Image of Kalina Garden Hotel

Kalina Garden Hotel

39 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
4 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
With its great location in the centre of Sunny Beach, close to the main square and the lively open-air market, this modern hotel is an excellent choice for an enjoyable summer holiday. It has a wealth of leisure facilities, comfortably furnished rooms.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alan
9 years 6 months ago
Kalina Gardens, Great Hotel, Nice big room, good shower very clean.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, week orange juice. Evening meal wasn't very exiting & didn't include a drink ( this was extra )but there are plenty of restaurants with low prices near by, try the Farooooo lighthouse restaurant round the back of the hotel on the main road.
Hotel Locatation is situated on a quiet back street but very close to the centre, if you like quiet, pick a hotel further away from the centre!
Hotel staff do long hours, keep this in mind when your expecting them to smile all the time.
There is no entertainment & the bar closes early (11-30).
There is a shop in the hotel.use this to buy bottled water, it's half the price of the bar

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Craig Yates
10 years 4 months ago
This was our second visit to bulgaria and we chose this hotel for its location. The main hustle is very close and maybe too close depending on which rooms you get. You can hear the music and people shouting all night long but our room was overlooking the street. This did not worry me too much but for families with small children this may be a bit too noisy. The hotel itself is very clean and staff polite. The air conditioning in our room was not brilliant. It did work to a fashion but not as good as some hotels we have been in. We did not stay at the hotel for the entertainment because there is so much to do out and about. My kids are 15 and 16 so they were quite happy playing pool, table football or darts in the bars. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the see front. Its only 2 Minutes to the one Lev bars. All in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel but would reccomend Bed and Breakfast because there are loads of places to eat and still quite cheap.(not as cheap as it was mind)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed at Kalina Gardens for a week in July 08.
By reading the comments it sound like the hotel hasnt changed much in the last few years.
Cant complain about the rooms they are immaculate and very spacious, the cleaners do a fantastic job every day.
The hotels location is perfect right bang in the middle of the main sunny beach strip.
The staff are very friendly especially the girls working behind the bar! missing them already!
Hotel food is horrible, recommend to eat out at restaurants as its cheap and very nice.
The night life is absolutly brilliant! loads of bars and clubs to visit and the atmosphere is fantastic on the main strip.
I went to Ibiza in 07 and sunny beach for me was much better.
All in all I reccomend Sunny beach and the Kalina Gardens Hotel.
Get yourself out there, you dont know what your missing!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Arthur And Jean
11 years 3 months ago
First time in Bulgaria. Stayed in Karlina Gardens Hotel was clean maid came in every day made beds changed towels took her two minuets.

Food was the worst I have ever had even in two star hotels never seen beans or tomatoes at breakfast in the two weeks we were there.

Evening meal most nights was fish fingers or chicken nuggets and chips and it was cold every night.

The bar was supposed to close at midnight but could not get a drink after eleven thirty.

Entertainment was non existent.

The resort itself was good plenty of bars and restaurants thank god we needed them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: med hotels

STEVENSON
11 years 4 months ago
Great location just a short walk from the centre nite life but not close enough to heare the music not much entertainment the staff cant do enough to help you food basic it's warm but not hot room's cleaned daily towels changed daily beds made daily beds changed weekly and yes the mith is true if u dont get up early enough u will loose the sun beds to the germans pool nice clean but the two weeks i was there i only saw the pool guy clean the pool oncewould i go again yes this time only b/b though coz it's cheap enough to eat out this will be my third time just hope they dont go in to the euro or it's the end of a good holiday please try it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: BALKANDS

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
After reading a lot of good reviews on this hotel I have to say we were disappointed by it ourselves.

Food was very much geared towards the Germans (90%) of the guests.

Staff found it very hard to smile and was disappointed as our rooms were not cleaned everyday (making the bed and changing towels does not constitute cleaning a rooom).

Came back to the hotel one night at 11.45pm and asked at the bar for a drink and we were told no as the bar was closing at 12. We were led to believe it was a 24hr bar.

No entertainment whatsoever. Definately wouldn't stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Janet
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed at kalina gardens 2 weeks at half board. Hotel was very clean the location was very good every thing was around you like pubs clubs and lots of shops.

The staff could of been more helpful but nice. There was no entertainment at all and we were told the bar was open 24hours but it closed at midnight.

The food was very bad there was nothing that we liked even tho we tried it, it all so was cold even though we got down early for breakfast.

They only catered for the Germans they all ways came 1st. There was nothing for the kids to do at all.

Over all sunny beach was great and the people very nice will go back again but a diffrent hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balcan

12 years 5 months ago
I agree with everybody this is a good hotel

No entertainment but has pool table, t/tennis, putting, kids fuzbol, games/internet room, shop,good size pool
indoor pool too.

Must visit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
Alio
12 years 7 months ago
Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Kalina Garden. The hotel is in a very good central location, just far enough away from late night bars etc to avoid the noise.

All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleaners never seem to stop which is evident from the condition of rooms and the hotel in general.

I was surprised to find that the hotel had registered us as HB when I had booked B&B - so took advantage! Breakfast offered a limited, but adequate, selection of cereal. Hot food was provided, sausage, eggs, fried bread with cheese etc. Also cold meat, croissants for those favouring continental. For dinner there was always plenty of salad and some kind of fish, chicken and meat dish. Chips, potatoes and rice also available. The menu seemed to recur over 3 days or so. On the whole, food was hot although towards the end of our stay it was on the cool side - though edible.

The hotel was virtually full of Germans, Scandinavians etc. The impact on us was that my daughter found it very difficult to find any children to play with.

I was disappointed that there was absolutely no atmosphere around the pool. No music or entertainment. The result was that there were plenty of sunbeds to choose from as I think miost people went to the beach.

I was also disappointed that the hotel did not offer any find of entertainment in the evening. fiends had stayed there in July 2005 when there was something every night.

Perhaps we were too early in the season, but for a hotel of this standard I would expect something.

Sorry to say that I will not be rushing back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Mark Pattison
12 years 7 months ago
Full marks to the Kalina Garden. Cleanest hotel in Bulgaria so far after 8 visits. Shower big enough to jog in! Room spatious and well equiped.Staff very helpfull with good English skills.

Lobby Bar staff Reni, Katiya, Melina and Toni always provided service with a smile even at the end of their ridiculously long shifts. Not to impressed with the food but it is so cheap to eat out this is not an issue.

Brilliant location for all Sunny Beache's attractions but does not suffer from noise unless you count late night guests returning. This hotel not full of British guests but has a nice mix of nationalities including Bulgarians. No entertainment was provided in the hotel but ever type conceivable is available locallly. And I do mean every type!

If you are looking for Tony's Kareoke bar it has moved next door to the Iceberge disco. A very entertaining evening from 9pm. Thourghly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum