Image of Aktiniya Hotel

Aktiniya Hotel

77 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
unny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria
This modern and comfortable hotel is located in the southern part of Sunny Beach, on the edge of the sandy dunes which lead on to the beach. It is furnished to a a high standard and offers a good range of facilities.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tracey Lowe
12 years 11 months ago
The rooms in the hotel were clean, however the pool area was appalling. In the 2 weeks at the hotel we never once witnessed the poolside area or the beds being cleaned.

We were half board and only managed to eat dinner in the hotel twice. Breakfast was a bit better although not much there that our children would eat. In all the food was diabolical.

The hotel is a bit far from the centre although there is a train that picks up from the front of the hotel. It can get busy at times and sometimes it's quicker to walk rather than wait for a free seat.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the bar staff. However we found the waiting staff to be completely obnoxious all the time.

The entertainment was a joke. It consisted of a man playing a casio and a lady singing along, out of tune.

Didn't agree with being charged 3lev per day per sunbed for sunbathing at the poolside.

Would never stay at this hotel again and feel it is unfair and misleading for it to be rated a 4 star when it is at least a 2 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: barrhead travel

Stephen Murphy
13 years ago
The hotel was very clean and the rooms were fine. The showers were particularly good with great pressure. We stayed B+B for 80 lev per night- about 40 euro and 28 stg.

We only managed to eat breakfast twice and it was fine but we were glad not to have gone half board as the evening meals and facilities in the dining area were not too clever- food is very cheap all over the resort and great choice of restaurants. Beer is only 1 lev - 0.50 euros. Cheap as chips!! Wine is also cheap at about 15 lev per bottle.

The staff in the bar were fine but some of the reception staff are quite abrupt bordering on rudeness. Entertainment is absymal. Same every night. One guy one girl band singing covers - trully awful muck.

We were about 4 kms out from the centre and although there is a choo choo train type transport into the centre this gets very busy in the evenings. This costs 2 lev - a taxi will cost u 8 lev.

All in all the hotel was ok but there are so many more at the same price closer to the centre that we would not stay there again if we could get availability elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

B Campbell
13 years ago
Only went half board as there was a special offer on ate in hotel twice not bad choice.

Hotel was clean but bedrooms could do with a good hoover.

Hotel a bit far from the centre but there are resturants and bars round the back. Cocktails 2 for 1
Found the staff very helpful.

Entertainment not very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Holidays

Recommended
Debbie Cleary
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed in Aktinia Hotel and found it to be very clean. The staff were friendly. The bar downstairs is very nice and open 24 hours, but isn't loud at all.

There was a great buzz there late at night. You have to pay 3 leva for the pool loungers though. The food was varied every night, and I would give it 3/5. It was decent enough, but not the best. It was included in the price so I was very happy with that! The breakfast was good - I enjoyed that, and the dinner had a great variety of salads, in case you didn't want to eat the meat.

It was too far from main Sunny Beach I felt, and the train that runs outside to take you in to town is packed in the evening between 6-8.30pm, so we ended up walking in to sunny beach (25mins walk). All in all, I would stay here again, but only if I couldn't get something a little closer to the main area of sunny beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Lisa
13 years 1 month ago
After the midnight battles and mayhem endured at Bourgas airport with 1500 other cattle, it was a relief to get on the coach as we were the only ones on it.

The hotel is up at 4 Stars and warrants a lower rating. If you take the food into account it should be rated a 2 star.

If staying for a week, the food may be bearable, but the monotony over two weeks is too much. But to give it a little credit none of us had any upset stomachs. We did half Board but bed only would have been a better bet.

We jumped the bus to get into the centre, 25p each. The grub in Djanny cafe was superb. Charging for poolside sunbeds is out of order, and the drinks are double the adjacent supermarkets prices.

We will not be staying at the Aktinia again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bad Choice

Judith & Pete
13 years 1 month ago
My husband and I stayed at Aktinia in June 2005 on a half board basis.

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

We attempted to eat the food on two occasions but it was very poor quality and not at all appetising, so we ate out for the rest of the holiday (including breakfast).

The location of the hotel was about 25 mins outside Sunny Beach on the way to Nessebar - easy to get into Sunny Beach via the Dotto train. However, Aktinia is located on the main road with all rooms facing it and the building site across the road.

The pool was also at the front and although there was a slip road between hotel and road,it was hardly peaceful.

Entertainment was awful. Didn't stay around for that.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Mandy And Pete
14 years 10 months ago
The Hotel Actinia was very clean,the location was fine, a pleasant walk into the resort center,the staff were very good,we are going back September this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Ingrid Mcclure
14 years 11 months ago
The Hotel was brilliant clean and very confortable the rooms had a fridge and air conditioning, the staff were very firendly and helpful. The lobby bar is open 24 hours ther is also a hairdressers and doctors at the hotel I had my hair done it was the best cut ever. I had infections from the mosquito's ( they were in abundance at the hotel) the doctor was brilliant very helpful and did not charge as much as I thought it would be as I had injections antihistermines and antibiotics. The food is a little strange but not to bad there was scrambled eggs you could do toast and jam there were bread rolls eggy bread fried sausages were like hot dog ones but better. Our favourtie meal at lunch when we stayed at the hotel was stuffed peppers filled with some cheese coated in batter it was delicious but we always asked for chips with everything incase. At the pool bar if the kids ask for a cheeseburger that is what you get cheese in batter on a roll what out.

The beach is not far from the hotel it is at the back the beaches are clean the waters are warm there is a beach bar also people walking on the beach selling anything from doughnuts to fruit there fruit is a dream especially the peaches and the grapes I reccomend them to anyone. A little train stops outside the hotel to take you into the main part of Sunny beach if it is full ask the taxi drivers get a price first they are great and very helpful.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone any queries just ask.

Ingrid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkans

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum