymoon visited the Azia Beach Hotel in December 2002
Well, we really do wish that we had heeded the feedback on this site before travelling to this hotel for our honeymoon. Our experiences concur with other visitors that the drinks are expensive and although the hotel offers facilities of the range expected for a 5 star hotel, the quality wasn\'t there. Go expecting 3 star and you\'ll probably be satisfied.
Customer service was poor. We tried to upgrade room to make our honeymoon that bit more special, but the full upgrade price of

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

iliyana stayed at Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2002
Although the hotel was excellent (nice big rooms, beautiful sea view, friendly staff) when we arrived we realized it was 15-20 min drive by car from Paphos centre - bus takes longer as it stops at different places. Lickily we have hired a car for our two weeeks stay so getting around was not a problem. If you go to this hotel, hire a car - you won\'t need to wait for the bus in the heat and it gets really hot, especially in August. We went there in July/August-2001 and we liked it very much.

You can also go and visit many places throughout the whole island - and there is a lot to be seen for everybody. If you are not a \"culture vulture\", you\'ll definitely become one.

The other thing about the so called \"hotel\'s beach\" and ...
Cyprus as a whole is the beaches - there are only one or two sandy ones so stick by the pool and you won\'t regret it.

And one last thing - do not go for half/full board. You can be spoilt with choice and we would definitely recommend the famous \"meze\" - you will put at least 2-3 kilos while staying in Cyprus.

Read More

Tour Operator: Argo
Review Rating


0/5
0

nickr stayed at Azia Beach Hotel in May 2002
This is a **** hotel masquerading as a ***** - which is not to say we had a bad time. In fact we loved it and would certainly go back - if it weren\'t for all the blasted weddings. When the Azia is catering for a wedding it treats all its other guests as 2nd class citizens. You can\'t eat in the dining room because it\'s \'reserved for a wedding\'. You can\'t drink in the cocktail bar because it\'s \'reserved for a wedding\'. (Who\'d want their wedding reception in a bloody public bar, for Heaven\'s sake?)

That aside, our room was fine (nothing stunning, but extremely comfortable). Food was very well cooked, well presented and the ingredients were fresh - though the dining room environment is nothing special. (It does have a very attractive girl playing the violin rather well, though!). ...
Good menu variety too.

Staff were good - some of them outstandlingly so. (Cheers Micky, Rumy, Mike and George!) The front-of house staff work so hard to put on a good performance but management and the backroomers let them down.

Entertainment really was *****. Thanks to Anastasio, Lee and The Village Idiots - world class acts all.

The Azia is a perfect-looking hotel and largely lives up to the promise - but I think it\'s a bit greedy and needs to look at its substance rather than its front.


Read More

Tour Operator: JMC
Review Rating


0/5
0

debbieford stayed at Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos in March 2002
Well another visit to the Azia for a few rainy days before Easter!!


I now discover that they are under new management -how a place can change. its money run now with all price\'s going up with coffe up from

Tour Operator: Independent booking
Review Rating


0/5
0

Toucan had a holiday at Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 2001
Hotel very clean and impressive to look at. Rooms average - not very big for a five star hotel. Hotel situated on the beach. Drinks, room service and the mini bar quite expensive and everything is signed for to your personal account which can build up quite rapidly if you\'re not careful.



Food ok, varied buffets - but limited for vegetarians.



Formal dress was required in the evening.



A woman next to us complained about the noise from our tv at 10.15pm (the sound level was below half way) we were told by a member of the hotel management that although a member of our party had an hearing impediment, all televisions in the rooms were turned down at 10:00pm. When we asked where this information could be viewed we were told that it was an unwritten rule.


Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

trishy visited the Azia Beach Hotel, Paphos in December 2001
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope that we will return again soon. All the staff were very helpful. We didn\'t eat in any of the restaurants in the evenings as I am an extremely fussy eater but the menus were very good (so my husband tells me).It was wonderful to eat our breakfast outside by the pool and the selection of food was great. The pre-dinner drinks in the Cava Bar is very good value. Although it was necessary to put towels on the sun beds if you wanted to be near the pool and in the shade, there were plenty of beds elsewhere. The buses were good but sometimes they were very crowded. There were plenty of nice places to eat very near the hotel, in fact 3 of them were owned by the same people. The ...
Sienna Restaurant is well worth a visit. We had a wonderful time and can\'t wait to go again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Eclipse
Review Rating

Share