Image of Regata Hotel

Regata Hotel

86 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
The 4-storey hotel Regatta consists of 24 twin rooms, 2 studios and 3 apartments. All rooms are air-conditioned and have private bathroom with shower, WC, mini-bar (against extra payment), direct line telephone, cable TV and large balcony.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not for families in our opinion.
8 years 5 months ago
Hotel is clean, rooms good size, pool water clean, clean around the pool as well.
Food: repetitive and cold.

Staff: once they get used to you they are very nice but expect a bit of a cold shoulder treatment at the beginning.

Entertainment: pool (small but clean and not too busy - opposite to the cacao beach), pool table (free metal tokens from the reception), trips and excursions can be booked from the hotel reception (we have not booked any so cannot comment). no other activities in the hotel.

We will not be visiting even though we liked the hotel but Sunny Beach itself is very busy and not for families in our opinion.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Alan
10 years 4 months ago
The hotels location, although a couple of miles from the centre, was fine. Cacao Beach was a short walk away and the bus and mini-train services to the centre were good. Staff were reasonably polite, didnt go out of their way to be helpful though, the maid was excellent and always spoke, always a smile for us. The room was always spotless. Breakfast was passable with a reasonable selection of meats and fruit and unless you timed it well, cold scrambled or fried eggs, the toaster took 10 minutes and there was only a 2 slice toaster between all guests. Dinner was a joke! Every night was chicken or pork and soggy chips, absolutely disgusting! So we eat out all but the first night, the restaurants were great and cheap. The beds were so hard we both had trouble sleeping on them, the aircon was the best thing there! There was a small fridge which was handy but no kettle and that was frustrating. How on earth anyone could give it 3 stars is a total mystery, in the UK it would not even get one. I would not go back to this hotel again and would rather pay extra for something more comfortable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Your Holiday.com

Serena Jennings
10 years 5 months ago
Clean, welcoming and relaxing hotel. I read many reports prior to arriving and I was rather worried. However our room had constant air conditioning, maid service daily and the hospitality of the staff was appreciated as the Cosmos rep never made an appearance even after 3 telephone calls an text messages were sent direct to the number we were provided with by the travel company.
Food was to a good standard, breakfast being the same choices each morning but the pool side menu was lovely with lots of variation. SB main strip is only a short stroll away or bus ride which suited us fine as we prefer to be away from the screams and vomit strewn walkways.
Cacao beach was just over the road. This beach was one of the nicest I have visited in Europe. Immaculatly clean, plenty to do and the bars there are stunning and welcoming.
All in all the Regatta Hotel is a place we are already trying to book for 2009.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Mrs Nolan
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed at Regatta for a week on Bed and Breakfast
Breakfast was basic and not hot but edible
the room was clean although the hotel is 20minutes from centre of Sunny Beach it suited us we just walked or got the train or bus .
we went on the Lazy Day Cruise that the hotel offer and had a great time also Khans tent is a good night out
we also had the Bulgarian Village trip it was a good night too
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Globallatedeals

Recommended
Wendy Mcmanus
11 years 3 months ago
location to far away from sunny beach. money for spending was used on transport to resort and back again. beds were not made and cleaning not done which is a shame as the hotel is modern and very nice. staff were very nice and helpfull .the big down fall of this hotel is its location
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travelcare

Erica, Pamela, Rita
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel was cheap and cheerful. The rooms were clean and tidy and the pool the nice and cold. The staff were 'entertaining' as was the televison service. The hotel was too far away from the main resort and the food was unedible. Take packing up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Penman
11 years 4 months ago
Boy oh Boy, if you want a quiet non entertaining basic holidays then this is the place. It is like a travel lodge, the staff are very young and be prepared to go on a diet. The food is luke warm, the choice is almost non existant. Take plenty tea bags with you. When you tell them your meal is cold they suddenly cant speak English. The cleaner was washing her mop out one morning in the guest toilet sink in the reception. I had a headache and asked for a glass of water to take the tablets, I was charged for the water, even though he took it from the tap, not a bottle. Not at all friendly. It is right on a extremely busy road, Wakey Races runs to mind. It offers water activities and games activities, Yes there is if you travel 2 miles into town. It is a long walk so take your flat shoes. Sorry guys not for me, I would love to go back to Bulgaria but not to this hotel. Sorry did I say hotel, I meant not to this shack. Happy holidays
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Globeallatedeals

Rachael And Alan
11 years 5 months ago
The Regatta is a great hotel! We really enjoyed our stay and woulld definatly go back. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, with a decent sized balcony. Although the hotel is situated by a main road we did not find this to be a problem. There is a pelican crossing right outside the hotel making it easy and safe to cross.

The beach is lovely and only across the road. The town centre is a 15-20 minute walk away. You can also get the train or bus into the town centre from across the road from the hotel.
Nessebar is also close by.

The staff at the Regatta are really friendly.

The food is the only negative thing about this hotel. The breakfast is ok but the evening meals were bad. I would advise going bed and breakfast.We went half board but only ate our evening meal there twice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

Recommended
Myria
11 years 5 months ago
The Regatta,Sunny Beach, what can I say!

Cheap and cheerful or you get what you pay for!

The front of the hotel and pool face a very,very busy road,which proved to be quite entertaining watching
how badly everyone drove. We got use to the noise!

We found the communal areas clean, but our room was not
really cleaned properly i.e bathroom not touched, dust
everywhere.

The food was very basic with the same salad and chips
served everyday. The food was served from bainmaries and
was never hot. The are many restaurants a short distance
away about a 15 minute walk.

The staff all smoked in the main bar/lobby area of the
hotel.

The pool was quite large compared to many of the
4star hotels, and there were always plenty of sunlounges
available for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: medhotels

Recommended
Mr Hughes
11 years 7 months ago
Just got back from The Regatta Hotel today,I used this site to have a look at some comments before we booked,sadly there weren't any.

I always thought that the only people who wrote in were ones who complained,but this is not all bad,to start the hotel is right on a busy main road with only a small hedge between you and the thundering lorries roaring past,but there was a pelican crossing right outside.

The Hotel was described as built in 2004 which was true,but strangely this was part of the problem,at best you could only compare it to a kind of Travelodge style of Hotel,not suitable for tourists looking for a Beachy Holiday. We didn't see any other guests for 2 days and they looked pleased to see us as well.

We had booked Half Board/buffet style but alas there wasn't any,the 1 single waitress served you a luke warm meal and if it wasn't what you wanted then that was it,fortunately the food in the Sunny Beach resort was superb so we survived,but if we wanted self catering then we would have booked it to begin with. After 4 days of this the Hotel suddenly served a buffet style menu,you now had a choice of 2 things to eat!!!.

I found that in the morning the Hotel was run by adults but by the afternoon it was being run by teenagers,one even stepped from the pool to serve my 14yr old boy sweets wearing only a thong,blimey imagine if i'd bought a drink !!

One night when we got back late we deciced to have a quick drink before going up,after waiting a few minutes a boy climbed from the pool to serve us in his wet shorts,oh yes if "Music Idol" was on you may have to wait a while until the act finished to get attention.

Because we had a late flight I asked for us to keep the room on,but they wanted 78 Lev,which considering the hassle we had I thought was steep,I kind of barted with them saying that I would be complaining when we got back,then hey presto out popped this previously photo copied form which said I would agree to not officialy complain if I accepted their offer of the room. What Hotel keeps forms like that in the filing cabinet ?

But as always some of the staff made up for it,as for the entertainment,well that was it,staying at the Hotel,whilst we were out we would compare with other tourists and have a laugh about it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Media Travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum