Image of Junona Hotel

Junona Hotel

92 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, 8240 Bulgaria
Visitors to the popular Junona hotel will know that it now boasts a new 3 star part and a restaurant built for Summer 2003. This, coupled with the excellent location right in the resort’s centre and just a few minutes walk from the beach.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Love it
5 years 2 months ago
Just returned from Hotel Junona yesterday after our 4th visit wow we could not believe the change there was a swimming pool scheduled to be built next year we arrived to find it built with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas a new reception and restaurant it now deserves its 3* rating staff lovely as usual room cleaned daily with clean towels although we normally go B&B its now half board thought we would try evening meal quite surprised not a lot of choice but what was there was nice close to the beach and centre cannot fault it at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Love it!
7 years ago
We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and we are going back for our 4th visit in June. I will be really honest this hotel has 2 blocks the 2* and 3* we stayed in the 2* once and must say never again, it has really basic rooms, they were cleaned daily but in desperate need of modernisation but the 3* is brilliant the rooms are so much better more modern cleaner with walk in shower which is ideal as I’m disabled.

The staff have always been fine with us especially the ones in the bar not too noisy at night 2 min walk to the beach if you want luxury this is not the place for you but for what you pay we are extremely happy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Hynes
8 years 11 months ago
well having arrived at this hotel after a pleasant flight me and boyfriend was shown our room and i can honestly say i was soo upset after paying quite a lot of money for this hotel i was shocked to see what a dump this was i would not put a dog in our room it was disgusting and filthy i just cried i cudnt believe it i spoke to the receptionist about the room and she just said we had paid for a 2 star hotel but we cud pay an extra 150 pound to be up graded which we had no choice as we cudnt stop in the room .As for sunny beach it self it was too roudy for me and my boyfriend all 18-30s in the central strip as we were a middle aged couple it wasnt for us all in all we wudnt visit bulgaria again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkans

Stacey Smith
10 years ago
Me and my sister went to this hotel , it was absaloutley great , staff were friendly , food was great , we went a few years bak and it was nothing like it is now , everything is all been done up and it is great ! would definetley recomend it to anyone .

Defo Going back nxt year !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Hannah
10 years 1 month ago
Ok, I'm going to try be as honest as possible. When we arrived at the hotel, after seeing the pictures that all tour guides use, we found that this wasn't actually the same hotel, but one about 5 metres away. The hotel DOES NOT have a pool despite us being told it did have, infact it is the hotel in the pictures that has the pool, which we had to use. The were no elevators in the hotel, and with us being on the 2nd floor with lots of luggage, we had to help each other, as no one offered to help. The shower was a wet room, and unfortunately the door did not reach the floor which meant that the water leaked out into the bedroom, which I did not realise on the first day and I ended up slipping, and severly burning my arm on my hair straighteners that were heating up. The hotel staff at most times were very rude, if there was even any staff around, but the first aid man was lovely and looked after me, which is the only reason why staff got 2 stars. The hotel room was disgusting. It advertised as having a tv, which it did, but it didnt have a plug! The "fridge" was one of those mini fridges, and when I looked inside there was actually mould growing inside. The beds were VERY uncomfortable, and the balcony door wouldn't open, althrough when we went on next doors balcony, it wasn't a big loss, as it was really really small, mucky and had no view apart from of the back of a restaurant, which blocked all of the sun! The hotel was actually that disgusting that we spent only one night there, and then ended up camping out in a friends hotel every night! We only went back there to get changed, and to pick up our suitcases before leaving. We again had to struggle down all the stairs with our suitcases with no help. I would never ever recommend this hotel, the other ones our friends were staying at were lovely, so it isn't a "bulgaria" thing, it was just this hotel. The only plus point of the hotel was location as it was pretty much in the centre with bars and shops at both sides, and not far away from anything (definitely walking distance). I would honestly recommend you do not go to this hotel, infact I am currently taking the travel opperator to court for false advertising!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n/a

Dixon
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed in the 3* part of the "Junona" for 2 weeks and found it to be absolutely excellent. The rooms were cleaned daily and the maids can't be praised highly enough, as goes for all the staff at the hotel.

We never had a bad meal and would never complain about anything.

We would strongly reccomend this hotel and all it's staff to anyone who wants a great holiday in a good location, cleanliness, friendliness!! what else can you ask for? We will certainly visit this place again.

Our thanks go the receptionists, porters, waitresses, cleaning maids and also the chefs who are all 2nd to none.Entertainment is not on the agenda at the hotel but there is plenty within easy reach and you can guarantee that the staff will have a good laugh with you as they speak excellent English.

Best wishes to Mylga, Jerry and Dhyma. Many thanks for a great holiday and hope to see you next year. Barry and Jean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Patricia
12 years 11 months ago
Told this hotel now rates a 3 star when we arrived the room which we where given was a hell hole. The electric sockets where missing, just holes in the walls with wires hanging out. Curtains falling down - it cost us an extra 170.00 pounds to be moved to another part of the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Mildred Lennox
12 years 11 months ago
Worst hoiday we ever had. Six adults booked three twin rooms in the Juona hotel.

On arrival we were allocated two twin rooms with cot beds, after debateing this we where given a third room in a higher star for one night only until reception staff made other arrangements. When we went to our two star accommadation it was indescribeable, as we walked down the corridor we could see into other peoples bathrooms through a series of holes in the wall.

On opening the door to our room the smell was foul, a combination of urine and rot hit us, the window was broken, tiles were missing from the bathroon walls and urine leaked from the toilet. The drain pipe from the toilet was broken and water leaked down this leaving an ugly stain. The walls in the room where damp with black moulding and the carpet was damp, on further investigation the second room was in the same condition.

We complained to the rep who was in the hotel at that time and all they would do for us was spray air freshner to discuise the smell. As you can imagine we wouldn't let a dog sleep in such filth let alone stay the night in it ourselves with no alternative we demanded to be moved to another hotel, this could not be arranged until the following morning so we had no choice but to sleep all six adults in the one room in the three star room allocated to us.

The following day the same rep told us to make our way to view another hotel, we had to set of on our own to walk twenty minutes to find the hotel then return and let rep know if we would accept this hotel. I was never treated so badly by a rep in all my years of travelling, she did not know the meaning of customer care or did she care for our well being as she left us to seek out a hotel at our own devices.

Sunny Beach was not what we would call clean the smell of horse dung hung in the air as horses are used to give trips to holiday seekers.

The food was not good.

Overall I sincerily hope that any one who reads this will either cancel your holiday or make sure your go to at least a five star hotel.

Before our return all six adults came down with stomach cramps and diahorria, and seven days later are still suffering.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Anne
13 years ago
We stayed in the oldest part of the hotel which could benefit from an update, drab surroundings and furniture.

I've never been abroad and had a carpet in the room, which after many soakings stunk like a dirty old mop. Toilet was dismal and had to be flushed maually, hardly a whole tile left in tact, god knows what germs were breeding.

However resturant was good and breakfast couldn't be faulted.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Laura Morans
13 years 1 month ago
I was disgusted when I arrived at the hotel. I was told it had been upgraded to a four star hotel with 2 swimming pools, fitness centre, salons - it had nothing.

When going out of the hotel you could see into peoples bathrooms and see them having a shower. The rooms were very basic and not very clean.

The food was disgusting - the hotel ruined my holiday. I did go to see the rep, but she did nothing about the situation. WARNING - DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum